728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Suited for use with almost any coils, the AC-Safe 19 oz. Air Conditioning Coil Foaming Cleaner is a heavy-duty detergent easily removes dirt, grease and oil. With a special 360° valve, it can be sprayed in any position.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product91 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(70)
4
(22)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(0)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product91 of 99reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Review 1 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great A/C coil cleaner

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cleaned my a/c coils just by spraying them and the product does the rest. My central home a/c is working fantastic in this hot Florida climate!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Fort Worth, Texas
Gender:Male

Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic Stuff...

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My A/C unit is over twenty years old and it gets a real workout since I live in Texas...where it always gets REALLY HOT in the summertime and can get REALLY COLD during the winter.
This stuff is part of my routine maintenance of the unit. With one application, it quickly and completely loosens and dissolves the gunk that gets trapped in the coil.
I spray the coil, let it sit and soak for ten minutes and then gently wash it away with the garden hose. And the more dirty the coil is beforehand, the greater the difference in performance is immediately noticeable after application.
Works great and simple to use. Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, inexpensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're trying to clean your a/c yourself, you'll probably come across youtube videos telling you to spray your coils with dish detergent. This might be a good idea for a first rinse, but it won't really clean your unit out. I immediately saw 5+ years of dirt and grime oozing out with the foam using this can of stuff. The scrub brush is useful to complete the job without messing up the fins. This also turned my brown filter white and clear. Left my space with a nice orange scent for a few days after starting up my a/c again too. Well worth the five bucks.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Reliable

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is great for cleaning all refrigeration coils. I use them on all my commercial equipment. It helps me maintain and reduce maintainance costs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works as advertised
AC works better and quieter
Must have !
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from knoxville, tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great Product

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to use and very effective. Used one whole can on one unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product with many other uses!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to order this product online with the free shipping option. I have used this foam cleaner to clean out engine bays in my ATV and snowmobile. Product is not harmful to plastic, rubber and other sensitive materials. I always buy a box full at a time!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Cabot, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Saved me $88 + cost to clean the coils

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My condenser fins and coils were dripping straight to the AC filter then the floor instead of the water sliding to the sides to get collected and sent down the drain line. From what I read, this could be either due to dirty fins or due to the unit being low on freon. I called the AC company and they quoted me $88 just to come and inspect it. To fix it it would have been extra! My fins looked fairly clean so I was leaning more towards the second possibility of the freon being low. I figured, for $5, I won't be losing much and I will have clean coils even if that wasn't the cause.
I bought one of the cans and it had a nice brush that I used first to loosen the dirt. I then used a shop vac to suck the lose dirt, then I sprayed the foam. It did not cause a huge mess as I expected and I wore eye protection. It irritated my breathing a little. I left it for 10 minutes then I wiped it down and ran the AC! Not a single drop of water. All the water is now going down the drain line as it is supposed to. Now, when I shine a light, I can see the coils through the fins which were not visible before. Overall great product. It saved me at least $88 plus the price of labor to to clean the coils. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: eye irritant (definately wear protection), mild breathing irritant
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was told I needed a new hvac unit during a service call due to frozen coils. Did YouTube search and found out it could be caused by dirty coils. They were filthy. We vacuumed/peeled off what we could then used this product. We did two applications. The results were immediate and the hvac system works better than it ever has. Super easy to use, clean scent, fumes weren't an issue that I can recall. Saved me over $3k.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on the compressor coils well!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I sprayed this onto the compressor coils, waited until the foam subsided and then rinsed them well with the hose. A surprising amount of dirt was released. Prior to this product, I always cleaned the coils at least three times during AC season with just the hose, but this product increased the cleaning power tremendously and left them silvery-shiny! I bought two bottles of this and am glad that I did!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from northwest new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS STUFF WORKS

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Central Air unit in my attic was blowing foul-smelling air ; somewhere between vomit and old vinyl.
The a/c company suggested to look inside the air handler in the attic. Possibly a dead mouse was responsible for the smell. I found no bodies. I researched online and saw reviews of this and other coil cleaning products. I decided a $5 investment wouldn't be so bad if it didn't work. Even though the drip pan
was dry and had some dusty residue and the coiI itself looked clean I decided to clean the coil. I used an entire can and let the foam evaporate as the instructions said it was self-rinsing.
I reassembled the unit and turned the thermostat to make the unit come on. A lemony scent came through at first and then dissipated as the unit operated. Voila! it worked. No more foul odor!
Pros: Easy to Use
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from minneapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works very well only if you have very humid aire in that room, need humidity to rinse it self.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Outstanding product

