728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Walk Behind Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower

22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower

The Toro 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower lets you harness the power of its Personal Pace self-propulsion system that allows you to begin mowing at up to 4 MPH with a gentle push of the handle. Enjoy peace of mind as you mow thanks to the 3-in-1 mowing system allows you to bag or side-discharge grass clippings, or use the recycler cutting system to pulverize cut grass into fine particles for easy disposal.
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product39 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product39 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy anything else!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a .5 acre lot or less and want an inexpensive, high qualilty mower, don't look any further. I have owned this mower for over 3 years. I pulled it out of the box, put in oil and gas, pulled the rope once and off we went. 90% of the time the mower starts in one pull, it doesn't matter if it is hot or cold, it always starts - The other 10% of the time it starts on the second pull. I've never had a mower with such reliability. My wife always had trouble starting mowers in the past, but with Toro starting the mower is a breeze. The self propeller works great, the variable speed took a little to get used to, but now I wouldn't have it any other way. The bagger is simple to use and collects all the clippings, I've even used it in the fall to pick up leaves in the yard with ease. I've owned several competitors models, and this one by far is the best mower I've ever owned.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from nashville, tn

Impressive

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've worked on high-end golf courses and have used self-propelled mowers before near our showcase flower beds. We used several personal-pace Toro's and this one is quite capable of carrying on the family name. I no longer work on a course, but I did thickly overseeded my new lawn with rye grass. My riding mower would lay the grass down, and did not mow the new grass very well. This little Toro showed that stuff who was boss. My lawn is far and away the best looking in the neighborhood now, thanks largely to this wonderful little mower. It stripes up the rye so well that Augusta would be jealous. It's a great buy.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower

Stolen

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my Toro 20066 for 4 years. During that time, maintenance was minimal. Love the propel system, rear wheel drive a necessity when mowing the slant to the canal. Reducing need for trimming as it gets close to whatever you are mowing around. Backs up without issues. Yes, it sometimes leaves a stalk or two behind, but it mows through most things without issue. I have palm frond remnants, branch pieces, and pine cones in my yard. No need to pick up - I mow right over them - no problems and it usually chops them up. I have deep swales and the hill to the canal is sharply inclined. I have about 15 trees to mow around. The mower eliminates the need to trim around the trees and handles the inclines with little or no slippage. After 4 years, still started easily and still worked well. No repairs needed. Just replaced the spark plug recently. Why am I shopping for a mower? Because I, being an idiot, left the mower outside and it was stolen, along with my gas can! After much hunting and researching, I find that this mower is still the best solution in its price range - even with all of the Craftsman mowers being on sale for 100+ off regular price. Others have issues with the propel system or design flaws that make usage uncomfortable. If you are looking for a reliable mower with low maintenance and ease of use, this is the mower for you.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product or might I add Awesome product after 7 years use.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have mowed with this model for the last 7 years. The engine finally died, due to the fact that I push mow almost 1 acre of grass with this mower. The new version here, is almost exactly the same as the original mower I purchased 7 years ago even with the self pace. I looked into purchasing a new motor and keeping the old Toro body, but the motor was almost the price of a new one. This is/was a worry free purchase and I am looking forward to this mower lasting another 7 years. I did not have a single break down with mower. Just do your normal maintenance and it will last the long haul.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from vernon,Texas

Best mower out there

PostedApril 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned some really good mowers and even had an ariens mower at one time..
And thinking no other mower could mow as fast as it could until researching this mower and not only does it match ariens it will run circles around it..
If you want a mower with speed and ease of mowing then buy this mower!!
I luv the personal pace feature on it and with rear wheel drive it makes mowing a breeze..
This mower can move so fast that if you want you can literally run with it.. That's how fast the self propelled rwd system on this mower can operate..
But with personal pace if your in an area and want to slow down no problem at all in that either..
And it glides across a yard with no fatigue factors involved at all..
Bagging with this mower is a breeze though I truly do wish the hopper was bigger..
But the first pull start is truly no lie at all..
On a scale of 1 to 10 I'd give this mower a 20!!!
So if speed and ease of mowing are what your after then you have certainly found your dream mower as I have...
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Hibbing, MN

Toro Lawnmower

PostedAugust 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WelI I bought the Personal Pace Mower and love it. I had a self propelled mower for 15 years and it died. I researched this one and bought it. It started on the first pull and has done so ever since. I have had it for a couple of months and would not give it up. I don't even realize I'm mowing. I get done in almost half the time. I don't need to bag any more as it mulches. It is so effort less to mow. I have a 100 ft by 200 ft lawn so believe me it cuts the time of mowing down tremendously. It is quiet, easy to start and I love it. Also being a woman and easy start is what I needed. Cleaning out the underneath is great. I would reccomend this lawnmower very highly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Falls PA

