728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw

14 in. Electric Chainsaw

The Homelite 14 in. Electric Chainsaw delivers excellent cutting action and can handle limbs and trees with up to a 28 in. diameter. The saw has an automatic oiler for worry-free chain lubrication and a tool-less chain tensioner for simplified adjustment. Wrap-around handle and built-in hand guard for stability and safety.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product81 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(16)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(12)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product81 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Mike
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the money

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first issue is that chain saws use a LOT of oil to keep the chain lubed. People that claim this uses a lot of oil never used gas chain saws like I have. They USE oil people. It holds about 6 ounces of oil and uses about 3 ozs in about 25 minutes of cutting. I do not know what they are comparing it to, but that is normal.
I am surprised that it does have a the power of a little gas saw. I go through 6 inch libs like butter. I would buy this saw. Pick up chain saw oil while there. YES you have to put oil in it a lot, but that is NORMAL for yes even the 500 dollar saws. What makes people think an expensive saw uses less oil confuses me.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Steve
from Fort Collins, Colorado

Best buy in this category

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't say enough good about this little guy. A Home Depot Associate told us they'd cut up over 400 Christmas trees with this 14" saw without a hitch, so we decided to give it a try. Just took out and cut up a 30' dying aspen tree, and it performed flawlessly.
As far as I can tell, it's the only one in its class that allows chain tension adjustment without a tool. In fact, when I finished, I could remove the chain and bar and clean it out completely without using any tools!
NO reason to go with gas unless a cord just won't reach. Great product.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
SuperTool
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sometimes less is more

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In addition to offering best in class features for the lowest price, this chainsaw has a 9 amp motor, which allows me to use a lightweight 100 foot 16 guage extension cord. It also has a sprocket tip bar, which extends bar and chain life and reduces chain drag and heatup. The metal safety tip allows me to plow into a pile of braches without worry of kickback. The cable hook design is very good, keeping the cord out of the way when cutting. The only thing I don't like is the skip tooth chain, which I will replace with a standard chain when it wears out. Also, like other chain saws in this price range it lacks a chain brake, so it takes about 1-2 seconds to stop when the trigger is released. Overall quality seems to be very good and the tool-less chain tension adjustment system works well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
shoppershopper
from OHIO

WOW!! GREAT

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I accidentally purchased this 14" unit with the full intention of getting the 16" model. This unit just happened to be in the wrong place and put it in the cart.
Let me start out by saying this 14" chain saw is all I could ever need in a small home saw. I had a major amount of limbs to cut from 1" - 12" and this saw never missed a beat. I have nothing but good to say about this unit. There were several comments about the unit using to much bar oil and leaking. I found this not to be my case. I bought a quart and after 400 cuts I still have over half the quart left. The chain never slipped and only bogged down if I really tried to force the blade through the wood.
Pro:
All I could ever need
Fast, quiet, and strong
Con:
no blade cover for storage
After 400 +/- a few cuts the saw has been working great.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Ben1
from Aylett, VA

Excellent

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Homelite 14 inch electric chainsaw: I purchased on 8-30-11. I had 2 oak trees fall during hurricane Irene. I have now sawed for 2 days with about 16 hours on the saw. So far, the saw has been excellent. During the first hour of sawing, I regularly checked chain tension and had to adjust it 3 times. After that, I checked chain tension regularly, but only had to make small adjustments once every 3-4 hours. The bar oiling system works well. It only has a 6 ounce capacity, but it also has a clear plastic gauge that allows you to see how much is left in the tank. I never let the oil get to empty. That’s a sure way to dull and destroy the chain. So far, I have had no problems with the chain getting dull. I bought the electric chainsaw because my Stihl gas chainsaw won’t start again. By far the most wonderful feature of this Homelite is that it starts simply by pulling the accelerator trigger. There is no gas oil to mix and a 100 foot orange extension cord run out of a regular 2-prong socket in my home provides ample electricity. As far as cutting radius, I used a 5/16 socket to remove the bolt that holds the chain nose-guard in place. Once I did that, I was able to cut the trunk of the oak trees up to 14 inches in diameter. I am impressed with this little saw. I wish Homelite made one with an 18” blade. I’d consider buying a second saw to finish the lower trunks of both trees.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
JohnT1492
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressed, great value

