728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

The Ryobi 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer features a 26 cc 2-Cycle engine and hardened steel, precision ground blades that can deliver professional-grade results. This gas hedge trimmer also features StartEasy starting system that provides fast, easy starts. The hedge trimmer also features a multi-position, rear handle design for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.338 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product23 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(34)
Features 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product23 of 65reviews
Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hedge Trimmer

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
............ Good consumer hedge trimmer ...............
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine until...

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had this trimmer about 7 years. I have a 200 ft holly hedge that I cut back about 4 times a year. The trimmer has never been hard to start. It runs strong and cuts well and stayed sharp. The swivel handle is great. I can trim the hedge in about 20 minutes and I'm 74 years old. But, this year it just fell apart. The vibration loosened the muffler and stripped the screw threads. The clutch fell apart and ate the plastic housing. The gas tank screw ears broke. All of this is readily fixable. Parts are inexpensive at on line parts resellers. Just know the model number. I fixed everything for less than $50. I took it out and hit the hedge again. But the muffler fell off again and the swivel handle is very loose. I sealed the thread holes. taped new threads and used thread lock but the vibration is just too much. I'm off to the store to try something else. But hey, I cut my hedge 28 times for less than $10 per cut.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buckthorn Champ

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I cut the buckthorn from my 1.4 acre lot and thousands of shoots came back. I had no idea how to get rid of them, but by the time they were all almost an inch in diameter I decided to try this hedge trimmer. It is a champ. Once a year I wack the buckthorns and I now have cherry, elm, hickory, oak and ash that are able to grow because I keep the buckthorn down. I recommend this hedge trimmer to anyone who hates buckthorn the way I do and wants to literally mow it down. There is literally no one who had given this hedge trimmer the abuse I have.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Phildelphia, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hedge Trimmer

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hedge trimmer cut good but it keeps cutting off . It will not run idle and after use its hard to restart
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First time user

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Came assembled. Came with oil for gas with ethanol.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from NoVA

Cheap/Poorly Made

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this Ryobi gas trimmer about 8-10 times. I was always struck by how incredibly loud it is. Grabbed my earplugs and prepared to use it this morning. I was amazed to find the gas line going into the gas chamber had broken off. This unit is well stored and has its own home on a shelf. Upon further inspection, the gas tube is a thin and soft plastic into the plastic gas chamber... Wow, why would they use such cheap pieces and then expose them so they are pretty easy to hit/break/snag... Take a close look for yourself at the connection before you buy... I will buy another gas unit, but not this one...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, very loud
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy carb fix

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box it was hard starting and restarting. But, after looking up on a couple of user forums I found a fix. Take a hacksaw to the jet adjusters so you can tune them with a screw driver. Now it works like a champ. Even starts on 3-4 pulls after sitting in the barn for the winter. Only one pull after it's been run.
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine
Cons: Heavy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Dickson City, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Price, I think there is Better.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Gas trimmer & I've also had many electric & one cordless trimmer. I am a BIG Ryobi fan as I have most of their hand Power tools & love them all. Ryobi is usually more affordable & WELL BUILT. This gas trimmer just seems VERY loud (def. wear ear phones/plugs), heavy (if your doing a lot it's like using a chainsaw!) yet has plenty of power for all kinds of bushes & hedges. Its not the trimmer you want if you only have small stuff to trim up. I'd def go w. the Cordless (battery) there (I have the Ryobi too). The older Poula'ns Gas trimmer I owned seemed lighter, faster (blades moving) & quieter. I'm usually not too picky w. these kinds of tools but this tool I do not like.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Apex, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The engine blew after less than 10 hours use

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this trimmer for less than 3 years with very little use. Never had the starting issues others mentioned, but always ran the the tank dry before storing it. I was using it yesterday and the engine quit. I pulled the cord and nothing but a bunch of loud rattling inside. I took the plug off and can see the piston is not moving when I pull. I suspect a broken connecting rod, but after reading the other disappointing reviews, I'm not even interested in taking it apart. I salvaged the spark plug and primer bulb, then threw the rest in the trash. I've been using the same gas as for my Echo blower and Stihl chainsaw, so it's not a fuel mix/lubrication problem. Just went to Home Depot and bought an Echo HC-150 on somebody else's recommendation. It has much better reviews too. While there, I noticed that they don't carry this Ryobi model anymore. Coincidence?
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Charlton MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not purchase this trimmer

