728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer

This Ryobi 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer features the TrimmerPowerful 2-cycle, low-emission engine with 12-volt electric touch start. The extended, straight shaft makes it easy to trim under obstacles and provides great reach. The overmolded throttle handle and ergonomic front handle provide added comfort for the user.
Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product21 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(5)
75%of customersrecommend this product21 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
Review 21 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
RJMORGAN
from CACHE, OK

Ryobi Gas Trimer/electric starter

PostedMay 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAD TO RETIRE MY McCULLOUGH STRING TRIMMER AFTER 16 YEARS AND I HOPE THE RYOBI WILL BE AROUND FOR YEARS TO COME. I WENT WITH THIS LINE FOR THE AFFORDABLE PRICE AND THE CONCEPT OF MULTIBLE TOOLS IN ONE. SO FAR I HAVE PURCHASED THE PRUNNER AND HEADGER AND HAVE OWNED THE SET UP FOR ONE MONTH. I HAVE A CORNER LOT WITH 8 TREES AND 25 BUSHES, HEADGES, ETC. ALL OF THE RYOBI PRODUCTS ARE BUILT TOUGH AND HAVE PERFORMED GREAT. THE TRIMMER WEIGHS 12+LBS HOWEVER WHEN YOUR USING THE HEAVY DUTY ATTACHMENTS YOU WILL APPRECIATE THE WEIGHT AND FEEL OF THE MOTOR BEHIND THE ATTACHMENTS. I COULD NOT IMAGINE A LIGHT WEIGHT MOTOR TRYING TO RUN A TILLER? I DO LIKE THE ELECTRIC STARTER AND THE SET UP SO FAR HAS MADE YARD WORK MORE ENJOYABLE AND MUCH FASTER AND EASIER.
I WISH I COULD SAY I HAD THE UNIT FOR 7 YEARS BUT I WILL HAVE TO GET BACK TO YOU ON THAT ONE.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
TulsaCH
from Tulsa, ok

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this trimmer last weekend because my old Ryobi Trimmer was stolen after nearly 5 years of hard use. The Electric start on this one is NICE! It makes starting it so much easier. No more pulling and pulling and pulling. Just charge the battery, plug it in and press start!. The only thing I don't like is that the fuel capacity seems to be less than my old one. I think the fuel tank was made smaller to compensate for the added weight of the battery. the newer line feed is nice too. Just get a 25' length of trimmer line, feed it through the head like threading a needle, make sure you have even lengths on both sides, turn the knob and DONE! No more having to hold the spooled line in place while you try to put the spools back into the head. Much easier to use over all.
Just make sure you have your fuel near by, it runs out quicker than the old ones.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
dontknow
from Batavia, NY

Ryobi 2 cycle electric start

PostedMay 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor performance. I got this unit for the starting system and the different attachments and I could not keep pull starting.
I had to replace the first 3 because of fuel leaks. Number 4 I had to switch fuel caps with an older model to stop the leak as Home Depot had no more to swap out.
If cold it will start and sometimes run well enough to do a small job. Likes to vapor lock and will not start or run until cold again.
Fuel tank pressurizes so that when opening to refuel gas spays everywhere.
Now the electric starting system has quit altogether quite suddenly. I stopped roto tilling to refuel and that was that and pull starting is a joke, I recharged the battery and checked it with voltmeter so I know it is not the battery.
So overall I would have to say this thing, while it is a great idea, it needs to be built by someone who knows how.
Think long before buying this one.
I am going to try the TroyBilt.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
Anonymous
from Spanish Fork, UT

Buyer beware - this is garbage!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 10 years of using a $79 Weedeater and literally using it to death, it was time to upgrade. Spoke with the folks at my local Home Depot and they recommended the 18" straight shaft Ryobi with dual-line head. I was excited about my new purchase and proceeded to put it through the paces. The problems started immediately.
#1. Took at least 20 pulls to start and has continued to take that many pulls for the entire time I have owned it.
#2. This thing eats through line like it's candy. That is when the line feed actually works.
#3. The line feed mechanism is not so much tap and go, rather, hammer it on the ground and hope that it expels some more line. My old weedeater was a much better design.
#4. Winding the line back onto the reel is an extreme exercise in patience. It's flat out flawed.
My advice, keep your old working weedeaters around as you will surely be taking this piece of garbage back for a refund. Horrible design on feed spool, agonizingly painful to start and poorly made.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
TellMeAJoke
from Texas

