728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Heating, Cooling & Air Quality or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Suited for use with almost any coils, the AC-Safe 19 oz. Air Conditioning Coil Foaming Cleaner is a heavy-duty detergent easily removes dirt, grease and oil. With a special 360 degree valve, it can be sprayed in any position.
Overall rating:
4.558 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Review 1 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great A/C coil cleaner

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cleaned my a/c coils just by spraying them and the product does the rest. My central home a/c is working fantastic in this hot Florida climate!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Cabot, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Saved me $88 + cost to clean the coils

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My condenser fins and coils were dripping straight to the AC filter then the floor instead of the water sliding to the sides to get collected and sent down the drain line. From what I read, this could be either due to dirty fins or due to the unit being low on freon. I called the AC company and they quoted me $88 just to come and inspect it. To fix it it would have been extra! My fins looked fairly clean so I was leaning more towards the second possibility of the freon being low. I figured, for $5, I won't be losing much and I will have clean coils even if that wasn't the cause.
I bought one of the cans and it had a nice brush that I used first to loosen the dirt. I then used a shop vac to suck the lose dirt, then I sprayed the foam. It did not cause a huge mess as I expected and I wore eye protection. It irritated my breathing a little. I left it for 10 minutes then I wiped it down and ran the AC! Not a single drop of water. All the water is now going down the drain line as it is supposed to. Now, when I shine a light, I can see the coils through the fins which were not visible before. Overall great product. It saved me at least $88 plus the price of labor to to clean the coils. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: eye irritant (definately wear protection), mild breathing irritant
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from northwest new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS STUFF WORKS

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Central Air unit in my attic was blowing foul-smelling air ; somewhere between vomit and old vinyl.
The a/c company suggested to look inside the air handler in the attic. Possibly a dead mouse was responsible for the smell. I found no bodies. I researched online and saw reviews of this and other coil cleaning products. I decided a $5 investment wouldn't be so bad if it didn't work. Even though the drip pan
was dry and had some dusty residue and the coiI itself looked clean I decided to clean the coil. I used an entire can and let the foam evaporate as the instructions said it was self-rinsing.
I reassembled the unit and turned the thermostat to make the unit come on. A lemony scent came through at first and then dissipated as the unit operated. Voila! it worked. No more foul odor!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Kingston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent A/C Cleaner for Mini-Splits

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great. I was able to dissolve build up on the condenser metal fins and blower wheel inside my three min-splits. This product got everything super clean. I highly recommend it. I will be using it every year now.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was told I needed a new hvac unit during a service call due to frozen coils. Did YouTube search and found out it could be caused by dirty coils. They were filthy. We vacuumed/peeled off what we could then used this product. We did two applications. The results were immediate and the hvac system works better than it ever has. Super easy to use, clean scent, fumes weren't an issue that I can recall. Saved me over $3k.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good foaming coil cleaner, likely as good as any, a good price, and easily availability at the home depot. Use it for a yearly maintenance cleaning of your evaporator coil. One can is enough to spray the coil. I have seen it reduce the pressure drop (static pressure) across a coil by .2 inch water column. To see if your coil is clean and working properly, look up the manufacturers data sheet on the evaporator coil and see what the static pressure drop is supposed to be for your application (airflow), and measure it with a manometer. It is likely between .15 and .25 inch water column. If it is higher than that after using the coil cleaner, then it needs professional cleaning.
But its not magic, this spray on foaming coil cleaner will clean a dusty coil, but if you have cat/dog hair and lint packed into the fins of the coil because someone didn't have a furnace filter installed or never changed it, then you will need a professional to clean it, and that will cost several hundred to even $800 or more if they have to evacuate the refrigerant and remove the coil from the system to clean it. Its much cheaper to have a good filter system with a 2" thick or better low pressure drop filter and occasional maintenance with a coil cleaner like this one. Be careful of the small 1" pleated high efficiency filters, meaning merv-8 and above, because they can add a pressure drop across the filter that will reduce the airflow and reduce the efficiency of your AC system.
Most, and I mean like 80%, of AC systems suffer from low air flow over the coil which reduces the efficiency of the system. The causes of the low air flow is from too small return duct sizes, not enough return air ducts, too small or too few supply ducts, dirty filter, dirty coil, incorrect setting for the blower motor fan speed, or wrong airflow because of incorrect altitude compensation. At sea level and a normal to dry humidity the equipment manufacturer likely specified 400CFM per ton of cooling, at 5000 ft elevation, it needs to be 500CFM per ton because the air is thinner. In the east with high humidity at sea level it may be 350 CFM per ton so that the coil is cooler, below the dew point, so it can condense more water off of the coil and dehumidify the air.
The one thing that you can easily control is to keep the filter and the coil clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product with many other uses!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to order this product online with the free shipping option. I have used this foam cleaner to clean out engine bays in my ATV and snowmobile. Product is not harmful to plastic, rubber and other sensitive materials. I always buy a box full at a time!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on the compressor coils well!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I sprayed this onto the compressor coils, waited until the foam subsided and then rinsed them well with the hose. A surprising amount of dirt was released. Prior to this product, I always cleaned the coils at least three times during AC season with just the hose, but this product increased the cleaning power tremendously and left them silvery-shiny! I bought two bottles of this and am glad that I did!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Works good in combination with steam pressure or gentle spray.

