728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gourmet Electric Smoker

Gourmet Electric Smoker

This Brinkmann 15-1/2 in. Electric Gourmet Smoker is a combination smoker and electric grill and features a high-gloss red finish. The smoker has durable, chrome-plated steel components and can cook up to 50 lb. of meat at once. A front-hinged door provides easy access, and the smoker features a separate base pan to easily convert to an electric grill.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(243 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product207 of 238reviews
Rating Breakdown 243 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(154)
4
(52)
3
(9)
2
(10)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product207 of 238reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 275 Answers
Customer reviews for Gourmet Electric Smoker
Review 1 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Williston, Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great smoker for the price!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this electric smoker looking for something easier to use sometimes instead of my wood/charcoal one off my main grill. I read all the reviews (which were mixed) and took a chance. I was NOT disappointed! It took a few times to gauge the heat. The first time the meat (beef) I did went WAY to fast and the 2nd time (pork) took a lot longer than expected. In both occasions (and always) I use a remote, electric thermometer so regardless of the smoker temp I have perfect readings on the meat temp.
Now. Due to the above fluctuations, I bought a thermometer (about $10 also from HD) for the smoker itself, drilled a hole in the top and installed it and it works perfect! However. The instructions provided with the smoker say the unit heats to an even 250F...this is woefully wrong (and high). I can tell you that after about 10 times smoking various meats the unit runs from about 170-190F on average(depending on wind and outside temps). It never broke 200F - ever.
Now. When I put wood chips in the bottom overtop of the lava rocks (and you will need to buy a small bag as what is provided with the smoker is not enough), I pre-soak the chips (not chunks) and wrap them in foil and puncture about a dozen or so holes in each package. I put 2 in which last (smoke evenly but not too much) for about 3 hours and this seems to work perfectly.
Overall this is a great smoker and I use it every weekend now and because it's electric I use it on my front covered porch also as it gives off very little external heat and I am looking forward to using it in the winter time also!
I highly recommend this product but definitely get and install the additional thermometer for the smoker itself. It's an easy 5 minute job and will help tremendously with your consistency of cooking.
P.S. I also bought the $10 cover that is recommended for it. It's a bit big but does the job well.
Enjoy!
Pros: Large Cooking Space, easy to use/master, Great Value, set and forget
Cons: actual temp lower than specs, needs added thermometer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from North Plains, Oregon
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smokes great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've smoked some briskets, ribs and chickens in this bad-boy, and they all came out amazingly fantastic. Nice, even smoke flavor and perfectly cooked with constantly even heating. The water/marinade pan is perfectly situated to constantly self-baste the meats in the smoker and keeps everything moist and juicy. The smoked chicken, which was the best tasting chicken ever, was amazingly moist in the breast meat, which is often a problem drying out in other cooking methods. Especially good cold and in sandwiches the next day. I forsee great things happening with this smoker and other meats!
I did place a loose tinfoil seal around the edge to keep in more smoke and heat, which works both for keeping the edge of the grill clean and keeping in the smoke and heat.
The added grill attachment works great. Remove the smoking cylinder and put the grill above the heating element and you've got yourself a quick and easy electric grill! Made me some delicious hamburgers and hotdogs. Used both the smoker and the grill attachment to smoke the hamburgers for 15-20 minutes then finished them off by removing the cylinder and grilling them over the hot element.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: a bit of a loose seal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Great Smoker!!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great smoker. This was my first year smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving. I followed the instructions and the turkey tasted great. I've also tried smoking a brisket and it's was also great. For a new user, this smoker is the way to go. Make sure you clean it after each use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from brigham city utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First smoker and it is AWESOME!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not my first time smoking but the first time using a real smoker! This is an awesome grill and smoker for the price.
A few suggestions . Including a thermometer in the lid towards the side! Also a retaining clip where the heating element is located so it doesn't bounce around.
My smoked pork loin is a total hit!
Cooking and smoking suggestions. soak your sticks in water for 2 hours. drip dry and wrap in foil, then poke holes in it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: no thermostat
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This makes smoking so simple!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this smoker last year memorial day weekend. It has been a year and I still LOVE my red bullet! It is so simple to smoke meat on this smoker. I equate it to a crock pot. You just season the meat, soak your wood chips, fill the water well, plug it in and walk away! Come back however many hours later and you have perfect ribs, pork shoulder, beef brisket etc.
The smoker runs at a constant 225 degrees. The trick I learned from watching Alton Brown was to loosely wrap your pre-soaked wood chips in tin foil, leaving the aluminum foil packet open at the top. This makes the wood chips last longer, so the smoking process is longer.
This smoker is also really reasonably priced. No need to spend a ton of money, this works just fine!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+96points
102out of 108found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Fleming Island, FL 32003, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Just Fine!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this Smoker. This is my first, and I used the reviews to help guide me. There were some negatives but overall I took the leap of faith and am very happy with the results. Only gets to about 200 degrees but cooks everything that I have put on it just fine. I tried putting in more lava rock to increase the heat but when covering the element it lowered the temp. I removed some but left enough to fill around the bottom of the element and that seems to work great! Also wrapping the smoking wood in foil is a great trick to help keep the bottom pan clean and easy clean up. For the price and results I highly suggest this smoker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Smoker

