728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

The Gila 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film will allow you to reflect up to 72% of the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling costs. This film blocks up to 99% of UV rays to prevent your furniture and decorations from fading.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product133 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(93)
4
(43)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product133 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Review 21 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Spokane

Gila Window Tint

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm sorry that I spend money on this product. It dosen't cut very easily, so cutting the film to the size of a window is difficult. The reflective film comes way with the tape used to seperate it from the clear protective film film. Also the reflective film sticks together very eaily, making it difficult to place on window or seperate from the clear protective film.
I read the intructions and watched many instructive videos on installing the product. Needless to say, either worked the way it said it would. The film would peel away from the window or stick to it self making it impossbile to seperate or place on the window. Not to mention that the window wouldn't stay wet with the spray solution for very long, so even working in small sections wasn't very feasible.
I would recommend that more than two people work on using the product, if you buy it and only use it on very small windows, not large or standard size windows. I'm just sorry that I spend over a $100.00 on the product and will most likely go to a professional company to tint my windows.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from NYC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Window Solar Film - Installing A PAIN but seems to work

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Post installation, I do feel the window film is helpful.
The installation is a CHALLENGE. The earlier posted comments recommending a 2nd set of hands is strongly advised. Also follow the instructions related to the spray and how to peel off the protective covering.
Hard to spray the exposed side while removing the protective cover to adhere [2nd set of hands would make it so much easier]. Also this is like working with the most difficult cling wrapping film you have. Did one part of my window a 2nd time only to yet again fail to keep the film from crinkling or getting bubbles. As it is in the upper portion of the window and my blinds are below that, I just gave up.
If price of the peel-off product was comparable and came in larger quantity--that would make things far simpler. At least I hope!
Using this must be better than NOTHING so if you want to reduce the effects of strong sun heating up your room, give this a try. Just ensure you have that 2nd set of hands and plenty of the spray recommended.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Corona, CA

Huge waste of money

PostedMay 10, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this Film along with the 48" kit and the application kit. My wife and I watched the application videos online, read the instructions completely , and followed them exactly. The first window I tried to do myself which I would not recommend, I ended up wasting 3 feet of film. The second time with some help we got the film on and started to use the edge cutter and it made horrible scratches on the film. The third (and final) attempt was on the 48" sliding glass door. The instructions tell you to spray the clear liner as it is being pulled away from the adhesive side. Well we sprayed the thing like crazy and as soon as the last bit of liner was off it curled onto itself and could not be removed. Half of roll was wasted and considering I would have to buy another 48" roll to finish the other door, I just threw it all away. As a contractor, I do most of my home improvement projects myself and this was one of the worst products I have used. I would stay away from this one.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product on a number of windows with great results. I learned how to put this film up much more easily than the instructions. Measure the window to be covered and subtract 1/2" from length and width. Roll the film out on a carpet. Then measure the size of the film you will need - remember to subtract the 1/2". Then follow instructions to apply. There is no such thing as too much spray. I found this easier, much faster and a better finished product than triming once in place. Less frustrating and better finish. Be sure to use a very sharp blade to cut the film and use a straight edge as a guide.
It worked immediately. About 2 blocks from my low rise building is a high rise with a solid white side facing my building. The glare from that building was unbearable and I had to keep window coverings closed most of the day. This film reflected this glare and rarely close the window coverings. I am truly able to enjoy the views from my apartment.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Absolute DIY nightmare

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are planning on installing this yourself, you can watch all the videos you want, but you will still be frustrated and your results will not be what you expected. This product is totally unforgiving. It creases easy, tears, and scratches very easy. It is hard to cut and dulls your knife blade after a few feet. It is also very hard get the product to lie flat. No matter what I do it always wants to roll up. This is a problem when you install it, the edges will want to curl. This product also makes it near impossible to see out the window at night from inside unless it is dark in the room and there is some light outside. I gave the product 1 extra star because if you manage to get it on the windows and don't mind the sloppy look it will have, and don't mind not being able to check out the window to see what that noise you heard outside was at night, the product will help keep some heat out house. I say about 5-10 degrees heat reduction in a room.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Dublin, CA

4-1/2 STARS!