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a large branch, about 7-inches in diameter, that I need to remove from a tree. There were a couple smaller branches, too, but I could have used a hand saw on those. I was going to rent a chainsaw, but then I found this. There have been other times I could have used a chainsaw, so assuming I might need one again, I decided to buy this one rather than rent a saw one time. I am happy I did. This saw easily cut through the large branch, the smaller branches, and then the numerous other cuts I made while cutting the downed limbs into smaller pieces. Plenty of power. No problems. It's automatic oiling feature does seem to go through a lot of oil, through. I guess that's better than too little.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
av12
from rural upstae New York

very good product, excellent buy

PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I almost didn't buy this because of the negative reviews about tensioning and oil use. I think those complaints are probably due to inexperience. The chain on all chainsaws needs to be kept properly tensioned, and checked before each use. This saw is quite easy to tension and I had no chain tensioning problems. Perhaps the reviewers who complained about this didn't read the manual/pay attention to chain tension or actually had a defective unit. As far as oil use: the saw might--I say "might"--use a little bit more oil than my Stihl and Echo gasoline saws, but not enough for me to complain about. And it doesn't leak out while not in use. Again, I wonder if maybe the negative reviewers put ordinary motor oil in the saw, or maybe used winter grade bar oil on a hot summer day. Use only bar and chain oil, not motor oil, and use the proper, winter or summer grade, and you will be fine. I bought this saw to do work indoors(no 2 cycle fumes) on a rotten 120 year old beam that I could not get in on with my sawzall. Took the safety tip off (one bolt) and was able to plunge cut and notch back to good wood in no time. Nicked at least a dozen nails and the chain is still cutting, At a purchase price of just $50, I've got nothing but good things to say about this tool.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Sawyer
from Ogden, Utah

Good Bang for the Buck

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about a $50 chain saw, but this little baby does the job! I cut a 25' tree trunk that ranged from about 4" at the top to 16" at the base. Two nice features: 1. self-oiling (newbies: be sure to buy chain oil) and 2. tool-less chain adjustment. Watch oil level. After only about 8 cuts, the oil tank was nearly empty. The saw cuts well though. I like it better than the 16" Remington it replaced. Time will tell how it holds up, but after first use I am impressed.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
bruce3681
from Northern Ca

Good Buy!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unwilling to pay $700 to remove a Magnolia tree, I bought this saw. I never cut with electric saws but I tried it because the reviews were solid.
This saw was excellent for this job as it cut every thing I threw at it. The 30' + magnolia was no push over. The stump measured 15 in. across at the base. The tree is now fire wood. Pretty impressive for a 14" electric saw at this price. I am very happy with this saw.
Pros:
Price
Auto Oiler provided ample supply of lube (buy a gallon)
Tool less Chain Tensioner works well. (Keep it properly adjusted)
Lightweight and quieter than gas powered saws I have used
Safety tip easy to remove if needed
Cons:
Oil leaks out when off so use up remaining supply before storing
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
foolwithatool

great saw for the price

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought to clean up fallen trees after storm . im a woman and can easily handle it. easy operation and ease of putting chain on in case it comes off. overall i am happy with this saw .
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
NMCaroline
from NM

Fine Saw for the Money for a Woman

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 51-year-old woman in good shape except for arthritic knees and a back that goes out of whack now and then. I bought the saw, read the manual quickly and went to work. I sawed for about three hourswith small breaks, pruning limbs up to six inches in diameter from two trees. When sawing down, let the weight of the saw do the work. When sawing up, apply minimal force, watching for the wood chips.
The chain came off once. As others advise, if one exerts force in a direction that does not tend to push the chain into the track, then the chain may come off. I followed the manual's hints on putting the chain back on and was fine. I am mechanically experienced, so this maybe helped. Others not so experienced might find putting the chain back on frustrating.
The saw seeps oil lots (by design, pretty much), but the manual warns about this. I used just a fraction of the quart of oil I purchased simultaneous to buying the saw.
I was going to pay $75 for the 16-inch version and am glad I went with the lower priced version.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Woodswoman
from Boston, MA

