728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

The Gila 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film will allow you to reflect up to 72% of the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling costs. This film blocks up to 99% of UV rays to prevent your furniture and decorations from fading.
Overall rating:
4.064 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product109 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(76)
4
(37)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(17)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product109 of 133reviews
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Review 41 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a relief from the sun!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a difference it was as soon as the Gila film was applied. It wasn't hard to put up at all; just be sure to read everyone's comments, the directions in the roll of film, and watch the video showing how it's done. Now that I realize how much more comfortable the house can be, I'm planning to order more for other windows. While the inside of the window appears silvery reflective at night (making it hard to see outside), people can easily see into your house when your lights are on.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Medinah, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has lowered the temps in the south facing room by 6 degrees, it was not too bad hanging and is worth the work.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Ada, Oklahoma

This window film really does reduce heat and glare

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's easy to install and beautiful to look at. The reduction in heat is all it's cracked up to be. We're going to apply it to all our windows! Oklahoma summers are pretty brutal, and I can't believe we didn't discover Gila products before now.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Old Lyme, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great results with this window film

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The task is detailed and a bit tricky, getting the film on the window, trimming it and then working the bubbles and liquid out.
The results have been tremendous, a much cooler room, and more privacy (you can't see in very easily). There is a slight blue hue tinge to the glass now. When I open the storm door, the brightness change outside can be extreme, but that means the film is doing its job.
I installed 8 windows (double sash) and a full length storm door window with this film. I was concerned at first that getting the bubbles out would be near impossible because of past experiences I had with those films you adhere on phone screens.
Be sure to get the application kit. The lint-free cloth, cutter, squeegee and spray bottle worked great during the application process. Wash the windows with your usual cleaner, then go over it all with the lint free cloth, any dust or hair will be an obvious flaw to your project. The cutting blade makes clean, smooth cuts. I sprayed the film and the window lightly which gave me wiggle room to position the film. Trimmed, then the squeegee squeezed EVERY bubble and remaining liquid out between the film and the glass. The squeegee is amazingly effective.
There are window contractors that will install a 3M film, but I found that priced about $108 per window. The film I used came out to about $12/window but you do have to install it yourself. Just take your time, keep calm. You will mess up one or two, it's ok.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Yuba City, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be patient and it will be worth it!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something that will help reduce cost to the summer air conditioning bill. So far it has helped lots. The only thing that I noticed was I had to double up on the bathroom window since the morning sun shines directly on it, making the bathroom still warm but not hot like it used to be. I am not sure if you can do that or not but its my house. I love the extra privacy on the window. It was challenging at first then it became a bit easier. You don't need the application solution. I used a mixture of cap full of baby shampoo and water. Overall I would recommend this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Simple Installation. Does what it says.

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Absolutely a two person project. Watch the video, follow the instructions. My wife and I completed 10 windows in about 4 hours. Use the solution liberally on both the film and window. The only hiccup was due to an uneven seal, at the top of one window, that did not allow a proper squeegee and seal. The fix was to leave a tiny gap at the top - which was barely noticeable. The Baby Shampoo and distilled water solution works fine.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from virginia beach, va

tricky start, easy finish

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
so i read some reviews on how to do this and it was a big help.
the first piece we did was a bit of a mess but on a window that wont be seen to much. but the rest was easy and only took about 10 minutes per window pane.
we cut the pieces to size with a small overlap, peeled the clear backing off.
sprayed a soapy solution on the window and sticky side of the material, and placed it on the window.
we sprayed again on the outside so the squeegee would slide easy and worked from the middle out.
the tricky part was trimming the edge. it is well worth getting a ruler or straight edge for this.
more importantly, leave a 1/16 gap between the edge of the window frame and the material so the excess water solution can escape.
like i said it was easy after the first try.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This film is more than I expected.

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large south facing window & added the film by myself. I used the application kit on several pieces of film over 4' long. The results were so good I purchased more film to do the rest of my windows.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Arizona
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would make sure you clean your window real well. What i did is sprayed with with cleaner and then scraped it with the plastic squeegy in the install kit. Then i wiped it down. Dont for get to spray it real well when installing it.. Dont be affriad of using to much. Also two people help a lot. Other than that just take your time and you will love the outcome
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I have ever seen or worked with. I followed the steps exactly as it say to do even had my wife help with the parts you need to people for. Could not keep it from rolling back on itself when we removed the protective film. Second if you follow the steps exactly you end up with way way to much fluid no the window and film for it to stick to anything, i corrected that on the second try. The edges and corners would not stick to the window no matter what just kept coming off like there was no adhesive on it. Do not waist your time find something better.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Beech Grove,In

Stops direct heat Cold.

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home faces the south and the direct heat through my storm door window was so Hot it was melting the foam insulation around the entry door window and had started to run down the door making a gooey mess. The door was so hot you couldn't touch with a bare hand,But Gila heat control film has taken care of that problem. The door now only gets a little warm and all that heat does'nt hit you when open it. money well spent.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

I love this window film!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a top-floor condo and we need all the help we can get it when it comes to reducing our summer cooling costs, so when I saw this film I decided to try it out. We only bought a roll to start and as soon as my husband went to install it we could tell the difference. The light is obviously diffused and cooler with the film. I also love the silvery, reflective look of our windows with the film on. It gives our whole home an updated and modern look from the outside. And it makes it hard for other people to see in during daylight hours which gives me an added sense of privacy. With the addition of two more rolls to cover the rest of our windows I definitely think we're having an easier time keeping the temperatures regulated in our home now. Hopefully our next bill will reflect the changes. I think over time this film ends up paying for itself in the savings from the energy bill and I would recommend it to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from West Valley, Utah

This stuff is great!