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No air cleaner or filter? You have to be kidding. Hedge trimmers work in a dusty chip and leaf filled environment and without a filter the carb needs to be disassembled and cleaned on a regular basis or the thing won't start. Even with synthetic $8 a pint fuel the trimmer is not an easy start. If you need one for occasional use rent it, if you use it weekly buy a Red Max
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Phoenix Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HARD TO START

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trimmer will not start after trying time after time. Bad carburetor.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

junk

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please save yourself the aggrevation and do not buy.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from 70586

JUNK... do not buy

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to start, fuel lines disintegrates with gas and fuel primer bulb cracks and leaks. They do sell replacement lines and bulbs.. but they are made of the same cheap plastic that can't handle gasoline. Is built cheap ... spend a few dollars more and buy something better made
Pros: nothing
Cons: Not Durable, inferior construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from York, SC

If only it would start!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst purchase ever! Took at least 30 pulls before it started right out of the box. Can't even start it for the second time just two weeks after the first use. Really, just an expensive piece of junk!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, won't start
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

It's a Ryobi, it will need to be tuned after a few uses but it will last.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'll start out by saying I own multiple Ryobi 2 stroke engine based devices. Because of this I am accustomed to the product. They are inexpensive and can be surprisingly reliable. It's important to mention they need to be serviced but if done so, they will work very well. As with my other Ryobi's, this fell out of tune. It would die instead of idle. As with my others, I simply used a hacksaw and tapped the tuning screws and adjusted the high and low screws to a point where it became easy to work with again. People say Echo is the way to go but if you're inexperienced the brand won't help. My first trimmer was an echo but I didn't take care of it and it died. I decided to go cheap the second time. It has worked out since I've been able to get a complete collection of 2 stroke based devices instead of 1 or 2 really good ones. Unfortunately Ryobi gas tanks tend to leak like other cheapies do. Just be sure to dump the unused gas out when you're finished. It'll save your lines anyway.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: loud, needs tuning after a while
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Odessa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this is a piece of junk

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is my third hedge trimmer. Keep buying them because I have the attachments. I had one repaired and now it still doesn't work. It's replacement now too doesn't work. The vibration causes the spark plug connector to fall off despite many attempts to keep it tightened. This newest one I bought has lasted less than a year. It just died. Now I have two pieces of junk and a numerous attachments which are useless. This product is cheaply made and cannot take heavy use. It's carburetor is cheap and you will have problems trying to start. Save your money and invest in a better made product.
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Typical Ryobi Quality

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had great luck with Ryobi 2 cycle equipment, but this product is an exception. Needed new fuel tank and yearly carb attention. It is also extremely loud. Strongly recommend going with other hedge trimmer options
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Medina Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so good carburator

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This trimmer is awesome to use. Much easier on your arms then other trimmer because of the handle being able to swivel. I bought this unit last year, late season, used it once, this spring it wouldn't start. I cleaned the carb, new spark plug, still not starting. Ended up taking back to Home Depot and had it serviced, $70 later for a new carb, because the carburetor isn't included in the warranty. Haven't had any problems with it since.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: disposable carburator
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Wilton, CT

Junk

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the other reviews for starting, fuel starving issues.I experienced the same thing. Today, when using the tilt handle the unit stopped as black oil/fuel began leaking from the head.
The unit is in it's third season. I trim 2-3 days per season and store the unit using a fuel stabilizer in a heated basement.
Why I bought a Ryobi was foolish as I have owned their grass trimmers and had nothing but problems. Fool me once.
Ryobi is junk.
Echo is the best.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

This items is poorly built

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the trimmer and it took a while to get it started. I had to pull on it 20 times and this was when it was rite out the box. I used it for times and always took well care of it now it doesn't wanna start and when it does it shuts rite off. It should be illegal to sel such poor quality tools .Don't buy this unit purchase a stihl trimmer for 100 bucks more and you will save a lot of time and headaches.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>