728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

The Ryobi 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer features a 26 cc 2-cycle engine and hardened steel, precision ground blades that can deliver professional-grade results. This gas hedge trimmer also features StartEasy starting system that provides fast, easy starts. The hedge trimmer also features a multi-position, rear handle design for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.383 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(24)
Features 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
ROBO
from Charlton MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not purchase this trimmer

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No air cleaner or filter? You have to be kidding. Hedge trimmers work in a dusty chip and leaf filled environment and without a filter the carb needs to be disassembled and cleaned on a regular basis or the thing won't start. Even with synthetic $8 a pint fuel the trimmer is not an easy start. If you need one for occasional use rent it, if you use it weekly buy a Red Max
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Chris
from York, SC

If only it would start!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst purchase ever! Took at least 30 pulls before it started right out of the box. Can't even start it for the second time just two weeks after the first use. Really, just an expensive piece of junk!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, won't start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Homero
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is reliable for tough jobs.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is a good investment in purchasing this type of equipment for tough tasks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
YarddGuy
from NoVA

Cheap/Poorly Made

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this Ryobi gas trimmer about 8-10 times. I was always struck by how incredibly loud it is. Grabbed my earplugs and prepared to use it this morning. I was amazed to find the gas line going into the gas chamber had broken off. This unit is well stored and has its own home on a shelf. Upon further inspection, the gas tube is a thin and soft plastic into the plastic gas chamber... Wow, why would they use such cheap pieces and then expose them so they are pretty easy to hit/break/snag... Take a close look for yourself at the connection before you buy... I will buy another gas unit, but not this one...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, very loud
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
EC1946
from Medina Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so good carburator

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This trimmer is awesome to use. Much easier on your arms then other trimmer because of the handle being able to swivel. I bought this unit last year, late season, used it once, this spring it wouldn't start. I cleaned the carb, new spark plug, still not starting. Ended up taking back to Home Depot and had it serviced, $70 later for a new carb, because the carburetor isn't included in the warranty. Haven't had any problems with it since.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: disposable carburator
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Cheetah
from Dickson City, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Price, I think there is Better.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Gas trimmer & I've also had many electric & one cordless trimmer. I am a BIG Ryobi fan as I have most of their hand Power tools & love them all. Ryobi is usually more affordable & WELL BUILT. This gas trimmer just seems VERY loud (def. wear ear phones/plugs), heavy (if your doing a lot it's like using a chainsaw!) yet has plenty of power for all kinds of bushes & hedges. Its not the trimmer you want if you only have small stuff to trim up. I'd def go w. the Cordless (battery) there (I have the Ryobi too). The older Poula'ns Gas trimmer I owned seemed lighter, faster (blades moving) & quieter. I'm usually not too picky w. these kinds of tools but this tool I do not like.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
TexasRyobi

Ryobi gas powered tools are Junk, buyers beware

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this since I wanted a gas powered trimmer for less than $200. I experienced most of the issues mentioned in other reviews: Loud noise, hard to start, worked well for the first few times, cheap built, gas tank supply line broke... This product is junk, spend more and get Echo or even better, a Stihl.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

It's a Ryobi, it will need to be tuned after a few uses but it will last.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'll start out by saying I own multiple Ryobi 2 stroke engine based devices. Because of this I am accustomed to the product. They are inexpensive and can be surprisingly reliable. It's important to mention they need to be serviced but if done so, they will work very well. As with my other Ryobi's, this fell out of tune. It would die instead of idle. As with my others, I simply used a hacksaw and tapped the tuning screws and adjusted the high and low screws to a point where it became easy to work with again. People say Echo is the way to go but if you're inexperienced the brand won't help. My first trimmer was an echo but I didn't take care of it and it died. I decided to go cheap the second time. It has worked out since I've been able to get a complete collection of 2 stroke based devices instead of 1 or 2 really good ones. Unfortunately Ryobi gas tanks tend to leak like other cheapies do. Just be sure to dump the unused gas out when you're finished. It'll save your lines anyway.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: loud, needs tuning after a while
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
WeekendWarrior
from Wilton, CT

Junk

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the other reviews for starting, fuel starving issues.I experienced the same thing. Today, when using the tilt handle the unit stopped as black oil/fuel began leaking from the head.
The unit is in it's third season. I trim 2-3 days per season and store the unit using a fuel stabilizer in a heated basement.
Why I bought a Ryobi was foolish as I have owned their grass trimmers and had nothing but problems. Fool me once.
Ryobi is junk.
Echo is the best.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Anonymous
from monroe ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bad product

