728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Front Load Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer

Join the fight against washer stains and odors in the washer. Antimicrobial component protection is built into the rubber door seal to resist the growth of stain- and odor-causing bacteria. With a CEE Tier I rating from the Department of Energy Consortium for Energy Efficiency, this washer also helps you save money and conserve energy. You'll use 10,521 fewer gallons of water each year and save 44% on energy use when compared to a standard non-ENERGY STAR washer. Place the washer and dryer side by side or stack them to save space in your laundry room.
Overall rating:
4.675 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(268 reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product255 of 268reviews
Rating Breakdown 268 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(210)
4
(45)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(6)
95%of customersrecommend this product255 of 268reviews
Customer reviews for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Review 1 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
207lab
from Newport, ME

The Best washing machine ever!

PostedFebruary 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW!! I've only had my washer since Saturday when they delivered it but omg.. I love, love, love it! No more wondering whether the washer is done., (washer is at other end of the house). I have a four year old son, and I was delighted to find that not only does this washing machine come with a door lock it also comes with a conrtol lock. I have to say the only drawback I have found now, is I wish the power off button was located somewheres on the top of the machine and not where little fingers can easily touch it. Although if they do and you have the control lock on it doesn't really matter. The manual is quick and easy to read. This washing machine has actually made doing laundry not just another chore! It has cut my drying time down drastically compared to my old machine. I washed a blanket in it the other day, and it was almost dry to the touch when I took it out of the washer, put in the dryer for 10 minutes and it was totally dry ! I really weighed out the options between this and another machine and this one won hands down because of it features, price and the ability to save so much water! I had no idea the average top load machine holds about 46 gallons of water for a large load. That's insane! I will recommend this machine to everyone I know!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
jh50
from Tallahassee, FL

Amana washer and dryer review

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my new Amana washer for about 3 weeks and love it. I did not have alot of money to spend on a new washer and dryer but wanted to get the best product for the money spent and I succeeded. In deciding which product to purchase, I checked out the ratings on a consumer magazine and was pleased to see that the Amana ranked as highly as other machines that cost much much more. The Amana is quiet, does a nice job in cleaning both whites and colors and exceeds my expectations! I purchased the matching 7.1 dryer and while it is an interesting swich to wait longer for the clothes to wash than to dry, I have been very pleased with the performance of both. The dryer is a little louder than the washer, but is not a nuisance. In most cases, the clothes are dry much sooner than the timer indicates and the machine turns off.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Gregintexas
from Dallas

Great Deal

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We researched front loaders for over a month. We have not had any of the problems others have stated ie smell, electronic, noise etc. This washing machine has exceeded all of our expectations. We have had it for over a month. We got this for a steal at Home Depot it was 449 for the washer and dryer and we bought the 5 year warranty so 1200 total. What a bargain. I also washed a king sized comforter and had no problems. I would reccommend this washer/dryer to anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Amyshaker
from Cranford, NJ

I can't understand why the other ones cost so much

PostedAugust 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I should start out by saying that I'm a pretty cheap person. I usually buy the least expensive of anything that I need, and sometimes am disappointed. But not this time. I got this machine from Home Depot a few months ago on sale for $449. It was delivered for free and the haulaway of the old machine was free. It came in about 5 days. So far I have no complaints. A regular wash takes about 58 minutes and a very little amount of water. The clothes are wrung out so well I didn't even buy a new dryer. I'm also finding that much less lint has been coming off my clothes. In general, i'm finding it a very nice surprise.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Ggino
from Detroit, MI

Good washer, price.

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Owned for less than a month, but seems like a good washer. However it does shake a little in the high speed spin cycle, depending what is in the washer. It is very important that the washer is leveled and the nuts on the legs are tightened against the bottom of the washer to keep the legs from moving up. The delivery people didnt secure the nuts on 2 of the 4 lock nuts on the legs when they delivered it. I use HE liquid detergent which seems to clean good but leaves a residue on the bottom of the dispenser. You just need to take it out and rinse it off when done with the laundry. I leave the door open to prevent odors as others have recommended. Some even leave the soap dispenser open air out, as long as you don't hit it as your walking by. I could only imagine how much that would cost to replace. This washer did'nt qualify for the rebates from the gas and electric company as it is a Tier 1 energy star. And you need a Tier 2 or 3 for the rebates, at least from my local utility company. Overall a good quit operating washer, best installed on a CONCRETE FLOOR because of vibration.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Cind
from Fl

