728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

The Gila 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film will allow you to reflect up to 72% of the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling costs. This film blocks up to 99% of UV rays to prevent your furniture and decorations from fading.
Overall rating:
4.047 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product117 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(81)
4
(39)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product117 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Review 41 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from TN

works good and actually pretty easy to put on

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works very well for reducing heat but was a bit darker then i thought it would be although not a big deal as it was on my sons windows. it only took me about 10mins per window to apply and went on very easy. I would recommend that if you are doing a regular size or large size window to have someone there to help you remove the film from the backing and spray it as they pull it off. other then that the rest i did by myself.
Definitely use a sharp razor blade otherwise you get jagged cuts or sections that did not cut all the way through. I only did 3 windows at this point but it was easy enough that i plan on doing a bunch in our living room next.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

I love this window film!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a top-floor condo and we need all the help we can get it when it comes to reducing our summer cooling costs, so when I saw this film I decided to try it out. We only bought a roll to start and as soon as my husband went to install it we could tell the difference. The light is obviously diffused and cooler with the film. I also love the silvery, reflective look of our windows with the film on. It gives our whole home an updated and modern look from the outside. And it makes it hard for other people to see in during daylight hours which gives me an added sense of privacy. With the addition of two more rolls to cover the rest of our windows I definitely think we're having an easier time keeping the temperatures regulated in our home now. Hopefully our next bill will reflect the changes. I think over time this film ends up paying for itself in the savings from the energy bill and I would recommend it to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had no trouble installing this window film. I'm using it on my front door's storm door that receives full sun year round. My AC thermostat is a wall adjacent to this front door, and I'm pretty sure the heat from the door (even when my front door itself is closed) is so intense in the summer that it's affecting my AC thermostat. Short of installing a front porch or an awning to block the sun, I thought this might work well. Time will tell.
Full disclosure, though: I've installed many promotional "window clings" at my work, so this was just another one of those things. It's easy and quick to apply, IF YOU FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. As directed, use the tape to separate the film from the backing. Spray the film as you peel the backing off to prevent it from sticking to itself. Spray the window well, and spray the film well, then place the film on the window. Spray the back of the film, and squeegee the air out. It's really very easy if you follow directions. Mine looks like I bought my storm door already tinted!
ps. I used a 3M brand plastic squeegee I already had from work (do NOT use rubber tipped window cleaning squeegees... they aren't firm enough. If nothing else, use the squeegee this company sells), an X-acto blade for trimming after the cling was up, and a spray bottle filled with water and 1 squirt of generic hand soap... not foaming hand soap, antibacterial, lotion, whatever, just plain old hand soap). You have to use something like that in order to make the water "slick" so that your squeegee will glide over the film with ease.
One problem I had... try as i might, a couple of dog hairs wound up between the film and the window, so they're there until I remove the film I guess. That's the price you pay for living with two dogs, but the window looks so great I don't mind at all.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
Cons: dog hair sticks to it like glue haha
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Where have you been all my overheated life??!!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this stuff on a recommendation from my sister. While a little tricky to apply at first, once we got the hang of it it went up very easily. The application "tool set" that is sold separately is unfortunate. The scraper tool is perfect with nice sharp corners, but the cutter and wetting solution were less that adequate. An exacto knife with snap off blade sections is a must. We also mixed our own wetting solution with Palmolive clear dish liquid and water. It was amazing how many fewer air bubbles we got with that and how easy it was to work them out. Even with the endless heat wave in the Northeast, I estimate that it is a good 10 degrees cooler in our south facing bedrooms with this on the windows. A/C runs less and we sleep much better in cooler rooms. YAY!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was not easy to use. Read the directions and bought the solution required to attach the film to the window and the product has not adhered correctly to the window. Years ago I used a product that only needed water to activate the product and that film is still attached to the windows. Not worth the money. Cheaper to hire a pro and have them do it.
Cons: Difficult to Install, would not adhere to a clean window
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Troup, TX

Bang for your money

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this film, came home and read the reviews and thought to myself...oh I can do this. Reading the directions, I proceeded to cut the size I needed, separated about 2 inches of the film and backing, then sprayed both sides with windex, put it on the kitchen floor and held the backing with my feet. As I pulled the film back over on itself I was steady spraying the sticky side. Once I got it separated, I placed it on the window smoothing out the bubbles. First time I trimmed the top and bottom, then the sides, the second time I trimmed the sides 1st then top and bottom and it worked better that way. One time I had the top curling down, I pulled it down a little bit more and just resprayed it and smoothed it with a towel, let sit for a few minutes then squeezed the rest of water out.
What a difference it has made in my living room, the window is warm to touch but standing next to the sheer curtain it is very cool and so is the rest of the room!!!
I highly recommend this, one person can do this, but it would probably be easier to have a helper, a straight edge and a sharp razor blade.
I rated it a FOUR STAR because I put it up by myself.
BUT the product itself is a FIVE STAR because IT DOES what it says it does: "reflects the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling cost"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Columbus