After trying 4 other mowers - this is #1

PostedAugust 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have moved from a postage stamp size city yard to the country and now have just under an acre. i could not afford a sit-down mower so i tried several self-propelled mowers and this by far is THE BEST. Relatively quiet, starts every time, responds to your pace and is surprisingly lightweight compared to the others i lugged in and out of my SUV (returning them to the store). For the $ I am more than satisfied and was glad I did the research - the mower is rated #1 and it should be! Buy with confidence!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower

Starts easily, mows great

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower was bought to replace a John Deere push mower that gave nearly 20 years of reliable service. The starter finally gave out on it and I elected not to invest in repairs given its age.
The JD was a beast to push and pull up the inclines of my new yard, so I decided to replace it with a self-propelled model. Consumer Reports advised choosing a Toro or Honda, and I went with Toro because they tend to be a little cheaper and get good reviews.
This Toro is my first self-propelled lawnmower, and so far I love it. Just a little bit of propulsion greatly eases the ordeal of traversing slight inclines. And the push-to-go mechanism of the Toro is very easy to use -- almost instinctive. Others had commented that the thumb-controlled throttle on Honda models tends to get very tiring in long mowing sessions.
So far, the Toro mows well. I rarely bag, so I was looking for a good side-discharge and mulching mower, and this model does well at both. I wouldn't say it's fantastic -- I do notice a slight unevenness of cut -- but I'm not a perfectionist about yardwork, and the Toro's cut quality is good enough for me.
I haven't used the bagging attachment yet, so I can't comment on how well it bags. But it does mulch very well, even in wet, heavy grass. It rarely clumps or clogs, and it also disperses clippings quite well. I especially like that I can raise the deck to 4 inches. This helps a lot when the grass has grown extra tall or thick before I can get to it.
This model does seem to use a bit more gas than my old JD, but I can't be sure since I don't know the fuel tank capacity of either model. The Toro runs through about a tank of gas per hour; your mileage may vary.
I love the washout feature, which comes in very handy for quick cleanouts halfway through a heavy mulching job. By itself, the water flow won't do much, but once you start the mower with the water running, the blade will hurl the water around under the deck with enough force to dislodge about 80 to 90 percent of the accumulated clippings after a minute or two. Running the mower for a few minutes while the water is running is essential. Just be careful to avoid letting water splash on the engine block while it's hot.
I would also caution that you choose carefully where you are going to do the cleanout, as it can make quite a mess. While the manual advises cleaning over a driveway or patio, be aware that you'll be dealing with large clumps of wet, soupy grass clippings that you can't sweep away. You'll probably have to use a pressure washer to adequately clean your patio or driveway afterward.
I don't have a pressure washer, so I prefer to clean over a just-mowed patch of grass. I let the dislodged clumps drain a bit and then rake them up later. Not ideal, but it's easier and cheaper than using more water to clean the driveway.
My initial impression on the build quality of this mower is that it's adequate but nowhere near as robust as my old John Deere. A lot more plastic on the Toro where my JD uses metal. I don't think I'll get 20 years out of this new mower. Four to five years of longevity seems typical for most residential quality mowers nowadays.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised How Good It is

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of owning Brand "C" mowers, I took a chance on this Toro mainly based on all of the positive reviews this Toro got. For the past 20+ years all of my Brand "C" mowers had the high rear wheels and were self-propelled. I was somewhat disappointed with my last Brand "C" mower. Took only 10 minutes after unpacking to mount the handle, filli it with oil and gas. I took one weak pull and the mower started. So then I engaged the Personal Pace and off we went. I was surprised at how fast the mower took off. If you follow the instructions, you'll be fine. I think the pace help cut some time off of mowing my yard. That was nice. It does it a little bit getting use to the mower but it really is very manageable. After the first mowing, I can say that I'm not missing the high rear wheels and love the 190CC engine. Clean up was a snap. If you're considering a self-propelled with not a lot of gadgets, I recommend you do your homework and take a hard look at this Toro. I could have bought another Brand "C" for about $40 less but I'm expecting to get that back with the reliability and enjoyment from this Toro 22" Self-Propelled mower. I don't think you'll go wrong with it. This mower was a nice surprise.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Chattanooga

Awesome

PostedMay 11, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only reason this mower didn't get 5 stars is because of the bag size. Otherwise, this mower is awesome.
I'm normally completely worn out after mowing my yard. With this mower, I mowed my entire yard in about 3/4 the time it normally takes and still had plenty of energy to do other projects. The personal pace makes mowing soooooo much easier. My grass is Zyosia, which is really thick and hard to cut. It went through it like a hot knife through butter.
I don't regret this purchase at all and I'm pretty tight with a penny.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Niceville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with the power and the bagging.