Read Consumer Reports

PostedOctober 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't let the lower price fool you, Consumer reports did a lab test and found this washer is equal to washers 2-3 times as expensive!! Even the amount of problems for a front load were very very low on this one, compaired to all the others they tested. CR Best Bye!!
3.5 c foot is a good size for a family of 4 to 5.
Oh, and don't buy a new Dryer if your old one still works, they havent changed enough to justify the cost. Unless you want to spend more money? Plus the clothes come out so much drier after spin cycle, your dry time will cut in half!! Use very little he soap, 1/4 cup of HE for a lg load. You will love this Amana!! Guaranteed. Hope this helps you in making your decision on a new he washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
H20Lover
from Fernandina Beach, FL

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Purchased this washer when my old old broke down. I love it so much I ordered the matching dryer although my old dryer is still operational. I bought the stacking kit too. I love the way my laundry room looks now. The units are just as attractive as more costly ones.
The washer saves drying time because of the water saving feature. The clothes come out clean, fresh and damp - not soggy and dripping with water. I love the detergent, softener and bleach dispenser they are easy to use and conveniently located. The delicate cycle is truly safe for delicate fabrics. The tune at the end of the cycle is also very convenient. Just don't try to add more clothes once the cycle starts, water will leak onto the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
catt
from Charlotte, NC

Great Unit for the Price

PostedMay 11, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was so excited to buy a new washer because ours like to eat camisoles. We got this one installed a week ago and I could not be happier. The only reason it didn't get five stars in because it does shake when it is on the spin cycle but the delivery man left a wrench to tighten the legs when it starts doing that. Also, at times it can be a little loud(but if you fill a regular load it isn't as bad). The spin cycle can sound like a jet taking off. It is still a great unit for the price and I am so happy that we got it instead of the more expensive units.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
bethmomof6
from Clarendon, NY

Great product!

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great machine! It's quiet and has many options. Spins so well that it has shortened the drying time and I load it full. Noone could beat this price. It was also recomended to me by an outside serviceman who said it was a great economical washer - and it looks good! Even chimes me a song when it's done although it's hard to hear from the basement. My only problem was that the description did not say it included rubber hoses so I ordered the stainless that were recommended. Now I have an extra set.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
AuntieT
from Tucson, AZ

Love this machine!

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had this machine long, but I LOVE it. It takes a bit of adapting when all you've ever used is a top loader, but it's so worth it!
I am getting used to the longer cycle (twice what my top loader was) but when the trade-off is less water/power used, fresher smelling laundry and less time in the dryer, I find I don't mind so much :)
The chimes were unexpected, but totally amuse my children. The have decided there is a fairy in the washer, and are now wanting to do their own laundry!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Fredb
from Sacramento, California

Grate Washer at a Remarkably Low Price

PostedJanuary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When our old washer died I went shopping for a new one. It was close to Christmas, so I did not want to spend a lot of money, but could not see buying anything less than a front loader. I saw this Amana and could not believe the price. I figured it must be low quality for that price, but I know Maytag’s reputation, (Amana is made by Maytag), so I decided to take a chance. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made! My Wife and I love it. The only problem is she loves it so much she started washing everything in the house whether it needed washing or not. Recently I learned this washer was marketed in the past as a Maytag. When they introduced their new model they just changed the faceplate on this model calling it an Amana.
Unless you want to pay hundreds of dollars more to get some fancy color, I can not see why anyone would want to buy anything else!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
sweetncgal78
from Goldsboro nc

Love it!

