728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED

9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED

The EZ Stairs 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit includes 8 right- and 8 left-side adjustable stair brackets. Each kit makes 8 interior, deck (wood or composite) or concrete stairs.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product19 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(0)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product19 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

very easy to do a stair

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy, just need to follow all procedures.
I just bought one box of spacer, reused it when one side was done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Upstate NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 D-I-Y homeowners built sold stairs w/no help

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Converted our 2 family into a single family home by building stairs between the two levels. Took a bit of figuring, but I can't imagine how lost we would have been without these. The hardest part of the whole project was doing the calculations. Especially because due to space considerations we had to build with two 90 degree turns/landings. Best advice for building with any angles was to actually draw out exactly where you want things to end up - we "drew" our planned steps on the floor with masking tape. Our stairs are VERY solid.
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Gates, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product! Made fixing my interior stairs easy!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 75 year old house and I bought this product to fix my interior stairs that had a bunch of broken and cracked treads under the carpet and to bring the stairs up to code in my area. This product is very well built and the paint seems high quality also. This job was confusing to start at first since I was installing it in not a traditional way because I had to remove all the risers and treads to fix the misalignment and height issues. Once I got the first set installed, I made a jig to help align all the axis' the rest of the way down and the stairs are now super strong with no squeaks or creaks. I would recommend an adhesive with the traditional fasteners to help the stairs not make noise. That's the route that I took. Overall this is a great product and have already recommend it to other friends.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: not for a beginner diyer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

missing important information

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Getting the brackets to produce the right combination of rise and tread depth was confusing. The written instructions with the product left out important information. After I viewed the videos on the company's web site, my dilemma was resolved. The written instructions with the product need to be more complete. The product is a simple, strong construction. I will have steps that will support more weight than I could ever imagine in use. I'd buy the product again because now I know how to get results. All the lumber is two by xx. This creates very heavy construction. I'd also be interested in a product which uses lighter materials, perhaps 5/4ths.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, unclear incomplete instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Westchester County, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

EZ stairs are EZ to use and strong

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have built stairs before and when I saw these demonstrated (by Bill Shatner, no less), I was hooked. They are really simple to use if you follow the instructions carefully and there are videos on line to show you how. The only thing I did wrong initially was to put the spacers in upside down which makes them impossible to remove so make sure you place the tabs down between the stringers. Fortunately, it only required removing one pivot screw on each bracket to correct the oversight.
Although it would seem that you can assemble the whole staircase before putting it in place, a full 13 or 14 steps would have been extremely heavy to lift so we attached risers and treads in place once the brackets and stringers were set (similar to a conventional stair build).
The end cuts on the stringers are no more difficult than normal but, just like a standard stringer, care must be taken to account for finished floor heights. Not having to do the 56 other cuts for standard stringers - priceless!
Finally note that you must buy the spacers separately if you buy the contractor pack but they are re-useable so you can use the same spacers on both stringers and, if you build more stairs, you can use them again as they are fully adjustable for your run and rise.
I will do all my future stairs with these brackets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Basement Stairs Improvement

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to stiffen-up/tighten my existing basement steps, What an improvement to the strength of my stairs. This is the second time I used these brackets and I am very pleased with the results.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Philadelphia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Neat product, doesn't work everywhere though.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product is strong. They are a real neat idea and I bet they work in 70% of stair installations.
I live in a 100 year old home and needed new basement steps, I thought EZ stairs would work for me. I even spent time researching on the website and using the stair calculator they have posted. I bought online and went to my local store to pick up lumber.
After trying to set the spacers, I noticed in the directions the spacers would not allow for the specific rise/run that I needed. Even though the calc on the website specified how to set the spacers, it was futile. They would not adjust to the correct rise/run.
I really need William Shatner to come out and build the stairs for me.
All that being said, I used the brackets but had to place them all at the correct space by measuring carefully. I did end up with a solid staircase, but it wasn't was EZ as advertised.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Would recommend, with warning....

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was so excited to build my first set of stairs with the easy stair system. This stairwell was designed to reach from my first floor to the second (9' 6"). Knowing how stringent stair code is, I was nervous. Well, I hate to say it, but easy stair didn't solve my problem until I had redone it 3 times. The directions are awful! If you use this system, watch all of the videos you can. Between watching 5 or 6 instructional videos, reading the directions, and trial and error, we finally got it figured out. The biggest problem I had with the included directions was that they provided an example where the math worked out perfectly which will rarely happen on real world projects. In short, with improved instructions, I think this product could be amazing. Please do the research and watch the videos to save yourself time.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Lakeville, PA

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The use was pretty much as advertised. Instructions were useful and extensive. The stairs were precise and strong with no squeaks. I would recommend them to any novice such as myself.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from DO IT YOURSELF REMODLER

AMAZING BRACKET AND ONLINE INSTRUCTION @ EZ STAIRS

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS WAS BY FAR THE EASIEST WAY TO ASSYMBLE AND CALCULATE YOUR FORMULA FOR DESIGNING YOUR STAIRS.
THEIR WEBSITE IS INCREDIBLE WITH A HOW TO CALCULATE YOUR STAIR RISER HEIGHT AND STRETCHER FORMULA.
A SUPER PRODUCT FOR THE DO IT YOURSELF PEOPLE!
GREAT JOB EZ STAIRS!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Excellent product for stair building

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 150+ decks in the field using the EZ stair system and now do not build stairs any other way. What started as me offering a better alternative as an upgrade, quickly turned into incorporating it into a standard feature of my deck package. The first set you finish, get in the middle of it and give it a little bounce, you will feel why it is the best stair system on the market. They're easy to install and the directions are very helpful. They also have technical support if you need it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Spanish Fork, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy way to make stairs. They go together quick and are very durable.

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put together an outside stairwell to an upstairs playhouse. It is extremely durable and was a pleasure to put it together.
I used stair risers and they fell apart within the first summer so I was introduced to these stair brackets and they are amazing. I'll never use wooden riser again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have not used them yet

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the "Contractor BRACKET pack". If you do not have the spacers you WILL need to order them with this.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from birmingham

ORDER EXTRA SPACER KIT - when you order

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
KIT - implies all parts are in the KIT - you also have to order the spacers if you think you need them - if you already have spacers - your ok - but don't delay your project because of HOME DEPOTS poor description
Have not used product yet - cause i'm waiting on spacers so my review is on home depot.com
and YEAH I"M BITTER - i'm 4 -7 days delayed on my project
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Lynnwood, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent product

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used EZ Stairs to build deck stairs with 112 inch total rise. The only negative issues was that I focused on getting the cleats square without recognizing that they could be square at more than one position. The result was that I had to redo my work. Once I paid careful attention to the instructions, every thing came together great. Especially for someone who only occasionally builds stairs, this is the way to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

EZ stairs bracket set was well manufactured and relatively easy to install.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions were good and included a DVD as well as written instructions. I found it difficult to find the type of screws that they recommend (#8 flathead wood screws, coated or stainless steel for use with pressure treated lumber). I suggest that Home Depot sell them with the bracket set or have a link to that product so that it is easier to find the correct screws.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Baldwinsville, NY 13027, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good item!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They made the job very easy, and very solid. Glad I got them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

These brackets are a life saver and very practical.

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Can't say enough about this product these brackets really cut time and make it easy to assemble your project.
Again thank you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest Stairs I ever built!

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality product. Quick, easy, economical........................................
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. Adjustable Stair Bracket Kit-DISCONTINUED

A+ customer service

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great only issue is don't call it a Kit if it does not include everything you need. Buy the spacer it makes life easier. That being said their customer support was very good.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>