728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

The InSinkErator Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer features a Dura-Drive induction motor for powerful grinding and reliability. It is constructed of rugged galvanized steel for durability even with heavy daily use. The compact design is excellent for installations which have space constraints.
Overall rating:
3.907 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product40 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product40 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
Review 1 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Durability

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Expect Badgers to fail about the time the warranty ends. I have replaced over 5 Badgers that had plastic grinder housings; all cracked about the time the warranty ran out. Earlier models had a aluminum housing and since changing to plastic, the mfgr. has not fixed the root cause of failure- cracking; due to poor plastic resin choice/poor injection molding quality.
The photo is of the latest failure which I had installed 3 1/2 years ago. Cracked and leaked into cabinet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor service life, plastic housings crack
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from South Carolina

Revised Review

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After my Badger 9 started leaking and I posted my previous "Disappointed" review, I read that it may be covered under warranty. I contacted InSinkErator . They looked up the serial number and confirmed that it is still under warranty (warranty is 3 years). After a new one was ordered, they sent a technician to replace it. So happy that it was still under warranty and that the company lives up to its warranty terms. Most product have a 1 year warranty period. So now I am changing my previous rating to 4 stars because of the company's excellent customer service.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Rankin, MI

Do not buy a Badger!

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you're willing to unexpectedly have a puddle of water ruining your cabinet bottoms and possibly the floor underneath, do not buy a Badger 1, 5 or 9. They all have the same flimsy constuction up top which will lead to the case eventually cracking and leaking water. A bigger motor just provides more torque for cracking. In addition, the interior will rust out after about 2-3 years and leak water, which of course you will not discover until it is running out the bottom of your cabinet. If your must buy a Badger for ease of replacement, buy the 9, pay for Home Depot's extended warranty and hope they honor it when the disposal fails in 3 years. Better yet, buy another brand they're just as easy to install.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Miami, FL

replacing your insinkerator

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This item is an easy install for even an amateur if you are replacing an old worn out or leaky insinkerator. With just one phillips head and one flat head screwdrivers and a jar of plumbers puddy, i had this up running within 15 minutes time. Don't forget the product does not come with a required electrical cord. Buy one to save a second trip back to the store in the middle of your install. I sure wish they could figure out how to make these things quieter when running!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Bay Area, CA

terrible quality

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This disposer lasted less than three years. I was wondering why something smelled terribly in the kitchen sink. It turned out that the disposer had been leaking internally to the point where it rusted out the cap holding the AC cord at the bottom of the unit and leaked into the cabinet. The unit was storing the dirty water in it and was smelling up the sink!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Tucson

Another Solid Badger Insinkerrator

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 19 year old Badger 5 finally failed after 19 years (!!!) There was no reason to go another other way, but for an extra $10 I upgraded to the 3/4 hp Badger 9.
It's what a garbage disposal is supposed to be- It works. And I expect it to last for a long time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Newport, Oregon

Looks good so far

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Badger 9-1, 3/4 hp Insinkerator disposal about two weeks ago because our old one was leaking out the bottom. I put it off cause I had never done a r&r before. I finally got around to it cause the wife was after me. It was one of those "I wish I had done it sooner" kinda jobs. Old one came out quickly following the directions and the new one went in quickly and smoothly. The new one is quieter. We will see how long it lasts. Hopefully, it is the last one I will ever need.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Grand Rapids, MI

Wonderfully Easy

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this disposal from one of the local stores and brought it home and had it installed in 20 minutes. At the time I had never done any plumbing and I couldn't believe it was so easy to install. It works wonders on anything I've put into it also. Great buy!Gr
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Spring, Texas

Just a garbage disposer

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although I give this a 4 we did have our 1st Badger 9 break within 4 months (thanks HD for letting me return the broken disposer after the 90 day window!!!)
The case cracked and water was dripping out the back of the unit. I should have noticed the crack on installation, so I'll let Insinkerator off the hook this time :)
The disposer works great as I grind just about anything. Installation is very easy even in my very small space under the sink. Good instructions and easy to work with.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

does the job but after 3 years later will break

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It does the job and so easy to get one from local home depot or even Lowe's, but after the 3 year warranty, it is almost guaranteed that it will break. Usually it's the bottom of the unit that will start to rust and leak out brownish water.. We will try out Wast King Food Waste Disposer from amazon and see if that one is more durable.. The waste king seems to have great review on amazon
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

