728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storm Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware

3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware

The Andersen 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware features a convenient retractable screen and includes weather stripping, a double door sweep and hardware. A locking system is built into the door frame (additional purchase may be necessary) and the hinges are tamper resistant for your security. This door is pre-finished to save time on painting and complemented by nickel accents.
Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product107 of 179reviews
Rating Breakdown 188 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(38)
3
(19)
2
(19)
1
(49)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product107 of 179reviews
Customer reviews for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Review 1 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
westbank5501
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very attractive door with substantial handles and locks

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just installed this door and so have little experience with its use. The frame is substantial and very sturdy, no bending or twisting. Handles and locks are another reason to buy this series. The ventilation feature is worth every penny. This is not an easy installation. It is like an erector set. Lots of pieces and lots of instructions and in its own way a interesting challenge to install. Two people are needed to install. The door is too heavy for one person to lift and measure. Once the door is up one person can finish the job. It is important to measure not just the width but also the height. Shimming the door from the top can eliminate problems with the sweep. I had to shim the locking panel and move it a half inch so it would meet up with the door. If you are using a drill with a torque adjustment. lighten the torque when tightening up the screws especially on the door hinges or use a screw driver for the last few turns. These are easily stripped. Yes you will have to lay on the ground to put the door closer on. Having a younger assistant is a plus for this step. Being patient and reading the instructions till you understand them makes this a very do able project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
bullseye
from Cornwall, ON, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best screen door ever

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read lots of bad reviews about this door. All I can say is buy it if you are not happy return it. The home depot stand behind you 100%. It is the best screen door on the market . Bought it when it was on sale.Very easy to install with very good directions.Rule of thum measure twice cut once. It took 3 full hours for my son & I to install.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, hide away screen amazing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
MatlockInMA
from Springfield, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Investment Ever

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this door installed professionally by Home Depot about 8 months ago. The door was great all through the summer, but now that winter has come, I can't say the same. The door has broken off the hinge already, and I have gone through two (2) of the closing mechanisms and brackets. Storm door my butt. We haven't even had a storm yet, merely breezy days. A suggestion for a major design improvement: use two closing mechanisms (one on top, one on bottom) and also work on the actual latch so that when the door closes, the latch actually catches like its supposed to. What a piece of crud.
Cons: Quality, not functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
rundmc40
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love them!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read some of the other reviews, and I'm surprised so many people are unhappy with these. We bought three and had them professionally installed, and we love them. I did have to have our installer adjust the lock on one of the doors, as it felt like it was scraping or grinding a bit, but he fixed it easily before he left, and we've had no complaints whatsoever. They keep the bugs out and let in nice cross breezes, and so far, my active 4 year old hasn't broken or damaged any door parts. We've had them for about 6 months and don't regret the purchase at all. It sounds like we were smart to let Home Depot install them, though, from reading the other reviews. Good luck!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
CaptainMike
from North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be Aware...

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As others have said, Not for the Average DIY person. Andersen has made this door one of the most difficult to install. I just installed two for a Customer (I am a Contractor). Reading the instructions and doing a quality install will take 3 hours. There's some tricks, after drilling the holes for the Lock, assemble the entire lock and handles BEFORE you put the 2 screws that hold the locking mech. to the door end. The Top Inside will have two small screw holes (the plastic locking handle goes there and the Screen will be at the top). Andersen's instructions does not give good advice on locating the Top and Front.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Nordygirl11
from West Seattle, Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great door!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This storm door was a great investment in our home. I love that you have a clear view thru the glass, without having to look thru the screen unless you pull it down for ventilation. The foot closure is very nice when you have your hands full, and closes with a push of your fingertip. I would definately recommend this door! And, pay the extra for the installation if you can. Our installer was prompt, friendly, and quick!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Easy to Clean
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Denise
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worse purchase ever

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cylinder on the bottom part of the door keeps pulling away from the wood on our door. Hate this door.
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
vista7
from Mableton, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great door; fairly easy to install

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought and installed this door. It says 45 minutes but it was more like 3 hours for me. I took my time and read through the instructions. Fitting the door and attaching to the brick mold was really the easy part. It's basically securing it with 20-30 screws. The hard part was the handle and the lock. I had to re-install the handle and lock 4 or 5 times before it would shut and lock properly. The door stop is really tricky too. A small gripe, but the screw covers are almost impossible to snap into the frame. I even watched a video. I would recommend this if you want a really nice storm door you install yourself. I really don't see any reason to hire an install for this unless you don't own a drill or the other tools, but if you want to save 100 bucks and get a nice door installed for 300 bucks; this is a great choice.
Pros: Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Andrew
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrendous customer service + poorly designed door = Epic fail

