728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

The Ryobi 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer features a 26 cc 2-Cycle engine and hardened steel, precision ground blades that can deliver professional-grade results. This gas hedge trimmer also features StartEasy starting system that provides fast, easy starts. The hedge trimmer also features a multi-position, rear handle design for convenience.
Overall rating:
2.316 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product19 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(30)
Features 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product19 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Odessa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this is a piece of junk

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is my third hedge trimmer. Keep buying them because I have the attachments. I had one repaired and now it still doesn't work. It's replacement now too doesn't work. The vibration causes the spark plug connector to fall off despite many attempts to keep it tightened. This newest one I bought has lasted less than a year. It just died. Now I have two pieces of junk and a numerous attachments which are useless. This product is cheaply made and cannot take heavy use. It's carburetor is cheap and you will have problems trying to start. Save your money and invest in a better made product.
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from charlotte, nc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice trimmer

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My model # on the manual is different than the one on your web site., my manual gives the # as ry39506, the web page gives the # as ry39505 ?? The trimmer works well, Holding the trigger & acceleration leaver is not good for a small hand, The pull cord is in a awkward position to pull, to start the trimmer. and as they direction say to start put your foot into the handle and then pull the cord, you would need a awful small foot to fit in the handle.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, products seems to be of a good qualty
Cons: pull cord in awkward place, trigger & accelerator to far apart, handle is to small for foot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from York, SC

If only it would start!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst purchase ever! Took at least 30 pulls before it started right out of the box. Can't even start it for the second time just two weeks after the first use. Really, just an expensive piece of junk!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, won't start
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Charlton MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not purchase this trimmer

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No air cleaner or filter? You have to be kidding. Hedge trimmers work in a dusty chip and leaf filled environment and without a filter the carb needs to be disassembled and cleaned on a regular basis or the thing won't start. Even with synthetic $8 a pint fuel the trimmer is not an easy start. If you need one for occasional use rent it, if you use it weekly buy a Red Max
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Mansfield MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Premature Engine failure

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hedge trimmer ran fine for the first hour after another 15 mins the performance deteriorated and the engine cut out after trying to start it would not pull over appears to have seized solid, took it back and manager replaced without question. I took it home used a completely different gas and oil mix to be safe only to have the same problem happen. Appears to a manufacturing issues with the 2 units I had as they are from same date code
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, premature engine failure
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY THIS GARBAGE

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it 7 times and the engine locked up. Ryobi customer service told me to take to Home Depot since they are an authorized repair center. 5 weeks later Home Depot calls and tells me that it is my fault since it wasn't lubricated correctly!
I used the correct gas to oil mix for all 7 times I used it.
I call Ryobi and they said if HD said you broke it then it is on you.
I will NEVER by a Ryobi product again.
Cons: Not Durable, no customer service
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gift worth giving

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gave as a present - but works very good-new owner enjoys using this tool
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from NoVA

Cheap/Poorly Made

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this Ryobi gas trimmer about 8-10 times. I was always struck by how incredibly loud it is. Grabbed my earplugs and prepared to use it this morning. I was amazed to find the gas line going into the gas chamber had broken off. This unit is well stored and has its own home on a shelf. Upon further inspection, the gas tube is a thin and soft plastic into the plastic gas chamber... Wow, why would they use such cheap pieces and then expose them so they are pretty easy to hit/break/snag... Take a close look for yourself at the connection before you buy... I will buy another gas unit, but not this one...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, very loud
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Dickson City, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the Price, I think there is Better.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Gas trimmer & I've also had many electric & one cordless trimmer. I am a BIG Ryobi fan as I have most of their hand Power tools & love them all. Ryobi is usually more affordable & WELL BUILT. This gas trimmer just seems VERY loud (def. wear ear phones/plugs), heavy (if your doing a lot it's like using a chainsaw!) yet has plenty of power for all kinds of bushes & hedges. Its not the trimmer you want if you only have small stuff to trim up. I'd def go w. the Cordless (battery) there (I have the Ryobi too). The older Poula'ns Gas trimmer I owned seemed lighter, faster (blades moving) & quieter. I'm usually not too picky w. these kinds of tools but this tool I do not like.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hedgetrimmer

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
trimmer was fully assembled. It required 50 to one gas, and I had to buy additional gas, and gas can as every thing else I had required 32 to 1.
I was surprized to find the same product cheaper through Amazon.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