Easy and saves money

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We put this product on our windows throughout the house. It was easy with 2 people and wow the savings. Our electric bill was dropped by 10 - 11 KWH per day! That's right a day. We are keeping our thermostat on a very comfortable 78 all day and all night. We used to have to bump it down at night so that we could sleep but not anymore. Can't wait to see what happens in the winter with this stuff. There is a slight mirror affect that is more prominent at night, but it is worth the savings....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from tampa, fl

titanium in Tampa

PostedApril 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't be intimidated. I noticed the heat reduction right away! No Southern sun or heat thru that film! My bedroom is cooler. I reinstalled my drapes/ vertical blinds for privacy.
I read all the reviews..... I used a drop of dish soap in a spray bottle. Clean the window.... cut the film to the size of the slider, find the edge of the film and separate the two sheets.... fine mist the window and the film that sticks to the window...peel 1 foot down as you go, stick it to the window, misting as you peel the film and voila! It takes 2 people.
Take your time to smooth out the bubbles. We used a painter's edge do hicky.I didn't buy the kit. Be resourceful.... it was fun!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Pacific, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We have already noticed the cooling effect

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Rooms that used to get hot this summer are much cooler. Once you do a window or two you get the hang of it. Use plenty of soap during install. Don't get frustrated if a corner pops up. Just pull it back, spray some soap and smooth it back out. Make sure you leave the card thickness gap between the edge of the film and the window frame.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Heat (Sun) Reduction & Privacy Enancement

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We started with one room set of windows and gradually added more rooms. Easy to install and online video most helpful. It helps if you have a second set of hands to install. Very pleased.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Gastonia, NC

Works great!

PostedJune 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We decided to purchase the Titanium Heat Control Film. Our bedroom gets sun most of the day and it stays warm in there all day. So far this product has worked great. It was very tricky to install but anyone with a brain can figure it out. One thing I would suggest is to remove the window locks before putting the film on the window panes. It makes cutting much more simple. We didn't do this and we messed up the film by getting too much. It wasn't a huge deal...we had plenty to finish our windows. We found that a 3ft x 15ft roll will do approx. 3 windows (6 panes). Our windows are standard size (around 31" x 28"). It will take time to apply so make sure you have enough time to finish before you start. It took 3-4 hours to do all of them. My wife and I are perfectionist's so it took a lot longer. Once we did 2 panes, we got on a roll.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what it says

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product because the temperature in my living room would reach approx 90 degrees. By the next day I could feel the difference and it gave the room a softer look. It's easy to install but you must have two people. This product worked for me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from ga

works well

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed on three southern windows in about 4 hours. The film kept curling off two of the windows and I had to re-installed it several times. The third window was fine. It does cool the rooms a couple of degrees which is what I hoped.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Sugar Land, TX

works instantly

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little leary about the film blocking so much heat, but it works immediately! I purchased it to put on my Mother's windows and you could tell right away that the heat was blocked. You will need 2 to 3 people to help get the film ready for a big window. It is easier with 2 people pulling the film apart and the 3rd person spraying the film. Be careful that the film doesn't slip and stick together. It is tricky getting apart. That is where the 3rd person is handy. After you do 2 windows, you will be a pro and get the rest done in no time. I highly recommend this window film.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Old Lyme, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great results with this window film

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The task is detailed and a bit tricky, getting the film on the window, trimming it and then working the bubbles and liquid out.
The results have been tremendous, a much cooler room, and more privacy (you can't see in very easily). There is a slight blue hue tinge to the glass now. When I open the storm door, the brightness change outside can be extreme, but that means the film is doing its job.
I installed 8 windows (double sash) and a full length storm door window with this film. I was concerned at first that getting the bubbles out would be near impossible because of past experiences I had with those films you adhere on phone screens.
Be sure to get the application kit. The lint-free cloth, cutter, squeegee and spray bottle worked great during the application process. Wash the windows with your usual cleaner, then go over it all with the lint free cloth, any dust or hair will be an obvious flaw to your project. The cutting blade makes clean, smooth cuts. I sprayed the film and the window lightly which gave me wiggle room to position the film. Trimmed, then the squeegee squeezed EVERY bubble and remaining liquid out between the film and the glass. The squeegee is amazingly effective.
There are window contractors that will install a 3M film, but I found that priced about $108 per window. The film I used came out to about $12/window but you do have to install it yourself. Just take your time, keep calm. You will mess up one or two, it's ok.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This film is more than I expected.

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a large south facing window & added the film by myself. I used the application kit on several pieces of film over 4' long. The results were so good I purchased more film to do the rest of my windows.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It greatly reduced the temperature of our room and was very easy to install. Just watch the install video online and you're set.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Rogers, Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lowered temperature where we needed it.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our daughter's room, in the summer, gets hot. In the winter it get cold. We still have to solve that one. We did the window treatment and it dropped the temp by 4 degrees. That is just want we needed.
From inside the room, looking out through the window, after treatment, it kind of looks like your looking through a pair of sunglasses. To make the home not appear to be out of balance I completed the other windows which faced the west. Standing outside it looks great.
If you cut the film, using a straight edge and you can make it go a long way. I still have some left.
Good buy. Several uses for this type of product. I'm thinking, "shower door that get mineral build up". Easy fix now. I'm going to apply this and peel it off and reapply when needed.
Inexpensive fix and worth the try everyone.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, #doesn'tbreakthebank
Cons: best to have two people but not necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Irving, TX

Good product, does what it is says.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased the window tint film to reduce the heat in my bedroom which gets direct sunlight. There was noticeable difference in terms of temperature in the room, after installing it. It fits the bill and does what it is supposed to do. Will have to do long term evaluation after using the product for couple of years.
Pros: Easy to Install, Perfect Size, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

It wouldn't stay on

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
We bought the easier to install cling version, and it kept pulling itself off the window. We followed the instructions completely and nothing worked to keep it on. We will be taking it back for a refund, it isn't worth the price.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>