728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 50-Gallon 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater has an ultra low-NOx radiant burner that complies with SCAQMD rule 1121 for low emissions, helping you create a more eco-friendly household. The 50-gallon tank provides ample hot water for your household, and the 36.4 GPH recovery rate ensures a reliable supply for your hot water applications. The heater's air/fuel shut-off device gives double protection against the ignition of flammable vapors outside the water heater to help you stay safe.
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product17 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product17 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Danville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A GOOD water heater - No Energy Star rebates

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
What do we expect of a water heater? To meet the needs and provide HOT water to our home when we need it. This water heater is replacing a 40gallon with a 6yr warrantee that lasted 15years.
I shop HomeDepot for all my project needs. GE was the only BRAND HomeDepot had in stock.
I trust the GE trade name and feel I am purchasing a Quality appliance.
I felt rather than pay the high cost of the water heater replacement guys in the yellow pages, I would invest in a higher quality appliance with the longer warrantee and install it myself. Installation was quite easy for this occasional "Do it yourselfer"
No Problems with install. Hot water at the tap within 1 hour.
2days later - NO HOT WATER. I could not re-light the pilot light. Contacted the gas company (PG&E) who commented that there was no spark from the igniter. Contacted GE for tech assistance, Next available appt would leave my family 4 days WITHOUT hot water. UNACCEPTABLE!!
I purchased and installed a 2nd unit - Same Brand same Model - which is working just fine. Returned 1st unit as DEFECTIVE.
When purchasing your water heater, choose a unit with NO visible damage to the box.
Water is VERY hot on the high setting,, we set ours at the low setting with satisfactory results. This unit is very quiet for our indoor installation, and provides hot water for our home with 3 bathrooms, kitchen and laundry needs.
I was told the units with the longer warrantees are constructed using better quality materials,,,
After installation I discovered this water heater DOES NOT qualify for the Energy Star rebates ($50) offered by PG&E.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor water heater

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a GE water heater less than 3 years ago. It had a 12 year warranty. It quit working and I called a plumber for repair. He asked if it was a GE and I said yes. He told me nobody will come out and fix it. You need to call the 800 number shown on the tank. They had me do some tests and said they would mail me a part to install. I am a 75 yr old woman. So much for the warranty. DO NOT BUY. CHECK CONSUMER AFFAIRS. COMMON PROBLEM.
Cons: unreliable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

GE Water Heater gone bad

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought a 50 gal low nox and had it professionally installed. After great operation for 8 months a low, loud hum started and lasted for about 5 seconds when the burner lit. With that noise there was a vibration that shook the house. I called my contractor who came out and said the installation was correct. I called PG&E who came out and inspected, heard the noise, felt the vibration, and said it's the design of the tank due to CA environmental requirements. I called the manufacturer. The mfr sent their contractor out to inspect, came again to install a fix kit. Did not fix. Mfr sent out another fix kit. Did not fix. After lots of calls back and forth with the manufacturer, and after they felt they did their due diligence, they stood by their one year warranty for labor and replacement. 5 stars to them and to Home Depot for honoring their warranty!
The mfr said they cannot get rid of the noise in their new models but only lessen the noise. Consequently, I have to buy a different brand and hope their design does not have that problem.
Pros: good warranty
Cons: defective design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for three years then leaked

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this unit myself three years ago with little trouble. After three years the tank started to leak. I felt that was not a resonable lifetime of the product. I called G.E. and they approved a replacement over the phone. I went to Home Depot the next day and recieved a new one free of charge. The process was quite painless but I would have expected it to last much longer. Hopefully the new one does. Not impressed with the product but the customer service was excellent.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Morgan Hill, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot Water

