728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White

The 6 automatic drying cycles featured on the Amana 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White help make it easy to provide proper care for a variety of fabric types, while the Wrinkle Release option helps takes slight wrinkles out of clean, dry clothes. The Sensor Dry system monitors moisture levels inside the dryer to ensure your clothes have reached the proper level of dryness, and the SofSound III system helps reduce operational noise.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product21 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product21 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
Review 1 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Youngstown, Ohio

Excellant Buy

PostedJune 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer is excellent. For a dryer can barely hear it operating. The dryer sensor is fantastic, dries clothes in no time. Can do loads in half the time with energy savings to boot. Bought the washer/dryer set and they are great for the money. Compared to the pricier brands, which this is made by Maytag, money well spent. TRUST ME!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Oakland, CA

Amana front load gas dryer.

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is made by Whirlpool, does not have a lighted interior, or allot of "extras" but it does the job well. It is one of Consumer Reports "recommended" gas dryers and it is one of the lowest priced, so "value". The moisture sensor function works well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from New Mexico

I was used to baking my clothes

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My gas dryer quit....I hung my clothes outside until I had time to research dryers. I was ready to throw-in the hard towel, so-to-speak. It had been nine years since my last clothes dryer purchase. My last gas dryer was thermostat controlled and I usually ended-up with wrinkled, baked dry clothes. Certainly, not soft or preserving the fabric. I learned from my online search to get 1) sensor dry and 2) plain features. So, when I went searching, I found this Amana. It was not only cheaper than comparable models, but also easy to work. It took me a couple of loads to get used to the new drying technique, but I do prefer the results! Simple to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from North Carolina

7.1 Cu. Ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The service and delivery were excellent. We had to convert to LP, so bought the kit before delivery, so it was ready to set up as soon as we got it. Very attractive, I like the features. But I did notice that the on/off button is in kind of a precarious spot. Every time you brush up against it, it will turn on. Put, I will learn to be more careful. It took a few times to get used to the sensitive drying, it would often leave one or two items damp. But, I realized that the materials were a bit different, and will learn to dry like items to get a good dry. I'm planning on purchasing the matching washer because it is so very good looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Wyoming

Don't listen to the negatives

PostedJanuary 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted an economical and efficient dryer that Consumer Reports would recommend and found this as one of three. Ironically, none of the really high priced dryers were among those three.
I got mine on special from Home Depot and only waited about a week for delivery. The metal vent duct didn't come with it, nor did the electrical chord or any kind of plug-in. This was due to an oversight of the sales person (I haven't bought a washer or dryer in about 15 years and she didn't ask what my plug-in situation was like), but it was a forgivable oversight. I called Home Depot and the people there were very apologetic, and got the additional parts out to me in less than 2 hours, installed them, and did it all with no additional charges.
For the dryer itself, I've read some of these reviews complaining about how long it takes to dry your clothes. I've done 6 loads since getting mine set-up, and I don't think anyone complaining is taking into consideration that they're putting in twice the amount of clothes in their new dryer as they are used to. The sensor is awesome, and works better than I expected. This dryer is extremely quiet, and the little chime alarm to notify you when your load is done is not only delightful, but you can turn it off if your dryer is close to your bedroom and you need some sleep. That was a big plus for me.
Additionally, Home Depot did a good thing with this review section, because even though I place credibility on Consumer Reports, the customer opinions get down to the nitty-gritty.
Thanks Home Depot....thanks Amana.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Howell, NJ

I'm enjoying it!

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit last week as a replacement for a 6 year old Kenmore dryer. So far, I am enjoying it. The controls are easy to understand and access. The drying time has cut in half. Having the sensor option is great when drying towels. I always used to have to keep running my dryer because my towels never dried completely. This is a welcome change. The only negative is that the controls are very sensitive. If you lean forward to grab something from a shelf above the unit you will turn the machine on and the only way to lock it is if it's on a sensor control. Other than that....it's a great machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Tennessee

Amana NGD7200TW

PostedMarch 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great gas dryer! Very quiet and a great bargain also.
I installed it myself and the instructions were straightforward and easy to follow. Since my old dryer was a gas type and since I already had sheet metal vent duct, the procedure was simply to unhook old one and hook up the new one. One good feature about this Amana dryer is that the exhaust can be routed up to 85 feet (with no elbows). In my case I have 3 elbows so it reduces to about 50 feet but this improvement will allow me to reroute my vent to a better location than it currently is now. - future project that I will have to get into. This also means that the new dryer is moving a whole lot more air, so it should dry my clothes a lot faster, haven't had it long enough to verify this yet.
I am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Princeton, NJ

