728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

John Deere’s 18 cu. ft. steel utility cart is as durable and hard-working as they come. With a load capacity of 1,650 lbs., there aren’t many loads this cart can’t handle. The bracket-free tailgate design eliminates side channels that can obstruct materials when unloading. Recessed flat bold heads won’t disrupt shoveling material from the bed. And the steep 45-degree tailgate angle and quick release dumping action allow for easy and complete emptying.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product32 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product32 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
Review 1 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Prescott
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty Product

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The John Deere tow cart is a quality piece of equipment; single piece deep bed with no seams or bolt heads, hinged tailgate that swings open or removes easily, study release mechanism that prevent cart from accidently dumping, 1 inch solid axle, and wide turf tires.
The instruction manual is pathetic. The pictures lack clarity and orientation as they are poor quality close-ups. This prevents knowing how the part is attached in relation to the cart. There are references to bolts with round heads that do not exist. Overall, the parts do align and fit well but the manual does detract from the higher overall quality that you should expect from a JD product.
The tow bar channel does not have holes predrilled for attaching a ball coupler. This feature would have been a low cost plus. If you have a small tractor with a 3 pt. hitch, you will need a swinging drawbar to keep the tow arm back far enough to allow for sharp turns. I have a carry all with receiver. I opted to drill the holes to allow for a ball carrier. I tried the standard pin attachment on the tow bar and besides the turning/clearance problem, the tow bar bangs up and down on the tractor’s drawbar.
The cart is made of steel and painted with a high grade finish. I am hauling a lot of rock and it handles the heavy loads well. However, steel will dent easily so I am using thick poly bins to protect the finish. Ironic, but over time, I’ll remove the bids as the gleam in my eyes dim.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor instruction manual, no ball coupler holes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Coram, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best of the best!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an avid gardener and spend a lot of time mulching, planting and all things out doors. My daughter loves rides in our new cart, it is spacious and sturdy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Marquette, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Firewood Hauler

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After beating up a lightweight utility cart over the years I needed somthing more durable. I looked at several other little trailers on the market but decided on the 18 cu. ft. John Deere. It arrived in a few days of ordering. Asssembly was ok except for getting the trip lever. I had to purchase a 1 7/8 hitch receiver to adapt to my equipment. I haul up to 25 face chord of green hardwood out of the woods annually so it will see some heavy duty use. I wish it had sideboard pockets, I'll have to add some sideboards as well. Overall it's a nice little unit that should last many years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, stable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 15 cu. one, sold it to the neighbor for $200, after a little accident with it. I told him I was going to buy another one. Had another one coming from Home Depot with-in 24 hours. I really can't do without a heavy duty lawn trailer. Yes, I have more trailers. I need a big lawn trailer that the wheels won't fall off and I can abuse. This one fits the bill. My first one I did not have to put it together, bought it from dealer. This one was easy for my wife to put together, I'm a little disabled.
Vern
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting, it's green
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with this utility cart. It lives up to the quality of a John Deere product. Our only complaint was in the assembly. The instructions did not have clear illustrations and we used a lot of time trying to figure out where things went. We also had to replace three bolts that came with the product that would not tighten, But once it was assembled, we are very pleased with the heavy-duty sturdiness. It can carry a load of wood behind our compact tractor, yet it is easy to move around our shed by hand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: poor assembly instructions, had to replace bolts during assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Merrimack NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does The Job

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Biggest cart out there that I could find, but still a bit pricey.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Cons: assembly instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Bonham, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love the utility cart & I have plenty of room for my projects. I do not think the hitch is user friendly for everyone.

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think the hitch needs improvement, the hook up needs to be easier for the older generation. My opinion is the cart is great all but the hitch. I think it looks great and pulls very smooth. I love it.
Thanks
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

OK, 'nuff said

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Assembly not as difficult as reported on this site, but not a breeze either. Had a bolt break and nuts with burrs in the threads. Luckily, I had stuff in my garage to work around those issues. Tailgate is a pain, to install and to use with the dump body. For the price just OK. 'nuff said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cart is very well built,the wheel's not so much

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only issue I had with the cart was the wheel's the left wheel would no go on to the axle due to a burr inside the wheel.ands the grease fitting snapped off when I tried to remove my grease gun. I contacted the manufacture,gave them the serial number and I received a replacement within 3 days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Jamul, CA

