728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

The Gila 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film will allow you to reflect up to 72% of the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling costs. This film blocks up to 99% of UV rays to prevent your furniture and decorations from fading.
Overall rating:
4.062 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product113 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 145 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(79)
4
(38)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product113 of 138reviews
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Review 41 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from New Castle, DE

Excellent Product!

PostedJune 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the Titanium Heat Control Window Film to cover our windows because we get the sun all day long on the front portion of our house. We first bought the mirror film that we put on our patio door for privacy. The kit that is suggested works great, but we ran out of the solution so we made our own, dish detergent and water which works better.
A suggestion, remove the film completely from the backing first. Spray the soluton on the film and the window and then again on the film when the film is on the window this make removing the bubbles easier.
We noticed a big difference in the amount of heat that's not allowed to enter the room using this product. It is well worth the time and money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Born in New York. Own a home in Florida.

Titanium Heat Control Window Film

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Back in October of 2010, I called on a Teco Electric specialist to inspect and advise how I could save money and energy. I was advised to tint the windows of my home that face East and West. Went to Home Depot, where everyone is so hospitable as well as knowledgible. Chris attended me and recommeded that GILA was a great product. He advised me what other tools I needed and further advised me how to apply. It was tedious but easy to apply. Even mistakes were easy to correct. I was well informed and pleased with the results. My bills have reduced by a third and the house stays cooler without using as much energy. Thanks Home DEPOT and Teco Electric for making me a happy customer.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a relief from the sun!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a difference it was as soon as the Gila film was applied. It wasn't hard to put up at all; just be sure to read everyone's comments, the directions in the roll of film, and watch the video showing how it's done. Now that I realize how much more comfortable the house can be, I'm planning to order more for other windows. While the inside of the window appears silvery reflective at night (making it hard to see outside), people can easily see into your house when your lights are on.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Where have you been all my overheated life??!!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stuff on a recommendation from my sister. While a little tricky to apply at first, once we got the hang of it it went up very easily. The application "tool set" that is sold separately is unfortunate. The scraper tool is perfect with nice sharp corners, but the cutter and wetting solution were less that adequate. An exacto knife with snap off blade sections is a must. We also mixed our own wetting solution with Palmolive clear dish liquid and water. It was amazing how many fewer air bubbles we got with that and how easy it was to work them out. Even with the endless heat wave in the Northeast, I estimate that it is a good 10 degrees cooler in our south facing bedrooms with this on the windows. A/C runs less and we sleep much better in cooler rooms. YAY!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Ada, Oklahoma

This window film really does reduce heat and glare

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's easy to install and beautiful to look at. The reduction in heat is all it's cracked up to be. We're going to apply it to all our windows! Oklahoma summers are pretty brutal, and I can't believe we didn't discover Gila products before now.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Yuba City, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be patient and it will be worth it!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something that will help reduce cost to the summer air conditioning bill. So far it has helped lots. The only thing that I noticed was I had to double up on the bathroom window since the morning sun shines directly on it, making the bathroom still warm but not hot like it used to be. I am not sure if you can do that or not but its my house. I love the extra privacy on the window. It was challenging at first then it became a bit easier. You don't need the application solution. I used a mixture of cap full of baby shampoo and water. Overall I would recommend this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a Nightmare !

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This was NOT the first time I installed Gila Window film but in my other homes I used the mirror reflective film. This time I used the Titanium Heat Control film. Application was a nightmare even though I had washed the windows several times, used a squeegee and lint free cloth. I used the original application solution and followed all instructions to the tee. The temperature was a balmy 78F on a very overcast day, which is rare in Las Vegas.
I covered a large 5'x5' picture window, which required splicing two pieces together. The 2 sections came from the same roll and where applied in the same direction, but there was a distinct difference in color, which was quite visible. Additionally the edges kept on curling up even after repeated application of solution. I used an entire bottle of application solution on just ONE window without the desired results. The offending edges continued to curl up. Finally I fixed them into place by taping them down temporarily. The edge curling was also present on smaller windows. I finally got all windows covered and the heat reduction is very noticeable. For this reason I recommend the product, but buyers should be aware that installation is NOT for the average Do-It-Yourselfer.
I am a seasoned 'Handyman' with over 20 years experience in home remodeling, so I do have skills and a few tricks up my sleeve when it comes to problem solving. This project almost had me beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from virginia beach, va