PostedMay 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I almost did not purchase this due to the reviews.
It works great! We noticed a big difference after putting it up.
True it is not simple to install.
But it is easy to install.
Good preparation and realistic expectations are a must.
If you want the window to look like it was done by a pro, then you will need to hire one.
Window film is unforgiving to mishandling, every mistake will be viable close up.
Tips:
Read the instructions located inside a few layers in the film.
Read them again.
Purchase the full installation kit.
Be prepared mess one up.
Use a large flat surface to cut the film. We used a rotary cutter with a rotary cutting mat on the dining room table.
Clean the windows well, do it again.
Have the spray, and squeegee within easy reach.
It requires 4 hands, plan appropriately.
Allow plenty of time to complete the task. A window with 2 panes of glass took us about 90 minutes.
Use plenty of spray, keep everything wet including your hands.
Keep the film close to the window when removing the backing.
Use the squeegee to "stick" the film to the window as you remove the backing.
Once The film is on the window, lift up on the film slightly and wet down the glass again.
Position the film.
Slowly and patiently squeegee the film starting at the top. Keep an eye on the film to make sure it does not move. If it does lift the film and re-wet and start over.
Work to the bottom.
Trim the film.
Blot dry the edges of the film/window thoroughly.
Work with cool windows and without the sun on the windows.
Patience, patience, patience.
We actually used the Platinum Heat control as it also keeps in the heat during winter. We have hot sunny summers and snow in the winter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from TN

works good and actually pretty easy to put on

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works very well for reducing heat but was a bit darker then i thought it would be although not a big deal as it was on my sons windows. it only took me about 10mins per window to apply and went on very easy. I would recommend that if you are doing a regular size or large size window to have someone there to help you remove the film from the backing and spray it as they pull it off. other then that the rest i did by myself.
Definitely use a sharp razor blade otherwise you get jagged cuts or sections that did not cut all the way through. I only did 3 windows at this point but it was easy enough that i plan on doing a bunch in our living room next.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Columbus

Easy and saves money

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this product on our windows throughout the house. It was easy with 2 people and wow the savings. Our electric bill was dropped by 10 - 11 KWH per day! That's right a day. We are keeping our thermostat on a very comfortable 78 all day and all night. We used to have to bump it down at night so that we could sleep but not anymore. Can't wait to see what happens in the winter with this stuff. There is a slight mirror affect that is more prominent at night, but it is worth the savings....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Troup, TX

Bang for your money

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this film, came home and read the reviews and thought to myself...oh I can do this. Reading the directions, I proceeded to cut the size I needed, separated about 2 inches of the film and backing, then sprayed both sides with windex, put it on the kitchen floor and held the backing with my feet. As I pulled the film back over on itself I was steady spraying the sticky side. Once I got it separated, I placed it on the window smoothing out the bubbles. First time I trimmed the top and bottom, then the sides, the second time I trimmed the sides 1st then top and bottom and it worked better that way. One time I had the top curling down, I pulled it down a little bit more and just resprayed it and smoothed it with a towel, let sit for a few minutes then squeezed the rest of water out.
What a difference it has made in my living room, the window is warm to touch but standing next to the sheer curtain it is very cool and so is the rest of the room!!!
I highly recommend this, one person can do this, but it would probably be easier to have a helper, a straight edge and a sharp razor blade.
I rated it a FOUR STAR because I put it up by myself.
BUT the product itself is a FIVE STAR because IT DOES what it says it does: "reflects the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling cost"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what it says

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because the temperature in my living room would reach approx 90 degrees. By the next day I could feel the difference and it gave the room a softer look. It's easy to install but you must have two people. This product worked for me.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from tampa, fl

titanium in Tampa

PostedApril 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't be intimidated. I noticed the heat reduction right away! No Southern sun or heat thru that film! My bedroom is cooler. I reinstalled my drapes/ vertical blinds for privacy.
I read all the reviews..... I used a drop of dish soap in a spray bottle. Clean the window.... cut the film to the size of the slider, find the edge of the film and separate the two sheets.... fine mist the window and the film that sticks to the window...peel 1 foot down as you go, stick it to the window, misting as you peel the film and voila! It takes 2 people.
Take your time to smooth out the bubbles. We used a painter's edge do hicky.I didn't buy the kit. Be resourceful.... it was fun!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Williston, FL 32696, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product really does the Job...

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will agree that this window tint was easy to work with as long as you have a second person to assist you. Make sure that you have dishwashing detergent in order to add it to your water bottle, I would say about a tea spoon amount should be enough. Make sure you spray, spray and spray on the glass and on the tint don't worry about over spraying this makes it easy to move the tint into place on the glass. I noticed the difference in the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I would not bother with this again

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First I’d like to say I am an Industrial Electrical/Mechanical Tech with a college degree (I have a mind for figuring things out). I bought two rolls of the titanium and one roll of privacy film. The privacy film went on extremely easy. I am pleased with how it turned out. The titanium roll did not. Unlike the privacy film, it was rolled up with creases in it. Getting the creases out proved to be impossible. The edges also rolled away from the window. It was as if there was not anything allowing the film to bind to the window. I would not recommend the titanium product. I used the install kit and install solution (no ammonia). The worst part is, Gila has my money.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>