728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

Innovation at It's finest by locking down the spring tines into the aggressive mode, you gently aerate the very top layer of your lawn's soil, while lifting out thatch all at the same time. Use to help prepare bare spots for seeding. A great 2 in 1 time saver from Brinly.
Overall rating:
4.344 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(15)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Easton, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JD Thatcher is great

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is extremely well built and definitely worth the price of just over $200. I use it with about 50lbs of weight (2 concrete blocks - see photos) and it works great.
It took me 1 hour and 56 minutes to assemble and another 15 to 20 minutes to make the tine height adjustments.
I have attached photos in the "transport" mode and the "thatching" mode.
The only criticism I have are the less that clear assembly instructions. I recommend you measure the bolts and read the instructions carefully as you assemble it. DO NOT go solely by the pictures, because they often have the left and right mixed up. As someone else has pointed out the written instructions are very accurate. The pictures are often the wrong image.
All in all Home Depot and John Deere have hit another home run.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"Some Assembly Required"

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed to open the box and try to get this put together. Directions had horrible instructions supported by nearly unintelligible photos accompanying them (tried to use photos to make up for lacking written instructions). Once cobbled together (requiring some nifty dexterity), the wheel fell off initially into a one acre project requiring a long walking inspection to recover the missing lock washer and nut. Guys, revisit the lock washer/nut idea and find something better, the wheels either lock up or fall off. Finally, the thatcherator was attached to the back of a JDeere mower/tractor. The directions for installation were for some other piece of equipment (important in measuring thatching height). Other than that, it performed (1x) as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Solid product that works well

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is now almost effortless to de-thatch my acre of lawn. Assembly took 1 1/4 hrs but then I went back & re-adjusted the depth so say one & a half hrs total. Some of the assembly pictures do not clearly show the details that they should, but, if you have experience with such assemblies, you will do fine. If you are inexperienced or do not have the right tools, the assembly of this product will frustrate you (that is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars).
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Performs Well
Cons: assembly pictures
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

Great Thatcher!!

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were not clear on some of the assembly, but once I figured out how to adjust the leveling and tighten in place....this thatcher is awesome!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Maple Grove, MN

Better than raking

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product actually does the work as advertised. I had some thick thatch and had to stop on clear the tines a couple of times. I would recommend this to anyone that has a tractor. Set aside at least 3 hours to put the Thatcherator together because the directions are not very clear when it come to what bolts you need to use.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Germantown, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Probably the best tow behind dethatcher made.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dethatcher took a little time to assemble, but not a problem. I have had other dethatchers in the past and I feel none can compare to the quality of this one. This unit is extremely heavy duty and will outlast me. I would highly recommend this product. I don't know if I would pay full retail price for it (overpriced), but I got it on sale 1/3rd off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: overpriced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Finger Lakes region of NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well built, but one flaw

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easily assembled, fairly well built, but when you put the unit in transport mode, the cog vibrates out and the tines drop and engage. Haven't spent enough time with it yet to decide how to improve it, but other than that, good unit. Better built than the competitors small dethatchers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: lock for transport height is inadequate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Michigan, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made in the USA!

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Why Home Depot isn't capitalizing on this best selling feature of this unit is beyond me. The quality of construction is great, and the nuts and bolts are even SAE (NOT metric). Most of which are 1/2" or 7/16".
If you are used to instructions with a picture for each individual step, they may have you scratching your head. While the pictures are not the best, the written directions are VERY thorough. Thanks to Home Depot, you can view the instructions (see the "More Info" tab) prior to purchasing to determine if this is something you could handle.
Once assembled this unit requires some minor adjustments since all lawn tractors are not made equally. These adjustments are very straightforward but will require some observations on your part. For example, if the tines are not reaching the ground you'll have to lower the tray and vice versa.
I did have an issue with a missing piece of hardware. I called JD and spoke with someone who spoke english right away! The part was FedEx'd to me very quickly and I was de-thatching my lawn within a couple days.
I had yet another issue with a hole not being drilled in the correct location. The hole for the lift lock pin in the lift handle was drilled too high. When I pulled the lift handle to the side to raise/lower the unit, the lift lock pin caught the top of the hole in the lift lock plate, preventing me from raising or lowering the unit. Drilling a new hole in the lift handle slightly lower than the original solved this issue.
Once assembled this unit worked great! I was amazed at how much thatch had accumulated in my lawn.
If it weren't for the missing part and having to drill a new hole in the lift handle, I'd have given this unit 5 stars.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lacks decent instructions for assembly.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would have given this five stars because it works great. The biggest problem I had was the lack of detailed instructions to put it together. There are a few spots in the instructions that just leave you guessing.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: poor instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product, Instructions Horrible