It's a Ryobi, it will need to be tuned after a few uses but it will last.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'll start out by saying I own multiple Ryobi 2 stroke engine based devices. Because of this I am accustomed to the product. They are inexpensive and can be surprisingly reliable. It's important to mention they need to be serviced but if done so, they will work very well. As with my other Ryobi's, this fell out of tune. It would die instead of idle. As with my others, I simply used a hacksaw and tapped the tuning screws and adjusted the high and low screws to a point where it became easy to work with again. People say Echo is the way to go but if you're inexperienced the brand won't help. My first trimmer was an echo but I didn't take care of it and it died. I decided to go cheap the second time. It has worked out since I've been able to get a complete collection of 2 stroke based devices instead of 1 or 2 really good ones. Unfortunately Ryobi gas tanks tend to leak like other cheapies do. Just be sure to dump the unused gas out when you're finished. It'll save your lines anyway.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: loud, needs tuning after a while
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Medina Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so good carburator

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This trimmer is awesome to use. Much easier on your arms then other trimmer because of the handle being able to swivel. I bought this unit last year, late season, used it once, this spring it wouldn't start. I cleaned the carb, new spark plug, still not starting. Ended up taking back to Home Depot and had it serviced, $70 later for a new carb, because the carburetor isn't included in the warranty. Haven't had any problems with it since.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: disposable carburator
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Seminole Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very hard stARTING, WHEN IT RUNS IT CUTS WELL BUT STOPS AFTER 20 MINUTES AND THEN IMPOSSIBLE TO RESTART.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Ryobi gas powered tools are Junk, buyers beware

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this since I wanted a gas powered trimmer for less than $200. I experienced most of the issues mentioned in other reviews: Loud noise, hard to start, worked well for the first few times, cheap built, gas tank supply line broke... This product is junk, spend more and get Echo or even better, a Stihl.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Westerville, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, I bought three of these because I kept exchanging them when they broke. I would have switched brands after the second one broke but HD only sold this piece of garbage as a gas trimmer. The first one took at least 35 pulls to start each time, then after attempting to start it for the fourth time the pull cord broke free inside the hedge trimmer. It only had 30 minutes run time. The second hedge trimmer lasted 20 minutes before the engine seized while attempting to restart it. It made a clicking sound the entire time it ran before dying. The lifespan of the third trimmer was 45 minutes, not continuous, but three separate days. This engine also seized while attempting to restart it. Home Depot was helpful, as always, and allowed me to return them without a box or original receipt. However, Ryobi customer service could not have cared less. Those were the first, second, third AND LAST Ryobi tools I will ever own.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Palm Harbor, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst hedge trimmer

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used one time on a hedge between homes. Shut off hedge trimmer and could not restart. I had to finish the job with my old electric hedge trimmer. Ryobi would not honor the warranty stating poor gas/oil ratios. Not so, most of my power equipment is 2 cycle so I do know how to mix gas/oil. Wife is an employee at Home Depot so good luck to her selling this item that is no longer in most stores!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor engine
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Nightmare to start!!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
That about sums it up. Once I (FINALLY, and with a LOT of 4-letter words!) did get it started it worked "ok" - but this unit is very heavy and "all or nothing" with regard to speed. VERY unimpressed! Will be taking it back tomorrow.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

This items is poorly built

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the trimmer and it took a while to get it started. I had to pull on it 20 times and this was when it was rite out the box. I used it for times and always took well care of it now it doesn't wanna start and when it does it shuts rite off. It should be illegal to sel such poor quality tools .Don't buy this unit purchase a stihl trimmer for 100 bucks more and you will save a lot of time and headaches.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Wilton, CT

Junk

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read the other reviews for starting, fuel starving issues.I experienced the same thing. Today, when using the tilt handle the unit stopped as black oil/fuel began leaking from the head.
The unit is in it's third season. I trim 2-3 days per season and store the unit using a fuel stabilizer in a heated basement.
Why I bought a Ryobi was foolish as I have owned their grass trimmers and had nothing but problems. Fool me once.
Ryobi is junk.
Echo is the best.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 26 cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is poor. It doesn't last.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product as a professional lawn and landscape maintenance. I do not use it often but after 2 or 3 years since I purchase it the ignition module burnt out. I tried to get to the ignition module but I guess I need a special tool. If I have to take it into a shop to get it fix I might as well buy a new one. I won't buy this product though.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>