Cannot ask for better

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First a white glove delivery - in/out in 30mn with a few tips on use from the delivery men.
Very quiet, energy efficient, cycle about 50mn, first wash was dirty towels (They came back like new and very clean). Programming is intuitive. switched the door opening to it is easier to transfer clothes from washer to dryer.
Notes: button are in front so don't lean over the washer so it does not start by itself. I highly recommend this unit as a best value for the price. Why pay $$$$ when you can get better with $$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from NY

Great value

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the dryer and washer combo in early 2009. The only bad thing that I can say about this dryer is it has quite a bit of lint that comes out of the dryer vent, even though I clean the lint trap every load. My dryer vents out on my patio and I have to brush the lint off. I had the repairman out to check it out and he said that this is common and had to take the screen out of the dryer vent so it doesn't clog. It got to the point that it was taking like 2 hours to dry a load of clothes, apparently because the vent was plugged with lots of lint. Since he removed the screen, all the extra lint gets blown on my patio, but it dries very nicely. It takes about 50 minutes to dry a very large load. Bottom line...great price, get the pair, but be aware of where the dryer will be venting, there will be lint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Lake Jackson TX

Great product

PostedMay 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great dryer. We purchased it 2 weeks ago and it works like a dream. We also purchased the washer with the dryer and purchased the stacking unit. Once stacked the amount of room save is unbelievable. Although the washer and dryer are a bit larger than the standard front load when stacked the take up much less space. Take time to read the instructions, you will thank yourself later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Huntington Beach, CA

GREAT machine!

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PROS: I have owned this dryer for about 4 months now. Used as a stacked dryer with the Amana washer. Wonderful, quiet, I can't say enought good about his machine. The finish chime is whimsical so it won't wake the dead! Easy to sleep, watch TV, etc without any issues. VERY friendly to my gas bill!!!!
CONS: None!
I highly recommend this product. (and the washer too)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Watervliet, NY

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think this dryer is wonderful. Best I have ever had. It drys perfectly in the time it says it will take and even adjusts the time if it is going to take longer. I love it and would recommend it to anyone looking to buy a dryer. Seems to be just as good as the more expensive dryers but yet not too expensive at all. Best of all it looks great too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White

Love it!

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have nothing but good comments for this product. The inside of this dryer is LARGE and will hold large comforters without any problems. It has a lot of settings, but so far I just prefer the auto sensor/wrinkle guard. It's great...it senses when your cloths are dry and shuts off automatically, it may start off at say 40 min, then after a minute or two it will go down to like 20 min as it senses how wet the cloths are so you save a lot in energy by not over drying. I've only had it a month or so but I'm very happy with this purchase.
The only problem was trying to get the conversion kit from natural gas to propane. My husband did the conversion himself, but Amana can't sell them directly to the individual and the part number Amana list is no longer any good, but I went to repair clinic.com and was able to find the kit without a problem for a cost of about 28.00. But since most people just use the natural gas anyway this won't pose a problem for you anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Texas

Perfect!

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine to match the washing machine for my Mom. Her old dryer died and had to be replaced. I opted for this model due to it's size, color, and features. She loves this machine! It is quiet, efficient, and drys the clothes thoroughly. Get one for your Mom!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Lake Elsinore, CA

Quiet & Space-Saving

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the Amana Washer and Dryer so that the units may be stacked for optimum space utilization. Great space saver and both units were much quieter than our older top-load side by side models. Love it! Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Buffalo, NY

Excellent Dryer!!

PostedJuly 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this dryer along with its matching washer, and have been more than pleased with both. The sensor feature of the dryer is really one of its best features. Using our matching front loader, the clothes come out pretty dry as it is. To set a "timer" to 40 minutes and let it run out would be a waste of energy. This feature lets the dryer start at 48+ minutes, but it quickly adjusts itself based on the amount of moisture in the clothes. Average loads have a drying time of maybe 20 minutes, if that! The countdown feature on the front is also very handy, so you know exactly how long is left. When doing washing and drying simultaneously, this dryer always keeps up with the washer, and is normally well ahead of it, just waiting for the next load. The home depots price was the best that could be found, and delivery was quick and easy. I would highly recommend both the Home Depot, and these Amana Washer / Dryers. For a small family on a budget, this unit does just as good if not better than the outrageously priced $1200+ LG and Electrolux models, at a fraction of the cost! 5 Stars!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from The Great State Of Texas

Great buy

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The good price on this unit combined with the economy of natural gas heating is gonna save me a fortune. This dryer has all the features I need and does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Martinez,CA.

So far so good.

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've only had it a few days,but we like it . It works great and the only thing we would change is maybe a larger capacity next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Philadelphia, PA

Nice dryer

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only had dryer for a month but works Great! Clothes come out so much less wrinkled. Dries quicker too. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7.1 cu. ft. Super Capacity Gas Dryer in White
from Ann Arbor, MI

Excellect Dryeer

PostedMay 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! I love this new sensor technology. The automatic drying sensor takes guessing out of drying clothes. Very quiet and efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>