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After returning a more expensive mower because the variable speed control was too difficult to control and the collector bag was poorly sealed to the mower housing (resulting in a dust storms), I was pleased to find that there are still good old fashioned lawn mowers out there. The speed control worked like a champ and had plenty of power and traction to pull the mower up my modest hills and still alowed me to walk slowly. There was a good seal between the bag and the housing so when I ran over the bare spots in my lawn, it created a dust cloud but not directed at me (through and around the bag like the mower I returned). Very pleased with a 2 year full warranty so I didn't have to purchase any extended warranty. This is my first Torro and probably my last (I'm a senior citizen and this machine will probably outlast me).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Indianapolis

BEST mower ever!

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing a ton of research and asking a ton of questions, I decided to buy the Toro Personal Pace Mower. By far, the best decision I could have made. Right out of the box, I added the oil and gas and the mower started on the first pull! The personal pace system is outstanding! Now cutting the yard is almost effortless. While walking the yard, you some times forget you are even using a lawn mower. The power is excellent and the easy wash system is very nice.
This is my first self propelled mower and I keep wondering what took me so long. This is an outstanding mower and I would recommend it to anyone.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this lawn mower online from local Home Depot after some research. It was on sale so gave it a shot. We were replacing our 10 yr old lawn mower.........wow what a difference. The self propelled pace system with this mower really works. Mower starts with one pull and cuts grass very fine. Used it several times and I'm pleased more and more each time. Seems well built.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Powder Springs, GA

Mowing is now that much easier!

PostedSeptember 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Personal Pace mower is state of the art as far as I'm concerned. I was using a push mower for a half acre and it was a drag. I tried another Toro self-propelled, but it didn't give me the freedom and flexibility like the Personal Pace. I have bermuda in the front and fescue in the back, so I tend to switch up speeds when I mow. With the Personal Pace, I mow the lawn with ease --and it starts on the first pull every time. I'm at a point where I will mow at least once a week, if not every five days. Out of curiosity, my wife wanted to give it a whirl. I couldn't let that happen because she would know how easy it is, and then I would end up having to do more dishes and laundry. I would rather have her believe it's still hard and sweaty work, so that I can sit back and enjoy football once I'm done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Chester, VA

I LOVE IT!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many hours of researching, my husband and I decided on the Toro 20066. After removing it from the box, the mower started on the first pull!! Yesterday, I used the mower for the first time and I LOVE IT!! Again, it started on the first pull; the personal pace feature is great!!! The self propelled mower I previously owned moved too slow for me. With this mower, I am able to mow at whatever speed I want to walk and with ease. The Toro went up the incline of our ditch so easily that I just had to go test it on the steep hill in the back yard - WOW it went up the hill with no help from me!!! (Of course, when my husband came home I was so excited that I demonstrated this for him too) It used to take me at least an hour to weed-wack the hill because my old mower couldn't do it. The Toro feels light weight to push around compared to my last mower. Using the personal pace self propel was very comfortable - the bar just moves naturally with the operator. I am a 47 y/o female who was so excited using this mower the first time that I had to stop to call my husband to let him know that we bought the right mower!!! I recommend this mower and will do so to anyone I see shopping for a mower!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Missouri

Easy to use for WOMEN!

PostedMay 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Personal Pace mower for my father for father's day about 9 years ago, and after he liked his and didn't have any complaints about it, when I bought my new house, as a single female, I wanted to buy a good mower that I was able to start without help, and was reliable and dependable.
This is a good mower for women to use, because it starts on usually the first pull, or the second, every single time. Which is a huge problem, because women don't have the upper-arm strength or the arm span to start things. And it's really frustrating, because I am completely unable to start any piece of gas powered equipment by myself. If you have a mower that is hard to start, you have to rely on someone to get it going for you, or wear yourself out trying to get it started, and you end up working around someone else's schedule when they're able to help you.
The Personal Pace system is fabulous, it goes at whatever rate you are walking. I've had my mower for 8 years, and have not had one problem yet. I think it's one of the best things I have bought, and is money well spent, which is invaluable when taking the frustration out of maintaining your property. I use mine at least 3 times a week during growing season in Missouri.
A tip for women, to start it easily, I usually tip the front end off the ground standing behind the mower holding onto the handle and pull the cord, otherwise, I would not be able to start it as easily if it was sitting flat on the ground because of my height and armspan and strength.
I would recommend over and over- to not scrimp or try to save money when buying a lawnmower or tools for that matter, and get a good one it will pay off in the longrun.
I liked mine so much, I also bought my brother one when he moved into his new house.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Arkansas

Why didn't I buy this mower before?

