728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The ultra low-NOx radiant burner of the GE 40-Gallon 38,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater reduces your emissions to make your household more eco-friendly. The heater's FVIR design and combustion air intake save you the effort of cleaning and replacing filters, offering easy maintenance. The 40-gallon tank provides ample water for your household and has a tall design that fits conveniently in a variety of interior spaces.
Overall rating:
2.059 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product4 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
1.2 out of 5.0
1.2 out of 5
Value 
1.3 out of 5.0
1.3 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product4 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from La Habra

Horrible warranty

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most people would buy this product because of the perceived value. But the minute something goes wrong with the water heater, you will find out what kind of the value the water heater truly was. GE will only ship you the parts because no home repair store or plumbing company carries the parts. If GE even diagnoses the problem correctly the first time, you still have to pay a plumber to install the part under warranty. Then if the part does not fix your problem, you get to wait for the next part to be shipped and pay the plumber again to install the part. You get a worthless warranty with this water heater.
Cons: poor warranty
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Jose
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this water heater!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this water heater less than two years ago and the pilot assembly malfunctioned and now the temperature control valve needs to be replaced. You cannot go to a local plumbing supply to get these parts or from Home Depot. You need to order them from Rheem. If you don't call them within the early morning hours they will not ship you the part (if under warranty) until the next day. The water heater has not worked for a week. The plumber told me today that if the problem is not fixed by replacing the temperature control valve that it would be better to replace the water heater. He also said to never buy this model or brand again because they break a lot.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: malfunctions, not easy to get replacement parts
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from West Covina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Defective product, don't buy!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A year after buying model # GG40T06TXK00, the pilot assembly needs to be completely replaced. GE has always had prestige to have one of the best appliance performance and now it's the opposite!! How can a product that is designed to last 10 years brake down in 1 year? The only explanation is that GE water heaters are JUNK! In addition, the warranty department will send us the part but we still have to pay someone to install it. What kind of warranty is that?!! This problem has left my family without an imperative service during a weekend making it a BIG inconvenience because the service department will not ship out the part until Monday. Don't Buy this brand!!!
Cons: defective pilot
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Leandro, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

new water heater problems

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Keep in mind that all new water heaters are mandated by the government to be Flammable Vapor Ignition Resistant (FVIR). This new technology has increased the expense and reduced the reliability of water heaters generally. FVIR water heaters have sealed combustion chambers and a flame arrestor (a fine stainless screen through which intake air passes) and an automatic shut-off device (which seals the chamber in the event that the unit over heats). I purchased a GE 40 gal unit 4 years ago and it failed recently due to dust eventually restricting the flame arrestor screen, which resulted in the unit overheating and the automatic shut-off device tripping. There is no easy method to clean and maintain the flame arrestor screen (at least on current GE models). A plumber can do it as follows: the burner and thermostat assembly needs to be removed, opening the combustion chamber, and the arrestor can then be cleaned with compressed air and vacuum. Furthermore, on GE water heaters, the automatic shut-off device can not be simply reset. It must be replaced.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Heater, Warranty Breach/Misrepresentation and Incompetent and Rude Warranty Service

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT OR ANYTHING FROM THIS MANUFACTURER - RHEEM MANUFACTURING
Similar to the experience of others here, after 4 years, my heater started leaking out of the drain valve outlet and the pilot started going out. When I called the manufacturer and warranty service company, Rheem Manufacturing, they said my drain outlet needed replacing, sent me a part and told me to fix it. They also told me to send in pictures showing the "venting" and "exhaust" and to call back after I did. After I sent in the pictures, they said I needed 6" clearance at the side vents and that the pilot outage was caused by this problem. But the manual only indicates 1" clearance is required and my closet provides such clearance. When I mentioned this to them, they insisted on 6" clearance, which means I have to build another closet! They said the pilot outage was caused by this problem. But when I mentioned that the pilot stays on when I increase the temperature to the hottest setting, they said that the outage at lower temp might be caused by an inadequate gas supply so I should get my plumber to check this out and that if this turns out NOT to be the source of the problem and the real problem is a manufacturing defect, I would still have to eat the plumber's charges.
None of this made sense to me so I reviewed the warranty, noted that it states that under the 5 year warranty, I am entitled to "a replacement water heater should the tank lead after original installation." So I requested replacement. They refused, pointing to clearly irrelevant terms such as the manufacturer's right to "repair" instead of "replace", which only applies to the unrelated 1-year original warranty, which had already expired. In almost the same breath, they said I had to pay for repairs and they only had to pay for parts! When I explained that they were misinterpreting and misrepresenting their own warranty, the supervisor said I needed to hire a plumber to contact them since I incorrectly identified the part from which the leak was occurring to be the "heater's outlet" instead of using the correct term, which was the "drain valve"! I confirmed with her (while looking at the manual) that the correct term was indeed the "drain valve." She nevertheless insisted that I call the plumber since I initially used the wrong term for the part. What utter nonsense!
From the above, it appears that Rheem will do whatever it takes to avoid replacing the tank per its warranty. I am now considering a consumer class action lawsuit.
Cons: Leaks, failure to honor warranty, rude service
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from galt