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this, I bought the dryer too and they are both great! Ive had them a week tomorrow and I keep looking for things to wash because Im having so much fun. I did my research and this was the best rated machine for the money. very pleased! this was also the cheapest price and the delivery was excellent, very nice folks.. set them up and made sure both machines worked before they left.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
HeatherInOhio
from Toledo, Ohio

Becoming disappointed

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this washer & dryer set in Nov 08' so it is now 6mo's old. It does a pretty good job washing clothes but my towels get musty smelling after just 1 use. The clothes come out smelling fine. Also when it fills with water it gets pretty loud. My biggest complaint is that last night I got an error code accross the screen saying the maching was not draining. It was full of clothes & water and the door would not unlock. We had to unplug it for 30 minutes to reset the door & finish washing the clothes in the bathtub. Be sure to check your service area before you buy this too.... we live in a pretty large city & according to Customer Service, we have only 4 places to choose from that can come out and perform warranty work. All of which can't be here for atleast a week.
The dryer works just fine. The only thing I've began to notice is when it's on sensor dry, it will just keep right on running. I use mostly the time dry so it doesn't have to run as much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Pogothemonk3y
from Fayetteville, NC

Love!

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After hours and hours and hours and months of reviewing washer and driers. I do have to say I love this set! I love the chime at the end of the cycles, I love how clean my clothes feel! Plus I can wash a lot of clothes at once. I've had mine for 5-6 Months now, and I do not have one complaint about them! : ) Good buy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Anonymous
from Long Island NY

worth the money

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a good front load energy saver washer and found this after months of looking. It is so nice and easy to use,clothes come out great and almost dry. I also got the gas dryer and love it as well. I was very surprised at the price when most cost 800 and above. I am very very pleased
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
kpowell3
from Tampa, FL

Fantastic Washer

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had this product for almost on year now and could not be happier. I have not had any issues with it. It is quiet, but does a great job. Also very gentle on my delicate clothes. Fantastic spin cycle cuts down on dryer time. Have recommended to many friends and family.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
dmitria
from vancouver, wa

PostedJune 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this set, at first when I bought it we didn’t hook them up correctly, they were dancing, and loud, but then I looked at the instruction and noticed that we didn’t remove shipping bolts, so we removed them , and now the washer is working great!
I highly recommended this set!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
realist
from MD

nice price

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After my 3.1 HE kenmore busted after 4 yrs, I had to purchase a new washer. I was looking at washers for around $600, and I ran across this one from Amana. It had the features I needed, and for $498 with free delivery, its a good deal. I have a second floor laundry next to the master bedroom, and the machine is fairly quiet. The kenmore was very loud during spin cycle, and so, I'm impressed with the Amana. Two complaints: 1) the wash cycle is like 1.5 hrs long for superwash, and pretty much that's all i'm gonna use. 2) The delivery guy tells me that of all the washers he delivers, this one is the one that keeps getting taken back. So, I'm abit concerned about the reliability. With the BGE rebate, this washer comes to about $450. So, I can't really complain, right? But, the LG 3.5 HE just went on sale today for $498. So, I'm a little upset that the LG sale went right after the Amana, and the LG is a higher rated product. Overall, Amana is good buy, but time of wash really takes away from making this an excellent buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
Iratron
from South Florida

Leaked after ONE year and 2 days!

PostedApril 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washer based on its reviews and an article in Consumer Reports. Though it was not in the upper tier of recommended models due to the spinning noise they use as a measure, it did not apply to me as I keep it on the ground floor of my house and the floor of the room is concrete so all functions were quiet and vibration free.
The sole undoing of my not giving this a FIVE star rating is this leak, no more than 8-16 ounces in a quick cycle (29 minutes) which came about 2 days after the warranty period expired.
I had long discarded Amana's (and others) unsolicited offers of an extended warranty but if I were to somehow receive one now, I would buy it but read very carefully what the "waiting period" if applicable would be.
I am still not a fan of extended warranties as they are usually poor investments but in this case it would have been prudent.
However, other than this "small" problem, the machine is a breeze to operate and does a wonderful job.
My recourse now is to place a chamois rag at the base of the floor to absorb the water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.5 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Front Load Washer
DukeJ1
from Pittsburgh, PA

Simply Love It

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From online ordering to delivery and setup, everything was excellent. I couldn't ask for anything better except for a top-notch washer which I got. I LOVE this Amana front-load washer. Ever since it was installed, I started using it and couldn't be happier. The clothes come out so clean and so dry. I love the chime at the end of the wash cycle, nice feature. Very easy to operate. Very quiet too. Spin cycle seemed a bit louder but nothing compared to my old Maytag top load washer. I am so pleased with this washer, I now have to go and get the matching Amana dryer. And of course, I'm ordering from Home Depot because their service is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>