728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Heating, Cooling & Air Quality or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Suited for use with almost any coils, the AC-Safe 19 oz. Air Conditioning Coil Foaming Cleaner is a heavy-duty detergent easily removes dirt, grease and oil. With a special 360 degree valve, it can be sprayed in any position.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product79 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product79 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Review 1 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great A/C coil cleaner

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cleaned my a/c coils just by spraying them and the product does the rest. My central home a/c is working fantastic in this hot Florida climate!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Cabot, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Saved me $88 + cost to clean the coils

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My condenser fins and coils were dripping straight to the AC filter then the floor instead of the water sliding to the sides to get collected and sent down the drain line. From what I read, this could be either due to dirty fins or due to the unit being low on freon. I called the AC company and they quoted me $88 just to come and inspect it. To fix it it would have been extra! My fins looked fairly clean so I was leaning more towards the second possibility of the freon being low. I figured, for $5, I won't be losing much and I will have clean coils even if that wasn't the cause.
I bought one of the cans and it had a nice brush that I used first to loosen the dirt. I then used a shop vac to suck the lose dirt, then I sprayed the foam. It did not cause a huge mess as I expected and I wore eye protection. It irritated my breathing a little. I left it for 10 minutes then I wiped it down and ran the AC! Not a single drop of water. All the water is now going down the drain line as it is supposed to. Now, when I shine a light, I can see the coils through the fins which were not visible before. Overall great product. It saved me at least $88 plus the price of labor to to clean the coils. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: eye irritant (definately wear protection), mild breathing irritant
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from northwest new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS STUFF WORKS

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Central Air unit in my attic was blowing foul-smelling air ; somewhere between vomit and old vinyl.
The a/c company suggested to look inside the air handler in the attic. Possibly a dead mouse was responsible for the smell. I found no bodies. I researched online and saw reviews of this and other coil cleaning products. I decided a $5 investment wouldn't be so bad if it didn't work. Even though the drip pan
was dry and had some dusty residue and the coiI itself looked clean I decided to clean the coil. I used an entire can and let the foam evaporate as the instructions said it was self-rinsing.
I reassembled the unit and turned the thermostat to make the unit come on. A lemony scent came through at first and then dissipated as the unit operated. Voila! it worked. No more foul odor!
Pros: Easy to Use
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was told I needed a new hvac unit during a service call due to frozen coils. Did YouTube search and found out it could be caused by dirty coils. They were filthy. We vacuumed/peeled off what we could then used this product. We did two applications. The results were immediate and the hvac system works better than it ever has. Super easy to use, clean scent, fumes weren't an issue that I can recall. Saved me over $3k.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Exactly what I needed!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This foam cleaner removed years of built up dirt on the fins of the condenser cover. Just sprayed it on, lightly scrubbed the fins with the included brush that's built into the top of the can cover and the dirt just came off. It's self rinsing but I sprayed water from the inside out anyway just to make sure. This product did what it was supposed to do. Can't ask for more than that.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product with many other uses!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to order this product online with the free shipping option. I have used this foam cleaner to clean out engine bays in my ATV and snowmobile. Product is not harmful to plastic, rubber and other sensitive materials. I always buy a box full at a time!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on the compressor coils well!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I sprayed this onto the compressor coils, waited until the foam subsided and then rinsed them well with the hose. A surprising amount of dirt was released. Prior to this product, I always cleaned the coils at least three times during AC season with just the hose, but this product increased the cleaning power tremendously and left them silvery-shiny! I bought two bottles of this and am glad that I did!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. I've been using for two seasons now

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure all power is off. Circuit breaker or fuse pulled out. I sprayed the coils and it foams up well with a slight scent. Wait about 10-15 minutes and wash it off with gentle spray with the garden hose. It's that easy. Note I think you need at least two cans to use for a small-medium unit. That is how many I used for my unit. The foam is gentle and has never damaged my coil fins at all. Been doing this for two seasons already.
Pros: Easy to Use
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good foaming coil cleaner, likely as good as any, a good price, and easily availability at the home depot. Use it for a yearly maintenance cleaning of your evaporator coil. One can is enough to spray the coil. I have seen it reduce the pressure drop (static pressure) across a coil by .2 inch water column. To see if your coil is clean and working properly, look up the manufacturers data sheet on the evaporator coil and see what the static pressure drop is supposed to be for your application (airflow), and measure it with a manometer. It is likely between .15 and .25 inch water column. If it is higher than that after using the coil cleaner, then it needs professional cleaning.
But its not magic, this spray on foaming coil cleaner will clean a dusty coil, but if you have cat/dog hair and lint packed into the fins of the coil because someone didn't have a furnace filter installed or never changed it, then you will need a professional to clean it, and that will cost several hundred to even $800 or more if they have to evacuate the refrigerant and remove the coil from the system to clean it. Its much cheaper to have a good filter system with a 2" thick or better low pressure drop filter and occasional maintenance with a coil cleaner like this one. Be careful of the small 1" pleated high efficiency filters, meaning merv-8 and above, because they can add a pressure drop across the filter that will reduce the airflow and reduce the efficiency of your AC system.
Most, and I mean like 80%, of AC systems suffer from low air flow over the coil which reduces the efficiency of the system. The causes of the low air flow is from too small return duct sizes, not enough return air ducts, too small or too few supply ducts, dirty filter, dirty coil, incorrect setting for the blower motor fan speed, or wrong airflow because of incorrect altitude compensation. At sea level and a normal to dry humidity the equipment manufacturer likely specified 400CFM per ton of cooling, at 5000 ft elevation, it needs to be 500CFM per ton because the air is thinner. In the east with high humidity at sea level it may be 350 CFM per ton so that the coil is cooler, below the dew point, so it can condense more water off of the coil and dehumidify the air.
The one thing that you can easily control is to keep the filter and the coil clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Outstanding product