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all, I'm a Handyman by trade. I install multiple doors every year. Interior, exterior, patio doors, closet doors, etc. - you get the idea. My customer had just installed white windows, and decided her beige colored storm door (made by Larson) should be replaced. So after some research she decided on an Andersen 3000 in white. After removing the Larson door and checking the frame for level, square & plumb I began the installation of this door. 1st of all, they advertise a 45 minute 'easy install' on the face of the carton. Therefore if you take more than that time period you must be an imbecile. Thanks Andersen! 2nd, on page 4 of the instructions they include the following note: "The gap between the top of the door and the raincap is intentionally uneven at this step. The gap will become even in later steps." They were certainly right about it being uneven. Approximately 1/8 inch on the hinge side and nearly 1/2 an inch on the handle side. It was very noticeable upon hanging the door. I hoped it would disappear in later steps as the 'note' stated. Unfortunately when all was said and done, the gap never decreased or evened up. And that was the 1st thing my customer asked about upon viewing the completed project. So I called the solution center to find some answers. Be warned - the 'solution center(?)' is located in the Phillipines. The agent I spoke with had trouble understanding my questions, and really couldn't help at all. I was directed to take a picture and send them an email stating the problem. Ok - no problem; I sent several pictures showing the noticeable gap, as well as a level attached to three sides showing the door to be hanging plumb and square. After several days of waiting I received an email stating they would be happy to work with me and that an answer would take up to 10 business days. They were correct about that...it took 10 business days for someone to call me back. Long conversation short, this agent said that an uneven gap was 'NORMAL'!!!, (even though the instruction manual clearly states that an uneven gap will become even in later steps) and they wouldn't be honoring the warranty to exchange the door. My customer had already reached the breaking point several days prior, and paid me to remove the door, return it to Home Depot, which DID accept the return, and proceed to Menards, purchase an equivalent Larson door and install that. Which she is very happy with for a variety of reasons - for $60 less, the Larson includes dual closers, adjustable brass expander for better weather stripping seal, better designed raincap with no uneven gap, and the customer service is located in South Dakota, where they comprehend English. So very, very long story short ~ Andersen used to be a name synonymous with quality in doors and windows; unfortunately those days seem to be over.
Cons: Quality, not functional, horrendous customer service
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Tatune

Storm door

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the storm door it's very nice, functional, and looks great.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Disappointed

Not a good product.

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this door a couple years ago for our last home and loved it. I purchased this door again for our new home and this door does not have the same quality as the previous one. It has plastic on the door where it used to have metal, the door is significantly lighter, is more cheaply made, and it doesn't shut correctly. We had Home Depot install the door so it was installed correctly. I called Anderson and the customer service specialist mentioned they have made changes to their door. I'm disappointed in the quality for the money. I have almost $400 in the door and wish I had purchased a different brand.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
unsatisfied

poor quality , anderson does not stand by products

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this door for 5 years and it was installed by professionals so I cannot comment on ease of installation. By year 3 one or two of the screws holding the hinge to the door tore out to the point where I needed a larger screw to replace them because the threads were ruined. By year 5 almost all the screws have ripped out of the thin aluminum to the point were no screw will be adequate to replace them and the door had to be taken down because its literally falling off its hinges. I call Anderson and they blamed this failure on an improper installation so its my problem. I informed them that this was installed by professionals and they still said thats what the computer was telling them the problem was. This company used to have a good rep but no longer stands by their products. Stay away.
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Anonymous
from Molalla,OR

Anderson Storm Door

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great storm door. It allows for an insect screen and full view glass. I purchased this door and added the leaded glass detailing with the diamond pattern. This adds a lot more character to the door rather than just having a plain glass panel. It takes two people and a good afternoon to install this door. The company provides a wood spade bit that they say is used to cut out the holes for the lock and handle assembly. Don't use the spade bit. Use a metal hole saw with a punch. You also want to use a tap and drill kit for the screws that hold the window screen lock. The company provides machine screws so you will have to tap the holes. Overall it's a good product, but you will need a little know-how and patience to make it right. The directions are little confusing, but complete.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
ScubaSteve
from Minneapolis MN

Difficult to install, but good after you're done

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As everyone else has mentioned, the directions aren't the greatest, and it will take several hours to get it all done. They don't include a 7/16" bit for some reason, and none of my drill sets had one, so I had to go and buy that, so be prepared for that. Also, they give you a 13/16" spade to drill the locks. I'd recommend having one of those on standby as well. After punching 2 or 3 of the 6 holes, it was dull and would have taken all day to do the rest of the holes. I also had some screws strip off and damaged a handle. One phone call to Andersen and I had replacement parts in a couple days (I won't claim responsibility for the stripped screws, but the handle was my fault, but it was no questions asked/no hassle to get the replacement parts).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Rsteph

Very Nice Door

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice looking door. Heavy duty. Haven't had it long enough to comment on durability. Wife and I installed it ourselves. We are not experts by any means but after watching the installation "oops proof" video, it didn't look difficult and it really wasn't. We piddled around with it most of a day, took our time, didn't rush, re-checked video and printed instructions with each step, and it went up pretty easily. Two person job unless you want to figure out how to remove the glass from the door (we didn't remove it and it's kind of heavy for one person to fool with.) Be careful if you use an impact drill...use lowest clutch setting. If you take it slow and easy...anyone (almost) can install one of these. We love it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Sonya
from Mt. Vernon, NY
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What Took Me So Long?