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe the pros in this blog have NOT figured out how to raise the temp for not only faster cooking but much larger meats.
I routinely cook 15 pound turkeys in 2.5 hrs and fall-offa-da-bone-ribs in less time in dead of winter, including snow! !
Simple: just cover up the entire kettle with the cardboard box it came in and then cover again with a BBQ grille plastic cover to keep the snow from melting. Nothing will burn or melt not even the cardboard on mine that is 4yeares old. I had one cardboard cover for over 6years overseas. Hint...keep out of rain.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, put wood between coil not on coil., no wood soaking needed with water pan, heavy meats towards outside grille, add cut up citrus to water pan, add spices and herbs to water pan, put cut up veggies on bottom grille in foil, mix apple wood with mesquite hickory, once done put bbq sauce on foil then wrap meat, wiring permitted two coils can be used, save lava rock for your garden soil wash rock
Cons: could be twice as tall
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Pueblo, CO

A very nice product..I love it :0)

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros: I love this smoker, because it does a great job:
It was easy to assemble.
My first Boston Pork Butt turned out to be tender and juicy, The flavor is amazing. I am considering smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving :0)
Cons:
The product was delivered by UPS in an open broken box, the water pan had a big dent in it and the dome had a whole in it. After calling and reporting the damaged parts, I had the new replacement parts at my doorstep within 10 days.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Still a winner after 10 years

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the old model without the thermometer and with a black finish versus the red, but everything else is the same. I've done hundreds of racks of ribs, chickens, salmon and chops with Ole' Reliable over the years with great results. I even smoked a standing beef rib roast for an hour and finished it in the oven inside for a little smoky kick to the prime rib.
When we moved out of state, it came with us of course, and the main cylinder got slightly squished in transit. I just pushed it back into "close to round" shape and deformed the dome slightly to match. Still works great. Think I'll have a couple racks of ribs tonight.
- C. New Mexico
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from nederland texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I think I'm gonna love this baby!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to retire my old charcoal smoker, and decided to try an electric one this time. I really did not expect to be able to get a real "smoked" taste without a real "fire".. but I was pleasantly surprised. My smoked Salmon was great..delicate smoked flavor without the fuss of charcoal.. just a hand full of pecan wood chips did the trick. Plus... while I was smoking the fish, I put a pot roast on the lower rack..in a covered dutch oven..and a few hours later I had a perfect pot roast! It works beautifully as a slow cooker for meats or stews or soups..anything you want to slow cook.
I do wish that the top section could be locked to the bottom so you could pick the whole thing up all together..but other than that.. love it so far.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gourmet Electric Smoker

great smoker

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great smoker love this smoker gonna do 2 racks baby backs today owned for over a year as of yesterday no longer use lighter fluid after using the Weber chimney starter great product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buy one

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one like it that I bought at a Home Depot in 1986 lasted until 1993 when the element burned up cost for replacement element was about the cost of the grill so in 2012 after smoking food on my gas grill (I got tired sitting and watching it all the time ) I bought a new one as we like smoked hams , turkeys ,fish etc.anything When I bought the first one I paid $10.00 less for it than I paid in 2012 a great deal Put your food on it and walk away for a couple of hours Read the instructions and enjoy ! Also DO NOT OPEN COVER AS IT TAKES ABOUT 30 MINS OR SO TO GET BACK THE HEAT TO GET COOKING AGAIN and soak your wood chips in water for at least 4-5 hours for a good smoke its better over night use cherry, pecan, plum, pear,apple, any type of wood like that
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+47points
48out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great after I modified it!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plugged it in and it reached 350 degrees. Smoking meat(brisket) is usually done around 175 to 250 so I headed back to the depot and bought a dimmer switch for a ceiling fan. Spliced in the dimmer into the electrical cord of the smoker. Heated the grill up to 225-250 depending on outside temp and it stayed exact for 14 hours. I put a few hickory chunks directly on top of heating element and smokes like a champ. For the price of the smoker and the dimmer switch I would recommend it. Great for beginners.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+30points
68out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Tallahassee, FL