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just had my AC serviced last week even though I try to maintain it clean. Freon and all other aspects of it were good. They recommended that I do a coil cleaning since the fins were pretty dirty. The service guy said they normally charge between $185 and $250 depending on time to clean. They use a foam like cleaner that gets sprayed on and then either washed off or the coil condensation would rinse away, and there was no need to remove the coil for cleaning. I decided to search for products and do it myself.
I purchased this product and was astonished at the ease of using it. I used a wet vac with a soft brush end after it soaked in and allowed to clean the coils, took about half hour total time. Ran my AC afterwards and system was noticeably colder due to the clean coil. I highly recommend this product if you want to save on the AC service charging you up to $250.00 for the same thing.
+50points
53out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Kingston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent A/C Cleaner for Mini-Splits

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great. I was able to dissolve build up on the condenser metal fins and blower wheel inside my three min-splits. This product got everything super clean. I highly recommend it. I will be using it every year now.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from The Valley of the Sun

Foam Coil Cleaner - EXCELLENT Product!

PostedJune 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought I'd try this stuff on a wall unit in my den. The coils/fins had never been previously cleaned so, upon inspection, the build-up of crud led me to think, "No way is this going to get clean." But, I had to try. Spraying horizontally, starting at the bottom, the Foam Coil Cleaner forcefully shot a thick foaming mass into/on to the fins. It continues to expand as you spray! In no time, the entire coil area was covered. This product delivers EXACTLY what it promises! In about 20 minutes the foam was gone, having done it's job, and the product had completely rinsed itself away. Due to my neglect, a 2nd application was required. (I'm not sure as to the toxicity of the fumes produced, but the scent is powerful so it is a good idea to keep the area well ventilated during use of the product.) Finally, as usual, Home Depot provided great order processing and shipping service.
Well, don't just sit there... BUY THIS STUFF!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved Myself $182.00 on Coil Cleaning Service

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this coil cleaner last summer and again this summer. My HVAC Service Tech told me when he performed the summer service check that the condenser coils inside the unit needed cleaning. He said it would cost me $182.00. I told him that I had this AC Safe Coil Cleaner and he said he couldn't use it, that he had to use his own cleaner. I asked him if "I" could use my cleaner right then and there while he had the cover off. He said "sure". While I sprayed the cleaner he looked at the second can and read the information, shook his head up and down and told me he would close the cover after it foams a bit. He buttoned everything back up and returned to my dining room to make out the paperwork. He commented on the lemon fresh smell and didn't try to convince me that his product was better. I've also saved my daughter and sister a coil cleaning service bill by recommending this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Works good in combination with steam pressure or gentle spray.

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am Currently doing a coil cleaning project for my mom and her A/C coils were extremely dirty and had a sort of soot on the air handler. i took to using this spray and a gentle stream of spray bottle water, but it hasn't removed all of it. After using two bottles and vacuuming it, it has since worked better and cools better.
For those of you with the same problem as me i recommend using foaming coil cleaner along with steam pressure cleaner to clean the coils for those really stubborn coils. I will soon be receiving my steam cleaner by mail to clean my coils and i can guarantee my coils will be dirt free...
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Miami, FL; humidity capital of the known universe

Convenient and effective.

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cleaner works great. I've used it on a car A/C coil without removing it from the vehicle, a wall a/c, and on a central A/C unit. On the wall A/C, access to the coils is easy, so it's kind of overkill, but it did get the coils clean as the day the unit was pulled out of the box. On the central unit and car a/c, this cleaner's convenient application really shines. I was able to shoot it in and coat the coils through a small one inch gap in the housing, and after a few cycles of blasting the coils and running the unit, the formerly restricted airflow now blasted! The foam kind of grows after it's been shot into a coil, so it'll get into all sorts of odd spaces. The only improvement I can think of possibly making to this product is to include an extension tube on the can, like that which comes with WD-40.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used product on evaporative coil that had not been cleaned in years and was icing up. Coil is hard to access due to pipes on one side and I was concerned about getting product applied on that side. No worries, product comes out as a tight straight stream with plenty of velocity to cover those hard to reach areas. AC blows much colder now and no ice build up. Recommend keeping rag on hand to clean overspray off of nozzle.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner

Great product

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great product I highly recommend it but Home Depot should update the inventory online because it says 12 in stock in my area everytime I go they say that there out of stock other than this it is a good ac cleaner ...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from miami

Good for light cleaning

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My coil was very very dirt, so i have to hose it out with water. If you in for a light dirt cleaning it is perfect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Richmond Hill, GA 31324, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product for DIY

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HVAC was not cooling properly, used this product on air handler coils, condensation cleans foam away, no need to hose off. Followed up with stronger coil cleaner for heat pump, low water pressure rinse on outside unit coils, changed all filters in air returns and air handler, unit works like new and has a fresh new smell. This should be in every DIY's tool bag for annual a/c tune up!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Air Conditioner Coil Foaming Cleaner
from Pine Mountain, Georgia

Does what it promised to do... but a bit smelly.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchase on recommendation of friend and also other Home Depot reviews.
Neglected commercial kitchen A/C unit in 1200 Sq.ft. space. Evap Coils Caked with years of greasy gunk.
Sprayed on, it foamed a lot of the gunk out the first time. Had to use fin cleaning/straightening tool to assist in the caked gunk removal. It will have to be repeated due to the awful condition of the coils.
Note: if you are sensitive to smells, use this when you are going to be out of the area for the rest of the day. The smell is a little like solvent.
DON'T believe the can when it says it "Lemon Fragrance Deodorizes" and "The pleasant citrus fragrance helps leave the area clean and deodorized".
The warning statement "Use with adequate ventilation" is important.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>