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always bought Craftsmen lawnmowers. Nothing wrong with them, except minor repairs, but they were heavy and hard to start. I researched mowers on ConsumerReports.com and this mower was rated as a best buy. It had all that I needed: good mulching, quick start, safety and the 'personal pace' feature. I've used it twice now and it is a pleasure to work with. It has a great feel to it. It is supple and responsive. It never gets ahead of me and it can be directed easily - backing up, lifting to adjust position, etc.
I recommend this mower highly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Ohio

20066 is good but not so good for bagging.

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had and used other self-propelled mowers and I was a little hesitant in getting another because most of them don’t go fast enough for me. I sometimes think I can mow my yard quicker with a push mower. However I am getting older and have a bad shoulder so I really need a self-propelled. I did my research and decided to get the 20066 Toro. I was surprised; it turned out to be plenty fast, even for me. Everything else is okay with it also. I like it. The only thing I don’t like is the bag is too small and when you take it off you tend to spill some of the clippings on the ground. It also doesn’t want to fill the bag all the way, the grass tends to collect too much toward the front of the bag at first and this starts blocking grass from getting to the back of the bag. I usually mulch so it won’t be a major issue for me. I only bag in the spring when I’m collecting mulch for my garden. If you are going to be bagging most of the time, you might want to consider something else. The real test is how long this drive system and handle control mechanism will last. If it last 10 years, I’ll look at another Toro. If not, I’m going Honda. I’m rating it 3 stars because of the small bag, poor grass collection in the bag, and not so easy emptying of the bag. For bagging, I think the mowers that take the clippings out the side and then up through a tube to a bag in the rear are the best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from Durham, NC

My second Toro Mower

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having had a Toro for thirteen years where I never had a problem, starts easily and runs well, I decided to buy another. This model was recommended by Consumers Reports. So far it looks like a winner again. Starts very easily, runs smoothly. I bought it so I could use the bagger. That feature works well, easy to put on (no tools required) easy to empty. The "recycling" feature is comparable with my earlier model, although I suspect they improved the shape of the deck to as to minimize grass hanging up under the deck. After using this feature when I looked under the deck not grass was stuck to the deck. I guess my old Toro will now go to the Habitat store where hopefully someone else will get a few more years of service. It nice to know somethings are still well made.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower
from So. Florida Gulf Coast.

Very nice product

PostedOctober 19, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first quality mower I've had. I've always used off brands before. Never again. Toro only from here on out. I live in South Florida. I've used this mower every week for 2 months now. As advertized, it starts first pull. It's a little quieter than any walk behind I've ever had, even ones with smaller engines. My yard is close to 1/2 acre. I'm 51 years old, not in great shape, and I can mow it all in about 1 1/2 hrs. That includes a break for cold water, and hooking it up to the hose for cleaning when I'm done. The trick is the self pace mechanism. My last walk behind self propelled took 3 hours. The ride on that I recently replaced took about 2 hrs. The reason it's faster than the ride on, is because I have a lot of places in my yard where the ride on has to go in, stop the blades, back up, start the blades, go forward, over and over.
I don't bag. I tried the bag, and it worked fine, but I don't use it. I was mulching in the begining, but switched to side discharge. It seems to make the lawn look a little nicer. The blade chops the grass up very well, so there are no clumps laying around. Long grass doesn't deter it, although I haven't tried it with grass that is a foot tall either.
Some folks commented that the drive causes the wheels to "peel out" and dig up the lawn. I have not once had that happen. However, the self pace is a tool you have to get a little used to. Early on, I would start and stop while walking a little. This caused the drive to disengage, and re-engage. That caused the mower to do a small wheelie. But nothing dangerous. It stopped when I stopped walking that way.
The handle for the self drive is heavy plastic. Right under it is a normal metal handle. Although the plastic seems to be able to "take it" I'm teaching myself to use the metal handle for steering or pulling. I'm afraid the plastic might fatigue in the future, and not stand up to being used to muscle the machine around. But no problems at all with it.....
Front/rear wheel drive?? My last self propelled was front wheel drive, this one is rear wheel. I see no differance at all, nothing. Incidently, if you never used rear wheel, and are wondering what you do when you get to a tight corner....Just let go of the self pace handle. The mower goes into neutral. I know some of you are wondering that..... I was too!
Anyway, this is a qulaity machine. I'm not even mad that I couldn't afford another ride on mower right now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>