How Amazing!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My lawn tractor appreciates it to. This is the first time I didn't have to wear out the forward and reverse on my tractor trying to get everything I could because I can never get the weed eater to start. This one started right up. I was not worn out when it did start. I live on about an acre. I got everything done fast. This little trimmer does a great job. It will take down just about anything you aim it at. I did go back with my weed attachment to knock out about 10 weeds that were too big and a few little trees that sprang up. I used the wonderful blower that is also amazing. I didn't think it would have enough power. It has power to spare. It took less than 20 minutes to clean my driveway, walks and patio. Then clean both my neighbors drive ways because my tractor is messy. This touch start is the greatest enabler. I did all the things I wanted to do. Restarted it about 12 times switching back and forth attachments between the front and back yard. I am a fairly small lady in my 50's. This is the best purchase I have ever made. Thank you Ryobi and Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
Anonymous
from Lajas, Puerto Rico

Gas, Straight Shaft, 18 In. Cut Width, Trimmer

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome Product
Really easy to start, as long as you follow the instructions carefully remember to prime 7 times before start up and use Ryobi 2 cycle oil, the only thing is I wouldn’t recommend it to someone whose not used to carrying heavy trimmers this one weights 15 pounds but in the box there’s a shoulder strap to take care of that, when I first got it was to replace my cs30 that was abused constantly for about 4 years or more great buy I was looking for a 30 cc trimmer and this one comes with a starter which it’s a plus in my opinion, great power on the engine a little loud but hey! It’s powerful. I would suggest buying a thicker cable since the thicker the stronger in my opinion, everything comes in the box ready to use, from oil to replacement parts list. If you like more power more efficient tools despite of the weight you’ll love this trimmer! For the price it’s even better.
Note: don’t try using other brands 2 cycle oils you’ll be in a lot of trouble the trimmer engine can break down.
P.S In Puerto Rico grass is no joke! And this trimmer does a great job
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
vrrroooom
from Connecticut

Great At First

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought the last years model (17" cut) in June 2010 after trying a 4 cycle Ryobi that just didn't have enough power to do the tough jobs.
This 2 cycle had lots of power and really handled the tough grass and weeds with ease. The electric start was, well, amazing. After years of having Weed-eaters that took forever to get started, this was just too good to be true. Push the button and VROOOM.
Well, as it turned out, it was too good to be true and the unit only lasted through about two gallons of gas. It began to become difficult to start and keep running. Then the engine began making some very unusual noises...rod bearing most likely.
In fairness to the unit, I did not use the Ryobi oil and probably did not give it enough break in before going full at tilt at those darn weeds.
A side note also, the unit is heavy but managable with the should strap. Too bad the strap is sub par and the D ring constantly seperates under the weight forcing you to cary a pair of pliers for repair.
Thus the 2 stars...but I did like the unit so much when it worked properly I am giving it another try. I returned the bad last years unit and will be trying the 18". This time I'll use the Ryobi oil and give it a better break in before heavy use and report back.
Hope this review helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18 in. 30 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer
alphielo
from Quebec

are you kidding me?

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I signed up on this website just to leave this review and hopefully help someone else avoid this disappointment. Let me say this is not my first string trimmer or my first Ryobi.
This trimmer was a disaster from the minute I took it out of the box. Plastic wings nuts to assemble the handle? Come on. After assembly and about twenty pulls it started... and ran for about five minutes before dying and needing another twenty pulls to start again. This happened five times in 30 minutes.
The so-called "Reel Easy" string head is the most ridiculous piece of design engineering I have ever seen. Complicated to remove and nearly impossible to reinstall. And you will need to reinstall it many times as mine fell off 3 times. Curiously, the manual contains no instructions on how to load it or install it. I can only assume this is because the folks at Ryobi don't know how to do it either. The "Pro-cut II" head worked adequately, but wastes a considerable amount of line with each replacement.
No matter how you hold it you will be brutally pelted with everything in its path. If you like that "sand-blasted" look to your skin, this thing is great.
I will say this trimmer has power and lots of it. But that power comes at about 200 decibels and after 20 minutes my ears were ringing. It also weighs in around 15 pounds, so you had best be in top condition before starting. A back brace would be a good added accessory for this thing.
Save your money, your back, your hearing and your sanity and keep looking.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2