728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

5 in. Random Orbit Sander

The Milwaukee 5 in. Random Orbit Sander features variable speeds of 7000-12,000 OPM, so you can match the speed to the application. Its 3 amp permanent magnet motor produces dependable speed and power. Use this sander to achieve a fine, swirl-free finish on anything on which you're working.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 134reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(104)
4
(12)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 134reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Review 1 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Lakegeneva
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect finish sander

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sander works excellent and fast. Takes cross grain marks out without a problem. Used it on all sorts of projects and I haven't used another sander that works near as well as this one.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Monster sander power

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is actually the second time I've purchased this sander model. I bought it because I have a woodworking buddy and we both needed/wanted one. This sander is powerful and best of all the dust collector works. I even sand inside my shop now without getting sawdust every where. It's quiet and smooth running. Love it and do not hesitate to brag about it.
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dust collection works
Cons: don't know yet how long it will last.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this years ago, quick change and variable speed

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to sand all my kitchen cabinets and this sander is a god send. It is so easy to change discs and the variable speed is great for final sanding. Add everything together with Milwaukee tool durability and you get one great tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Best I've seen.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sands great. No swirl marks. Speed settings are easy to use. Feels great in your hand and comfortably easy to control.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Murphy, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not appear to hold up --design issue or mfg defect??

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased the sander to remove paint from an outdoor staircase, prep for stain. Used a belt sander for the large surfaces, this orbital for the smaller and vertical surfaces. Sander worked fine for about 10 minutes, then stopped working. I thought it might have overheated, so gave it time to cool down. after about 2 hours, it would start very slowly, then stop. I could find no information in the manual on this issue. The next day it started right up, but I didn't use it that day. Took it back to HD to troubleshoot it or exchange for a new one. they were out of the Milwaukee so I traded up for the comparable Rigid model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Boston, MA

Milwaukee still rules in my book

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Milwaukee is a quality tool manufacturer, and I think superior to your other brands like Rigid and Delta. Unfortunately I think all the manufacturers are prioritizing profit over consumer value by utilizing marketing strategies like using a sanding pad that wears out very fast to ensure repeat and additional business. Clearly, from other posts from other consumers buying this product and other similar sanding products, the same problems with early sander pad wear out is occurring with no apparent attempts to improve the matter by the manufacturers.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: planned absolescence and lower grade parts used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm at a point where I'm tired of going cheap on tools and products. I've decided to spend the money necessary in order to get the quality items I need in order to complete a task. This sander is a perfect example of that. It's not much more than the cheapy ones, but you get a lot more bang for the buck. It's got plenty of power, good on/off switch, adjustable speed, and a long cord . . . and a 5 year warranty. This thing removes wood! The solid case is of lifetime quality and leaves plenty of room for the sander as well as many extra sanding pads. I'm very happy with this sander. Hopefully the kids' bunk beds will be done soon!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Rocklin, CA, USA

Sander

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this sander to aid in refinishing tables, dressers, etc. So far it has worked great for what I am using it for. It has relatively good dust collection, does not kill my hands with too much vibration, easy to control, has as much (or as little) power as I need. A great addition to my toolbox.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

Very poor

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Usually Miluakee makes good stuff, but stay clear of this one. Stopped working after two hours of use. Thought it was just a fluke and the Home Depot folks were nice and exchanged it for a replacemeant one. The replacement lasted less then an hour before it quit working to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from oakham, ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Sander, exceeds expectations.

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lightweight, good feel in hand. Has plenty of power.
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

Excellent!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't have a whole lot to compare this sander to since I have been using my $20 black and decker finishing sander for everything I sand for 10+ years, but wow what a difference. This Milwaukee is whisper quiet compared to the B&D. Very easy to control and the Velcro pads are very convenient. I am a moderate DIY guy and woodworker and this sander will fulfill all my basic sanding needs. I would definitely recommend this sander. I was also extremely impressed with the dust collection compared to other sanders I have used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Conover, NC

Fantastic Sander!