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The person(s) who wrote the instructions and took the accompanying pictures should be transferred to something that they can properly do. I found the instructions to be lacking information, containing incorrect information, and detrimental to the assembly process in general. Why sell a quality product with instructions that appear to be created by a person with such marginal skill????? That being said, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, Lousy Directions

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product could be greatly improved with some simple and inexpensive changes to the directions. It should have step by step explanations with illustrations.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The name John Deere says it all. The quality you expect from the Brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

Works well

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good device. The only key is that you do have to put weight on this device to work properly. It does take a little effort to put it together. Also you need to be careful what parts go where.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

instructions lacking clarity

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
thatcher is great, but would greatly benefit from better directions for installation. i had 3 pieces left over and the handle is very difficult to engage. i'm sure i did something wrong, but will have to go to a dealership to look at a finished product in order to see what that was. more pictures and a listing of all parts and quantites would really have helped! not everyone who has a deere is a mechanic!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

LA100 series tractor difficulty

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A great dethatcher, it saved me hours of hard work. But... I use a john deere LA115 tractor, and the hitch is too low. This causes it to angle downward, so that only the front tines actually touch the ground properly, and the back ones barely touch. I've tried various methods to get this thing level, but haven't succeeded yet. It does well , even with only the first row of tines making contact with the ground, however it could be better on a tractor with a hitch point 7 - 9 inches off the ground.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Cougar, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very sturdy and great John Deere green color

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped around and this thatcher was heavy duty and much sturdier then others. Found it on line and I bought it. Worth the money....free shipping was a huge plus. Delivered within a week without additional charge. We have 2.5 acres of lawn and this is a good size to tow behind our mower.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from North Salem, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, completes the job as described

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this thatcher as an attachment for my new John Deere D170 tractor. It has two settings plus a travel/tansport setting that raises the tines off of the ground. It works well to lift thatch prior to reseeding or newly seeding a lawn. It sure beats raking in much less time. Assembly instructions could be more clear, having better descriptions and pictures would have been helpful. Set aside two hours to assemble. I discovered the thatcher was missing two carriage bolts from the packages of hardware that was included. John Deere conveniently placed a note in the box that clearly states if any parts are missing, the consumer is to call John Deere customer service at the toll-free number provided instead of calling the dealer or place of purchase. I called John Deere and reported the missing parts. They gladly shipped me the missing bolts at no charge. Other than that, the product works great. If your tractor has a bagger attachment, you will have to go over the area you thatched to pick up the loose thatch that is left lying all over the ground.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: difficult to assemble instructions not clear, missing parts (bolts)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator
from Hawi, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Damaged Packaging-Parts Missing Good Assistance from HD

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered a John Deere dethatcher because of good perceived overall quality. The unit was packaged poorly at the factory and arrived with parts missing because the box bottom was inadequately taped. I called John Deere direct to ask for the missing part, they refused to send it and said to contact Home Depot for assistance. The Home Depot Internet reps responded quickly and offered a replacement unit. Only 1 key item was missing and I asked just for that part, not an entire unit.
The HD rep e-mailed Brinley (the supplier) and the next AM the Brinley rep called and offered to Fed-X the missing part. It would have been a lot easier if the unit was boxed at the factory properly but all involved (Home Depot and Brinley employees) did a commendable job to insure my satisfaction with the resolution. It was reassuring having good commitment for customer support. Thank you for caring about your customers.
Pros: built by engineering not marketing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

Quality product. Nightmare to assemble

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Happy I bought this attachment. Satisfied with quality and ease of use (as a woman) and results-thatchs great. But the directions for assembly are horrible. It took hours to assemble. This is my 3rd. attachment and by far the worst to assemble. If you can get past that you'll love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Thatcherator

Very well made

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did not have the assembly problems mentioned by others. Not sure if they improved the instructions, but it was easy.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>