728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storm Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

The Andersen 3000 Series 36 in. White Aluminum Self-Storing Storm Door with Nickel Hardware features a convenient retractable screen and includes weather stripping, a double door sweep and hardware. A locking system is built into the door frame (additional purchase may be necessary) and the hinges are tamper resistant for your security. This door is pre-finished to save time on painting and complemented by nickel accents.
Overall rating:
3.208 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(173 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product96 of 164reviews
Rating Breakdown 173 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(31)
3
(17)
2
(15)
1
(50)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product96 of 164reviews
Customer reviews for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
Review 1 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very attractive door with substantial handles and locks

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just installed this door and so have little experience with its use. The frame is substantial and very sturdy, no bending or twisting. Handles and locks are another reason to buy this series. The ventilation feature is worth every penny. This is not an easy installation. It is like an erector set. Lots of pieces and lots of instructions and in its own way a interesting challenge to install. Two people are needed to install. The door is too heavy for one person to lift and measure. Once the door is up one person can finish the job. It is important to measure not just the width but also the height. Shimming the door from the top can eliminate problems with the sweep. I had to shim the locking panel and move it a half inch so it would meet up with the door. If you are using a drill with a torque adjustment. lighten the torque when tightening up the screws especially on the door hinges or use a screw driver for the last few turns. These are easily stripped. Yes you will have to lay on the ground to put the door closer on. Having a younger assistant is a plus for this step. Being patient and reading the instructions till you understand them makes this a very do able project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Pensacola fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

storm door

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door and installer were on time, it took a few days before he was able to install. He did a great job of making the door look like it belonged there all the time. He was polite and courteous and did a great job of installing the door. The gentleman who sold me the door was also professional and gave me a discount on the installing charge, which was great. You should have told us up front to take a video to late now.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Cornwall, ON, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best screen door ever

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read lots of bad reviews about this door. All I can say is buy it if you are not happy return it. The home depot stand behind you 100%. It is the best screen door on the market . Bought it when it was on sale.Very easy to install with very good directions.Rule of thum measure twice cut once. It took 3 full hours for my son & I to install.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, hide away screen amazing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love them!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read some of the other reviews, and I'm surprised so many people are unhappy with these. We bought three and had them professionally installed, and we love them. I did have to have our installer adjust the lock on one of the doors, as it felt like it was scraping or grinding a bit, but he fixed it easily before he left, and we've had no complaints whatsoever. They keep the bugs out and let in nice cross breezes, and so far, my active 4 year old hasn't broken or damaged any door parts. We've had them for about 6 months and don't regret the purchase at all. It sounds like we were smart to let Home Depot install them, though, from reading the other reviews. Good luck!
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be Aware...

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As others have said, Not for the Average DIY person. Andersen has made this door one of the most difficult to install. I just installed two for a Customer (I am a Contractor). Reading the instructions and doing a quality install will take 3 hours. There's some tricks, after drilling the holes for the Lock, assemble the entire lock and handles BEFORE you put the 2 screws that hold the locking mech. to the door end. The Top Inside will have two small screw holes (the plastic locking handle goes there and the Screen will be at the top). Andersen's instructions does not give good advice on locating the Top and Front.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

Sturdy storm door

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door is sturdy and easy to switch between screens. The lock is strong as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Springfield, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Investment Ever

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this door installed professionally by Home Depot about 8 months ago. The door was great all through the summer, but now that winter has come, I can't say the same. The door has broken off the hinge already, and I have gone through two (2) of the closing mechanisms and brackets. Storm door my butt. We haven't even had a storm yet, merely breezy days. A suggestion for a major design improvement: use two closing mechanisms (one on top, one on bottom) and also work on the actual latch so that when the door closes, the latch actually catches like its supposed to. What a piece of crud.
Cons: Quality, not functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from West Seattle, Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great door!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This storm door was a great investment in our home. I love that you have a clear view thru the glass, without having to look thru the screen unless you pull it down for ventilation. The foot closure is very nice when you have your hands full, and closes with a push of your fingertip. I would definately recommend this door! And, pay the extra for the installation if you can. Our installer was prompt, friendly, and quick!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Functional, Easy to Clean
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

LOVE IT

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This door is awesome! Love it. I love that it is clear, you can still see your door, the foot open lock feature is handy when you have your hands full too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the built in screen feature.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this storm door because of the built in screen feature to let more air into the house on cool days/evenings. It's an attractive style door in which I had Home Depot install it. I am very satisfied with the door and the installation process.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Disappointed - Low Quality

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Initially we were pleased with the look of this storm door but we quickly saw the low quality of the door begin to surface. The pneumatic mechanism broke only after a couple months and now the screen window is stuck closed for no particular reason. We haven't had the screen door very long and it is just one headache after another. Definitely would not recommend this product.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

Not a good product.

