728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

The Ryobi 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer features a 26 cc 2-cycle engine and hardened steel, precision ground blades that can deliver professional-grade results. This gas hedge trimmer also features StartEasy starting system that provides fast, easy starts. The hedge trimmer also features a multi-position, rear handle design for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.308 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product17 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(28)
Features 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product17 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Odessa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this is a piece of junk

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is my third hedge trimmer. Keep buying them because I have the attachments. I had one repaired and now it still doesn't work. It's replacement now too doesn't work. The vibration causes the spark plug connector to fall off despite many attempts to keep it tightened. This newest one I bought has lasted less than a year. It just died. Now I have two pieces of junk and a numerous attachments which are useless. This product is cheaply made and cannot take heavy use. It's carburetor is cheap and you will have problems trying to start. Save your money and invest in a better made product.
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from York, SC

If only it would start!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst purchase ever! Took at least 30 pulls before it started right out of the box. Can't even start it for the second time just two weeks after the first use. Really, just an expensive piece of junk!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, won't start
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Charlton MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not purchase this trimmer

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No air cleaner or filter? You have to be kidding. Hedge trimmers work in a dusty chip and leaf filled environment and without a filter the carb needs to be disassembled and cleaned on a regular basis or the thing won't start. Even with synthetic $8 a pint fuel the trimmer is not an easy start. If you need one for occasional use rent it, if you use it weekly buy a Red Max
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gift worth giving

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gave as a present - but works very good-new owner enjoys using this tool
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from NoVA

Cheap/Poorly Made

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this Ryobi gas trimmer about 8-10 times. I was always struck by how incredibly loud it is. Grabbed my earplugs and prepared to use it this morning. I was amazed to find the gas line going into the gas chamber had broken off. This unit is well stored and has its own home on a shelf. Upon further inspection, the gas tube is a thin and soft plastic into the plastic gas chamber... Wow, why would they use such cheap pieces and then expose them so they are pretty easy to hit/break/snag... Take a close look for yourself at the connection before you buy... I will buy another gas unit, but not this one...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, very loud
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just purchased my Ryobi gas trimmer and tried for over an hour to start it. Back to Home Depot to find a product that actually works. I can get junk like that at a garage sale!
Cons: very difficult to start
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Dickson City, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Price, I think there is Better.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Gas trimmer & I've also had many electric & one cordless trimmer. I am a BIG Ryobi fan as I have most of their hand Power tools & love them all. Ryobi is usually more affordable & WELL BUILT. This gas trimmer just seems VERY loud (def. wear ear phones/plugs), heavy (if your doing a lot it's like using a chainsaw!) yet has plenty of power for all kinds of bushes & hedges. Its not the trimmer you want if you only have small stuff to trim up. I'd def go w. the Cordless (battery) there (I have the Ryobi too). The older Poula'ns Gas trimmer I owned seemed lighter, faster (blades moving) & quieter. I'm usually not too picky w. these kinds of tools but this tool I do not like.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Westerville, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, I bought three of these because I kept exchanging them when they broke. I would have switched brands after the second one broke but HD only sold this piece of garbage as a gas trimmer. The first one took at least 35 pulls to start each time, then after attempting to start it for the fourth time the pull cord broke free inside the hedge trimmer. It only had 30 minutes run time. The second hedge trimmer lasted 20 minutes before the engine seized while attempting to restart it. It made a clicking sound the entire time it ran before dying. The lifespan of the third trimmer was 45 minutes, not continuous, but three separate days. This engine also seized while attempting to restart it. Home Depot was helpful, as always, and allowed me to return them without a box or original receipt. However, Ryobi customer service could not have cared less. Those were the first, second, third AND LAST Ryobi tools I will ever own.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Palm Harbor, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst hedge trimmer

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used one time on a hedge between homes. Shut off hedge trimmer and could not restart. I had to finish the job with my old electric hedge trimmer. Ryobi would not honor the warranty stating poor gas/oil ratios. Not so, most of my power equipment is 2 cycle so I do know how to mix gas/oil. Wife is an employee at Home Depot so good luck to her selling this item that is no longer in most stores!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Medina Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so good carburator

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This trimmer is awesome to use. Much easier on your arms then other trimmer because of the handle being able to swivel. I bought this unit last year, late season, used it once, this spring it wouldn't start. I cleaned the carb, new spark plug, still not starting. Ended up taking back to Home Depot and had it serviced, $70 later for a new carb, because the carburetor isn't included in the warranty. Haven't had any problems with it since.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: disposable carburator
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