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just had my AC serviced last week even though I try to maintain it clean. Freon and all other aspects of it were good. They recommended that I do a coil cleaning since the fins were pretty dirty. The service guy said they normally charge between $185 and $250 depending on time to clean. They use a foam like cleaner that gets sprayed on and then either washed off or the coil condensation would rinse away, and there was no need to remove the coil for cleaning. I decided to search for products and do it myself.
I purchased this product and was astonished at the ease of using it. I used a wet vac with a soft brush end after it soaked in and allowed to clean the coils, took about half hour total time. Ran my AC afterwards and system was noticeably colder due to the clean coil. I highly recommend this product if you want to save on the AC service charging you up to $250.00 for the same thing.
+53points
57out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Weston, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

too "LIGHT" AC COIL CLEANER

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you need to clear a COIL thats really dirty, this product it is not strong enough ..... the price is fine but the product won't be able to do what you need = CLEAN
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: light use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Seminole, Fl

it worked

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
it was simple to use and did what it stated it would
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from The Valley of the Sun

Foam Coil Cleaner - EXCELLENT Product!

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I thought I'd try this stuff on a wall unit in my den. The coils/fins had never been previously cleaned so, upon inspection, the build-up of crud led me to think, "No way is this going to get clean." But, I had to try. Spraying horizontally, starting at the bottom, the Foam Coil Cleaner forcefully shot a thick foaming mass into/on to the fins. It continues to expand as you spray! In no time, the entire coil area was covered. This product delivers EXACTLY what it promises! In about 20 minutes the foam was gone, having done it's job, and the product had completely rinsed itself away. Due to my neglect, a 2nd application was required. (I'm not sure as to the toxicity of the fumes produced, but the scent is powerful so it is a good idea to keep the area well ventilated during use of the product.) Finally, as usual, Home Depot provided great order processing and shipping service.
Well, don't just sit there... BUY THIS STUFF!
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. I've been using for two seasons now

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Make sure all power is off. Circuit breaker or fuse pulled out. I sprayed the coils and it foams up well with a slight scent. Wait about 10-15 minutes and wash it off with gentle spray with the garden hose. It's that easy. Note I think you need at least two cans to use for a small-medium unit. That is how many I used for my unit. The foam is gentle and has never damaged my coil fins at all. Been doing this for two seasons already.
Pros: Easy to Use
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Miami, FL; humidity capital of the known universe

Convenient and effective.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cleaner works great. I've used it on a car A/C coil without removing it from the vehicle, a wall a/c, and on a central A/C unit. On the wall A/C, access to the coils is easy, so it's kind of overkill, but it did get the coils clean as the day the unit was pulled out of the box. On the central unit and car a/c, this cleaner's convenient application really shines. I was able to shoot it in and coat the coils through a small one inch gap in the housing, and after a few cycles of blasting the coils and running the unit, the formerly restricted airflow now blasted! The foam kind of grows after it's been shot into a coil, so it'll get into all sorts of odd spaces. The only improvement I can think of possibly making to this product is to include an extension tube on the can, like that which comes with WD-40.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Pine Mountain, Georgia

Does what it promised to do... but a bit smelly.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchase on recommendation of friend and also other Home Depot reviews.
Neglected commercial kitchen A/C unit in 1200 Sq.ft. space. Evap Coils Caked with years of greasy gunk.
Sprayed on, it foamed a lot of the gunk out the first time. Had to use fin cleaning/straightening tool to assist in the caked gunk removal. It will have to be repeated due to the awful condition of the coils.
Note: if you are sensitive to smells, use this when you are going to be out of the area for the rest of the day. The smell is a little like solvent.
DON'T believe the can when it says it "Lemon Fragrance Deodorizes" and "The pleasant citrus fragrance helps leave the area clean and deodorized".
The warning statement "Use with adequate ventilation" is important.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use but required a couple of treatments since it had not been done before.

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The difficulty of use is based upon your unit. Mine was a little difficult to see one side of the A coil but it still seemed to work when I had to apply it without a good sight line.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>