Brinkmann stands behind their products

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife bought this for my birthday and I immediately started using it. Using the times for smoking different meats, from the booklet provided with it. my meats never got hot enough to finish cooking. I had to finish it in a conventional oven. After several tries, with the same result, I contacted Brinkmann and they replaced the element under warranty. It works like a champ now. Takes a little longer than a charcoal water smoker, but you don't have to tend it. A tip: I use a stainless steel smoker box to put the smoking wood in. I use small chunks, maybe 4-5 times the size of chips. I elevate the box above the element with large pieces of lava rocks I already had, though you can probably use a common brick. This method gives the meat the prefect amount of smoke and you don't have to add any wood later.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Happy with this purchase!!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one of these when I lived in Hawaii and loved it. I mainly used it to smoke Turkeys. Too expensive to ship back to the mainland when we moved. Finally bought a replacement. The only negative I have on quality is the holes on the wood handles don't quite line up for the screws. As for design, it would be nice if the electric element had a light to tell if it was heating, but for the price I didn't expect it.
The one thing I would caution is if you are cooking meat, poultry or fish on both racks at the same time, the stuff on the lower rack cooks faster. So, you may end up with stuff on the bottom rack overcooked. it would be a real pain to remove the top rack and get the meat off the bottom rack. You also would risk uncooked meat juices dripping onto the meat below, danger of food poisoning. Best to put vegies, potatoes, etc on top. I cooked 3 butterflied chickens at once so far. 2 below, 1 on top. great smoke flavor. The one on top was ever so slightly underdone (but thermometer read done), the 2 below were a tad dry / overdone. Can't wait to smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Tacoma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazingly good

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not complicated to assemble. Does require a bit of heat up time to get your chips or pellets smoking so don't despair. We made chicken for our first attempt at smoking. It was so delicious-try it you will not be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever...

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With being so unsure about this smoker, I decided to take the plunge and get it. I'm kind of a purist snob when it comes to grilling and smoking and always felt the old fashioned way of charcoal was the only way to get great smoked food. Was I wrong !! All doubts went away the first time I used it. Turns out to be one of the best purchases I ever made. This smoker is easy to use and makes surprisingly good smoked food. First up on the smoker: ribs & chicken. The ribs came out moist with a good little char crust. The chicken came out moist and full of flavor. A few things I found out.....
1. Use boiling water to fill the water pan.
2. I placed a small foil packet of wood chips on the heat element for extra smoke.
3. Resist the urge to check the food, turn it over etc.
4. Just place the food in the smoker, turn it on and let it do its thing. No more babysitting at the grill for this guy !!
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from San Antonio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Smoker--Tried and Tested for Years

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these-one of my house and one at my parent's house. I have smoked numerous pork shoulders, turkeys, and briskets on both of these. They have never failed to produce an evenly cooked and well smoked product. I highly recommend that you also purchase a remote transmitting meat thermometer. They are a ton of these on the market but I highly recommend the $19.95 version available at Academy Sporting Goods and available online at their online store also. Home Depot has the best price I've seen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Madison, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Electric Smoker

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The new smoker color is great, beats the drab black color. This will be our third smoker from this company. We replace every 10 years, as the parts have become almost as expensive as buying a new one, so we do!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gourmet Electric Smoker
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Very Good Electric Smoker

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Certainly, charcoal or wood smokers produce the best tasting food. However, if you live in an apartment or somewhere where you cannot use them due to open flame rules (as I now do), this is the smoker to get. If you use wood chips (applewood is superb for everything) you can get a great tasting result.
Pros - Easy to use, no constantly checking on coals or temperature. Lava rocks (a great idea) keep the heat constant and uniform. Cooking time, at least in my experience, is much shorter than coal smokers.Can also be used as a small grill. Cleanup is pretty much the same except no charcoal dust to get rid of.
Cons - Again, it's electric so it's more of an oven than a true smoker, but with the right application of woodchips you get a good smoked flavor no matter what you are cooking. The grill function works, but you have no height adjustment nor heat adjustment. You have to take a different approach to cooking on it than you would with a charcoal grill.
Overall, I really like using this smoker. I have owned charcoal smokers in the past, and this is my second Brinkman Gourmet electric one (I left the first behind a few years ago when I moved - with a cover, this smoker will last for years). I have invited many a friend over for a dinner, and all of them have complimented the food that came out of it. You will enjoy it.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>