728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED

The Homelite 8 in. 5 ft. Electric Pole Saw with telescoping pole offers precision pruning with a 9 ft. extension, without having to use a ladder. The in-line motor design allows access to tight spaces for cutting accuracy and provides clean and dependable.
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product96 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(27)
3
(15)
2
(9)
1
(11)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product96 of 114reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Glenardo

Does the job

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price this saw performs well and does what it's supposed to. Just check chain tension regularly, keep oil in the lube tank and it works fine. When putting it together, remember the pole is "egg" shaped....not oval; it will only go together one way...so if it's not going together, flip one of the poles. The biggest problem I found is it will not pick up the limbs and throw them away for you; this takes some of the fun out of cutting everything within your reach.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Steve
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Run the other way!!!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Eight years ago I had a Homelite blower that lasted six months. I put it in the corner of the shed and was going to repair it. The next year my two year old Homelite trimmers went up. That was the day I hired a lawn care service.
For Christmas this year I received a Homelite electric tree trimmer. I pretended to be happy but was not. I cut the first branch to perfection. On the second cut, the head fell off. It was comical. My humble recommendation is to find another product and keep as far away from Homelite as possible. Keep in mind that Homelite, Milwaukee and Ryobi have all been acquirted by TTI, a Chinese company. There's your problem.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Curt

Design positively stinks.

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me say it was way easier than a manual pole saw. Cuts quite well but...... before you buy, tie a brick on the end of a 9 foot pole then lift it from the other end of the stick. That's what it will be like using this saw. This pole saw is identical with another "green" brand. Mine will not extend/collapse without using a hammer. Took 20 minutes to assemble. Should take 20 seconds Clips would not lock as they should and kept releasing when trying to adjust pole length then fell apart on me while on my shed roof. If you want to leave it at a fixed length, then I'd give it 2 stars for value, 5 for cutting speed (when saw is new and sharp).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Anonymous

Nice, If you understand what you are buying.

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Home Depot properly labels this as 9 FT. It is NOT 15 ft long. The claim by Homelite of 15 ft is explained in the fine print as "you can reach 15 ft". But even this is not true. The device has a usable cut length of about 8 feet from the grip to the center of the blade. The length is not adjustable. I am over 6 feet tall and can comfortably hold the trigger handle about 4 feet off the ground allowing me to cut limbs up to about 12 feet up. But consider that you are not normally going to use it exactly verticle, with wood chips falling in your face. All that said, it is a good tool and has worked fine for me with no chain issues that others have reported. It is far better than being on a ladder with a hand saw. Just understand what you are buying.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Robb
from Florida

awesome saw!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just brought my pole saw back from HD & trimmed my palm trees. This thing cuts through the fronds like a hot knife through butter! You will have to put the handle together when you take it out of the box, but it really can't be messed up because the handle pieces only go in one way. Make sure you buy some bar oil before you leave the store for the automatic chain oiler ( this feature also work great!). I figured there would be enough to get started with in the box, but no dice! Back to HD I went for the oil. If you have been trimming with a manual pole saw, do yourself a favor and get one of these, as it will cut your trimming time in half and get you back in front of the tv!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
ak67

Unreliable Chain Tension

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cuts well when chain is tight but chain becomes too loose when cutting. I had to stop and adjust tension mid way thru cutting a 6" branch, for example. When I took the time to continually readjust the tension, the saw worked fine...but the constant need to adjust the tension is a major hassle.
If the tension loosened, then the chain would come off the guide...and sometimes would be damaged in the process, requiring replacement if the chain was too bent or otherwise damaged.
Also, the telescoping feature would be better if the minimum length was shorter. Competitor saws have a removable saw head...very nice feature that this saw lacks.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Ikan

Poorly designed garbage...DO NOT BUY!

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Pole saw was only used 3 times and on the third time the safety button you need to press in order to get the saw to engage failed, making the entire saw useless. I'm not sure why the entire saw's operation is hinged on one cheap piece of plastic button but if that button fails you have a heavy piece of garbage, like I do.
I now have to take the time to return this one and find a new saw all because of 1 cheap, plastic button??? GARBAGE!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Buyer

Light weight and cuts great, poor parts backing.

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great on every tree I used it on, until I lost the nut holding it together. Their online parts group took the order two months ago, I'm still waiting and they will not call me back. Good product, but if it breaks just throw it away.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
handyhelper

No way Id recommend this to anyone!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Homelite must have gone out of its way to make this junk.
You cut maybe 6-8 small branches (2 " round), then you have to reattach the chain and pour more oil into it.
You work 10 minutes then spend another 10 fixing the saw.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
ShockG
from Citrus Heights
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible quality. Not for use on REAL trees

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to create a profile just warn people about Homelite products. This is the worst product I've ever bought. I've gone through ***5*** of these things. If you have a Tiny tree with 1" branches then this thing is for you but if you have a real tree that requires real trimming, expect to be POed.
The connections for the telescoping saw are held together by GLUE. Expect them to break.
The Chain ALWAYS comes off the saw. Expect to have to reset it constantly.
The saw doesn't have enough power to not get caught in branches that are as small as 4in in diameter. 2 of the saws broke b/c they got stuck 20 ft in the air and i tried to pull them down.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
JKJ1
from Lexington, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9 Ft. Electric Pole Saw