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased this unit a couple of months back and finally got around to installing after trying to figure out if per code, I would need to elevate off of the garage floor. After a call to the building dept yielded no call back I called a plumber to get an opinion on what the code might be. He said the GE unit was a sealed burner design, not one that would need to be elevated. I then had a Depot install service outfit tell me the same. This was enough info for me since I would have had some major re-configuring of some existing plumbing instead. I ended up installing in a plastic pan on the floor of the garage and things worked out fine..burner initially didn't light but I think this was due to the electronic pilot element is so deep into the sealed chamber and is hard to see..it's way back so look carefully as you attempt to heat it up...water heater produces very hot water..scroll it back to what you need...with an EF of 62%...disappointed it doesn't qualify for the PG&E rebate of $50.00...For the money spent for a 50 gal/12 year unit...the Depot should carry the GE unit with the 67% EF rating that qualifies for the rebate
Pros: Good Instructions
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Yucaipa, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Done with GE/Rheem Water Heaters

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have just gone through a second WH of this model before 4 years. Just spend last 6 days w/o hot water (thank goodness for RV parked on side of house!) waiting for gas valve from GE (Rheem). Found out it was $12 thermocouple (a common problem- in 56 years I've never had to replace one in anything else), and after picking up from local HD and replacing it before replacing the gas valve, the WH fired up just fine. Except that 40 minutes later, the TRD (glass vial) blew- just like first unit 4 years ago. GE will not replace, as they told me after the first one I took back to HD. This device is so sensitive, and for units built prior to 2011, it renders the WH absolutely useless with no repair options. Horrible design. I am now taking prior advice given to me to have a HVAC friend install a Bradford White that has different (and more reliable) FVIR design- AND a Honeywell control valve that has diagnostic features to alert you to issues such as these GE deficiencies.
Good idea to do a little homework and read through these reviews (be sure to also look at the other similar models such as the 6yr and 9yr units), as well as others on the 'net!
Cons: not reliable!, poor design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Laguna Niguel

Poor Reliability

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a water heater that is less than 2 years old. It has died and GE provides little support. The process involves first being transferred through 4 different departments at GE support, calling out a plumber and having him troubleshoot while he speaks with tech support. Only then can you order a replacement for the bad part. Then once the part arrives, I have to call the plumber back to install. The part is under warrenty, but I have to pay for 2 service calls, one on a Saturday at a higher rate.
Thank you Home Depot and GE.
I'm done with both.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Is a Very Bad Water Heather !!!!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model like 3 years ago, however manufacturing date was Dec, 29 2007 ( what say in the sticker) , has several problems during those 3 years and finally yesterday exploted. Call a Plummer and couldn't belive his eyes, the glass cover for the pilot was broken in pieces, therefore was no way to fix it. Plummer said he saw the very same problem with this model in other houses. DONT BUY IT !!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Cypress, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy instructions to follow on installation. Myself and a friend installed with no problems.

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding product! Was worried at first about some of the comments that i weighed in on but, every product i reviewed had its share of good and bad comments. This product was very easy to install and had no problems whatsoever with the pilot ignited or the water heating . I fully recommend this product and self installation. Fully satisfied!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Long Term review

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased unit in 2009, worked flawlessly until 2013 when pilot wouldn't stay lit. Called the GE Help # and received excellent advise on fixing it. They sent me every part that could have caused the problem so I rebuilt it in a couple of hours w/o removing and dragging it to the Depot for a return. Now I am back in business. There was 48 Hr. lag time to get parts but I worked around it. I believe this unit is a best buy . Thank you GE Help #.
'
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles, CA

Easy Install, Easy Start-up...

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this water heater after doing some research here at HD's website. We were able to find this particular model in the store with ease. The thing I didn't count on was the weight of the water heater itself. It weighed in excess of 150 lbs. Empty.
After getting it home and wrestling it from the car and downstairs to the basement, the installation was quite easy. This model was roughly the same size as the unit it replaced and the installation took about an hour, not counting the two trips back to Home Depot to get the correct gas tubing. The staff at the store was really helpful. Don't buy a blanket. You don't need it; the water heater is insulated.
Once the installation was complete, it took about 30 minutes to heat the full tank to temperature. A previous post mentioned the start-up; it was difficult seeing the pilot, but once it was lit, it started up like a champ. It's been almost a week and no problems so far. It is cool to the touch both on the top and the sides. We did decide to use a the pan underneath the water heater because we didn't want it sitting directly on the concrete floor of the basement.
I would recommend this unit to a friend.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Francisco California