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am an accomplished woodworker (everything from simple projects to high-end furniture and cabinetry, and I have five of the top brand sanders. I needed to replace one that broke down unexpectedly and purchased this Milwaukee orbital sander from Home Depot. I had previously seen that it had won tool reviews as a top sander, but was skeptical of the performance reviews for such an inexpensive tool. After trying it out, I was amazed! It works every bit as good as the reviews. The best two features: 1.) It removes material faster than any sander I own (including a heavy-duty 6 inch angled Dewalt sander), and 2.) It has a modified brake that winds down very fast after turning it off---a great time saver.
Don't be afraid of the fast material removal - it also leaves the smoothest finish of all my sanders. I will purchase at least one more, so that I can do several levels of sanding without changing paper (or using some of my other lesser performing sanders). You cannot buy a sander close to this quality unless you spend $120 (or more) and buy the Porter Cable 390 low profile orbital sander.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this sander a while back but never got to use it and put it in my bedroom closet until I had time to do a few projects around the house. Upon getting it out of the case and after putting a disk on the sander I tried to turn it on and nothing. I kept switching it off and on until it finally started to move but very slowly. When I put it on the board I wanted to sand it barely moved until finally stopping all together. I tried using it again, this time when I plugged it in it took off like it should only to slow and finally shut down again and would not turn back on. So many people swear by Milwaukee tools but my first and probably my last purchase was a total bust. I am hoping HD takes it back and either replaces it or refunds my money.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

Good sander with 1 Major flaw

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plenty of good points with this sander mentioned by others: low vibes, soft start, long cord, speed adjustment, good ergonomics unless you have small hands...
The Major problem is that the brake pad wears out with a couple hours or so of run time (not much for a sander). I have gone through 2 brake pads already with just occasional DIY use. Not what I expect from a Milwaukee tool.
When the pad wears-out the disc will spin at high rpms (becomes a disc sander not ROS) unless firm pressure is kept on it. Too firm. If you lift off the workpiece even a bit & touch it down again you'll get a big divit. If you ease up on the pressure you'll get swirl marks.
If you buy it, go online & buy several brake pads (I found them for $2.50). Better yet, buy a different sander with a better brake and don't have the hassle or ruined workpiece in the first place.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: terrible brake pad
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from New Rochelle, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works like a charm

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
supplies a great finish to every project we have used it for and believe me we put it through the paces. I can always rely on my milwaukee tools and this sander is no different.
the fine people at Home Depot directed me to this product and I am glad they did
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Cordova, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Had to return this tool to HD after 3 days of medium-duty use

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've ordered this tool to replace my 3-year old Craftsman Professional (C.P.) sander. Here are my initial impressions...
1. Much louder compare to C.P.
2. More effective than C.P. when sanding hardwood
3. The tool comes with a durable plastic cage.
4. It is difficult to hold the tool while sanding. My hand would get fatigued in 15-20 minutes compare to 3-4 hours for C.P.
5. Long and durable power cord
6. Great 5-years warranty!
7. Wood dust collection is so-so... I would say 60-65%
So, after 3 days of medium-duty usage (I was working on oak stair treads) the tool started acting weird. Vibration was getting worse day-by-day and I had to take a 5-10 minutes rest after every 5 minutes. Finally, sander started spinning very fast instead of random orbital movements. As a result of this, I've damaged a couple of stair treads I was working on. Long story short, weird action of the tool resulted in one additional day for this project.
I am very sure that Milwaukee tools brand is a top of the quality and performance but the tool I got from HD was defective..... I am a general contractor and for my work I've started to look for a cordless combo tool kit.... I am not sure if I would buy Milwaukee now.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Brooklyn, NY

Yes, you can use this on floors.

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's a long story but I'm using this to sand parquet floors in two bedrooms.
This little sander is a beast and has no trouble being slightly misused in this way. Buy this for anything you'd ever want to sand. I like this so much, I actually wrote a review-I've never ever review anything online in my life.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the best.

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love this sander, in fact I used it so much I burnt the pad brake out. Currently spins freely, fairly common with orbital sanders I think. As I wait for parts for the Milwaukee, I bought a Dewalt Orbital Sander. After using the Milwaukee the Dewalt seems to gyrate all over the wood work. Low or high speed different grits. Its loud and rattly I've found the Milwaukee sander produces a nice finish and takes alot of abuse while not vibrating your hand numb.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Milwaukee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 years and still going strong

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this 5 years ago to refinish my dining room floor. It may be small but I did get the entire floor done in two days, After that I went to work on my porch and it did a good job considering the multiple layers of porch paint. Right now I'm using it for a bedroom floor and then the next project is the stairs. There are still a few rooms that need the floors refinished and I expect to be using this tool for a long time. It does vibrate a lot, so heavy gloves help. The dust bag works well. It should be emptied before it gets full so keep checking it by squeezing it. If it starts to feel heavy empty it out. If the bag gets too full dust will start coming out the disk holes and may cause the sanding disc to come off. Also you may need to replace the sanding pad occasionally if you use it a lot. Great sander and I'd buy it again/
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: sanding pad can wear out but is easily replaced.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the "that's a nice job" tool!

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When you're working on a wood project and you think "well,close is good enough",get this tool out and make the difference.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>