728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

5 in. Random Orbit Sander

The Milwaukee 6021-21 5 in. Random Orbit Sander features variable-speed operation of up to 12,000 orbits per minute to make it easy to achieve a fine, swirl-free finish and a 3 amp, permanent-magnet motor with an electronic soft start for dependable speed and power. The sander provides an ergonomic design with a tactile rubber top and body grip surface and a narrow sander body for comfortable use.
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product95 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(87)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product95 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Review 1 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Monster sander power

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is actually the second time I've purchased this sander model. I bought it because I have a woodworking buddy and we both needed/wanted one. This sander is powerful and best of all the dust collector works. I even sand inside my shop now without getting sawdust every where. It's quiet and smooth running. Love it and do not hesitate to brag about it.
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dust collection works
Cons: don't know yet how long it will last.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Best I've seen.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sands great. No swirl marks. Speed settings are easy to use. Feels great in your hand and comfortably easy to control.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this years ago, quick change and variable speed

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to sand all my kitchen cabinets and this sander is a god send. It is so easy to change discs and the variable speed is great for final sanding. Add everything together with Milwaukee tool durability and you get one great tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander

Good sander with 1 Major flaw

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plenty of good points with this sander mentioned by others: low vibes, soft start, long cord, speed adjustment, good ergonomics unless you have small hands...
The Major problem is that the brake pad wears out with a couple hours or so of run time (not much for a sander). I have gone through 2 brake pads already with just occasional DIY use. Not what I expect from a Milwaukee tool.
When the pad wears-out the disc will spin at high rpms (becomes a disc sander not ROS) unless firm pressure is kept on it. Too firm. If you lift off the workpiece even a bit & touch it down again you'll get a big divit. If you ease up on the pressure you'll get swirl marks.
If you buy it, go online & buy several brake pads (I found them for $2.50). Better yet, buy a different sander with a better brake and don't have the hassle or ruined workpiece in the first place.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: terrible brake pad
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is well made and has plenty of power. Dust collection works good but not great. The on/off button is one area that should be improved to make it easier to use. The button really has to be pressed hard in order to ensure it is off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, warranty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Grants Pass, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

terrible, hook and loop unit wore out WAY too fast.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I had looked at reviews on Milwaukee's site; lots of people had the same problem I did:. Not very far into a project the hook and loop disk assembly stopped holding the disks, sending them flying off into space if not held down tightly against the surface I was trying to sand. Called nearest service center (30 miles away) and it would take 10 working days to get replacement for $20. Have to buy a new one today for replacement so I can finish this project and it will NOT be a Milwaukee. Would like more quality instead of a carrying case. Their stuff used to be topnotch. Disappointing for sure.
Cons: Not Durable, replacement part takes 2 weeks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm at a point where I'm tired of going cheap on tools and products. I've decided to spend the money necessary in order to get the quality items I need in order to complete a task. This sander is a perfect example of that. It's not much more than the cheapy ones, but you get a lot more bang for the buck. It's got plenty of power, good on/off switch, adjustable speed, and a long cord . . . and a 5 year warranty. This thing removes wood! The solid case is of lifetime quality and leaves plenty of room for the sander as well as many extra sanding pads. I'm very happy with this sander. Hopefully the kids' bunk beds will be done soon!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Franklin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best sander ever!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sander is currently bring used by my dad who is an experienced carpenter and he loves it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Los Angeles, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

One Of The Better Choices

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im a painter. Bought this sander for prepping homes and various other sanding applications. Easy to use powerful sander. I like the speed controls which allows you to dial in the appropriate rpm setting for various applications. I hooked my industrial vac to the exhaust port and sanded drywall quick and easy with virtually zero dust. So far so good. Its been about a month and no complaints. Came with a nice molded plastic case to keep it from getting bashed around with other tools
Only thing that I found was that the little dust collector baggy attached isn't as efficient as I would like. I remove it and attach my vac if I am going to make a lot of dust. It helps to get a coupling the appropriate size diameter to make connecting the hose easier.
For the price the quality is what you would expect.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Cordova, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Had to return this tool to HD after 3 days of medium-duty use

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've ordered this tool to replace my 3-year old Craftsman Professional (C.P.) sander. Here are my initial impressions...
1. Much louder compare to C.P.
2. More effective than C.P. when sanding hardwood
3. The tool comes with a durable plastic cage.
4. It is difficult to hold the tool while sanding. My hand would get fatigued in 15-20 minutes compare to 3-4 hours for C.P.
5. Long and durable power cord
6. Great 5-years warranty!
7. Wood dust collection is so-so... I would say 60-65%
So, after 3 days of medium-duty usage (I was working on oak stair treads) the tool started acting weird. Vibration was getting worse day-by-day and I had to take a 5-10 minutes rest after every 5 minutes. Finally, sander started spinning very fast instead of random orbital movements. As a result of this, I've damaged a couple of stair treads I was working on. Long story short, weird action of the tool resulted in one additional day for this project.
I am very sure that Milwaukee tools brand is a top of the quality and performance but the tool I got from HD was defective..... I am a general contractor and for my work I've started to look for a cordless combo tool kit.... I am not sure if I would buy Milwaukee now.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Rocklin, CA, USA

