728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

John Deere’s 18 cu. ft. steel utility cart is as durable and hard-working as they come. With a load capacity of 1,650 lbs., there aren’t many loads this cart can’t handle. The bracket-free tailgate design eliminates side channels that can obstruct materials when unloading. Recessed flat bold heads won’t disrupt shoveling material from the bed. And the steep 45-degree tailgate angle and quick release dumping action allow for easy and complete emptying.
Overall rating:
4.213 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product40 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product40 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
Review 1 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Prescott
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty Product

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The John Deere tow cart is a quality piece of equipment; single piece deep bed with no seams or bolt heads, hinged tailgate that swings open or removes easily, study release mechanism that prevent cart from accidently dumping, 1 inch solid axle, and wide turf tires.
The instruction manual is pathetic. The pictures lack clarity and orientation as they are poor quality close-ups. This prevents knowing how the part is attached in relation to the cart. There are references to bolts with round heads that do not exist. Overall, the parts do align and fit well but the manual does detract from the higher overall quality that you should expect from a JD product.
The tow bar channel does not have holes predrilled for attaching a ball coupler. This feature would have been a low cost plus. If you have a small tractor with a 3 pt. hitch, you will need a swinging drawbar to keep the tow arm back far enough to allow for sharp turns. I have a carry all with receiver. I opted to drill the holes to allow for a ball carrier. I tried the standard pin attachment on the tow bar and besides the turning/clearance problem, the tow bar bangs up and down on the tractor’s drawbar.
The cart is made of steel and painted with a high grade finish. I am hauling a lot of rock and it handles the heavy loads well. However, steel will dent easily so I am using thick poly bins to protect the finish. Ironic, but over time, I’ll remove the bids as the gleam in my eyes dim.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor instruction manual, no ball coupler holes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very pleased with this utility cart. It lives up to the quality of a John Deere product. Our only complaint was in the assembly. The instructions did not have clear illustrations and we used a lot of time trying to figure out where things went. We also had to replace three bolts that came with the product that would not tighten, But once it was assembled, we are very pleased with the heavy-duty sturdiness. It can carry a load of wood behind our compact tractor, yet it is easy to move around our shed by hand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: poor assembly instructions, had to replace bolts during assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a 15 cu. one, sold it to the neighbor for $200, after a little accident with it. I told him I was going to buy another one. Had another one coming from Home Depot with-in 24 hours. I really can't do without a heavy duty lawn trailer. Yes, I have more trailers. I need a big lawn trailer that the wheels won't fall off and I can abuse. This one fits the bill. My first one I did not have to put it together, bought it from dealer. This one was easy for my wife to put together, I'm a little disabled.
Vern
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting, it's green
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Independence, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid, well-built cart.

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just completed the assembly and I'm very pleased with the sturdiness of the cart. I'm sure it will do a great job hauling wood, gravel, and debris around the farm. So, I give the Model 18 cart an initial rating of 5. My overall rating is a 4, because three of the nuts did not fit and I had to go to the hardware store and buy replacements. I didn't have the time to wait on replacements to be sent. Be aware that assembly will take about two hours, mainly due to mediocre instructions and installing the lock bar into the drawbar is a bit of a puzzle.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Ozark, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My last John Deere cart.

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I finally finished putting my John Deere 18 cubic foot cart together. It is my first, and it will be my last John Deere cart. The instruction manuel was terrible. The written instructions were vague at best, and the pictures were just as bad. One step in the intruction manuel was completely left out. The nuts and bolts were the wrong ones in many cases, but I couldn't tell since there were no pictures or drawings to identify them. I actually went to a hardware store and bought my own nuts and bolts so I could finish putting this cart together. The last straw however, was when I found out that the cart lock bar does not reach to the lock bracket. I cannot secure the cart to the drawbar which makes it completely useless. I suppose I can use some wire or a rope to tie it down to the drawbar. I can't think of a more fitting adaptation for this cart.
Cons: worthless instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from New Hampshire
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid cart

