728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The ultra low-NOx radiant burner of the GE 48-Gallon 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater offers powerful heating and reduces your energy emissions to help you create a more eco-friendly home. This low-maintenance heater has no filters to clean or replace and features a self-cleaning function that saves you effort and extends the heater's performance life. Rated for installations up to 10,200 ft. above sea level, the heater has a tall profile that fits nicely in your indoor area.
Overall rating:
2.13 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product6 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Sun Valley, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quite Powerful and Easy to install!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old heater leaked for years unbeknownst to me and caused tons of damage to downstairs ceiling and walls. So went to Home Depot and bought the the 48 gal 9 year warranty heater and 2 brass hoses and new gas line.
Installed it in 2nd story with son in about 6 hours (most time was for fixing water damage from old unit)
Fired up pilot in about 5 seconds and quite and zero leaks and GE 9 year warranty with 2 year in home warranty!
I hope the pilot issue won't bite me as I didn't read reviews before buying.
I'll update post if anything changes but, for now, we're in hot water!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, ge warranty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Works great, quick installation!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 20+ year old water heater went out a few months ago and leaked all over my garage. I really wanted to install the energy star model, but was not able to due to space restrictions. The technician installed the 9 year model for me, which he had right there on his truck for me, and was still able to get everything done for me in one trip! The new water heater is working great, and I'm getting way more hot water than I did before! The temperature is easy to adjust, and the technician even demonstrated for me how to light the pilot, which only involves pushing a few buttons. This feature makes me feel so much safer than having to use a match. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Pilot Light failure after 1 Year 10 months, poor product reliability

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased and installed 3/11. Worked fine for 1 year and 10 months, then the pilot light went out. Relit it with no problem, then went out again 2 days later. Gas company came out and got it relit one more time. Out again and can't relight. Never had pilot light problems with 3 other water heaters in last 35 years. Trying to get replacement parts is turning out to be a major hassle even though they're free under warranty. Cost of having a plumber do the repair appears to be about half the price of a new water heater, so I've ordered a new water heater from a different manufacturer. I will never buy GE again!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: premature pilot light failure, inconvenient to get replacement parts
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

poor quality - worse customer service

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this water heater for 2 years - pilot went out and Rheem (the actual manufacturer with GE's name) sent me a replacement pilot kit. Needed further help from Rheem and they put me on hold for over 40 minutes and never contacted me. (they had my contact information)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from La Mirada, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'd look for another brand next purchase

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned the heater for a little over 3 years and the gas control valve went out. All of the plumbers I've called tell me the have to order parts. The tech. support was helpful in sending me parts but it takes 3 to 4 working day to get them. Wouldn't be too bad except it's the middle of Dec. and rough taking cold showers just because part availability.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water heater will not heat.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give this water heater a one star. Being that it has worked for approximately 3 1/2 years before developing problems. I guess it could have earned the other 4 stars should it had not stopped heating. (that is 4 times 3.5 years=14 years-lifespan, NOT) However, I am told by GE that I (me, the home owner, not a plumber) would have to pull the burner out to determine if the thermal-cupel had burned out. Then they would send me a new one, however, I had to have a professional replace it in order for the warrantee to stay remain valid. Local plumbers advise me that they hear this all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Riverside, Ca

Disappointed

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product started off to be great. I read a lot of negative reviews and was reserved on buying this one. The install was simple, and I love the ignite botton for the pilot light. It has been 23 days since I bought and now the pilot won't stay lit. it is making a popping sound as it goes out. So glad I bought at Homedepot. Going to swap it today. Hopeing it was just a bad one
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like everyone says... Bad pilot light thermocouple.. thankfully easy fix

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a Rheem water heater with house purchase that worked for 8 yrs. trouble free after we inherited it. Installed this GE heater 2 yrs ago and the thermocouple is dead. Came to know after repeated attempts of keeping the pilot on failed. GE support said its a bad thermocouple and they will send one but labor is not covered. Turns out I bought the heater at a time when they did 1+8 yrs warranty vs 2+7 yrs that they do now.
After watching a youtube video, I just bought a $12 thermocouple from Homedepot as I couldn't afford to wait 3 days for part to arrive. The Rheem universal 24" thermocouple was a direct fit, no problem. It super simple.
1. Turn off gas valve.
2. Wait for heater to cool down.
3. Take off 4 screws.
4. take off the gas supply, thermcouple and the other aluminum wire nut.
5. Slide out the assembly.
6. Replace the copper thermocouple.
7. reinstall everything.
Total time appx. 45 mins. including watching the video.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: thermocouple
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Pilot light went out after 2 years

