728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 38-Gallon 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater has an ultra low-NOx radiant burner that delivers powerful water heating and reduces your emissions. The heater's 40-gallon tank holds ample water for your household, while its combustion air intake means there are no filters for you to clean or replace. Backed by a 1-year in-home service warranty, this durable heater has an exclusive air/fuel shutoff device that keeps you save in the unlikely event that flammable vapors gather around the heater.
Overall rating:
1.808 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
22%of customersrecommend this product11 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
1.8 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(37)
Ease of installation 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8 out of 5
Value 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
22%of customersrecommend this product11 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from South San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product is NOT worth the money

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading some poor reviews and a few OK reviews about this product before I purchased, I took a chance and decided to buy this water heater based on its price. I am paying for it now, though! A little over a year of use, the pilot light went out and no longer stays lit (exactly what the reviews warned me about). I tried serveral times per the instructions on the label:"... repeat steps 3-9 if pilot light does not remain lit.... " No luck. Had it checked and sure enough, problem was internal and required purchasing replacement parts. After reading what others are going through to get this resolved, I would rather just buy a new and better quality water heater. Terrible Product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORSE PURCHASED EVER

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This water heater is a piece of JUNK. Heed to the warnings of the other reviews. I wish I had read them before I purchased it a year ago. It is the most unreliable water heater I've ever purchased. Only lasted 1 year. All I can say is DON'T BUY IT. It's not worth buying to see if it will perform for you. This model should be immediately discontinued!!!
Cons: unreliable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJanuary 10, 2014By GE AnswersJanuary 10, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. We are sorry to hear of an issue after 1 year and can certainly understand your concern. The residential water heater is provided with six (6) years of warranty coverage: Two (2) years of Full Warranty coverage followed by four (4) years of Limited Warranty coverage as described in the owner's manual. We encourage you to contact our experts at the GE Water Heater Line for assistance- 1-800-431-1549 (Monday-Saturday 8AM to 8PM EST, Sunday 9AM to 4:30PM EST). Thank you for your feedback. Your concerns are important to us.GE_Appliances
Review 3 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Newark, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DO NOT BUY THIS WATER HEATER! Piece of JUNK!!!! NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Exactly One year old and pilot light wouldn't stay lit. Replaced thermocouple for close to half the cost of the water heater. Today is 5 days after original repair & a major leak occurred. Just called their water heater line and was told by a person to call back tomorrow because they were closing soon. Really!!!??? Make your customer wait even longer for hot water. Called emergency plumber out & guess what. . . The whole thing needs to be replaced.
Cons: Leaks, piece of junk, horrible customer service
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

DONT BUY THIS GE water heater or any other GE appliance.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same as everyone else. I had it fixed in house 4 months after installation and now that it is at 13 months (warranty expired) it is broken again. The first time it was making a loud boom and now the pilot light wont stay lit. Now its going to cost $125 for someone to fix it. I spent 1 hour on the phone with GE and also talked to a supervisor today. They would not budge on the warranty. They wouldn't help out and I was very nice on the phone with them. I have all GE appliances in my kitchen and I will never buy a GE appliance ever again. They could have worked with me. 2 days of cold showers.
Cons: broke twice in a year, 1 month out of warranty and they wont work with me, dont buy ge they used to be repitable (not now)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Fairfield, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pilot light won't stay lit.

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a year and a half of use the pilot light won't stay lit. Maybe a bad thermocouple from what I've researched. I have a service tech comming out to my house that will cost me 250 dollars to fix a 350 dollar water heater. That's just... fantastico.
Stay away from GE.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: unreliable
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Works well for about a year and then...Good luck.

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this item a year and two weeks ago. Pilot light wont stay lit to light burner. Had to install a new Thermocouple. I had a Whirlpool natural gas water heater before this one. Didnt have to replace the Thermocouple until the fifth year. GE will Fed Ex replacement parts overnight for free. However, after the first year you are on your own as far as labor goes. Cost $80 to install. Shouldnt have to be fixing a $400 water heater after one year of use. Junk.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Windsor, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WATER HEATER

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have installed several of these units. first always check the unit before u take it out of the store. meaning take it out of the box. i cut the bottom away and lift the upper half of box off. the heater has a sheetmetal cover and can dent. that wont effect usage. if the bottom is dented then u may want to find another unit. the bottoms are flat and it could lean. u can ship laying down. watchout for control. to drain old unit leave the pressure on and open the drain valve to heater. this will blow out any materials settling at the bottom of tank that will block drain hole.then shut off water valve to heater and disconnect flexlines. this will allow water to drain out quickly. when installing connect least flexible lines first. those determine where the unit should sit unless u want to go to the store to get parts. meaning hook up ducting-p&t valve-strap- waterlines-then gas line.. in this order.. this will give u a chance to reconnect the unit without needing several additional parts.. if re using waterflex lines always change out washers atleast. old ones may hold but prone to leak a week later. make sure the tank is full of water.. not air.. before lighting.. run hot faucet until water comes out to bleed air out of line. when lighting get low and look up through veiwing window to see flame. hold button down 30 sec before hitting spark button. chamber and flexline need to fill with gas to light . if u dont see a spark when hitting the button then your not looking in the right spot. these units are very quiet so u may have it lit and not know it. check for heat on flue pipe to make sure. the last thing is if your pressure relief valve keeps dripping its probly your house pressure... make sure your 70lbs or less. never cap this valve.. very dangerous..
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Walnut Creek, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this heater for less than 3 years; it was easy to install but the thermocoupler has gone out twice already. Without a working thermocoupler the heater won't light.
Cons: not reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Failed in 9 months