A Great Performing Gas Water Heater

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After some research online about the problems people had with the new Flammable Vapor Ignition Resistant (FVIR) units. My old water heater sprung a leak after 24 years of service, and had to be replaced. After looking at several retailers nearby, I've decided to buy the GE built by Rheem Manufacturing Company in Mexico, water heater at Home Depot. Originally, I was going to purchase the 12 year warranty 40 gallon one but found that this one is actually $10 cheaper and 10 gallons larger with the same warranty and features. Both of these units, being more energy efficient has 2 inches of foam insulation around the tank with an ultra low nitrogen oxide burner. This new 50 gallon water heater has a diameter of 23 inches and 60 inches tall. The 40 gallon model has a diameter of 21 inch instead with the same height. In my case, either one would fit in the space in my basement. This new water heater has no legs and about 5 inches taller than my old one that it replaces. Having no legs may pose a problem for installation with the drain pan unless you use bricks for legs to keep the water heater from being flooded if the pan should be filled with water.
My installation does not involve using a drain pan, so this would not be a problem for me. I did the installation myself using all flexible connections as well as earthquake strapping the water heater to the wall nearby. For straps, I use the 1 1/4 inch X 1/16 inch thick earthquake strapping galvanized steel that I purchased at Home Depot. Before filling the water heater with water, I made sure the water heater is level. I've leveled the water heater by using shims in several low places around the circumference of the bottom followed by filling the rest of the low spots around the circumference with Fix-all plaster compound so that the water heater is fully supported. I had to wait until the Fix-all harden completely before filling the tank with water with one hot water tap open fully to let out the air. This new technology is not familiar with me since this is my first installation of a water heater that has FVIR. Since this unit utilized a sealed combustion chamber, you cannot light it with a match or lighter but instead pushed a button to activate a piezoelectric lighter as well as holding down the pilot button. To see if the pilot is lit, you have to look through a 1 inch square glass window attached on the burner door. You will not be able to see if the pilot is lit unless you're practically lying on the floor looking straight in and to the extreme left. As soon as I confirmed that the pilot is lit, I've turned the temperature dial to the 120° setting. I had to wait about little more than an hour before I got hot water.
Except for a low rumbling when starting, this new water heater is extremely quiet during operation as compared with any previous water heater I ever experienced. Because of the 2 inch foam insulation with an R factor of 16, an insulating blanket is not necessary. Even though with hot water inside the tank, the outside feels remarkably cold when touch. unlike my previous unit, when the unit is not running the flue at the top of the water heater feels cold when touched. This seemed to indicate that the new has a very low standby loss as compared with the old one. For this one, perhaps the sealed combustion chamber is responsible by keeping draft to a minimum when the main burner is off.
At this point, I am still a little concerned about long-term reliability with this new technology. With this GE (Rheem) unit there's a possibility of either dust clogging up the air intake or a flash over incident causing FVIR to trip rendering water heater useless permanently. This system utilized a small glass vial that break during a flash over incident, tripping the air intake door as well as shutting down the gas. That glass vial is non-replaceable. Because of this, do not store any flammable liquids near the water heater and to keep the air intake clean on the side of the water heater.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Piedmont, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short thermocouple lifespan, about 2 years

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit 4 years ago at Home Depot. Easy installation. Quiet operation and seems very efficient. Fast recovery time. Only problem has been failure of the pilot light thermocouple. After about two years the pilot light would not stay lit. A plumber diagnosed a bad thermocouple. Since it has a 12 year warranty he recommended I call GE. Customer support was very helpful and sent out a new thermocouple/pilot light assembly by over night FedEx. Parts are free for 12 years but no labor after the first year. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. The repair was easy for anyone who is reasonably handy.
No problems with the water heater until a few days ago when, again, the pilot light would not stay lit. Another call to GE and they shipped out new replacement parts overnight. Unit works fine again.
I did some research on the internet and apparently this a a fairly common problem. Customer support said that they have changed the thermocouple and they don't seem to be having problems with the new ones. We'll see, it looked very similar to the old one.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: thermocouple failed x 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Terrific value