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
"Does it cool down the room - yes.
Does it darken the room a bit - yes.
Can you see clearly through the window during the day - yes.
Can you see through the window at night - no, it is reflective.
Was it easy to apply - yes.
Buy the installation kit. Watch the online tutorial video. Practice on one window and be patient. Another pair of hands is helpful when separating the window film from its protective film - the clear tape tip works great in separating the two films from each other. Use the application spray very generously - it will prevent bubbles and creases. Let it mature for 24 hours and you are done.
I'de give it 5 starts but I didn't expect it being too reflective at night. So reflective that I can't see through the window unless I placed my forehead on the glass. It is fine though, I can live with it, just didn't expect it.
All in all, it was a good investment. I will be applying it on the rest of my windows that face the sun."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Central Valley, California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tricky application but does the job.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this to try out on some East facing windows that get intense morning sun and glare. The application is a bit of a challenge, particularly cutting off the excess material once the film is applied to the window. It is even more challenging if you do it by yourself (which I did) without an extra pair of hands. The most helpful trick I learned from reading reviews on other sites is to hang cloths pins along the bottom edge of the workpiece to keep it from folding or rolling in on itself during the application. Also, use lots and lots of water and keep that spray bottle handy as you are applying the film. The video at the Gila website is helpful but there are tips and tricks from DIYers on the web that are even more helpful. So google around before you tackle this project.
Once it is up, it is great stuff. Does exactly what the product description says. We are buying more to do so west facing windows. Highly recommended.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have done this sooner

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a large sliding glass door (8 x 6) in our kitchen/breakfast area. The door faces east, so we get the morning and early afternoon sun; needless to say that room get extremely hot in the summer months even with drapes.
It took four of us to apply the film since they were such large sheets. One on a ladder, two removing the film and one spraying the solution. The hardest part was the trimming and getting the edges to seal. It took a couple of hours to do the whole job. I would recommend watching the How To video on Gila's website; that helped out immensely. We also purchased the application kit. The spray makes a big mess since you have to use so much of it. I would put down plastic if you are going to use this in a room with carpet.
I wish that we had done this a long time ago. We can really tell a difference in the temperature of the room. I would recommend this product; you have to have alot of patience though.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

I love this window film!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a top-floor condo and we need all the help we can get it when it comes to reducing our summer cooling costs, so when I saw this film I decided to try it out. We only bought a roll to start and as soon as my husband went to install it we could tell the difference. The light is obviously diffused and cooler with the film. I also love the silvery, reflective look of our windows with the film on. It gives our whole home an updated and modern look from the outside. And it makes it hard for other people to see in during daylight hours which gives me an added sense of privacy. With the addition of two more rolls to cover the rest of our windows I definitely think we're having an easier time keeping the temperatures regulated in our home now. Hopefully our next bill will reflect the changes. I think over time this film ends up paying for itself in the savings from the energy bill and I would recommend it to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Beaverton, OR

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in a rental with single pane windows. It got super hot over a weekend so we decided to give this a try. Yes, it will be very mirror like at night but I can live with that. Definitely purchase the kit as it contains everything you need. The first window my Husband and I did together, it was super easy. Spray the window, spray the film once clear film has been removed, place on window, spray film on again, smooth out, cut, done deal. After this, did all the other windows by myself. It took me about 15 minutes or so per window. Clean window with a vinegar/water solution, measure window, cut film, remove clear film, spray window, apply film, lightly spray film (for traction purposes), smooth out, cut, done. I saved a lot of the solution by not spraying both sides of the film. There is a lot of film waste but if you have a window that is not exposed to the public, use the wasted film and tape that window up. :
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gila Window Film installation

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was cussing so much installing it on the first window. (I'm a perfectionist, I take pride in my work). Get a razor blade and do a quick run over the class to free it from paint or things that might be stuck on it after you clean the window. I learned that if you hear a high pitch noise when you're using the squeegee to get out the bubbles, than its too dry. USE a lot of solution spray on the window and then on the film (separate film on table and spray on that), don't worry you wont run out. slowly touch the Gila window film to the window and it'll stick like there's static. You'll see it and think "yea that's nice!". Trim away excess film around slowly and then lightly squeegee out the water underneath. Dab with a cloth or towel to get excess solution from window and done! It took me prob 20 min's on my second window 36'' x 70''. You can do this!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It takes practice

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this about two months ago. Did a couple of windows and got really frustrated. The stuff stuck together and ended up making for kind of a messy install. That said, it worked as promised--blocking some light and a lot of heat.
Just decided to try again as I have a bunch of foil and a lot of windows left to do. Decided to take the advice of another poster--KEEP THE STUFF WET WITH THE SOLUTION AS YOU PEEL BACK THE PLASTIC!
Made all the difference. It didn't bind to itself. It was far more "positionable" on the window after I applied it. And I didn't get nearly as many bubbles or other imperfections. It yielded a very respectable--though not professional job.
Well worth it for the price. Make sure you keep it wet. And don't expect a professional install and you will probably be very satisfied.
For thirty bucks, you got to give it a shot.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Yonkers, NY

Good After the first attempt

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This window film is great once you get a grip of it. First, please note that the window film is the tinted or darker film and the cover that should be removed and discarded is the CLEAR film. I made the mistake of discarding a big piece of the tinted film on my first attempt. The clear film also clings to the window so there is no way of telling the difference.
Once I was able to get it right, the heat control film is great on the windows. It reflects the heat and no one can see through it during the day. I need to check the view at night. Overall it is good. And you do need another person to help with holding it so that it does not cling together (which it easily does) while applying it on to the window. And lastly, measuring and cutting is easy. I prepared my own application solution using baby shampoo and water. And it worked okay.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Gastonia, NC

Works great!

