728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower

With the CargO Mount system, the John Deere 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower lets you easily substitute mower attachments and accessories, making it easy to mow or mulch a variety of terrain across up to 1-1/2 acres. Relax and enjoy the ride in a comfortable mid-back seat, easily setting your own pace via the 2-pedal automatic hydrostatic transmission, while the durable 42 in., 12-gauge steel mowing deck puts 2 powerful cutting blades with 14 cutting positions to work manicuring your property.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
Review 1 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
NanaJJ

Bad Transmission

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mower worked fine untill 2 year warranty was up. Then the transmission went out... Of course no warranty no costumer service. By all reports, you have to purchase a whole new tranny - not happy about that. Found out this is a common occurence. Wish I had known before I bought. Bought on John Deere reputation...I guess that is for large tractors! We did all the maintenance on schedule and really took care of it. Too bad - it ran well for 2 years, but shouldn't require a major outlay of capital to keep it working beyond warranty period
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
ClevelandSouth
from Marietta, GA

What a machine!!!!

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the LA115 after careful consideration....what a GREAT choice. Immediately started up and ran GREAT. A smooth ride with no jerks. The foot pedal makes for a more comfortable ride, seems like I am driving a car. I love the fuel window indicator to let me easily know how much fuel is remaining.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
soschw
from Seattle Wa

Not as good as expected

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
JD was sold as the best. It's a good tractor when running but my LA125 blew a head gasket after 2 1/2 years (56 hours). I'd say this is NOT the best. Serviced at the JD center cost me $300. Now runs great again. But, for how long?
Watch out, maybe get the extended service contract.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
Paul
from Houston,Texas

it is a lemon product with a manufactor that does not stand behind it product

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned the John Deere mower for 13 months. It has been in the shop for repairs 5 times. It needs to be repaired for the 6 time. I have had the impression, when you bought a Deere, you bought the best. I have discussed the issue with other owners and the service center. Should have listened and returned unit and bought a higher end mower. Did not get any help or resolution from John Deere's Service Representative. I use to be a long time loyal John Deere customer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
Deererider
from Florissant Missouri

John Deere 42" Mower

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my Troy-Bilt shot craps I went to buy another Troy-Bilt, which had given me very good service, I decided on the John Deere because the store was out of stock on the one I wanted, and the price wasnt a whole lot more for the John Deere, This is an outstanding mower, far and away better than the Troy-Bilt I had, Motor sounds smooth and cuts super, it exudes quality,I,ll buy another if the time comes, but I expect this one to last A long time
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
bbrandog
from Farmerville, LA

John Deere LA115

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mower. Driving it I feel like I'm floating on air. I have always heard that nothing rides like a Deere so when my other brand rider expired I immediately began to look at the John Deere models. It handles well, even in the thick grass. I love the part on the deck where you can attach a water hose to clean under the deck. I mow my yard so quickly that I decided to go and mow the neighbors as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
avidmower
from College Station, TX

Great Mower

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very unsure at first to go with the John Deere. I had recently looked at the cub cadets but i didnt feel right about them. I chose my John Deere and have been extremely happy with it. My friend has had his for 20 years and has only gone in once for a checkup. This mower is great. Definitely recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
Anonymous
from pa

great tractor

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i've had the 115 model for this past mowing season. starts everytime and cuts the lawn great. got the mulching blades and cover. i have almost 1 acre and i woruld recommend the deere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
JRMc
from Bossier parish, la

Very Good Buy

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this mower for my wife to replace an older mower. Very pleased with mower, easy to operate. Good price, even came with free utility cart.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
deerman
from MA

the best tractor

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My john deer tractor is the best its so strong. I use it for everything I use it all year round even to plow my driveway and my sidewalk. I would'nt buy any other tractor this one is low maintance and starts up everytime. Great job john deer you make the best equipment.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
DeereMe
from St. Augustine FL

The gold standard!

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the ad says," Nothing runs like a Deere." My LA120 with 21HP and 42" mowing deck has run flawlessly for 3 years. I use it to mow an acre of mixed grass, aerate, drop-spread fertilizer and pest control, haul an accessory wagon and take the grandkids for rides. The turning radius is acceptable but nothing to dance about. Oil and filter changes are easily accomplished. Addition of air horns is a nice touch. The sun canopy is a Florida gotta-have. Tire pressures have to be kept exactly on the money for an even cut. If not, the tractor leaves visible ridges. Ditto for keeping the mowing deck leveled. My only complaint is the finish. Paint began blistering and peeling off after two years, even though the tractor is cleaned after each use and kept waxed. But the local JD dealer and I struck an acceptable deal for new bodywork.
I turn the key, it starts. I engage the PTO, it cuts grass. Every time. Without fail. Can't ask for anything more than that from a lawn tractor. I live in a neighborhood of 1-acre lots. There are a lot of different brand tractors. And a lot of them spend as much time in the shop as doing work. That's not true of the John Deeres. They're like Timex watches -- they just keep on ticking. Cheers from St. Augustine, America's oldest city.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
JQuinn

Great riding mower!!

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this mower because we needed a riding tractor for a mowing service. It is super easy to use, it has many blade heights adujustments for any lawn / field. The engine is great it has tons of power. The engine didn't start well at first, that was because is was new, it's great now. It is fast, it's pulling power is amasing, I was pulling 2 waggons full of heavey weeds throu rough ground and a hill and it is great!! The safty features are great and work great. It is easy to turn the weels. The cut is amasing with the weels on the deck. One feature I like is that you can turn off the transmission and push it. It is easy to clean the deck with the quick wash feature the tire pressure is easy to check the owners manuel is full of advice for any kind of grass. It is eassy to mantince, like oil and greace it. It is built very well. My advice, you buy this great mower!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
Chef1
from Pavilion, NY

Good Lawn Tractor

PostedJune 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this baby last month, I used for about 8-9 hours so far, great performance, cut my lawn evenly, smooth ride. The attachment for hose is great but won't take off all the dirt, but better than nothing. soon will do 8 hours maintenance and I will post more review at the end of summer.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. 19.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 5-Speed Battery-Powered Riding Mower
shewitt
from california

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good mower took a month to get and was home delivered all ready to go no problems so far, cuts real good speed of mower is faster than club cadet good mower at good price worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.