728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet Electric Smoker

Gourmet Electric Smoker

The Brinkmann Gourmet Electric Smoker is a trusted combination smoker and electric grill. Featuring a high-gloss red finish and wood handles, this grill can accommodate up to 50 lb. of meat at once. A front-hinged door provides easy access to the chrome-plated steel cooking grates and porcelain-coated steel water pan. The smoker features a separate base pan to easily convert to an electric grill.
Overall rating:
4.272 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(301 reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product254 of 296reviews
Rating Breakdown 301 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(190)
4
(63)
3
(13)
2
(10)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product254 of 296reviews
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 297 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet Electric Smoker
Review 1 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great smoker... but a note of caution

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK.. I think I have already reviewed this smoker. It does a fabulous job..your ribs will impress people. It is well worth the price. Of course if you compare it to the high dollar smokers, I am sure you can find better. But today I wanted to add a note to my previous review... and this is important. Read the instructions!! I have had two of these smokers...and I just ordered a third. The reason that I ordered a new one is because the last one I bought burned a huge hole in my deck and charred itself into oblivion. (We won't even talk about the fate of the pork roast)
So why would I recommend it?... and replace it! Because it was my fault. I decided to wash the lava rocks before smoking... they were getting oily and ashy from previous smokes. I had NOT read instructions...and when I put them back, I put them on top of the heating element. DO NOT DO THIS!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Williston, Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great smoker for the price!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this electric smoker looking for something easier to use sometimes instead of my wood/charcoal one off my main grill. I read all the reviews (which were mixed) and took a chance. I was NOT disappointed! It took a few times to gauge the heat. The first time the meat (beef) I did went WAY to fast and the 2nd time (pork) took a lot longer than expected. In both occasions (and always) I use a remote, electric thermometer so regardless of the smoker temp I have perfect readings on the meat temp.
Now. Due to the above fluctuations, I bought a thermometer (about $10 also from HD) for the smoker itself, drilled a hole in the top and installed it and it works perfect! However. The instructions provided with the smoker say the unit heats to an even 250F...this is woefully wrong (and high). I can tell you that after about 10 times smoking various meats the unit runs from about 170-190F on average(depending on wind and outside temps). It never broke 200F - ever.
Now. When I put wood chips in the bottom overtop of the lava rocks (and you will need to buy a small bag as what is provided with the smoker is not enough), I pre-soak the chips (not chunks) and wrap them in foil and puncture about a dozen or so holes in each package. I put 2 in which last (smoke evenly but not too much) for about 3 hours and this seems to work perfectly.
Overall this is a great smoker and I use it every weekend now and because it's electric I use it on my front covered porch also as it gives off very little external heat and I am looking forward to using it in the winter time also!
I highly recommend this product but definitely get and install the additional thermometer for the smoker itself. It's an easy 5 minute job and will help tremendously with your consistency of cooking.
P.S. I also bought the $10 cover that is recommended for it. It's a bit big but does the job well.
Enjoy!
Pros: Large Cooking Space, easy to use/master, Great Value, set and forget
Cons: actual temp lower than specs, needs added thermometer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
51out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This makes smoking so simple!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this smoker last year memorial day weekend. It has been a year and I still LOVE my red bullet! It is so simple to smoke meat on this smoker. I equate it to a crock pot. You just season the meat, soak your wood chips, fill the water well, plug it in and walk away! Come back however many hours later and you have perfect ribs, pork shoulder, beef brisket etc.
The smoker runs at a constant 225 degrees. The trick I learned from watching Alton Brown was to loosely wrap your pre-soaked wood chips in tin foil, leaving the aluminum foil packet open at the top. This makes the wood chips last longer, so the smoking process is longer.
This smoker is also really reasonably priced. No need to spend a ton of money, this works just fine!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+111points
118out of 125found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from ocala
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BrinkmannGourmet Electric Smoker

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yummy smoked turkey breast and baby back ribs does not get better than that
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from North Plains, Oregon
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smokes great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've smoked some briskets, ribs and chickens in this bad-boy, and they all came out amazingly fantastic. Nice, even smoke flavor and perfectly cooked with constantly even heating. The water/marinade pan is perfectly situated to constantly self-baste the meats in the smoker and keeps everything moist and juicy. The smoked chicken, which was the best tasting chicken ever, was amazingly moist in the breast meat, which is often a problem drying out in other cooking methods. Especially good cold and in sandwiches the next day. I forsee great things happening with this smoker and other meats!
I did place a loose tinfoil seal around the edge to keep in more smoke and heat, which works both for keeping the edge of the grill clean and keeping in the smoke and heat.
The added grill attachment works great. Remove the smoking cylinder and put the grill above the heating element and you've got yourself a quick and easy electric grill! Made me some delicious hamburgers and hotdogs. Used both the smoker and the grill attachment to smoke the hamburgers for 15-20 minutes then finished them off by removing the cylinder and grilling them over the hot element.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: a bit of a loose seal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
54out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome buy for beginners