PostedJune 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We decided to purchase the Titanium Heat Control Film. Our bedroom gets sun most of the day and it stays warm in there all day. So far this product has worked great. It was very tricky to install but anyone with a brain can figure it out. One thing I would suggest is to remove the window locks before putting the film on the window panes. It makes cutting much more simple. We didn't do this and we messed up the film by getting too much. It wasn't a huge deal...we had plenty to finish our windows. We found that a 3ft x 15ft roll will do approx. 3 windows (6 panes). Our windows are standard size (around 31" x 28"). It will take time to apply so make sure you have enough time to finish before you start. It took 3-4 hours to do all of them. My wife and I are perfectionist's so it took a lot longer. Once we did 2 panes, we got on a roll.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Works well, a bit of a pain to install

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Picked this up at my local Home Depot store. I spent about 3 hours to install on three double-hung windows, after the first window I figured out the process.
As others have said, make sure your windows are totally spotless before you even think about applying this. I used Windex, and then rinsed the window and went over it with the application solution.
I was able to install the product by myself, but I agree with other reviewers who have said that the application would be easier with a second person.
Overall, very happy with it. From what I have observed so far, there is a definite decrease in temperature for the room. It does make the windows a bit reflective at night, but the tradeoff is completely worth it. Hopefully this will help my poor AC unit keep up with the upstairs of my house.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
41out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lowered temperature where we needed it.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our daughter's room, in the summer, gets hot. In the winter it get cold. We still have to solve that one. We did the window treatment and it dropped the temp by 4 degrees. That is just want we needed.
From inside the room, looking out through the window, after treatment, it kind of looks like your looking through a pair of sunglasses. To make the home not appear to be out of balance I completed the other windows which faced the west. Standing outside it looks great.
If you cut the film, using a straight edge and you can make it go a long way. I still have some left.
Good buy. Several uses for this type of product. I'm thinking, "shower door that get mineral build up". Easy fix now. I'm going to apply this and peel it off and reapply when needed.
Inexpensive fix and worth the try everyone.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, #doesn'tbreakthebank
Cons: best to have two people but not necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Folsom, CA

Great 1st Install

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also bought the kit that had the squeegee, a razor & a corner tool to supposedly assist in trimming but only the squeegee was handy.
I used a drop or two of Dawn dish washing liquid in a standard sized spray bottle (I went through 2 bottles doing the half dome window atop my sliding glass door), my own break-off tip razor, and a plastic 12" ruler for an edge cutting guide for the straights and made it into a 6" for the top curved edge. Keeping the window and film cool and drenched before installing and keeping the surface drenched while using the squeegee made it an easy job.
From the kit I found the razor's break-off points so tough it broke in the middle of a blade instead and the corner tool's trim guide cut the edge way too far from the actual edge of the window.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Raleigh, NC

Stay away from this product

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After getting some quotes from professional, I thought I might 'try' to install window tinting myself. I know the difficulty and was not expecting perfect results, and after reading the positive reviews of this product. I went for it. Big mistake. The application kit is a complete joke, and the film itself is extremely difficult to handle, even with a helper. I followed the directions diligently, and had creases that looked like broken glass, and edges that curled and would not adhere. I wound-up giving-up after the second window & pulling everything off. If you are seeking very mediocre results and have the patience of a saint, then this product may be for you. If not ,save yourself a lot of grief and look at other alternatives or pay to have this done professionally.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from virginia beach, va

tricky start, easy finish

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
so i read some reviews on how to do this and it was a big help.
the first piece we did was a bit of a mess but on a window that wont be seen to much. but the rest was easy and only took about 10 minutes per window pane.
we cut the pieces to size with a small overlap, peeled the clear backing off.
sprayed a soapy solution on the window and sticky side of the material, and placed it on the window.
we sprayed again on the outside so the squeegee would slide easy and worked from the middle out.
the tricky part was trimming the edge. it is well worth getting a ruler or straight edge for this.
more importantly, leave a 1/16 gap between the edge of the window frame and the material so the excess water solution can escape.
like i said it was easy after the first try.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Where have you been all my overheated life??!!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this stuff on a recommendation from my sister. While a little tricky to apply at first, once we got the hang of it it went up very easily. The application "tool set" that is sold separately is unfortunate. The scraper tool is perfect with nice sharp corners, but the cutter and wetting solution were less that adequate. An exacto knife with snap off blade sections is a must. We also mixed our own wetting solution with Palmolive clear dish liquid and water. It was amazing how many fewer air bubbles we got with that and how easy it was to work them out. Even with the endless heat wave in the Northeast, I estimate that it is a good 10 degrees cooler in our south facing bedrooms with this on the windows. A/C runs less and we sleep much better in cooler rooms. YAY!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>