728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Railings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

This tread template consists of two twelve-inch polished aluminum plates and clamps that fit neatly into a toolbox. On the job site add a piece of 1 x 4 and you have a very rigid gauge that will give you accurate measurements every time. Another great feature is a series of holes in the plate that allow you to pry with your nail set against the 1 x 4 snug to the skirts while you tighten the bar nuts. If you build stairs, this jig will save you time and give you perfect accuracy on every tread.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
Review 1 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from San Diego, CA, USA

Worth the cost

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first I didn't want to buy this product: the price seemed steep for what you get. But after trying to get by without it, I broke down and ordered it, and I'm glad I did. Using this jig saved time and avoided wasted materials. I was able to use it for both treads and risers. I didn't use the holes for the nail set; just pushed against the 1x2 with my fingers and got good results. I found it helpful to make a note on the 1x2 so that I could always position the jig consistently when marking the material before cutting.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, highly recommend

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never retread stairs before (although I have built stairs for theatre sets) and this tool made the whole process very straight forward. After the first step, I did decide to use it backwards so I could mark the treads on the back with a pencil rather than marking the front. That made tightening the wingnuts trickier, but it was still very do-able and worked for both the risers & the treads beautifully. The only trouble I had was where the walls were bowed. At that point, you just accept that the treads will not meet the walls flushly and eyeball it while tightening the tool. A friend who loaned me his table saw & miter is already telling other people about this tool and I have a feeling I'll be loaning it out regularly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Miramar, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The product was a valuable time-saver.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The template worked as advertised. All I needed was to purchase a 30" long 1X2 to attach the "wings" to. The product has been modified from the original which used a 1X4. The 1X2 version works great, probably lighter and easier to handle. The materials used to make the template were top-notch which made it price-worthy. The wings have a series of holes across the center but their use is not clear to me, I didn't use/need them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Worked well for novice

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband & I decided to replace our carpeted stairs with wood. While they weren't particularly helpful on the stairs where one side was open, it certainly made the section that was closed in by walls faster & easier, especially as nothing was square. The overlay treads went in well. You do need to make sure that you push hard to set the metal piece against the trim edge to get a tight fit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Orland Park, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't try to install the re-treads without this template

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I could have made a plywood jig that would have accomplished the same thing, but this template certainly worked great. Easy to use. Spot on measurements for every tread that I cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product worked great for my project replacing stairs with carpet to oak treads and risers. As a general contractor I had crippled by with other homemade tools but this was just what the doctor ordered. It saved lots of time and I put in great fitting treads and risers. I don't think a more expensive set-up could provide any better functionality plus they are small and will store away easily until my next project. Good price and good value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Tilton, NH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not exactly what is advertised

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product description is misleading. It says 2 in. X 12 in. which is correct if you actually know what is being measured, misleading because it says add a 1x4. The space for clamping the board into is only 2 inches which doesn't allow enough grab to secure the plates. The hand knobs are so small it's difficult tighten enough to keep the template from moving. You must be very careful, moreso than should be expected in my opinion. It will do the job with great care, but over priced for 2 aluminum plates.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Nifty and helpful.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool seems simple enough, but it does have a learning curve. If your 1x2 is warped and you press it down when making the template, then press it down when marking the new tread. Also be sure to mark the front on it somewhere. It won't work backwards. Doh! Otherwise this is a great tool and has saved me a lot of frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Great Product

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never put in a stair system before and this product made the job super easy. I would recommend watching a video with someone using it, but it is pretty self explanatory. All the stairs I put in fit great and I have received numerous complements on the work. A must have for stair installations!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Good basic tool

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was planning to make my own gig and then I saw this. It worked great. It is simple, durable, and takes up little space. I called customer support once and they were great. I needed to know how to use the little holes. Turns out that I didn't need/use the holes for my application. I used it for both treads and risers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great tool, very easy to use, compact design and very accurate, easy to store too

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this tool a lot because it save me time measuring the treads and raisers and they fit perfecly avoiding gaps and providing nice looking work and very affordable price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product saved time and eliminated waste

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to use and fast. Saved many trial an error fitting
As a result we had no waste. It is very well
constructed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Quality and works well

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Pros: Easy product to use and delivers quality results. This tool is a must have when refinishing stairs.
Cons: The cost is a little steep for it, but I wouldn't have been able to do the job without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

worth the cost for tight fit

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am no professional, just a plain and simple do-it yourselfer. The fit of the sides of the steps came out near perfect. Now if the only had a tool to make the fit where the steps hit the riser, my job would have gone a lot faster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Excellent Tool

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't going to get this tool. I am glad I did as the cuts were all different angles. Spend the extra.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template
from Franklin, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks well made

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
haven't used yet but looks like it will do the job
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

A must when building Stairs

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellant product, easy set up. With the large plastic wing nuts it's easy to adjust to any width step. Very rigid with an excellent polished finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

If you are putting in treads...YOU MUST BUY.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Helped me immensely. I would recommend this to anyone of any skill level to put in stair treads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Tread Template

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply one of the best purchases I ever made to put in retro stair treads and risers! Quick, easy and accurate, well worth the price. Could not find anything like it at local stores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. x 12 in. Polished Aluminum Professional Tread Template

Perfect

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what it's meant to do. No fuss, easy use. A carry case would be nice though...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>