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trimmer is heavy, loud and very very hard to start. I brought this product 2 months ago and it has been a night mare. Would not recommend to my worst emeny. Bad product
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, very loud, hard to start
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Kitz
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is poor. It doesn't last.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product as a professional lawn and landscape maintenance. I do not use it often but after 2 or 3 years since I purchase it the ignition module burnt out. I tried to get to the ignition module but I guess I need a special tool. If I have to take it into a shop to get it fix I might as well buy a new one. I won't buy this product though.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Jroc

This items is poorly built

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the trimmer and it took a while to get it started. I had to pull on it 20 times and this was when it was rite out the box. I used it for times and always took well care of it now it doesn't wanna start and when it does it shuts rite off. It should be illegal to sel such poor quality tools .Don't buy this unit purchase a stihl trimmer for 100 bucks more and you will save a lot of time and headaches.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
DrSweet

Nightmare to start!!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
That about sums it up. Once I (FINALLY, and with a LOT of 4-letter words!) did get it started it worked "ok" - but this unit is very heavy and "all or nothing" with regard to speed. VERY unimpressed! Will be taking it back tomorrow.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Dave
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

What starting problems? Who can't cut 3/4" branches?

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Owned and used, or should I say abused, for 5yrs and never have had a problem. With my other equipment I put all sorts of fuel mixtures in it, store it outside, still on the same sparkplug and starts everytime with 4 pulls or less. Chews through 1" limbs like a bulldog. You just have to be willing to live with the noise, vibration, and weight of a 26cc engine. Only recently had to put threadlocker on the exhaust manifold screws because vibration started backing them out.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
VolSince69

Buyer Beware

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this trimmer, used only twice. Very difficult to start and keep running. Now, unable to start at all. Go a different route when purchasing as you could rent good equipment for the $ - number of uses you will get out of this one. Loud / seems heavy too.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
doug
from Saltillo, MS 38866, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sorry i bought it.

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard starting,carb issues.just had to purchase new gas tank.I have had it for 2 yrs and it has been used in that time about 6 hrs.Will not purchase a Ryobi product again.Spend the extra $ and buy a better trimmer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
ericpd
from Randallstown, MD

Got the last one in the store

PostedAugust 19, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My 4 year old Black&Decker 24" electric Hedge Hog died on me right in the middle of my weekend lawn chores. Long ago I promised myself that if I ever had to replace the B&D, I would never again buy another electric Hedge Trimmer,... new cords are too expensive and that thing has an appetite for chewing them up. I know, I know,... it's me and not the B&D, but blaming chewed up extension cords on the B&D feels better.
Anyway, being end of season, HD only had a few gas Trimmers left in stock... three Echo trimmers and one lonely Ryobi. This RY39500 model. The Ryobi was priced the same as the middle of the line Echo,... $179. The high end Echo was priced at $279. Thinking that if I was gonna pay $179 I might as well get the Echo,... a no brainer. Well that was until the HD sales person offered a price reduction on the Ryobi. Final price for the out-of-box, last in store Ryobi Timmer, including tax, was pennies over $100,... a new no brainer.
This thing is amazing. It is extremely light for a gas powered lawn tool, and gives up less vibration than my old electric B&D. The blade set up and cutting capabilities is way beyond that of the B&D. On this unit, both blades reciprocate, on the B&D, the bottom blade is stationary and only the upper blade moves. There's no more binding on the thick stuff lurking under the green and new growth on your hedges if you need to cut that low. It eats right through that stuff. It starts easy enough and stays running until you turn it off with a switch located right were your thumb rests. The main handle can be rotated to make vertical cutting comfortable and safe, and at an idle, the blades abruptly and completely stop,... not just slow down like with some other cheaper gas models.
I originally was set on the Echo brand simply because I see a lot of professional landscapers using that brand and concluded it to be the best HD had to offer. But this is a case where I believe Ryobi's best tops Echo's middle of the line product. The price reduction made it an even easier decision. I would highly recommend this item,... if you can still find one.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
bmess
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

took the beating

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this gas trimmer thinking that no matter what trimmer I buy after completing the job I had to do it would be destroyed or at least wouldn't be as good as when I purchased it. Wow I was wrong, I am very happy with the job it did and it still runs and operates like it did when it came out of the box.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Kevin

Buyer Beware: Defective Product

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. Went through 2 hedge trimmers in a week. About to return my second hedge trimmer. Just like all of the other consumers are stating, after like 20 min this product is over heating and engine is ceasing. Spend the extra money and go with a Stihl or Echo product. The only positive was when it was working, it was firing right up for me, however that did not last very long.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
LouL

Trimmer Broke Down After 1 Hour Use

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trimmer stopped running after 1 hour of regular use. Very disappointed in the quality.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>