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am Currently doing a coil cleaning project for my mom and her A/C coils were extremely dirty and had a sort of soot on the air handler. i took to using this spray and a gentle stream of spray bottle water, but it hasn't removed all of it. After using two bottles and vacuuming it, it has since worked better and cools better.
For those of you with the same problem as me i recommend using foaming coil cleaner along with steam pressure cleaner to clean the coils for those really stubborn coils. I will soon be receiving my steam cleaner by mail to clean my coils and i can guarantee my coils will be dirt free...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. I've been using for two seasons now

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure all power is off. Circuit breaker or fuse pulled out. I sprayed the coils and it foams up well with a slight scent. Wait about 10-15 minutes and wash it off with gentle spray with the garden hose. It's that easy. Note I think you need at least two cans to use for a small-medium unit. That is how many I used for my unit. The foam is gentle and has never damaged my coil fins at all. Been doing this for two seasons already.
Pros: Easy to Use
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Corpus Christi, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't tell if it worked

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used this on my vehicles and my home units and couldn't tell if there was a difference in appearance, as indicated by clean fins. I can only hope it helped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Outstanding product

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just had my AC serviced last week even though I try to maintain it clean. Freon and all other aspects of it were good. They recommended that I do a coil cleaning since the fins were pretty dirty. The service guy said they normally charge between $185 and $250 depending on time to clean. They use a foam like cleaner that gets sprayed on and then either washed off or the coil condensation would rinse away, and there was no need to remove the coil for cleaning. I decided to search for products and do it myself.
I purchased this product and was astonished at the ease of using it. I used a wet vac with a soft brush end after it soaked in and allowed to clean the coils, took about half hour total time. Ran my AC afterwards and system was noticeably colder due to the clean coil. I highly recommend this product if you want to save on the AC service charging you up to $250.00 for the same thing.
+50points
53out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from cumming ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked but barley did the job. Not enough product in the can

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product did the job but just barely enough. Should be in One gallon jug for use in sprayer. Not a good bargain.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not a bargain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from The Valley of the Sun

Foam Coil Cleaner - EXCELLENT Product!

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought I'd try this stuff on a wall unit in my den. The coils/fins had never been previously cleaned so, upon inspection, the build-up of crud led me to think, "No way is this going to get clean." But, I had to try. Spraying horizontally, starting at the bottom, the Foam Coil Cleaner forcefully shot a thick foaming mass into/on to the fins. It continues to expand as you spray! In no time, the entire coil area was covered. This product delivers EXACTLY what it promises! In about 20 minutes the foam was gone, having done it's job, and the product had completely rinsed itself away. Due to my neglect, a 2nd application was required. (I'm not sure as to the toxicity of the fumes produced, but the scent is powerful so it is a good idea to keep the area well ventilated during use of the product.) Finally, as usual, Home Depot provided great order processing and shipping service.
Well, don't just sit there... BUY THIS STUFF!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Awesome!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome! Clean coils and smells great too. I have already "sold" several cans to friends and family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved Myself $182.00 on Coil Cleaning Service