tricky start, easy finish

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
so i read some reviews on how to do this and it was a big help.
the first piece we did was a bit of a mess but on a window that wont be seen to much. but the rest was easy and only took about 10 minutes per window pane.
we cut the pieces to size with a small overlap, peeled the clear backing off.
sprayed a soapy solution on the window and sticky side of the material, and placed it on the window.
we sprayed again on the outside so the squeegee would slide easy and worked from the middle out.
the tricky part was trimming the edge. it is well worth getting a ruler or straight edge for this.
more importantly, leave a 1/16 gap between the edge of the window frame and the material so the excess water solution can escape.
like i said it was easy after the first try.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Simple Installation. Does what it says.

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Absolutely a two person project. Watch the video, follow the instructions. My wife and I completed 10 windows in about 4 hours. Use the solution liberally on both the film and window. The only hiccup was due to an uneven seal, at the top of one window, that did not allow a proper squeegee and seal. The fix was to leave a tiny gap at the top - which was barely noticeable. The Baby Shampoo and distilled water solution works fine.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Old Lyme, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great results with this window film

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The task is detailed and a bit tricky, getting the film on the window, trimming it and then working the bubbles and liquid out.
The results have been tremendous, a much cooler room, and more privacy (you can't see in very easily). There is a slight blue hue tinge to the glass now. When I open the storm door, the brightness change outside can be extreme, but that means the film is doing its job.
I installed 8 windows (double sash) and a full length storm door window with this film. I was concerned at first that getting the bubbles out would be near impossible because of past experiences I had with those films you adhere on phone screens.
Be sure to get the application kit. The lint-free cloth, cutter, squeegee and spray bottle worked great during the application process. Wash the windows with your usual cleaner, then go over it all with the lint free cloth, any dust or hair will be an obvious flaw to your project. The cutting blade makes clean, smooth cuts. I sprayed the film and the window lightly which gave me wiggle room to position the film. Trimmed, then the squeegee squeezed EVERY bubble and remaining liquid out between the film and the glass. The squeegee is amazingly effective.
There are window contractors that will install a 3M film, but I found that priced about $108 per window. The film I used came out to about $12/window but you do have to install it yourself. Just take your time, keep calm. You will mess up one or two, it's ok.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Good product, skill required

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Your first attempt ever will probably fail.
The instructions in the box are different from, and better than, the instructions on the website. But watch the video on the website also.
Using an old credit card to help trim the edges works well.
We haven't had enough hot, sunny weather yet to determine how well it helps with that.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Beech Grove,In

Stops direct heat Cold.

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home faces the south and the direct heat through my storm door window was so Hot it was melting the foam insulation around the entry door window and had started to run down the door making a gooey mess. The door was so hot you couldn't touch with a bare hand,But Gila heat control film has taken care of that problem. The door now only gets a little warm and all that heat does'nt hit you when open it. money well spent.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This film is more than I expected.

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large south facing window & added the film by myself. I used the application kit on several pieces of film over 4' long. The results were so good I purchased more film to do the rest of my windows.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

I love this window film!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a top-floor condo and we need all the help we can get it when it comes to reducing our summer cooling costs, so when I saw this film I decided to try it out. We only bought a roll to start and as soon as my husband went to install it we could tell the difference. The light is obviously diffused and cooler with the film. I also love the silvery, reflective look of our windows with the film on. It gives our whole home an updated and modern look from the outside. And it makes it hard for other people to see in during daylight hours which gives me an added sense of privacy. With the addition of two more rolls to cover the rest of our windows I definitely think we're having an easier time keeping the temperatures regulated in our home now. Hopefully our next bill will reflect the changes. I think over time this film ends up paying for itself in the savings from the energy bill and I would recommend it to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from West Valley, Utah

This stuff is great!