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made by Rheem not GE. When you call GE, you can't even get where to by parts like a thermocoupler or even a part number. They will only give you contractor's phone numbers.
Home Deport does NOT sell a replacment. I also checked alll of the local parts store, nothing. Based on the design, you have to replace the whole piolot light assembly. Replacment will be here in 4 days from GE..
Thermocouplet is bent (by design) in the thick part. A genric 18" Holleywell $8 thermocoupler will work whist you are waiting for GE to send you a new one. Keeps the wife and family happy.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Temple City, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GE - No good for water heater.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this water heater 2 years ago, heater went out on Christmas Eve. Pilot light will not stay on when black button is released. A new heater should not go out this soon. Now I have to call contractor to replace it with another brand name.
Don't buy GE.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Do Not BUY!!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this GE water heater not even 3 yrs ago. My GE water heater stopped working and was not repairable due to a sensor that once it's, "tripped" you cannot reset. Unbelieveable, GE says thats how they made that design...only lasted 3 years with a 7 year "Limitited" Warranty...the limitied meant they were not going to cover a new tank or fix it but they will send you out the part at no cost! How will that help anyone who has no hot water ad now it is going to take 2 day to get the "Free" part! Do not buy this product. Go with a different manufacture.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Bad thermocouple comes with this water heater

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have reviewed, this water heater comes with a low quality pilot because the thermocouple often goes out after the first year of use. I bought this product about 14 months ago and now the thermocouple went out. I called GE for a replacement part but it has been on back order for over 10 days. That's 10 days without hot water now! GE said they would overnight the parts to me, but the part never became available. Now GE has offered to replace the entire water heater, but I must say that this particular model is terrible.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: bad thermocouple
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Mountain View, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My water heaters used to last 10+ years w/o any fuss. This one lasted less than 2. 2 repair people later and no parts to be found since it happened on a weekend of course and no one is available to ship parts. We are 2 days and counting with no hot water. Not worth the pain.
Cons: unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Altadena, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent water heater.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple as pie to install, works perfectly, absolutely no problem whatsoever. I bought it partially because it was CA compliant (low NOX), but it was perfect for my needs. A slightly smaller capacity, energy efficient, relatively inexpensive, good reviews from other buyers. I look forward to 10 years of worry free use.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

this product has real problems with the pilot light

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation was as expected and very straightforward until it came to lighting the pilot. The gas valve, spark switch and view window were designed by some sadistic person. The pilot view window is about 7in above the ground, but the pilot light is inside and above the window so you have to be lower to look in. The pilot switch is about 18 in above the ground. You have to hold down the pilot switch, but it has a strong spring pushing back and sharp points which makes it painful to hold down. ALso, it is impossible to hold the switch down and push the spark button with the same hand. Really impossible to easily lite the pilot. And almost impossible to check if the pilot is lite while trying to light it.
MY pilot refuses to light no matter how long I hold down the switch so I called the 800 number. Rheem answered, and referred me to GE's 800 number - which was closed.
The water heater goes back to HD tomorrow if GE won't send out a technician
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Bad news, good news and bad news

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad news is the thermocouple went bad.
Good News is I calld the number for GE in the manual and they shipped me the WHOLE burner assembly for FREE (wonder in they've had complaints?).
Bad news is when I pulled the old burner assembly out I took a peek at the underside of the tank and there were rust spots forming....on a 1 1/2 year old water heater.
I think I've bought some time to research weather or not i'm going to go tankless.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Marin

don't buy ge water heaters

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. GEwater heaters are made by Rheem..
2. They have a " safety feature" called a FVIR mechanism
that is too sensitive, and bursts if water gets into your
pan.
3. The part is just now replaceable, but if your refuse to
pay a plumber to install a simple part--You need to wait
for the part in the mail.
4. Get used to Chippies.
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

:(

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just use for 2 years and the pilot goes bad.
a small house with 2 people, very lightly use
the " 5 years limited warranty" = nothing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersOctober 28, 2013By GE AnswersOctober 28, 2013
Hi Amadeus-this is Sue from GE. I regret to hear of this issue with the pilot on your gas water heater and glad to offer direction for assistance. We encourage you to contact our experts at the GE Water Heater Line 1-800-431-1549 (Monday-Saturday 8AM to 8PM EST, Sunday 9AM to 4:30PM EST). It is our hope they can resolve the issue to your satisfaction. Thanks for reaching out to us.GE_Appliances
Review 19 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

bad water heater

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pilot generator went out in about two years of owning. This unit is no good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersOctober 24, 2013By GE AnswersOctober 24, 2013
Hi Igni-this is Sue from GE. I can certainly understand your concern and apologize for any inconvenience caused by your water heater. We suggest to contact our experts at the GE Water Heater Line- 1-800-431-1549 (Monday-Saturday 8AM to 8PM EST, Sunday 9AM to 4:30PM EST). Your comments are important. Thanks for reaching out to us.GE_Appliances
Review 20 for 38 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Sunland, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this in 2/2008 and it just died on me. I had the gas company come and with luck they were able to light it but shortly thereafter it went out. He told me to repair it was more of a hassle then just getting a new one.
Ironically the warranty expired 3/13. How convenient was that.
Home Depot was lacking in other model so I went to Lowe's and got a Whirlpool this time around.
It cost a bit more but hoping this one will last a few more years than this one did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>