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this smoker for my husband for Fathers Day last year, as he all of sudden got an urge to want to start smoking up ribs. Seeing that he had never tried it before, I was skeptical in going all out spending money on an more expensive one- so I went with this one and I am glad I did! He has now mastered the smoking process, and am looking to upgrading his to a bigger one.
My opinion- this is great buy to start off with and test your skills, yet also great if you're only using it every once in a while.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJuly 10, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJuly 10, 2015
Hi HappyCustomer,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that your husband likes the smoker, and that it was a perfect smoker for him to learn on. We hope you enjoy the Summer grilling season! Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Sincerely, Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJuly 10, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJuly 10, 2015
Hi HappyCustomer,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that your husband likes the smoker, and that it was a perfect smoker for him to learn on. We hope you enjoy the Summer grilling season! Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Sincerely, Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 7 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Great Smoker!!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great smoker. This was my first year smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving. I followed the instructions and the turkey tasted great. I've also tried smoking a brisket and it's was also great. For a new user, this smoker is the way to go. Make sure you clean it after each use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet Electric Smoker

so far it's been a great purchase

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As of today I have cooked 2 8# pork shoulders(at the same time), couple pounds of salmon, pork tenderloin, chicken, spare ribs and up next thanksgiving turkey. Have experimented with various wood types and had to buy a food thermometer to make sure food is cooked thoroughly. Knocking one star off because they really should include a thermometer mounted directly on the smoker. Everything has turned out excellent except for maybe the spate ribs, May be my fault for not letting them cook longer but they looked done. It's been fun trying different meats and is worth the price paid. Make sure to warm it up firstand start with hot water in the bowl.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet Electric Smoker

Best smoker ever!!!

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hello, I would like to tell everyone that this is a tried and true piece of cookware.I've been smoking on my Brinkmann Gourmet electric smoker for 10 years and just now the bottom pan rusted out. The element is still going strong.I recommend this product so much that my sister and brother bought one.I am going to buy another one soon.Store it properly after each use. I removed the element and hanged it in the garage to store it.Clean and wash out the smoker let dry.I have replaced the lava rocks twice in 10 years.Big secret I found was to add a wire rack on the bottom pan from an old Brinkmann smoker on the bottom of the smoker to get the water pan off the element and lava rocks very important because you can add bigger chunks of wood. I only smoke with Pecan wood sometimes Hickory.BTW I am still smoking on it. Let's see I smoked 12-19lb Cajun smoked turkey's soaked in brine. 12- 15 lb turkey's cook best and the Boston Butts rubbed and cooked two at a time turn out super. My friends and family look forward each year to have my smoked treat.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJuly 1, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJuly 1, 2015
Hi Timbo48,

Thank you for sharing. We're so glad to hear that you like your smoker and that you have been using it for 10 years. We would love to see photos of what you've cooked! Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy smoking! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 10 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from brigham city utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First smoker and it is AWESOME!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not my first time smoking but the first time using a real smoker! This is an awesome grill and smoker for the price.
A few suggestions . Including a thermometer in the lid towards the side! Also a retaining clip where the heating element is located so it doesn't bounce around.
My smoked pork loin is a total hit!
Cooking and smoking suggestions. soak your sticks in water for 2 hours. drip dry and wrap in foil, then poke holes in it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: no thermostat
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
31out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Pueblo, CO

A very nice product..I love it :0)

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pros: I love this smoker, because it does a great job:
It was easy to assemble.
My first Boston Pork Butt turned out to be tender and juicy, The flavor is amazing. I am considering smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving :0)
Cons:
The product was delivered by UPS in an open broken box, the water pan had a big dent in it and the dome had a whole in it. After calling and reporting the damaged parts, I had the new replacement parts at my doorstep within 10 days.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Fleming Island, FL 32003, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Just Fine!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this Smoker. This is my first, and I used the reviews to help guide me. There were some negatives but overall I took the leap of faith and am very happy with the results. Only gets to about 200 degrees but cooks everything that I have put on it just fine. I tried putting in more lava rock to increase the heat but when covering the element it lowered the temp. I removed some but left enough to fill around the bottom of the element and that seems to work great! Also wrapping the smoking wood in foil is a great trick to help keep the bottom pan clean and easy clean up. For the price and results I highly suggest this smoker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First purchase and a good one ! ! !