Little Green Monster Wagon

PostedMay 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this cart on-line form Home Depot, which when it finally arrived at my house (took 17 days) I had to assemble it. The assembly wasn't difficult, except for the dump latch mechanism. Also the wheels have to be lubed, and of course grease and a grease gun don't come with the shipment. So if you order on-line have grease gun and bearing or axle grease handy. If it wasn't for that I would give it 5 stars.
I live on a small ranch and have only had it for a day. In that day though; it has hauled a cast iron bathtub by removing the tailgate, which is very easy to do, and hauled 3 heaping loads of branches and brush to the dumpster.
Very satisfied with the quality.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extensive assembly, poor instructions, incorrect pieces

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The local store was out of stock, so I ordered one that was shipped to me. It is basically a stack of metal, a bag of unlabeled bolts, and a poorly reproduced instruction manual that must have been written by a 5 year old. Assembly took 9 hours, primarily because the instructions were so unclear and some of the parts did not line up properly.
Here are some specifics: 1) The instruction manual parts list does not include pictures or drawings to help you identify which part is which. You will need to go through the entire manual to figure out which parts go with which steps; then, go through it a second time with the leftover parts to try and figure out which of those parts correspond with the part name referenced in the various steps. Yes, you have to use process of elimination to figure out many of the parts. 2) Some parts were damaged and/or did not line up properly. The box was unblemished, so the damage was obviously at the manufacturer's end. 3) The axle support, which is probably the most critical part in the whole cart, is not pre-attached. You use 4 very short bolts to attach it. Not only do you have to thread the nuts inside a very small channel, you have to then worry about bolts shirring during heavy use. That thing should have been welded in place. 4) Some of the listed parts have apparently been replaced, and the replacements do not fit properly. I managed to break a ratchet trying to get the nuts onto the shoulder bolts. They just plain didn't fit. 5) The quality of the pictures in the manual is horrible and fuzzy. The pictures themselves are at uninformative angles. It is almost impossible to tell which way to position things for assembly by using the instruction manual. Trial and error is the only way, and that takes hours.
Very, very disappointed with the quality of this product.
Cons: poor instructions, damaged missing and incorrect parts, extensive assembly, critical components lack factory reinforcement
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

Old School American Quality

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is an extremely well constructed trailer. No "made in China" on this - it's good 'ole American hardware, the likes of which you rarely see these days.
It was delivered on a pallet and weighed 190lbs, which gives you some idea of how heavily constructed this is.
It was relatively easy to assemble, with the exception of the bed tip release lever, which was a bear (and I am a graduate mechanical engineer!)
The trailer has been worth its (considerable) weight in gold, in terms of usefulness in our yard. It is so strong that when fully loaded my 21hp John Deere mower can barely pull it.
This trailer will easily last longer than I will! Highly recommended.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: barely legible instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Cart for the price

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You can not beat this cart for the price .I wish it had bearing in the wheels. But I think it is good cart .
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

John Deere1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Steel Utility Cart

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to use this a couple of times first, which I have and loaded it heavy. It is solid!
There are a few bolts to assemble the cart and it is big and heavy so you should have help turning it over. It is strong and solid, never notices the weight or the bumps. The removable tailgate is easy to handle and I have piled it high with wood a couple of times without problem. The dump is simple and works under load. All in all I would give this 5 stars. It is well worth the money, no regrets at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cart is real, not made in china junk

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product that is made of steel. Took just over a hour to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. The cart should provide many years of service.The only negative thing is that the unit arrived with a couple of large dents in the front and there was no damage to the package it was shipped in. Overall the unit is a hundred times better than one you can purchase from any box store and is worth the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Mount Shasta, CA 96067, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect size for my John Deere tractor

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this cart to haul dirt, rocks and fire wood on my property and it has performed perfectly. The assembly instructions are a bit lacking and there were a couple of parts missing but a call to the 800 number resulted in the parts being delivered in a couple of days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: assembly instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Washington

Good solid Trailer.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trailer is heavy duty and easy to use except for the lip on the bottom of the rearend that prevents you from pulling awaywhile dumping.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

Excellent Trailer

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trailer is extremely well built and manufactured in USA which is rare these days. All steel construction. The package arrived at my local Home Depot store in a large box and nothing was damaged on the cart duirng shipping. Highly recommended dump trailer. The local John Deere dealer charges $100 dollars more for this same cart. This is an excellent value for the quality you are paying for.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid as they come

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked at several carts and decided to go with the Deere. On-line purchase and shipping directly to the house were simple. Assembly took and hour, and I was up and hauling. I did fabricate an extension to the dumping lever so I could dump from the seat of my tractor without having to get off. All in all very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: dump lever to short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trailer MADE IN THE USA

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome heavy duty all metal trailer. Trailer arrived in perfect condition. The only complaint I would say is that the decals had a lot of air bubbles so it did take some time with a safety pin removing the bubbles. Life is to short to let little things like that stress you out :)
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, heavy duty, made in the usa
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>