Easy to Install

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the badger 9 at the local home depot; my 20 year old 1/2 HP Kitchen Aid began leaking so I needed one quick. So far, excellent. I would recommend looking online for the Waste King 8000, 1 HP and generally less expensive with Lifetime warranty if you don't need an immediate install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

Garbage

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 7 year old Badger 5 plus started leaking water. So I bought a new Badger 9. As I was looking at the brand new Badger 9 notice that the seal on the inside was not fully installed. Which would leak water if I installed it. So I am taking it back. Not sure what brand I will go with now.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from NJ

BIG improvement over my last disposal

PostedApril 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought and installed this one -- i guess my old one was about 15 years old so this is a big improvement. It's very quiet and seems pretty powerful although I didn't get to feed it the Thanksgiving Turkey bones yet but I'm confident it can do what it's supposed to do. For the small difference in price, don't even consider the smaller units (Badger 1 and 5)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from PA

So easy to install!

PostedMay 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an old Kenmore unit that wasn't grinding anything anymore, so when a pipe connecting the disposal to the drain corroded, I decided to replace the whole thing.
After standing in the local Home Depot, debating on the different models, I decided on the Badger 9, mostly for the 3 year warranty but also for the HP!
Installation was a breeze. I was able to use my existing mounting for the new disposal so it was twist off and unwire the old model, wire and twist on the new model, connect the dishwasher drain, connect the drainage pipe to the rest of the sink plumbing and voila!
It's a lot quieter than the last disposal and seems to work faster. Grant it, time will tell how it holds up, but for now, I'm very impressed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do Not Buy Badger 9 3/4 HP

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I totally agree with JuliaH ad CCCJR. I purchased this product mid-2010. The bottom of my unit rusted during the first year of use. While I was checking on the model # of my unit in order to claim for my warranty today, January 5, 2012, I discovered it has been leaking for a while. These problems occurred within 1.5 years - sooner than what JuliaH said. I wish I had checked on customer reviews before I had this product installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Los Angeles, CA

Leaks, mold, water damage

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my old badger 9 for a few years. It leaks water out of the bottom. Unfortunately the leak is very difficult to detect. I had previously repaired my cabinets below the sink - there was water damage and a mildew smell. I'd expect a product like this to fail at some point but I certainly think the outer casing could have been designed much better. I'm not sure I'm willing to trust another badger. Aside from reliability it was reasonably noisy and did the job well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

so far so good -

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this was pretty much a straight replacement of my existing disposal, with the exception that I went from 1/2 HP to the 3/4 HP. The disposal that was replaced was also a Badger brand, and was about 4 yrs old. It developed a small crack in the housing and began leaking water. Hopefully the replacement will last a bit longer. Installation was fairly easy - completed in about 25 min.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

3/4 replacement

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good. After 10 years of abuse from my wife grinding egg shells, spoons and what else fell into the disposal I replaced my 1/2 hp with the 3/4hp unit.
Since it was the 1/2 badger it was a quick deinstall and reinstall in the same connection.
Wife is happy, so I am happy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Rockwall, TX

Long overdue.....

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew that I was in need of a new disposer, but did not realize how badly until I had this "jewel" installed. I read the comments before buying and they were right. While I had a plumber install for me, he still commented about the ease and also stated that this particular model is being used a lot. It is so much quieter than my old one and I did not realize how small the old one was. What a difference.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Badger 9 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer
from Harvest, AL

Easy to install

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the directions ahead of time on the Home Depot website, so I was familiar with the install process. It was remarkably easy to do, and didn't take hardly any time. I did have to run back to Home Depot to buy a power cord, since the directions assume you are replacing a disposal, not installing a new one. But actual install time was probably only 30 minutes, which included "measuring" and cutting pipes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>