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Brinkmann Smoker was easy to assemble. The instruction book that came with the product was not only helpful in the assembly but had some tips that were noted. I have used this product 5 times and it is now smoking 4 large turkey drumsticks as I write this review. Ya done good ! ! !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from kennesaw, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

missing half of the parts

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say that I drove twenty miles round trip to a second home depot store after the first store didn't have one in stock even though homedepot.com said they did.
Got home to put the smoker together and it's missing all three of it's handles, the lava rocks, the side door, all nuts and bolts, and the manual. The box had large metal staples in place so I have to assume that is came from the factory with half of the contents missing. What a magnificent failure on the part of Brinkman! Now I've got to make another trip trying to get this taken care of.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: not enough parts to use.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great after I modified it!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plugged it in and it reached 350 degrees. Smoking meat(brisket) is usually done around 175 to 250 so I headed back to the depot and bought a dimmer switch for a ceiling fan. Spliced in the dimmer into the electrical cord of the smoker. Heated the grill up to 225-250 depending on outside temp and it stayed exact for 14 hours. I put a few hickory chunks directly on top of heating element and smokes like a champ. For the price of the smoker and the dimmer switch I would recommend it. Great for beginners.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
73out of 114found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet Electric Smoker

Element stopped working!!!

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this smoker from HD and worked great first two times. I added a temp Guage the third time for a party and after about 9 hours or smoking a butt I noticed the temp had gone down. I checked the element and it was cold. Quit working. I tried different plugs and still nothing. Checked the power outlets and they were all working. I will be returning this back to HD. Good thing I added the temp Guage or I would have lost all my meat and had no food for the party. You get what you pay for....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Los Angeles, CA

Clean smoker turns out very nice tri-tip, quicker than you'd think!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I went with an electric smoker so that I could keep it at a constant temperature easier than with a traditional charcoal smoker. All the flavor is still there. Basically, there is an electric heating element surrounded by lava rocks. I make a foil pouch filled with soaked wood chips and poke a few holes in it, put it on the lava rocks.
A meat thermometer is crucial, as there is no gauge on the smoker itself. My tri tip was done a lot faster than I thought -- after about two hours. It was tender and flavorful.
I would recommend this smoker to other beginners. Definitely will be adding a temperature gauge to the lid in the near future.
Pros: Easy to Clean
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buy one

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had one like it that I bought at a Home Depot in 1986 lasted until 1993 when the element burned up cost for replacement element was about the cost of the grill so in 2012 after smoking food on my gas grill (I got tired sitting and watching it all the time ) I bought a new one as we like smoked hams , turkeys ,fish etc.anything When I bought the first one I paid $10.00 less for it than I paid in 2012 a great deal Put your food on it and walk away for a couple of hours Read the instructions and enjoy ! Also DO NOT OPEN COVER AS IT TAKES ABOUT 30 MINS OR SO TO GET BACK THE HEAT TO GET COOKING AGAIN and soak your wood chips in water for at least 4-5 hours for a good smoke its better over night use cherry, pecan, plum, pear,apple, any type of wood like that
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Smoker going and at a great price

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a similar smoker a couple of decades back until it was worn out. Replaced it with the small frig type smoker with four racks. The problem with them is that when you open the door to add wood, you loose tons of heat and smoke. I never liked the operation or food off of it as well as my old smoker of this style.
The nice little door on the side of this one lets you add wood and water with very little temp or smoke loss.
So far, I have smoked a whole grass fed beef filet, a port butt (best pork I have ever had and I am a BBQ lover), and a couple of pans of almonds, all over apple wood. The design of this makes it so easy to use and the results have been stellar. One thing it needs is a temp gauge, and I am going to take the one off of the old frig smoker and put it on this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, good looking
Cons: needs a temp gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Fayetteville, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is NO temperature gauge to tell you the internal temperature of the smoker. The owners manual makes absolutely NO mention of the pre-set cooking temperature.
I gave this thing 3 honest attempts. The first was an 8.5lb Boston Butt. I rubbed it down, and smoked it for 6.5 hours. It tasted OK, and had a very good smoke flavor, but was tough, way way way way way way way way over cooked, and impossible to shred apart like proper smoked pork.
The second attempt was a 3.5lb rack of ribs. I rubbed them, and smoked for 2 hours, basted with sauce, and smoked an additional 30 minutes. The results were equally disappointing..., tough, over cooked, but a good smoke flavor.
The third, and final attempt (the smoker has now been treated to a sledge hammer massage, and in the back of my truck with the rest of the scrap metal) was another 3.5 lb rack of ribs. Once again, I rubbed them, and this time I smoked for an hour, basted, and smoked an additional 30 minutes. The ribs were again tough, and way over cooked, but had a good smoke flavor.
If you want tough, chewy ribs with a good smoke flavor, then this is the device for you.
If you prefer delicious, tender, fall-off-the-bone ribs, then here's what you do:
Coat the ribs with your favorite rub & let sit in the fridge for a few hours.
Preheat your oven (that is free, and came with your house, no less) to 275º
Put the ribs on a baking sheet, & cover tightly with aluminum foil.
Bake for 3 hours
Put on a charcoal grill with wood chips, over INDIRECT heat, and let them smoke for an hour.
Serve, and enjoy some of the most tender, moist, juicy, delicious, and fall off the bone tender heaven you've ever had.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: does not work., tough dry meat, no temperature gauge, owner's manual does not tell you the cooking temp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>