728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Heating, Cooling & Air Quality or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Suited for use with almost any coils, the AC-Safe 19 oz. Air Conditioning Coil Foaming Cleaner is a heavy-duty detergent easily removes dirt, grease and oil. With a special 360 degree valve, it can be sprayed in any position.
Overall rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product50 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product50 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Review 1 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
LadyB
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on the compressor coils well!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I sprayed this onto the compressor coils, waited until the foam subsided and then rinsed them well with the hose. A surprising amount of dirt was released. Prior to this product, I always cleaned the coils at least three times during AC season with just the hose, but this product increased the cleaning power tremendously and left them silvery-shiny! I bought two bottles of this and am glad that I did!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Bavarian
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product with many other uses!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to order this product online with the free shipping option. I have used this foam cleaner to clean out engine bays in my ATV and snowmobile. Product is not harmful to plastic, rubber and other sensitive materials. I always buy a box full at a time!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Reversemidasman
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. I've been using for two seasons now

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure all power is off. Circuit breaker or fuse pulled out. I sprayed the coils and it foams up well with a slight scent. Wait about 10-15 minutes and wash it off with gentle spray with the garden hose. It's that easy. Note I think you need at least two cans to use for a small-medium unit. That is how many I used for my unit. The foam is gentle and has never damaged my coil fins at all. Been doing this for two seasons already.
Pros: Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
SingleMom
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved Myself $182.00 on Coil Cleaning Service

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this coil cleaner last summer and again this summer. My HVAC Service Tech told me when he performed the summer service check that the condenser coils inside the unit needed cleaning. He said it would cost me $182.00. I told him that I had this AC Safe Coil Cleaner and he said he couldn't use it, that he had to use his own cleaner. I asked him if "I" could use my cleaner right then and there while he had the cover off. He said "sure". While I sprayed the cleaner he looked at the second can and read the information, shook his head up and down and told me he would close the cover after it foams a bit. He buttoned everything back up and returned to my dining room to make out the paperwork. He commented on the lemon fresh smell and didn't try to convince me that his product was better. I've also saved my daughter and sister a coil cleaning service bill by recommending this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Jezzman
from Texas

Easy, affordable

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, exactly as advertised. I will use this product again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
AMRinWPB
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Outstanding product

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just had my AC serviced last week even though I try to maintain it clean. Freon and all other aspects of it were good. They recommended that I do a coil cleaning since the fins were pretty dirty. The service guy said they normally charge between $185 and $250 depending on time to clean. They use a foam like cleaner that gets sprayed on and then either washed off or the coil condensation would rinse away, and there was no need to remove the coil for cleaning. I decided to search for products and do it myself.
I purchased this product and was astonished at the ease of using it. I used a wet vac with a soft brush end after it soaked in and allowed to clean the coils, took about half hour total time. Ran my AC afterwards and system was noticeably colder due to the clean coil. I highly recommend this product if you want to save on the AC service charging you up to $250.00 for the same thing.
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
NetProphet
from The Valley of the Sun

Foam Coil Cleaner - EXCELLENT Product!

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought I'd try this stuff on a wall unit in my den. The coils/fins had never been previously cleaned so, upon inspection, the build-up of crud led me to think, "No way is this going to get clean." But, I had to try. Spraying horizontally, starting at the bottom, the Foam Coil Cleaner forcefully shot a thick foaming mass into/on to the fins. It continues to expand as you spray! In no time, the entire coil area was covered. This product delivers EXACTLY what it promises! In about 20 minutes the foam was gone, having done it's job, and the product had completely rinsed itself away. Due to my neglect, a 2nd application was required. (I'm not sure as to the toxicity of the fumes produced, but the scent is powerful so it is a good idea to keep the area well ventilated during use of the product.) Finally, as usual, Home Depot provided great order processing and shipping service.
Well, don't just sit there... BUY THIS STUFF!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
robb7823

WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used product on evaporative coil that had not been cleaned in years and was icing up. Coil is hard to access due to pipes on one side and I was concerned about getting product applied on that side. No worries, product comes out as a tight straight stream with plenty of velocity to cover those hard to reach areas. AC blows much colder now and no ice build up. Recommend keeping rag on hand to clean overspray off of nozzle.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Ratty

Very good product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it on central AC evaporator coils. The coils previously froze up. After using foaming cleaner, coils were clean and system works more efficiently and house gets much cooler. I bought two cans. Will use the second can in the summer. I live in Florida.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
BullDog
from Richmond Hill, GA 31324, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product for DIY