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cart seems heavy and rugged and holds a good deal of material. Fairly easy to assemble, although a couple steps were slightly vague in the instructions.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Coram, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best of the best!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an avid gardener and spend a lot of time mulching, planting and all things out doors. My daughter loves rides in our new cart, it is spacious and sturdy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Jupiter, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useful

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My daughter could easily assemble it and hang it on to our lawnmower. She carter dirt with it and I remove all the leaves from the yard. Was what I expected. I looks sturdy and well made.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Marquette, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Firewood Hauler

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After beating up a lightweight utility cart over the years I needed somthing more durable. I looked at several other little trailers on the market but decided on the 18 cu. ft. John Deere. It arrived in a few days of ordering. Asssembly was ok except for getting the trip lever. I had to purchase a 1 7/8 hitch receiver to adapt to my equipment. I haul up to 25 face chord of green hardwood out of the woods annually so it will see some heavy duty use. I wish it had sideboard pockets, I'll have to add some sideboards as well. Overall it's a nice little unit that should last many years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, stable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Bonham, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love the utility cart & I have plenty of room for my projects. I do not think the hitch is user friendly for everyone.

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I think the hitch needs improvement, the hook up needs to be easier for the older generation. My opinion is the cart is great all but the hitch. I think it looks great and pulls very smooth. I love it.
Thanks
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
D110 42 in. 19.5 HP Front-Engine Hydrostatic Riding Mower
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cart is very well built,the wheel's not so much

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only issue I had with the cart was the wheel's the left wheel would no go on to the axle due to a burr inside the wheel.ands the grease fitting snapped off when I tried to remove my grease gun. I contacted the manufacture,gave them the serial number and I received a replacement within 3 days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Washington MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great versatile cart!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My husband purchased a JD compact utility tractor and I purchased the utility cart to have fun with our 4 granddaughters. My husband will use the cart as well for hauling purposes. It seems to be a well built cart and is easy to attach to the tractor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Jamul, CA

Little Green Monster Wagon

PostedMay 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered this cart on-line form Home Depot, which when it finally arrived at my house (took 17 days) I had to assemble it. The assembly wasn't difficult, except for the dump latch mechanism. Also the wheels have to be lubed, and of course grease and a grease gun don't come with the shipment. So if you order on-line have grease gun and bearing or axle grease handy. If it wasn't for that I would give it 5 stars.
I live on a small ranch and have only had it for a day. In that day though; it has hauled a cast iron bathtub by removing the tailgate, which is very easy to do, and hauled 3 heaping loads of branches and brush to the dumpster.
Very satisfied with the quality.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was a snap to assemble and solid steel/metal is what we wanted

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I liked the green but hated to use it the first time because of the shine and newness. Will purchase another one next year,
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, easy puller
Cons: no neg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

Missing parts

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Even thou 3 men worked putting this together there were missing bolts. The washers didn't fit and the directions we're confusing. After it got put together it is sturdy and big.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart

Old School American Quality

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is an extremely well constructed trailer. No "made in China" on this - it's good 'ole American hardware, the likes of which you rarely see these days.
It was delivered on a pallet and weighed 190lbs, which gives you some idea of how heavily constructed this is.
It was relatively easy to assemble, with the exception of the bed tip release lever, which was a bear (and I am a graduate mechanical engineer!)
The trailer has been worth its (considerable) weight in gold, in terms of usefulness in our yard. It is so strong that when fully loaded my 21hp John Deere mower can barely pull it.
This trailer will easily last longer than I will! Highly recommended.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: barely legible instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cart is real, not made in china junk

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product that is made of steel. Took just over a hour to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. The cart should provide many years of service.The only negative thing is that the unit arrived with a couple of large dents in the front and there was no damage to the package it was shipped in. Overall the unit is a hundred times better than one you can purchase from any box store and is worth the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Cart for the price

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You can not beat this cart for the price .I wish it had bearing in the wheels. But I think it is good cart .
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tires leak air over a day or two, requires inner tubes

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I love the trailer, but the tubeless tires lose air rapidly. Inner tubes are required to maintain inflation.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: tires lose inflation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,650 lb. 18 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Steel Utility Cart
from phila pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

strong and reliable

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
assembly could have been easier if jd new the differance between a screw and a bolt
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>