Sander

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this sander to aid in refinishing tables, dressers, etc. So far it has worked great for what I am using it for. It has relatively good dust collection, does not kill my hands with too much vibration, easy to control, has as much (or as little) power as I need. A great addition to my toolbox.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow - it even comes in a storage case

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I buy a tool I read consumer reviews, Popular Science, Popular Mechanics benchmarking results, and ask my carpenter friends. The Milwaukee 6021-21 5 in. Random Orbital Sander really does the job. Unbelievable to me, is that the sawdust catcher actually works. This is a simple kind of tool that Milwaukee has built to perfection. I'm just a DIY person but I still love a great tool at a great price. I can't speak for how long it will last but it feels very sturdy.
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, 99% sawdust collection, nice storage/carry case
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Toledo, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well made professional tool.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sander is everything you expect it to be. Light weight, powerful and durable.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Conover, NC

Fantastic Sander!

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an accomplished woodworker (everything from simple projects to high-end furniture and cabinetry, and I have five of the top brand sanders. I needed to replace one that broke down unexpectedly and purchased this Milwaukee orbital sander from Home Depot. I had previously seen that it had won tool reviews as a top sander, but was skeptical of the performance reviews for such an inexpensive tool. After trying it out, I was amazed! It works every bit as good as the reviews. The best two features: 1.) It removes material faster than any sander I own (including a heavy-duty 6 inch angled Dewalt sander), and 2.) It has a modified brake that winds down very fast after turning it off---a great time saver.
Don't be afraid of the fast material removal - it also leaves the smoothest finish of all my sanders. I will purchase at least one more, so that I can do several levels of sanding without changing paper (or using some of my other lesser performing sanders). You cannot buy a sander close to this quality unless you spend $120 (or more) and buy the Porter Cable 390 low profile orbital sander.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Salem,OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought it too late!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had early on used two other sanding tools as well as manual sanding block and was not satisfied with the results. The kitches cabinetry was proving to be a daunting task. Read several reviews for orbital sanders and chose the Milwaukee sander.What a joy to use and realized I could have saved much time,effort, and frustration by purchasing it from the beginning!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A nice professional palm sander - not a hobbyist toy

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had the throw away sander from Ryobi which lasted until I started using it on a regular basis. It failed. I purchased the Milwaukee due to good reviews. It has lived up to my expectations. It does not bog down when I bear down. It allows me to change speed when I want to reduce the rate that I remove material. The dust collection works great with my system. I have used this product for about 10 hours total sanding time and definitely see it as a big step up from the Ryobi. Home Depot had by far the best price I found. I consider it a great purchase.
Pros: Durable, Powerful
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from Suwanee, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good, when it's new

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This sander does a fine job. That said, it does not live up to its manufacturer's reputation. The hook pad to which you attach the sanding disks wears out surprisingly fast. And it is not in stock at Home Depot. I'm on my third pad, and just after in installed that, the orbit bearing wore out. That is also not in stock at Home Depot, and is not in stock at my local Milwaukee store. I can order one, but the shipping is more than the cost of the bearing.
In less than a year of owning it, I have spent $20.00 on pads. To keep it running, I will need to order more parts, and of course, will then need to tear it down and install the new bearing. However, I am seriously considering whether to just buy a different product, as this one promises to keep me busy replacing parts.
I would not recommend it to anyone who will need to use it more than 10-15 hours a year.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the best.

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this sander, in fact I used it so much I burnt the pad brake out. Currently spins freely, fairly common with orbital sanders I think. As I wait for parts for the Milwaukee, I bought a Dewalt Orbital Sander. After using the Milwaukee the Dewalt seems to gyrate all over the wood work. Low or high speed different grits. Its loud and rattly I've found the Milwaukee sander produces a nice finish and takes alot of abuse while not vibrating your hand numb.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from New Rochelle, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works like a charm

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
supplies a great finish to every project we have used it for and believe me we put it through the paces. I can always rely on my milwaukee tools and this sander is no different.
the fine people at Home Depot directed me to this product and I am glad they did
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Random Orbit Sander
from MO
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not too bad

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am refinishing a 106 year old stair case which has never been touched since construction. I started with **** octo sander which vibrates your hand/arm/shoulder/fingers uncomfortably. I was recommended a random orbit sander as opposed to a 1/4 sheet sander due to the fact the random orbit would strip the wood down quickly. It also would fit the tread space easier. With 60 grit sandpaper it takes about 5-10 minutes per tread to get the wood smooth (the wood was very raised). The vibration is there but substantially better than the octo sander. It is actually manageable and with 16 steps it makes me much happier to think about it. The pads stay on really well, the dust collect works decently although it does kick out some dust. I had to change the dust collector after 2 treads but to be honest I'm sanding down a lot of wood. We love Milwaukee tools and are yet again not disappointed. Great purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: a little dusty
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>