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had our plumber install it and I had to help along with his partner. It's a heavy unit and a little awkward to move into the elevated position in our garage. At one point we almost smashed the control unit at the base of the water heater but just barely avoided that from happening. But operation is smooth and quiet and the water is always hot. Just make sure that you have help getting the unit into position.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: heavy awkward
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thermocouple replaced at 13 months

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thermocouple needed replacing at 13 months, serviceman said it wasn't covered by warranty. After hours, $300.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First time installed and follow up after 21 months in sue

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow up on my review on Mar 5, 2012. It works like a champ. Only issue I had at first time ver installed a water heater is ignition. AS I mentioned,for safety sake make sure use a fan to blow rsidual gas before next ignition try. I wish manufacturer pictured axactly where and how the flame looks when it lit, otherwise, try darken area so flame could be easily visible. trust me it is difficult to see the flame in bright area if not know in advance. Carefully look thru window at all possible angels you can access when ignite to tell if it lit. The ignition instruction is detail but only how to tell if it lit is still has room for improvement. I would give a FIVE stars if they show where flame is.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Brentwood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to tell that pilot is lit.

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did not give 5 stars since it does not qualify for energy rebate from PG&E. Only complaint is where pilot light is located. You have to get on your knees and look up and to the left. You will not see it through the sight glass if you just look straight in like the majority of water heaters. Like the 2 year in home warranty from HD
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Documentation on the web page may be incorrect

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
:This web page is for a GE water heater but the associated PDF documents for installation and warranty are for a Rheem product. Hmm... Checking the GE website I find that they too have Rheem documentation so I guess it's OK. The question now is does Rheem make GE waterheaters?
Cons: strange instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Moreno Valley, Cali.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought it under emergency circumstances

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So, like many, our old water heater gave up on a Friday morning, leaving us with little shopping options as the urgency to fix it was priority #1.
We didn't read any reviews till after I installed it. To be honest, the reviews worried me. Many claim to have pilot issues, and or, the unit generally stops working. For us, that remains to be seen.
So, as my part in helping others all I can say for now is we got $30 bucks off the energy coupon. The installation is simple. Yours may differ from ours depending on how your old one was hooked up.
The pilot lit, however, like many here state, you have to look up and to the left thru that little window to see it's actually lit.
Just took a shower, approximately 2 hours after installing it, and had no issues with the hot water delivery.
Hope this helps, and I hope ours doesn't suffer the fate some of these reviews claim.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 gal. Tall 12 year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Ultra Low NOx Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, CA, USA

Quiet but trouble at ignition

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just got SG50T12TXK00 installed by myself today. It took me less than 2 hours to install with all parts, 2 new 3/4 sharkbite hoses readily purchased. It is very much straight forward which you reverse removal process. Althought I carefully follow the ignition steps written on both the tank and manual, they are the same but unable to light up after 5-6 tries. Since I started 2hrs after my scheduled, therefore, it got late and I can't let hot water hold up. I called a local pro-installer to lite up with paying $50 which is 1/3 price for full installation. He came and lit up quickly and I was self respect not looking at what he did. It could have been that the air trap of gas when first connected gasline already had air inside. The best is purging and better if unit is in open ventuallation or with aid of a fan for small amount. Or the guy just opened inside door and manually lit up which I wasn't around. It is a simple design no more than a charcoal + gas grill ignition. I should had looked at the attached laminated sheet with color picture to identify exact location of the pilot light. instead of looking to clear 1.5in square window and dark inside. It is very quiiet as it burns and water heated up in 30-45 min for baths.
I will follow up on this as it is in use months or years ahead.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>