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this door a couple years ago for our last home and loved it. I purchased this door again for our new home and this door does not have the same quality as the previous one. It has plastic on the door where it used to have metal, the door is significantly lighter, is more cheaply made, and it doesn't shut correctly. We had Home Depot install the door so it was installed correctly. I called Anderson and the customer service specialist mentioned they have made changes to their door. I'm disappointed in the quality for the money. I have almost $400 in the door and wish I had purchased a different brand.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great features and looks great was extremely easy to install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was extremely easy to install only took me about a half hour
Pros: Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Molalla,OR

Anderson Storm Door

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great storm door. It allows for an insect screen and full view glass. I purchased this door and added the leaded glass detailing with the diamond pattern. This adds a lot more character to the door rather than just having a plain glass panel. It takes two people and a good afternoon to install this door. The company provides a wood spade bit that they say is used to cut out the holes for the lock and handle assembly. Don't use the spade bit. Use a metal hole saw with a punch. You also want to use a tap and drill kit for the screws that hold the window screen lock. The company provides machine screws so you will have to tap the holes. Overall it's a good product, but you will need a little know-how and patience to make it right. The directions are little confusing, but complete.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

poor quality , anderson does not stand by products

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this door for 5 years and it was installed by professionals so I cannot comment on ease of installation. By year 3 one or two of the screws holding the hinge to the door tore out to the point where I needed a larger screw to replace them because the threads were ruined. By year 5 almost all the screws have ripped out of the thin aluminum to the point were no screw will be adequate to replace them and the door had to be taken down because its literally falling off its hinges. I call Anderson and they blamed this failure on an improper installation so its my problem. I informed them that this was installed by professionals and they still said thats what the computer was telling them the problem was. This company used to have a good rep but no longer stands by their products. Stay away.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Minneapolis MN

Difficult to install, but good after you're done

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As everyone else has mentioned, the directions aren't the greatest, and it will take several hours to get it all done. They don't include a 7/16" bit for some reason, and none of my drill sets had one, so I had to go and buy that, so be prepared for that. Also, they give you a 13/16" spade to drill the locks. I'd recommend having one of those on standby as well. After punching 2 or 3 of the 6 holes, it was dull and would have taken all day to do the rest of the holes. I also had some screws strip off and damaged a handle. One phone call to Andersen and I had replacement parts in a couple days (I won't claim responsibility for the stripped screws, but the handle was my fault, but it was no questions asked/no hassle to get the replacement parts).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrendous customer service + poorly designed door = Epic fail

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all, I'm a Handyman by trade. I install multiple doors every year. Interior, exterior, patio doors, closet doors, etc. - you get the idea. My customer had just installed white windows, and decided her beige colored storm door (made by Larson) should be replaced. So after some research she decided on an Andersen 3000 in white. After removing the Larson door and checking the frame for level, square & plumb I began the installation of this door. 1st of all, they advertise a 45 minute 'easy install' on the face of the carton. Therefore if you take more than that time period you must be an imbecile. Thanks Andersen! 2nd, on page 4 of the instructions they include the following note: "The gap between the top of the door and the raincap is intentionally uneven at this step. The gap will become even in later steps." They were certainly right about it being uneven. Approximately 1/8 inch on the hinge side and nearly 1/2 an inch on the handle side. It was very noticeable upon hanging the door. I hoped it would disappear in later steps as the 'note' stated. Unfortunately when all was said and done, the gap never decreased or evened up. And that was the 1st thing my customer asked about upon viewing the completed project. So I called the solution center to find some answers. Be warned - the 'solution center(?)' is located in the Phillipines. The agent I spoke with had trouble understanding my questions, and really couldn't help at all. I was directed to take a picture and send them an email stating the problem. Ok - no problem; I sent several pictures showing the noticeable gap, as well as a level attached to three sides showing the door to be hanging plumb and square. After several days of waiting I received an email stating they would be happy to work with me and that an answer would take up to 10 business days. They were correct about that...it took 10 business days for someone to call me back. Long conversation short, this agent said that an uneven gap was 'NORMAL'!!!, (even though the instruction manual clearly states that an uneven gap will become even in later steps) and they wouldn't be honoring the warranty to exchange the door. My customer had already reached the breaking point several days prior, and paid me to remove the door, return it to Home Depot, which DID accept the return, and proceed to Menards, purchase an equivalent Larson door and install that. Which she is very happy with for a variety of reasons - for $60 less, the Larson includes dual closers, adjustable brass expander for better weather stripping seal, better designed raincap with no uneven gap, and the customer service is located in South Dakota, where they comprehend English. So very, very long story short ~ Andersen used to be a name synonymous with quality in doors and windows; unfortunately those days seem to be over.
Cons: Quality, not functional, horrendous customer service
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door