Homelite chainsaw

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This chainsaw is easy to use, light, and cuts through all types of logs quickly and easily, from small diameter pieces up to 12" logs. The cap on the end to prevent kickback is a nice feature and it is easy to sharpen and maintain.
My only problem with the saw is that it uses a lot of bar and chain oil. I empty any excess oil out after using the saw and refill when I use it again. However, the saw does spray the oil onto the ground during use and will leak onto any surface under the saw. It can also cause a lot of sawdust to stick to the saw itself around the bar.
Overall it is a great saw for cutting logs, but I would love to see the leaking oil issue fixed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
MPrefix
from Apex, NC

good littlet chainsaw

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this chainsaw to cut down a couple of dead Leyland Cypress trees. They were about 20 feet tall and about 6 inches in diameter. Upon unpacking the saw, I was disappointed to find that no chain oil was included -talk about cheaping out. Not wanting to drive back to the store, I used a 50/50 mix of 5W20 motor oil and Marvel Mystery oil. The saw has plenty of power and never bogged down. It's not heavy and is easy to maneuver. A previous reviewer mentioned that the chain kept slipping off the bar. I ran into this a couple of times but only when cutting smaller branches. It appears that as I cut these, the branches would flex and bounce causing the chain to come out of the track. This never happened when making multiple cuts through the trunks of the trees, so it's possible that all similar chainsaws would have the same issue. Overall, I am satisfied with this chainsaw.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Scott
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow...Very Impressed

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the saw to cut down 2 trees about 14 inches diameter. No problem at all. The chain tensioner and oil work great.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
MisterF
from Huntsville, Alabama

If you're not a lumber jack, this saw is for you!

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a chain saw, that the average person can use. This is it. It is powerful enough to cut through very large diameter trees. Stock up on "Bar & Chain oil", and keep an eye on the oil reservoir level. Make sure to keep the chain sufficiently taut. Also, it is fairly simple to clean. Just unscrew the butterfly nut that holds the cover on. And, be careful while using it! You can hurt yourself, or something else if you are not very careful!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
sultan
from Antelope, Ca.

Simple saw to operate

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought and used it to cut several hedges with no problems. The chain slip a couple of times but no problem getting it back on. Perhaps I cut in too tight a situation. But overall no problems!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
kweller

Nice product for pruning trees and cutting wood.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product over the week end and I am impressed with how easy it was to operate. This product sawed through limbs like butter. I dis-assembled the unit in order to clean all parts before storage. Putting the unit back together in working order was easy. I would recommend this chain saw.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
skitz
from Hawaii

works for me

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Owned for about 6 months now, use to trim tree limbs up to about 7" diameter. Did cut-down a tree about 18" diameter once. Bought a chain saw sharpening file from Home Depot too. I regularly sharpen the blade before or after each use. First chainsaw I've owned so nothing to compare to, but like the low cost, small light easy to handle size. Not sure why there are so many poor reviews of this product so thought I'd contribute a positive review.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
Chrijalc
from Boston, MA

Amazing value

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the last storm (Jan '11) I had lots of branches down from my pine tree which landed on my back yard, I bought this electric chain saw and it went through huge branches like butter. It's an awesome value for the money. The only pproblem is that it doesn' include oil but I put some car oil and it worked perfect. Very happy with my purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. Electric Chainsaw
bmadoff
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For $50 bucks you can't go wrong...

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw is everything it’s advertised to be. It makes quick work of downed tree limbs of average size. I cut up about 100 feet of limbs this weekend for firewood and it took me a little over an hour with this saw. It has an auto-oiler and the chain tensioner knob is right on the side. It’s a nice tool for the homeowner and with a 2 year warranty I’d definitely buy again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>