It's a Ryobi, it will need to be tuned after a few uses but it will last.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'll start out by saying I own multiple Ryobi 2 stroke engine based devices. Because of this I am accustomed to the product. They are inexpensive and can be surprisingly reliable. It's important to mention they need to be serviced but if done so, they will work very well. As with my other Ryobi's, this fell out of tune. It would die instead of idle. As with my others, I simply used a hacksaw and tapped the tuning screws and adjusted the high and low screws to a point where it became easy to work with again. People say Echo is the way to go but if you're inexperienced the brand won't help. My first trimmer was an echo but I didn't take care of it and it died. I decided to go cheap the second time. It has worked out since I've been able to get a complete collection of 2 stroke based devices instead of 1 or 2 really good ones. Unfortunately Ryobi gas tanks tend to leak like other cheapies do. Just be sure to dump the unused gas out when you're finished. It'll save your lines anyway.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: loud, needs tuning after a while
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Wilton, CT

Junk

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the other reviews for starting, fuel starving issues.I experienced the same thing. Today, when using the tilt handle the unit stopped as black oil/fuel began leaking from the head.
The unit is in it's third season. I trim 2-3 days per season and store the unit using a fuel stabilizer in a heated basement.
Why I bought a Ryobi was foolish as I have owned their grass trimmers and had nothing but problems. Fool me once.
Ryobi is junk.
Echo is the best.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Ryobi gas powered tools are Junk, buyers beware

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this since I wanted a gas powered trimmer for less than $200. I experienced most of the issues mentioned in other reviews: Loud noise, hard to start, worked well for the first few times, cheap built, gas tank supply line broke... This product is junk, spend more and get Echo or even better, a Stihl.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from monroe ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bad product

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trimmer is heavy, loud and very very hard to start. I brought this product 2 months ago and it has been a night mare. Would not recommend to my worst emeny. Bad product
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, very loud, hard to start
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is reliable for tough jobs.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is a good investment in purchasing this type of equipment for tough tasks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is poor. It doesn't last.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product as a professional lawn and landscape maintenance. I do not use it often but after 2 or 3 years since I purchase it the ignition module burnt out. I tried to get to the ignition module but I guess I need a special tool. If I have to take it into a shop to get it fix I might as well buy a new one. I won't buy this product though.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Nightmare to start!!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
That about sums it up. Once I (FINALLY, and with a LOT of 4-letter words!) did get it started it worked "ok" - but this unit is very heavy and "all or nothing" with regard to speed. VERY unimpressed! Will be taking it back tomorrow.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

This items is poorly built

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the trimmer and it took a while to get it started. I had to pull on it 20 times and this was when it was rite out the box. I used it for times and always took well care of it now it doesn't wanna start and when it does it shuts rite off. It should be illegal to sel such poor quality tools .Don't buy this unit purchase a stihl trimmer for 100 bucks more and you will save a lot of time and headaches.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

What starting problems? Who can't cut 3/4" branches?

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Owned and used, or should I say abused, for 5yrs and never have had a problem. With my other equipment I put all sorts of fuel mixtures in it, store it outside, still on the same sparkplug and starts everytime with 4 pulls or less. Chews through 1" limbs like a bulldog. You just have to be willing to live with the noise, vibration, and weight of a 26cc engine. Only recently had to put threadlocker on the exhaust manifold screws because vibration started backing them out.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Randallstown, MD

Got the last one in the store

PostedAugust 19, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My 4 year old Black&Decker 24" electric Hedge Hog died on me right in the middle of my weekend lawn chores. Long ago I promised myself that if I ever had to replace the B&D, I would never again buy another electric Hedge Trimmer,... new cords are too expensive and that thing has an appetite for chewing them up. I know, I know,... it's me and not the B&D, but blaming chewed up extension cords on the B&D feels better.
Anyway, being end of season, HD only had a few gas Trimmers left in stock... three Echo trimmers and one lonely Ryobi. This RY39500 model. The Ryobi was priced the same as the middle of the line Echo,... $179. The high end Echo was priced at $279. Thinking that if I was gonna pay $179 I might as well get the Echo,... a no brainer. Well that was until the HD sales person offered a price reduction on the Ryobi. Final price for the out-of-box, last in store Ryobi Timmer, including tax, was pennies over $100,... a new no brainer.
This thing is amazing. It is extremely light for a gas powered lawn tool, and gives up less vibration than my old electric B&D. The blade set up and cutting capabilities is way beyond that of the B&D. On this unit, both blades reciprocate, on the B&D, the bottom blade is stationary and only the upper blade moves. There's no more binding on the thick stuff lurking under the green and new growth on your hedges if you need to cut that low. It eats right through that stuff. It starts easy enough and stays running until you turn it off with a switch located right were your thumb rests. The main handle can be rotated to make vertical cutting comfortable and safe, and at an idle, the blades abruptly and completely stop,... not just slow down like with some other cheaper gas models.
I originally was set on the Echo brand simply because I see a lot of professional landscapers using that brand and concluded it to be the best HD had to offer. But this is a case where I believe Ryobi's best tops Echo's middle of the line product. The price reduction made it an even easier decision. I would highly recommend this item,... if you can still find one.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>