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It was working fine for 2 years.
Now, the pilot light did not stay on.
It cost more to fix it than getting a free part.
It is not reliable.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Palm Springs, California

GE 48 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this product yesterday at our local Home Depot, and installed it that afternoon. We had no problems with the install, and the pilot light lit up right away. The pilot light is difficult to see, but once you know where to look (look way up), there is no problem lighting it. We had hot water fast, and it ran clear from the start, although we did empty one tank just as a precaution. So far, we are 100% satisfied with our purchase of this product.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

self install working good

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the install was easy and only took 2 hrs. the unit came on right away and is very quiet. 2 other people also mentioned how quiet it is. we have 5 people in our house and can take 2 showers at the sametime with no problem. we have had the unit for 2 months now and I have nothing to complain about. it works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent so far

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a DIY nut, done roofing, windows, baths, kitchens and more. But the water heater went out, wife's sick, and kids to handle. And recovering from a shoulder injury skiing. So this time, I called up the HomeDepot installation service. The call went to FAST water heater company, and the sent out a guy with a truck full of water heaters. He was professional and knowledgeable. Turns out there is no difference between the 6, 9 and 12 year units, you are just paying for the warranty. (Although the 9 and 12yr units have a "self-cleaning" feature, whatever that might be worth.) The man drained the old unit, put in the new unit and was gone in 2 hours. Big guy, no trouble hefting the units in and out of the closet. All new flex hoses, gas connectors etc. And the heater works peachy.
Recommend the installation service highly.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Panorama City, Los Angeles, CA 91402, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stay away from GE

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 3 yrs the pilot went off, and can't be fixed. Stay away from GE water heater product. Home depot should not sell this product.
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install and start up

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit was easy to install and start up. Just needed
Help lifting. Don't know about fuss with pilot problem, if you read the manual it states the unit will turn off the gas and not re-light if not properly ventilated as safety feature. I just drilled some extra holes on each side of our outdoor storage unit. Unit works great, very quiet and now have tons of hot water!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pilot Light Issue

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same as described in previous reviews..... 2 years and pilot light will not stay on....... easy fix...... Large pain in the backside............. Work this out GE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Anaheim, CA, USA

Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow! I wish I would have read these reviews before I bought this. My Hot Water heater had the exact same problem. Bought if from Home Depot. Worked fine for 2 years, and now the pilot light won't stay light. I can light it by holding down the pilot knob, however, as soon as I let go, the shutoff turns it off. Stay away from this model.
Home Depot, you should remove this model or the entire line. This is obviously a pattern and an obvious defect.
I can only hope that when I go into the store tomorrow that Home Depot will stand behind their name.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible product!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this water heater in 2008, it has been 4+ years that I have had the water heater and the pilot light won't stay lit! Stay a way from GE. Although I do like Home Depot, I'm going to Lowes tomorrow to buy a water heater. I will say it was easy to install and it's going to be a pleasure to rip out!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Problem with thermal-couple part just 2+ years after purchase

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this one in 11/2009. Then 2/2012 the pilot light failed to stay on. It took 2 calls to their 1-800 number to get the new thermal couple replacement part shipped. Looks like this is a very common defect for this model. I have several rental properties with various water heater brands. This GE one is the worst. The best is Natilus (sp?) which is 21+ year old and still working good. Another one just died (leak) after 18+ years. Maybe, they just don't make things like they used to. Shame!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Simi Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Should have been removed from shelves

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater makes a very loud horn like sound because of faulty burner flex tubing. It took two return trips from my plumber and one gas company trip to get to the bottom of the problem. Rheem finally acknowledged there is a repair kit for it and they are aware of the problem. So why is home depot still selling them? Worst water heater ever!!!!!
Cons: should have been recalled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 gal. Tall 9 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Tri-Valley California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ditto

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this model in August '09 for a rental (40 miles away). Now it won't stay lit, and obviously no one wants to deal with cold water until the free part shows up. So now I'm spending almost $700 to replace it so the renters have hot water. Stupidly, I bought the same one yesterday and installed it before I read all the negative reviews today. I'm usually loyal to H.D., but this water heater is a loser. Find a different one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>