start up issues

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this water heater and installed quickly. Getting it to light was another issue. I worked on it for 5hrs. There was something wrong, so I took it back and exchanged it. Installed the second one was still having issues lighting it.
Then I went to this site and read the post about you have to look up and to the left to see the tiny flame. It is very very faint. I had to turn off the light in garage and get down on the ground, but it was there. Fired right up, very quite you can not hear it. Had very hot water in about 45 mins.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Fremont CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY THIS!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE.
I should have learned from my neighbor, he bought one and he had the same issue. Brand new and after installation it does not work. He had the same issue mine has and that is the thermostat/pilot light is defective. After trying several hours to get the pilot light lit I did a search on this manufacturer only to find this is a common problem with most of the GE/Rheem models sold by Home Depot.
Pros: none!
Cons: junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJanuary 15, 2014By GE AnswersJanuary 15, 2014
Hi DDawson-this is Sue from GE. We are sorry to hear of the difficulty you experience with the pilot. If you should happen to need assistance in the future, please contact our
experts at the GE Water Heater Line- 1-800-431-1549 (Monday-Saturday 8AM to 8PM EST, Sunday 9AM to 4:30PM EST). They are tasked with assisting in restoring your hot water service quickly and efficiently. Thank you for your feedback, and our apologies for this disappointing experience.GE_Appliances
Review 8 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Warren
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk had to replace after 7 years

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tank is junk. I bought one a little over 6 years ago and I'm already replacing it. The tank is leaking. This isn't even the first problem I've had with it. A few years ago I had issues that needed to be fixed. I've never known anyone who had a hot water tank go so quickly. I'm thinking the new ones are going to be the same way so I won't be buying another GE tank. I'm getting so sick of the junk people sell today. What ever happened to a quality product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: junk had to replace
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Highland, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful durability

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning this water heater for nearly 5 years, it's done with. Typical of most things purchased these days, it is complete junk (to put it lightly) that is not built to last. I had to replace my ancient unit that finally sprung a leak with this junk. As other reviewers have stated, the burner won't stay lit anymore due to a defect and I have been advised to just replace it as it will continue to fail from here on out. The only thing positive I can say about it, is that I didn't have a single problem with it until now, and my family of 6 never ran out of hot water. My new water heater will most definitely be purchased from a different manufacturer. Save yourself some frustration over wasted money and seek out a quality product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from La Verne, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Product is unreliable and the warrenty means nothing

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I totally advise anyone not to purchase a water heater from G.E.
Their product is unreliable and their support and so call service is almost non existent .
I will never consider another G.E. product.
Cons: pilot light system fails on a regular basis.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Defective product

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My water heater is only a few years old and the pilot light does not stay on. It left me without hot water for days waiting for the replacement parts to come in. I was told by the manufacturer that the thermocouple is defective. The part is going to be replaced but i still have to pay for someone to install it. What an inconvenience! Please do not buy this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Buena park CA

Hot water heater

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked up this heater, very light and easy to install... Lighting was not to bad, just have to look way up into the glass to see pilot lit... Took about 45 min to get super hot water for the first time. Hot water seems to last a long time.. 3 people showered in a row and never lost hot water..
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

IGNITION PROBLEMS

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I PURCHASED MINE IN 2008, IT WORKED WELL TIL THE IGNITION UNIT WENT OUT. GE SENT THE PARTS TWICE AND I REPAIRED IT AND IT WORKED WELL FOR THE LAST YEAR. THE SAME PROBLEM IS BACK AGAIN. IT IS IN A CLEAN CABINET IT LOOKS NEW INSIDE AND OUT. WHEN I TAKE THE IGNITION AND PILOT ASSEMBLY OUT EVERYTHING LOOKS NEW. NOT SURE WHY ALL THE PROBLEMS.
Pros: good hot water when it works
Cons: ignition/ pilot weak parts
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

NO support from rheem.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thermostat on the unit I bought was BAD and wouldn't light. I called the Rheem tech support number and got the run around for a week. The rest of the unit was fine and installed easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Norwalk, CA

easy to install for cold showers!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up my heater with no one's help!. Got it home it was a snap to install no problems there, however getting it started was another story I struggled for about 20 minutes just to ingnite the pilot, left it for about 5 hours at the recommended setting, and all my water was still cold, adjusted the setting to a higher level and again after a few hours there were no changes, moved the dial to the hottest point(very hot!) so it said on the thermo, I was lucky to get some warm water, and that was for the first 5 minutes after which watch out cause here comes the cold. Oh and yes I insulated my pipes which my older model (1997) didn't need that in fact it work so good I always kept it at the warm setting during the summer I had on the vacation setting. Very disatisfied very disapointed. very COLD!
-3points
9out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Carson, CA

Water heater project

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After searching one store for a water heater in a decent box, I travelled to another Home Depot. I found the perfect boxed water heater. I got it home opened the box, it was largely dented. How can that be? It appears it was packaged dented. Having said that, the dent didn't affect the installation or the performance. The help I received at Home Depot was superb. Oh, to see the pilot you have kneel down and look up to the left in the sight glass to see the pilot, as a previous reviewer stated.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 38,000 BTU Natural Gas High Efficiency Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from hanford, ca

outstanding

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple installation.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.