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This door has made a major difference in blocking air from coming into the house. My house is only 10 years old but has always been very cold around the front entry ways (two family). I had HD install the doors and it took them about two and a half hours for both. The quaility seems very good and they look great but more importantly they have made the house more comfortable in the winter. Extra layer of security never hurts either. I recommend this product.
Pros: Energy Efficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Thomas1166

Love the Door

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great looking door allowing additional light into the house.
Installation was done professionally by Home Depot installer.
I love the functionality of the new storm door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Alley201
from Manvel, Texas

Exactly what we wanted!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have enjoyed this door for almost a year now. It is a joy to have. Provides the extra light in back of house in kitchen when back door is open. Provides air (but not mosquitos) when the top half of window is down and insect screen is showing. It is heavy-duty and was installed by Home Depot contractors almost perfectly. Couldn't have done it better ourselves! No complaints at all. Looks professionally installed and gives us the added security or air or light (depending on how we're using it at the time) that we had hoped for. Definitely recommend this product and brand. Did lots of research before buying it and felt good about choice before, but after using it for a year, know we made a good choice. Plan to put Andersen full light one on front door soon for added security and will probably have Home Depot install it too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
Anonymous
from Loveland, OH

Great Door - BUT have it professionally installed

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought a new storm door to replace one damaged in a recent windstorm. The good news (I thought) was that I was replacing my storm door with the exact same manufacturer. I am a mechanical engineer and do A LOT of home remodeling projects.
I love the look of the door, the features, and the Anderson name - This is a 5 out of 5. But..
Installation of this door is ridiculous - a 1 out of 5. It took me about 6 hours from start to finish (20 minutes to clean up all the metal shavings from all the drilled holes). I ended up with no benefit of the previous door holes, etc other than a better understanding of how this new door should be installed.
Specifically, I understand the cost saving measures of a universal left/right hinge installation but the amount of drilling/attaching parts was too much. The door has definite design issues too.
1) Drilling out the largest holes with the 13/16" spade bit went well but guess where the drillings including a quarter size piece go? To the bottom inside of the door since it's already installed at this point. I guess I'll get to listen to it rattle each time I open the door. Tell me how to avoid this??
2) The directions show installing the jamb bracket towards the "door". Based on the schematic drawing, the door in question is the screen door, not your main door. I did this and found when I was all done, the door only opened 80 degrees before running out of stroke in the closer (with the proper 3/8" clearance on the door closer in the closed position). I flipped the jamb bracket around and now it opens past 90 degrees as I would expect. Plus the closer looks better in line with the door.
3) The closer is suppose to be 5/8" below the bottom of the window insert. My "kick plate" sweep on the bottom is right at the 5/8" mark. Then I got to the step where I was to attach the closer piece to the storm door on this line. That would have left half of it in the air unsupported. So I had to move the closer up about 3/8" to clear the sweep. The drawing does not show the sweep even though you were to install it several steps earlier. I can't be the only person to have run into this.
4) A few of the metal screws had so much paint in the phillips head, I couldn't get a screwdriver to work. I ended up drilling a small hole in the middle of the screw to give my tip a better chance of engaging. Of course this defeats the purpose of the paint as it was torn off from the screwdriver.
So, I love the door now that it's installed (day2). Not a commercial but if you buy this door - PAY TO HAVE IT INSTALLED!!!! I think it was only about $100. I wish I had and I usually feel installing things myself is both money saving and rewarding. NEVER again with an Anderson door.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware
CoupeFlyer

Quality door.

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased three doors for my house. WARNING! Installation is not for the novice. Instructions are very detailed and require some study, there's a lot of information to digest prior to beginning the project. Installing each door took some time, following the instructions step by step and measuring twice and cutting once. I found the door a bit heavy for one person to install on step 4 item 2 but is managable. Had to do a little extra filing on step 9 for the edge seal latch cut out area to get a good fit. All three doors were complete in the box, no items short or missing. Otherwise the fit and trim of this product gets high marks from me. Another nice feature is the ability to re-key the dead bolt lock to the house door, one less key to carry around.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>