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HVAC was not cooling properly, used this product on air handler coils, condensation cleans foam away, no need to hose off. Followed up with stronger coil cleaner for heat pump, low water pressure rinse on outside unit coils, changed all filters in air returns and air handler, unit works like new and has a fresh new smell. This should be in every DIY's tool bag for annual a/c tune up!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Anonymous
from Miami, FL; humidity capital of the known universe

Convenient and effective.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cleaner works great. I've used it on a car A/C coil without removing it from the vehicle, a wall a/c, and on a central A/C unit. On the wall A/C, access to the coils is easy, so it's kind of overkill, but it did get the coils clean as the day the unit was pulled out of the box. On the central unit and car a/c, this cleaner's convenient application really shines. I was able to shoot it in and coat the coils through a small one inch gap in the housing, and after a few cycles of blasting the coils and running the unit, the formerly restricted airflow now blasted! The foam kind of grows after it's been shot into a coil, so it'll get into all sorts of odd spaces. The only improvement I can think of possibly making to this product is to include an extension tube on the can, like that which comes with WD-40.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Jake
from FL
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best A/C coil cleaner out there

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is by far the most effective and safest coil cleaner I've ever found. Recommend flushing the outdoor condenser coil with water first just to remove and loose dirt or debris before applying the coil cleaner. Let the cleaner work for 15 or 20 minutes before rinsing it out of the coils. Also works very well on the evaporator coil inside. Just let the natural evaporation do the rinsing. Greatly improves heat exchange efficiency of the system reducing energy cost. A++++++ product!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Surprisingly Worked Wonders

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew I needed to clean the coils but didn't realize how badly until after I used this stuff. I was amazed at how fast and how well it cleaned with no scrubbing. My coils are in a very tight place at an extremely strange angle so I couldn't get in there to scrub. Luckily, there was no need! I had to give it 5 stars because of how well it worked, but could eliminate one for how strong the lemon fresh scent of it was. Although I'm not a fan of lemon scents, I dealt with it and sure am glad I did. The coils look and run like new again. That being said, the product exceeded my expectaions and I will definitely purchase this again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
hinkjeff
from Pine Mountain, Georgia

Does what it promised to do... but a bit smelly.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchase on recommendation of friend and also other Home Depot reviews.
Neglected commercial kitchen A/C unit in 1200 Sq.ft. space. Evap Coils Caked with years of greasy gunk.
Sprayed on, it foamed a lot of the gunk out the first time. Had to use fin cleaning/straightening tool to assist in the caked gunk removal. It will have to be repeated due to the awful condition of the coils.
Note: if you are sensitive to smells, use this when you are going to be out of the area for the rest of the day. The smell is a little like solvent.
DON'T believe the can when it says it "Lemon Fragrance Deodorizes" and "The pleasant citrus fragrance helps leave the area clean and deodorized".
The warning statement "Use with adequate ventilation" is important.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Predrider
from Lafayette, la.

Works great !!!

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although it was difficult to get to my condenser, I used the product as instructed and within 20-30 minutes they were about 98% like brand new. Can't ask more of a $5.00 product. It immediately ran better with tremendous air flow. I'm glad I bought 2 cans as one was not enough. I did still have to do a little brushing, to be expected.
I do wish it came with an extension tube to get to the back but I managed. Thanks to the other reviews, I chose this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
genie
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to clean the coils on our dehumidifiers. It did a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
HomeDepotRegular
from Tooele, Utah

Very useful product for light cleaning and maintenance

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My AC coils had not been cleaned for 12 years. The AC was constantly freezing up. I first had to clean the coils with a stiff brush and shop vac to get the caked on dust removed, being careful to not damage the fins. After that I sprayed the AC-Safe cleaner on and it did appear to provide some additional cleaning to the coils. The system works like a charm now. No problems at all. My hope is to maintain the AC using just the cleaner on an annual basis from now on.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
bobby435
from South Carolina

Foam Coil Cleaner

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, just bought house and A-Coil was caked up with gunk and this removed all of it. The Heat Pump outside was very dirty and top wouldn't come off to rinse off other coil cleaners, this product was very good. A must buy for any homeowner.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Nate

This product liquefies debris from air conditioner coils!!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does a good job liquefying grease and debris. Also rinses well from condenser coils with garden hose. Only thing is that product doesn't seam to completely go through the entire evaporator coil from front side to the other side of coil. But other than that, great product for price paid.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
charlotte
from Mendenhall, MS

great product

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great. Used on central ac in house and on window unit at our sons. After use the air flow was so much better, did not realize how dirty unit was. Sprayed foam waited and unit was working better.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>