728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor for Fall or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

The Ryobi One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer is a versatile yard power tool with a 3-position pivoting head for trimming under obstacles and a telescoping 36 in. shaft for an extended reach. The rotating rear handle offers an edger functionality, the auto feed string head needs no bumping to advance a fresh cutting line, and the 12 in. wide cutting path helps get the job done quickly.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product27 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product27 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
Review 1 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

One word: Garbage

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When Ryobi came out with their One Plus line, I was excited that a company finally got the problem solved. Well they did with some of their products. I own 5 Ryobi One Plus tools. The Trimmer was great for about half a season, then progressively got slower...and slower until even the most charged battery could not trim light grass. And the "Auto-feed" head wastes line like crazy. And their description saying "best value" does not equal quality. The only choice I have is to throw it in the landfill, and I HATE throwing out tools. For how much this cost, Ryobi owes it's consumers a huge apology.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Atlanta

Great trimmer!

PostedApril 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for Ryobi to release a One+ 18v grass trimmer for a while and couldn't wait to get this one home and try it out. I've been using it for about 2 months and it's great, very easy to use, and has met all of my expectations. I've got a 1/3 acre yard and use it to trim/edge around driveway, sidewalk, flower beds, and landscaping timbers all on one battery charge with the new Lithium batteries. I would definitely recommend this, no extension cords, no gas, just slap in a battery and go.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Corpus Christi Tx

Ryobi 18v Trimmer Edger

PostedOctober 1, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am glad I read the reviews and purchased this trimmer/edger. I have used it twice since I got it three weeks ago. The reviews were true to this item. The edger is not as powerful as a corded electric or a gas trimmer but it gets the job done. I would not recommend it for overgrown grass or shrubbery. The charge on a regular battery drains quickly when cutting overgrown grass. I need two batteries to do my yard. I liked the way the trimmer twists at the extension connetion for edging. you keep the same stance as if you are trimming. This was a great choice when my gas trimmer broke 5 weeks ago the bad part was having to wait for my trimmer to come in which the grass along back fence got tall after the rain.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Little Rock, AR

Vaery light and easy to use

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd ryobi product, but first battery operated. I bought the expensive battery with charger and was not disappointed. No more mixing gas and oils or pulling on the string 500 times. I miss the inter-changeable parts but it edged okay and did an excellent weed-eating job. I highly recommend this for women, older and teens!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Boston, Ma

BUY THIS!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is awesome!!! I have stuggled with a gas weed-eater as a single woman trying to do my share of upkeep in a 3-family shared property. They are impossible to start and I generally gave up. This Ryobi battery operated one is unbelievable. Attach the battery and go. I love it!! I was able to do the entire perimeter of the property along the fence/sidewalk, as well as all the grass I can't get to with a mower under the hedges that line the inside of the fence. And it was still running strong (same battery charge.) I couldn't get over how powerful it was for a battery operated tool and I am so thrilled that I can finally do the entire yard and not just mow, because i cant start the gas weed-eater. BUY THIS!!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from concord, nc

a good product

PostedAugust 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a good trimmer. if you have a medium to large size yard with not a lot of tall grass...this trimmer is more than adequate to do the job. when i saw the price...i was really impressed, but the batteries and charger will cost you more than the trimmer itself. i would go with the lithium-ion batteries and charger. they last longer than ni-cad. the drawback..expense. one battery and charger runs $119...the plus..the batteries are compatible with any one + tool. i trim my entire yard and battery still says full...oh yeah..battery guage a nice touch...and i can't forget the auto line feed. nice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Sandy, UT

Ryobi got it right with Li-Ion batteries.

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've purchased several cordless weed trimmers. All previous models were Ni-Cd batteries. This is the first I've found that lasts and lasts. Its Li-Ion battery works in many other tools and I've actually switched over from DeWalt tools to Ryobi strictly because the Li-Ion batteries work so long and have power to last. I purchased their combo pack and did it all at once - Fantastic. The previous weed trimmer was the Black and Decker cordless Grass Hog. Its battery lasted MAYBE 15 minutes - and yes I tried the battery memory reset process - no luck. With this trimmer I can do my whole yard on one battery - it charges in about an hour and the trimmer is more powerful - What's not to like. I even have the battery pack on a timer so it charges for 2 hours twice a week instead of leaving it on all the time, so I even save electricity charging it and the batteries are ready to go whenever I need them.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

Junk

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was fun at first even with short life and a junk string feed system. But once I realized it was cooking my way too expensive batteries I hate it. It ruins your batteries expecially the lithium ion. The string delivery system gives you more line everytime you stop it, so if you have a small area it spits out soo much line you need to cut it shorter just for it to spin fast enough to cut...like i said JUNK. And it's useless on large areas so what are they thinking? So after ruining sevearl hundred dollars worth of batteries I threw it into the dumpster.
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Henry, Il

Money well spent.