Very Nice Door

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice looking door. Heavy duty. Haven't had it long enough to comment on durability. Wife and I installed it ourselves. We are not experts by any means but after watching the installation "oops proof" video, it didn't look difficult and it really wasn't. We piddled around with it most of a day, took our time, didn't rush, re-checked video and printed instructions with each step, and it went up pretty easily. Two person job unless you want to figure out how to remove the glass from the door (we didn't remove it and it's kind of heavy for one person to fool with.) Be careful if you use an impact drill...use lowest clutch setting. If you take it slow and easy...anyone (almost) can install one of these. We love it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Loveland, OH

Great Door - BUT have it professionally installed

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought a new storm door to replace one damaged in a recent windstorm. The good news (I thought) was that I was replacing my storm door with the exact same manufacturer. I am a mechanical engineer and do A LOT of home remodeling projects.
I love the look of the door, the features, and the Anderson name - This is a 5 out of 5. But..
Installation of this door is ridiculous - a 1 out of 5. It took me about 6 hours from start to finish (20 minutes to clean up all the metal shavings from all the drilled holes). I ended up with no benefit of the previous door holes, etc other than a better understanding of how this new door should be installed.
Specifically, I understand the cost saving measures of a universal left/right hinge installation but the amount of drilling/attaching parts was too much. The door has definite design issues too.
1) Drilling out the largest holes with the 13/16" spade bit went well but guess where the drillings including a quarter size piece go? To the bottom inside of the door since it's already installed at this point. I guess I'll get to listen to it rattle each time I open the door. Tell me how to avoid this??
2) The directions show installing the jamb bracket towards the "door". Based on the schematic drawing, the door in question is the screen door, not your main door. I did this and found when I was all done, the door only opened 80 degrees before running out of stroke in the closer (with the proper 3/8" clearance on the door closer in the closed position). I flipped the jamb bracket around and now it opens past 90 degrees as I would expect. Plus the closer looks better in line with the door.
3) The closer is suppose to be 5/8" below the bottom of the window insert. My "kick plate" sweep on the bottom is right at the 5/8" mark. Then I got to the step where I was to attach the closer piece to the storm door on this line. That would have left half of it in the air unsupported. So I had to move the closer up about 3/8" to clear the sweep. The drawing does not show the sweep even though you were to install it several steps earlier. I can't be the only person to have run into this.
4) A few of the metal screws had so much paint in the phillips head, I couldn't get a screwdriver to work. I ended up drilling a small hole in the middle of the screw to give my tip a better chance of engaging. Of course this defeats the purpose of the paint as it was torn off from the screwdriver.
So, I love the door now that it's installed (day2). Not a commercial but if you buy this door - PAY TO HAVE IT INSTALLED!!!! I think it was only about $100. I wish I had and I usually feel installing things myself is both money saving and rewarding. NEVER again with an Anderson door.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3000 Series 36 in. White Self-Storing Storm Door
from Manvel, Texas

Exactly what we wanted!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have enjoyed this door for almost a year now. It is a joy to have. Provides the extra light in back of house in kitchen when back door is open. Provides air (but not mosquitos) when the top half of window is down and insect screen is showing. It is heavy-duty and was installed by Home Depot contractors almost perfectly. Couldn't have done it better ourselves! No complaints at all. Looks professionally installed and gives us the added security or air or light (depending on how we're using it at the time) that we had hoped for. Definitely recommend this product and brand. Did lots of research before buying it and felt good about choice before, but after using it for a year, know we made a good choice. Plan to put Andersen full light one on front door soon for added security and will probably have Home Depot install it too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>