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Item is heavy and awkward to use. You must constantly tighten the cover or it will fall off and then the chain will fall off.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
lovestools

Good little tool

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took about 2 minutes to assemble. Started right up. I didn't have any of the problems other reviews mentioned. Took down about 1/2 dozen oak limbs, each one 4" to 8" in diameter. On some I had the saw and my arms fully extended over my head and had no problem (on one I was standing on the roof of my car). I'm a 55 yr old woman in reasonable but not super shape so it's fairly easy to handle. As for the length, it seems that all makers of extendables (ladders, etc) make the assumption that you are a pro basketball player then add your height to the extended length. Good little tool, especially for $100 bucks and free shipping.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Paliku1
from Honolulu

Better Than Expected

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research on pole saws prior to this purchase. Most reviews for other brands claim some kind of design defect causing a flimsy connection to the pole or flimsy construction of the pole itself. I am pleased to say that this in-line design and pole shape married together to give a firm plaform from which to trim tree branches. I have only cut branches up to 3 inches in diameter - <As we all know new chains cut very well>.
Suggestions are: 1. carefully read ALL materials with product PRIOR to assembly of pole sections (remove all white rubber shipping pole plugs). 2. carefully fill reservoir with oil (it does not take much). 3. Pre-oil chain with oil on rag (lightly). 4. Secure power line appropriately. 5. Cut branches in small sections (from branch tip to trunck) and position yourself so that branches fall to ground (not follow pole back to you).
Also, make sure your pole extension is only as long as needed. I was sketical of this product at first - but after using it, I really appreciate how much more quickly I can accomplish trimming branches from a tree. I still have to try full length of 15 feet - but I am sure it will work fine.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Chuckie
from Columbia, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get ready to be pleased with your purchase.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 4 Bradford Pear trees to trim so I said "Why pay someone to do what I can do myself". I used and sold chainsaws for 20 years but had never used an electric one. I was totally shocked as to how good this saw was. If I had anything bad to say about it, it would be, the saw needs to come off of the handle for REAL close trimming and it uses more oil than is necessary. This is not a bad thing because you have to have oil on the bar and chain or it will wear out in short order. I had to put oil in the saw every time I stopped and the clean up after the job was completed was messy but better more oil than needed than not enough. I was able to trim all of the trees in about 4 hours and never once did the saw act up. Great buy. Don't be concerned about getting this saw. Would I recommend it? YES!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
broker
from pa

What a great tool,

PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The homelite electric 9ft pole saw works great,it's a bit top heavy when reaching so make sure you have a good grip. This cuts super.My neighbor came over and watched me and said "i got to get one of these",he loved it.Just follow the directions and you will have no problems.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
rop427

Wrong reach.

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't recommend this Chain Saw, it is going back. The only way to get a 15Ft reach is to stand on a 6 foot ladder. The reach is 9 feet not 15 feet the box is clearly wrong.
Has anyone gotten the pole to 15 ft long?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Rich
from Lucerne, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding value...here's a couple of tips

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off, if your using a a manual pole saw, (or worse, climbing up in the trees to cut limbs), save your arms, knees, and back and get one of these! Worth every penny! But it's not foolproof, so try these tips. 1. Make sure the oil cap is secure (it tends to come loose and fall off) 2. If The nut securing the bar/side panel keeps loosening up, get a lock nut to replace it (save yourself a headache and do it anyway). 3. Don't twist the saw while it's cutting. It warps the bar just enough to make the chain come off, which isn't hard to fix, just a pain. And ya, like other reviews have stated, some oil does get on your hands so wear gloves, but this saw saves you so much time and labor, it's worth a little inconvience!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Campbell
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Good

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The saw operates extremely well, considering that it must be light enough for the operator to be able to handle it. The two main advantages to this saw over other similar makes is that the shaft is shaped so that the saw and handle stay aligned always; secondly, the saw is angled so you cut on top of the limb instead of the side of it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Jaatecart
from Fruitland Park, FL

Highly Recommended!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Definitely would recommend to anyone. Very user friendly, I'm 14, and had almost no problems.
Pro's:
Easy to operate
Powerful
Affordable
Long Reach
Cons:
Not 15 feet long, about 8 in reality. I knew this going into the purchase, however.
Uses up oil rather quickly, but takes little to refill.
Chain needs to be re-tensioned every now and again, keep a ratchet wrench with you.
No balance to speak of. The only real problem with this unit. The heaviest part is the motor...as far away from your hand as possible. This means you need to have a decent amount of strength to hold it at the recommended 60 degree angle.
Overall, great homeowner product. If a relatively experienced 14 year old can handle it, most anyone can.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. Electric Pole Saw-DISCONTINUED
Jill
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weight Not Well Balanced but Works Great

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 60 yr old woman and have owned and used the Homelite Electric Pole Pruner for 2 years with no major problems. I agree with the female reviewer who states it is not well balanced so at 3/4 to full extension it's rather a chore to hold vertically in place, manage the dual action trigger control, and keep a consistent pressure on the trigger so at times there is more stop and start than I'd like but I eventually get the job done. I've used it on 2" to 8" branches and it cuts just fine and absolutely beats a hand prunner! The quality also seems good. The clips that hold the poles together have dislodged twice during acrobatics due to tiring from the weight imbalance. I need two screwdrivers to lift the clips over the pole again - so annoying but not too difficult. Overall I'm satisfied, it was a great investment and worth every penny.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>