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this as a back up trimmer to my dad's Ryobi bas trimmer, since it does not require gas, I thought it would be great to do some trimming if there is no gas and oil mixed up.
We have a large lot with a 3000 sq. ft. house and a 20 by 38 foot 3 car garage and 2 batteries will trim around all buildings, trees, flower beds and sidewalks.
The only drawback is that it does not have a bump string advance, you have to push a button on the reel and pull the string out. Getting to close to concrete or steal will eat the string quick.
My dad loves it and my neighbor wants one now. Since I am staying with my parents right now, I do all of the yard work and love this trimmer. I also plan on having this as my primary trimmer once I move out, that way I do not have to mess with mixing gas & oil, then having it go bad on me.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Cincinnati, Ohio

Very satisfied

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I normally cut two lawns and had been struggling with a STRONG dislike of electrical cords. I was therefore left with two options, gas or battery operated. For a period of time, I believed that gas was the logical solution. I had heard about battery units being low on torque, and running for brief periods that weren’t useful for anything beyond meager applications. Batteries have grown better in recent years however, and current battery trimmers generate better torque than older models. I was also aware of the maintenance issues that pertained to gas units, and wasn’t particularly interested in messing with that.
Following some personal research and reading the reviews, I decided to give the Ryobi a try. I have to say that for typical applications, it was a pleasant surprise. It does not generate the same torque as a corded unit. On the other hand, it was more powerful than I expected. I had no problem cutting the “standard” grass around my fence, foundation, etc… It is not for clearing brush or heavy grass, but was never intended to be.
I had narrowed my list to two trimmers. The first was a Black and Decker. That unit includes two batteries and a charger and sells for around 99 dollars. The Ryobi does not include the batteries or charger, which are sold separately. After putting together the same combination of Ryobi trimmer, two batteries, and charger, the total is roughly ten dollars more than the Black and Decker. Here are the factors that made the decision for me.
1. There is no option with the Black and Decker to acquire additional batteries. It is sold as a kit. If you’re interested in a third or forth battery, that’s not going to happen. If you have a problem such as a defective battery, charger, or trimmer, you cannot obtain a replacement for a single piece. It needs to be replaced as a kit.
2. The charger for the Black and Decker takes between 3 to 6 hours to recharge a battery. In the absence of a third battery, there would be little practical way to finish a job if you exhausted the second battery and were waiting for the first to recharge.
3. With the Ryobi, you can purchase any number of batteries that you desire. They are always available at Home Depot.
4. The Ryobi offers different charger options. There is a vehicle charger, as well as a higher capacity Lithium battery that while significantly more expensive, will run much longer.
5. The standard Ryobi batteries will recharge in only one hour with the standard charger. Even with only two batteries, I can generally have a battery charged and ready by the time the other is exhausted.
6. There are about thirty other Ryobi tools that work on the same 18v battery platform. Once in the system, everything is interchangeable. For the average homeowner, many of the tools are a great value. The completion of one significant project can justify the purchase of many of them.
7. Last but not least, if I need to replace the trimmer, I can purchase a new one for around forty dollars. I’m not forced to purchase an entire kit that includes two batteries and a charger.
All in all, I’ve been quite happy with the purchase. The little bit of torque that I’ve forfeited over the corded model, has been FAR outweighed by the huge convenience of going cordless. I would purchase it again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Oregon/Kentucky/Nevada

I like mine just fine...!

PostedJune 26, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have Ryobi 18 volt tools and batteries already, so this was a no brainer. I use it for a small yard and pretty much grass only. Powerful enough for my needs, and string consumption is moderate enough not to gripe. Best part is no gasoline or extension cords. Kinda makes the desire to trim go up a notch! Length of shaft is variable for us tall guys (I am 6'2"). The adjustable head and trim guide makes it easy to edge without scalping. I ordered a 3 pack of line just so I wouldn't have to make a trip to the store later, and I expect there is enough to last maybe two summers. Too light probably for commercial use or heavy growth, but I have not had to use a second battery yet for my little place (15 -20 min.) . Surprising value and well made. Safe operation design. Would buy another. Battery and charger investment takes the price higher ...good unit though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from San Antonio, Texas

Excellent

PostedSeptember 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm the kind of guy the more horse power the better.But I tried my mother in-laws black and decker and fell in love. I have all the power I need with less wait and don't have to worry if I have gas in the garage. I can be bored and just get up and go. Its much better then the Black and decker which turned me on to the battery trimers in the first place. Bottom line battery cost a little high but after you use it for about a year.You will just be saving money.Take it from a guy that drives a v10 truck and thinks bigger is better.In some cases yes, but this is all you need.and I like the self feeding so I don't put bald spots in my yard without thinking about it.I know what i'm getting my dad for Christmas.Black and Decker last about 30mins Tops.This battery would not be suprised if it went at least half a day easy! Worth the money and never have to worry about them changing battery styles so you have to buy another one. 6 Stars in my book!!!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Alabama

Great Trimmer/Edger

PostedAugust 19, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little cordless edger/trimmer. I love the automatic string feeder, no need to bump the head or stop to rewind the string. Awesome. The only thin that I didn't like is purchasing the lithium battery, that cost $109 for battery/charger. However, in the defense of the battery, it charges up quickly and it has a pretty decent charge.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Deptford ,NJ

18V Trimmer Edger

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Easy to use and great cutting power . Well worth every penny.
I had a eletric trimmer before and it was a pain to use had to make sure the cord would not keep getting tangled and be long enougjh. With the battery trimmer you can go anywhere and be free of cords.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Honea Path, Sc

Great little trimmer!

