728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

The 3-speed, 400 CFM blower and high-tech, multi-function lcd controls of the arietta dekor island 36 in. Island convertible range hood make it easy to remove smoke and vapors from the kitchen and keep the room fresh and clear. The hood's Italian design includes graceful 36 in. Arched glass wings that allow natural light to illuminate the surface below and are complimented by reflective stainless steel.
Overall rating:
3.927 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product30 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product30 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Review 1 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

Looks wonderful, works well, hard to install

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The finished product is easily the most elegant range hood amongst a pack of ugly competitors. It's beautiful. The fan does an okay job and the lighting is very nice. However, I hired a contractor to install it and it took him and a helper two days. He mentioned a few times that it was harder than he thought. He was a perfectionist, so maybe his experience is an outlier.
So:
Beauty - A
Usefulness - B
Installation - C
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from oakland

this product makes a nice kitchen beautiful

PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great my only problem is my ceilings ,are 95" so u can bump your head if u don't pay attention,I'm still in the figure out stage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Waipahu, HI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This range hood looks great

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The island mount range hood is difficult to install. Hanging the template to the ceiling and mounting the hood is easy but putting on the stainless steel duct cover proved to be difficult. Due to our ceiling being <8'-0" we did not need the innr extension however we had to trim the top of the covers due to a gap in the ceiling. It worked for my DIYer friends and it does look great. I would suggest a professional installation next time.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Jarrettsville, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks and works wonderful

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the range hood. A little challenging to install, but were successful and love it's performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Texas

This is a very good buy

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good vent for an island or galley kitchen. It is quite and has an excellant suction for removing smoke and smells from the stove. I am very glad I found this and would recommend it very highly. The price was reasonable for the superior job it does. It was a little bit hard to install, but worth it (our existing vent hole in the ceiling was off a little, making it necessary to buy a flexible pipe for it).
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Inverness, FL

Beautifully styled and appears to function well

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read a number of reviews on this hood indicating installation was horrific and instructions were worse. Since it was to be installed by HD as part of a major kitchen remodel, figured the problem would be theirs not mine, so went ahead. Reviews were right - took over two hours for two experienced electricians to get the thing assembled and in, and that was compounded by a missing bag of hardware. Good response on the 800# included and parts are on the way. Install problems aside, the hood is gorgeous, multiple fan speeds seem to cover most needs, and the lighting is excellent. As of day one, it appears to be a keeper. As unglamorous as a hood is by nature, this really complements the remodel and is a plus not a detraction. Just don't plan on doing yourself or quickly unless you have significant experience.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Kingsville, TX

Range Hood

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great looking fan is a great addition to my new kitchen. Gets lots of compliments. I bought the 36 inch but could have used the 30 inch since my kitchen is small, but it still looks great nonetheless. It does run low so you do have to watch your head. I'm short but the rest of the family is tall.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Gender:Male

Beautiful and Elagant But Very, Very Hard Install

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased this unit for our home in Lake Arrowhead, We have an island stove and while remodeling the kitchen found that we had a lot more room then we thought in the ceiling.
We found this unit and thought it would really make the upgrade to the kitchen (originally built in 1978) come into the twenty first century.
Our contractor had a really hard time with this install. The unit is heavy and it is bolted into the ceiling of the kitchen. We went with the recirculating rather than ducted install as we do little real frying.
It took our contractor and three other men to install the unit. It also took all day to do. This is not a zip and it is up type of unit. The unit wiring is not east to access and the instructions for installing the unit are horrible. My contractor commented that he didn't know he would need an engineering degree to install this unit.
In the end they did get it installed and it looks awesome! However be prepared for a long hard install if you buy this. Also I would not recommend that you install this yourself.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Napa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Missing parts

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We love the look and features of our new range hood. But when we had it installed, there were parts missing from the box. The stainless steel cover support brackets are missing so we can't install the cover, so the unit is hanging in our kitchen naked and incomplete. After being bounced around and given 3 different phone numbers, I finally got someone on the phone and ordered the parts, 2 weeks ago. I have not heard anything since then. Even though we love the look of the hood( whenever it finished). I wound not recommend this product because of the missing parts and the poor customer service in trying to obtain the parts.(still waiting).
Cons: Difficult to Install, missing parts., poor customer service
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Covington, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not hard to install and it works great! Great price too!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I keep reading reviews that state it is hard to install. It's not hard to install if you have the right tools. I used a duct lift (the kind an AC installer uses) and installed it by myself. It probably took me one day and that is only because it was a new house and I triple checked before I cut the hole in our ceiling. There are just not a lot of contractors out there with a lot of this type of experience. That's why I installed it myself. I did have my electrician wire it and my AC guy installed the flue. I did install the round flue before I mounted it, so all he had to do was connect to the roof vent. You can rent a duct lift from many rental companies. They make different sizes and it doesn't take a huge one. My ceiling is 10'. Good luck and one of the lights went out. Not bad after 5 years since installed. I use them a lot when cooking. I highly recommend this hood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

Best Product for the price

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, very elegant and functional. Fairly easy to install. Silent fan
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best available for price

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I thought the range hood was a good match for the one that was being replaced. Similar style and size. The product seemed to be a good price, but time will tell.
I've only had the range hood for a very short time.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: too many pieces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

Love the island hood!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was leary about this hood after reading some of the comments about how difficuclt it was to install. After realizing more parts were needed, my contractor went to the closest Home Depot, 30 miles away, to get them. Upon getting there he was unable to get them at Home Depot and had to go to the other big box home store to find them. Once he returned he had no problem installing the hood. I was very disappointed in the time frame it took to get the hood, 3 weeks. Home Depot did give some concessions, however, something to keep in mind if you are on a time schedule.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Orlando Florida

Range Hood

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have just installed this product, a bit early to give a review on its performance, fitted this myself, the instructions were over complicated, but common sence prevaled.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

I love it!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished the kitchen and inviting everyone over. First comment every time is "love the hood". Just beautiful and works great. Ours was installed by our contractor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from virginia beach, va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Most expensive purchase because of difficulty of install

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item is extremely difficult to install. No good instructions for installation and the price I paid for install was outrageous. It took 2 men 2 days to install and they are very savvy at installation of appliances and fireplaces etc. This was a nightmare for them and the price of installation was a nightmare for me. I did not read about this until after it was received or I would have ordered another hood and paid more for it.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel
from Dripping Springs TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nightmare!!! The worst problems of a life time

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The directions were hard to follow. Not very clear at all. Missing clips for install. Recieved May 29 might get install July 15 or later. Follow-up at store was awesome! Support from Dekor was extrememly bad!
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

A real looker

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like how it performs, looks great and so far no complaints or problems.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Install, contractor installed for us and he said, it is too heavy for one person to lift and install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

broken from box

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this from homedepot and installed it myself. I had no problems installing, but after the long install the fan inside was broke. I did not care I will just order a new one but they no longer make the product. So what do I do. I already have the unit installed and how do you sell something that has no replacement part.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dekor Island 36 in. Island Mounted Range Hood in Stainless Steel

Very good product

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
.Have had several comments about how attractive it is. Fan is very quiet. Installation of the side covers was difficult for our contractor. Price was a little more than we expected.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>