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this coil cleaner last summer and again this summer. My HVAC Service Tech told me when he performed the summer service check that the condenser coils inside the unit needed cleaning. He said it would cost me $182.00. I told him that I had this AC Safe Coil Cleaner and he said he couldn't use it, that he had to use his own cleaner. I asked him if "I" could use my cleaner right then and there while he had the cover off. He said "sure". While I sprayed the cleaner he looked at the second can and read the information, shook his head up and down and told me he would close the cover after it foams a bit. He buttoned everything back up and returned to my dining room to make out the paperwork. He commented on the lemon fresh smell and didn't try to convince me that his product was better. I've also saved my daughter and sister a coil cleaning service bill by recommending this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from NE Philadelphia Suburbs
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The results are astonishing!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Holy cow.... what is this stuff... a magic potion? I live in a town house style dwelling built in 1991 in the Northeast Philadelphia suburbs. At 23 years old I still haven't had any problems or concerns with my central air-conditioning. But my neighbor with the same unit did. Turns out, it was not her unit, but the huge amount of dirt incasing the fan motor. So it got me to thinking, maybe I'd better take a look. To back up a little bit I have a vent thermometer I purchased after having AC work done on my car. So I inserted the thermometer into an air vent to obtain a reading of 60°. I googled Central air temperature a dozen different ways, but could not get a committed answer on what vent temperature from central air should be. Just that there should be 13 to 18 degree difference between vent and return. My thermometer showed exactly 18 degrees. But after my third cup of coffee I was feeling a bit ambitious. So I removed a piece duct to expose the A-coil. Surprisingly it did not look bad at all. It was not covered with a thick layer of hairy foam. But rather patchy chunks of dirt with a fair amount at the very top of the A. So after watching a few videos on A coil cleaning, I went forward. I purchased one 19 ounce can of the AC safe T 920 foaming cleaner and after first using a vacuum cleaner, went ahead and sprayed in a whole can. Note: My A coil is rather small and copper tubing runs directly in front of the opening making it difficult to get both hands inside for a good vacuum or spray. So I was clearly working with a handicap and don't believe I did a good job. I followed the label instructions exactly with the exception of, I did opt to rinse with water. To my shock my appealingly clean coil immediately began dripping long black streaks of... I don't know what. After rinsing and allowing to air dry for about an hour I was already dirty and tired. So I went to the back yard, removed the cover off my central unit and washed out the fins with a hose from the inside out.
In short, I spent an afternoon, $5.48 on this product at Home Depot to obtain a new thermometer reading of 53° at the vent! I can not believe a 7° drop in air temperature on an otherwise well working relatively clean unit. I wonder what I would have obtained had I actually done a GOOD job. In a world of inferior products and false claims it is great to know there are still those that take what they manufacture very seriously!
Thank you so much for this product! The results are astonishing!
Pros: High Quality, works very well
Cons: should have tubing nozzle for hard to reach spots.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Zachary, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Foaming Cleaner

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was experiencing a low freon level in my home a/c unit. I called a tech. to come and recharge/add to the system. He recommended that I clean both inside and outside coils berfore he came as it makes a difference in the heat exchange. I did as recommended on the can and had my system recharged. It works much more efficiently now and has a nice fragrance.
The product was easy to use, and even though it's a no rinse formula, I had the luxury of being able to rinse both units.
I would recommend cleaning your system annually to keep operating efficiency at its peak.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Newport News, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great...!!! My condenser coil was extremely dirty after years of inattention, and this foam cleaner worked great. I would recommend that you spray he foam on both the outside, and then the inside of the coil, let it set for a few minutes, and then rinse the coil with a hose. I saved the expense of a HVAC service call with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Miami, FL; humidity capital of the known universe

Convenient and effective.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cleaner works great. I've used it on a car A/C coil without removing it from the vehicle, a wall a/c, and on a central A/C unit. On the wall A/C, access to the coils is easy, so it's kind of overkill, but it did get the coils clean as the day the unit was pulled out of the box. On the central unit and car a/c, this cleaner's convenient application really shines. I was able to shoot it in and coat the coils through a small one inch gap in the housing, and after a few cycles of blasting the coils and running the unit, the formerly restricted airflow now blasted! The foam kind of grows after it's been shot into a coil, so it'll get into all sorts of odd spaces. The only improvement I can think of possibly making to this product is to include an extension tube on the can, like that which comes with WD-40.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>