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this trimmer and just LOVE it! Sure people will say that it goes through batteries quick, and oh, it might not have the most power of some of the professional jobs, but...all in all, it's one sweet little trimmer! Love how light weight it is! Batteries are no big deal if you have more than one, just use one, put it on the charger...which in turn also gives you a break from trimming...put on a new one and you're good to go! Best of all, with the cost of gas these days, it's wonderful to not have to pay a small fortune just to do the weedeating! No gas, no oil, no cranking and cranking....nothing...just pop in a battery and go!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Midlothian, Texas

Every Homeowner's Tool

PostedMay 14, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned One+ power tools since they first came out. I purchased the string trimmer because I was frustrated with constantly fixing my gas powered trimmer. Not surprisingly, it works for me.
Every two weeks for the last 3 mounts, I have spent about an hour and a half trimming around my house. It takes three battery charges (two Ni-Cd batteries and one Li-Ion battery) and about a spool and a half of string to do the job. I am so impressed with the first trimmer I purchased that I purchased a second to use with my RV.
I am impressed with the Li-Ion battery. The battery stays charged and is ready when I need it, plus, it has more power available than the Ni-Cds. At this point, the Li-Ion battery/charger "upgrade" seems very expensive at $119.00; however, if the battery continues to work for another couple of years, the cost will be justified.
The 0.062" string is too light and breaks too easily for my needs. I adapted the spool to use 0.080" string. The 0.080" string lasts longer and cuts grass/weeds MUCH better. I tried string from 3 different manufacturers. The "GrassGator 0.080 Shaped Line" is by far the best for my application. I wind the string onto the spool and then place the spool/string into the oven at 220 degrees F for about 10 minutes to let the string take a "set". I have had NO PROBLEMS with string feeding from the spool.
As for improvements to this tool, the manufacturer needs to make the bottom of the string guard smooth, without any depressions. The reinforcement needs to be on the outside so that grass/weed cuttings do not build up on the bottom of the guard and fall off in the garage. A bigger string spool would be nice. Regardless, the current spool of string usually lasts through about two battery charges; that is, about 1 hour of usage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Allen, TX

Works great

PostedMay 2, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trimmer works great. With continuous use the regular battery lasts about 20 minutes. So if you have a large yard make sure you have a few batteries charged. Or invest in a new Lithum Ion Battery. The only problem I had with the trimmer was getting the bom to extend. I'm short so it wasn't that big of a deal but it would definetly cause problems for anyone above 5'6.
There is no banging the trimmer on the ground to get the line out.
No primeing and the pulling until your arm hurts. Or mixing gas and oil. Just the pop of the battery in the end and a reasonably quite buzz. Overall this is a great product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from San Antonio, TX

Ok for small jobs

PostedAugust 1, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this based on recommendations here. However, I found it really tires out my arms. You can't just hold the power button in, you have to also press and hold a little button on the side to operate the power switch which tires your hand out really fast. I find the balance isn't all that great either, and the 18V non-lithium batteries run out really fast. I can barely finish my relatively small front yard which has some pretty tough St Augustine on 2 batteries, so forget about the backyard.
Overall, I'd only buy this again if I needed it for small jobs. Don't expect to do your entire lawn unless perhaps you buy the li-ion batteries. But if you're going to spend that much, you might as well buy a better corded or gas trimmer.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Plano, TX

Ryobi Trimmer

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the trimmer because I had the Ryobi power tool set. I did not think the trimmer was going to be enough for my suburban lawn. I was pleasently suprised how powerful the tool was. It would take less time to complete the lawn with a gas powered trimmer but the Ryobi is light weight, easy to use, and a lot cleaner than gas. If you have to do large projects, I would consider gas but this works just fine for residential lawns. It takes two charged batteries to complete my lawn (including edgeing along the sidewalks and driveway).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One Plus 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
from Central Illinois

WHY DON'T THEY SELL THESE IN THE STORES!!!

PostedJune 19, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received my trimmer/edger today and trimmed my entire front and back yard, which includes landscape timbers and about 280 feet of wood fence. Once the handles were set to my liking (I am 6' 4" tall) the trimmer was very easy to handle. I used the old style of battery and was able to trim everything that I needed with plenty of "juice" to spare. The edger function was a little awkward at first but after some experimenting I think that it will be useful for general edge maintenance (It does not seem that I will be able to rely on it to do primary edging... just maintenance). Overall, if you are looking for a handy trimmer that is easy to use and does not require gas or extension cords... the Ryobi 18V Trimmer Edger will meet and exceed your expectations! Another great Ryobi product to add to my “toolbox”!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>