728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodburning Tool

Woodburning Tool

This Dremel Woodburning Tool offers a multipurpose tool for woodburning, soldering, hot knife cutting of styrofoam and plastics, cutting and fusing rope. By simply switching tips, the tool can be used for wood burning, leather crafting, stencil cutting, soldering, or hot-knife cutting of foam, plastics and rope.. The tool comes with 5 interchangeable and replaceable tip designs and a tool stand for storage.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Woodburning Tool
Review 1 for Woodburning Tool
from Minersville, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really nice wood burner

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did wood burning when I was a kid and my mom got me interested in starting again. So I looked at Amazon and Home Depot's web sites to see which had the best deal for a decent wood burner. After reading the reviews I settled on the Dremel. It was the same price as Amazon but I could ship it free to the store so it won out. I've burned some logo's and a picture into small pieces of wood and it works great. The wood burner I had when I was a kid only had one tip so the option of changing the tips out gives you the ability to do some better detail. About the only thing that I didn't like was that the small tip bent a little and I believe it wasn't meant for wood and it did bend back so I'm understanding of it. Overall a great burner for someone new to wood burning.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodburning Tool
from texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Woodburner works great.

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I already had a couple of cheaper woodburning tools, but they just didn't seem to ever get hot enough. I've recently started turning wood on a wood lathe. I have made several wooden beer bottles and decided to burn a label on each one to give away for gifts. This woodburner has no problem doing the job on Mesquite, Oak and Cedar. I'm sure there are better ones out there, but for the price this one does just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodburning Tool
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for use in Hotcutting

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased for hot-cutting ripstop nylon and poly. Works well, but requires a bit of technique. Certainly gets hot enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodburning Tool
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality from Dremel Brand

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a multi tool that also works as a pyrographer (woodburning tool), not a professional pyrographer. It does not have a thermostat control neiher the thin incandescent wire pointer. Anyway, it is a great tool for home use and beginners like me, it comes with 4 pointers you can use for different shapes and purposes. Also it is cool to be able to solder metal pieces with it.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodburning Tool
from East Hanover, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked Well

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The drill was excellent, but no directions were given how to switch the different tips on the drill. Company just mentioned what each tip might be used for.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodburning Tool
from Norman, OK, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great. Would recommend.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to make gifts with. Worked very well and created customized gifts for a very reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone. Have only done woodburning once before, but was very impressed with the results.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: replaceable tips very small/can lose easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodburning Tool
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best woodburning tool on the market

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
no assembly, gets very hot, and does what it is supposed to do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodburning Tool
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great tool

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Heats quickly. Does exactly what I wanted it for.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodburning Tool
from Garden Valley, CA

Bad Buy

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"This wood burning tool stopped working after 4 hours of use. Dremel offered to replace the tool but after considering shipping/handling, it was less hassle to buy a Weller tool that works..."
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodburning Tool
from Shelburne Falls, MA 01370, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well, a little pricey.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works as described, heats up fast and doesn't cool down much if at all during use. Comes with 4 different tips for many types of projects. A little more expensive then other similar items but the performance makes it worth it to me.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodburning Tool
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product for beginner.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoy teaching beginning wood burning with this product as students find it simple to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodburning Tool
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Product

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for teaching children how to create beautiful woodburning crafts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodburning Tool
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product, great value

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to us. Good quality and a great price. Glad I purchased it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodburning Tool
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great bundle for a reasonable price

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a woodburning tool for etching on suede boots. This worked like a charm.. I had previously been using a tool that only heated up to 750 degrees and was having a hard time burning into the suede, so I searched online for a higher heat level tool. The dremel burner heats up to 1050 degrees and was just perfect for my project. I used only the soldering tip out of the 5 different tips in the set, but I'm sure the other tips would work quite well too for their intended purpose.
The tool heats up within a couple of minutes. I used mine for non stop 4 hours and had no issues with reduced heating at all. The little resting stand comes in very handy as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodburning Tool

Great starter wood Burner

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great starter wood Burner and like the stay cool design.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: cord is a bit short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodburning Tool
from Spring Hill FL 34607

Stay Cool

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very handy cool set allows me to do wonderful woodburnings.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Woodburning Tool
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
1 out of 4 recommend this product