PostedMay 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I almost did not purchase this due to the reviews.
It works great! We noticed a big difference after putting it up.
True it is not simple to install.
But it is easy to install.
Good preparation and realistic expectations are a must.
If you want the window to look like it was done by a pro, then you will need to hire one.
Window film is unforgiving to mishandling, every mistake will be viable close up.
Tips:
Read the instructions located inside a few layers in the film.
Read them again.
Purchase the full installation kit.
Be prepared mess one up.
Use a large flat surface to cut the film. We used a rotary cutter with a rotary cutting mat on the dining room table.
Clean the windows well, do it again.
Have the spray, and squeegee within easy reach.
It requires 4 hands, plan appropriately.
Allow plenty of time to complete the task. A window with 2 panes of glass took us about 90 minutes.
Use plenty of spray, keep everything wet including your hands.
Keep the film close to the window when removing the backing.
Use the squeegee to "stick" the film to the window as you remove the backing.
Once The film is on the window, lift up on the film slightly and wet down the glass again.
Position the film.
Slowly and patiently squeegee the film starting at the top. Keep an eye on the film to make sure it does not move. If it does lift the film and re-wet and start over.
Work to the bottom.
Trim the film.
Blot dry the edges of the film/window thoroughly.
Work with cool windows and without the sun on the windows.
Patience, patience, patience.
We actually used the Platinum Heat control as it also keeps in the heat during winter. We have hot sunny summers and snow in the winter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from TN

works good and actually pretty easy to put on

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works very well for reducing heat but was a bit darker then i thought it would be although not a big deal as it was on my sons windows. it only took me about 10mins per window to apply and went on very easy. I would recommend that if you are doing a regular size or large size window to have someone there to help you remove the film from the backing and spray it as they pull it off. other then that the rest i did by myself.
Definitely use a sharp razor blade otherwise you get jagged cuts or sections that did not cut all the way through. I only did 3 windows at this point but it was easy enough that i plan on doing a bunch in our living room next.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Medinah, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has lowered the temps in the south facing room by 6 degrees, it was not too bad hanging and is worth the work.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

we had a lot of trouble with this product

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We followed the instructions very carefully and yet on just some of our windows it didn't stick well. One window on the inside of a door, it doesn't like that window at all. What happens is, it starts peeling off from the top. The worst part was calling their 800 number. The woman who answered treated us like we were very stupid people. I'm not used to being treated that way. I don't sound stupid and neither does my wife but they treated us badly. The person who answered was having a bad day apparently. We were extremely courteous but after I hung up it made me angry. I am returning this to the store today. Now I know why there are professional outfits that install this material, it doesn't always work and their customer service is poor.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Easily Damaged, Poor looking, Difficult to Install, Flimsy Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I have ever seen or worked with. I followed the steps exactly as it say to do even had my wife help with the parts you need to people for. Could not keep it from rolling back on itself when we removed the protective film. Second if you follow the steps exactly you end up with way way to much fluid no the window and film for it to stick to anything, i corrected that on the second try. The edges and corners would not stick to the window no matter what just kept coming off like there was no adhesive on it. Do not waist your time find something better.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Columbus

Easy and saves money

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this product on our windows throughout the house. It was easy with 2 people and wow the savings. Our electric bill was dropped by 10 - 11 KWH per day! That's right a day. We are keeping our thermostat on a very comfortable 78 all day and all night. We used to have to bump it down at night so that we could sleep but not anymore. Can't wait to see what happens in the winter with this stuff. There is a slight mirror affect that is more prominent at night, but it is worth the savings....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>