728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

The Gila 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film will allow you to reflect up to 72% of the sun's heat to keep your home cool and to reduce summer cooling costs. This film blocks up to 99% of UV rays to prevent your furniture and decorations from fading.
Overall rating:
4.098 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(173 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product138 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 173 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(97)
4
(44)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product138 of 166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
Review 41 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Long Island, NY

Great Product - Follow Directions - Purchase Spray

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something to save energy costs for the summer months. If you follow direction inside the box and spray the window and both sides of the film it is easy to put up. Definitely a TWO person job.
Cons: Directions on the inside of the box differ from directions on outside of box - INSIDE is where they tell you that you need to purchase the spray - It isn't on the outside of the box - Which meant a return trip to the store. Also - the directions are rolled up inside the film quite a ways in so that I had to unroll the first roll in order to get to the directions. A little darker than I would prefer.
Pros: Easy to install with TWO people. Looks really nice on the windows. Hopefully will save cooling costs this summer. Cost of product.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Phoenix, Arizona

plan ahead, get a friend, be patient

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product to put on an east facing, fully glazed, 10' x 10' commercial garage door in my shop. Each window section was 36" by 20". This required two rolls of 36" wide film. I went to youtube and studied several methods of applying these films and decided to set up a hybrid method:
1. start at the top window. clean the window and jamb completely with a razor scraper and window cleaner. Use clean, lint free rags, keep cleaning until no dirt is on the rags.
2. find a flat space big enough to lay out your film, and precut the film to be slightly largerl (1" - 2" overlap).
3. using double stick tape or tape "loops", tape the protective film down to the table, with the film side up. Seperate the film and protective layer per package instructions (I used 2 pieces of blue masking tape).
4. Completly spray the outside of the film, then start pulling back the film off the protective layer. start spraying between layers as you pull.
5. as you pull the film off, have your friend continue spraying to keep it completly wet. Then have them spray the window you are applying the film to.
6. apply the film to the window with the help of your friend. align it to the frame and let it fall towards the glass. spray the outside again, and start from the middle of the window, squeeze out the excess liquid. DO NOT GO ALL THE WAY TO THE EDGES YET.
7. using a plastic straight edge, and a snap razor knife, push the excess tint to the edge and trim. leave about an 1/16" gap between the tint and the edge of the glazing seal.
8. spray the outside again, and work out bubbles from the center out. the tint cannot touch the edge of the frame or seal, or it will want to bubble up, and curl off!
9. keep and eye on it for about 10 minutes to be sure it isn't curling up.
I did some heat measurements afterward: the tint reduced the temperature on the black curtains in front of the windows from 122 degrees to 88 degrees, on a 105 degree day. inside temperature was 81 degrees.
I am very satisfied with this product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from New Castle, DE

Excellent Product!

PostedJune 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the Titanium Heat Control Window Film to cover our windows because we get the sun all day long on the front portion of our house. We first bought the mirror film that we put on our patio door for privacy. The kit that is suggested works great, but we ran out of the solution so we made our own, dish detergent and water which works better.
A suggestion, remove the film completely from the backing first. Spray the soluton on the film and the window and then again on the film when the film is on the window this make removing the bubbles easier.
We noticed a big difference in the amount of heat that's not allowed to enter the room using this product. It is well worth the time and money.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from marinez ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worth to buy

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My house temp dropped but it still give me the sight of back yard and swimming pool. excellent product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Tucson, AZ

Titanium vs. Platinum

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A couple of years ago I installed the Gila Platinum film on sliding glass doors. It was a horrific experience given the difficulty of working with the film. I recently noticed that Gila has upgraded the Platinum film to what they call the Titanium film, which they claim is easier to install. So I tried the Titanium on two windows. Although I wouldn't say that the Titanium film was easy to install, I'd definitely agree that it is EASIER to install than the Platinum version. With a lot of very careful effort, the Titanium version can be installed to look great, something I'd be reluctant to say about the Platinum version. P.S. Although detailed install instructions are supposed to be inside the box, they weren't. However the instructions are on the Gila web site.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Born in New York. Own a home in Florida.

Titanium Heat Control Window Film

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Back in October of 2010, I called on a Teco Electric specialist to inspect and advise how I could save money and energy. I was advised to tint the windows of my home that face East and West. Went to Home Depot, where everyone is so hospitable as well as knowledgible. Chris attended me and recommeded that GILA was a great product. He advised me what other tools I needed and further advised me how to apply. It was tedious but easy to apply. Even mistakes were easy to correct. I was well informed and pleased with the results. My bills have reduced by a third and the house stays cooler without using as much energy. Thanks Home DEPOT and Teco Electric for making me a happy customer.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from virginia beach, va

tricky start, easy finish

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
so i read some reviews on how to do this and it was a big help.
the first piece we did was a bit of a mess but on a window that wont be seen to much. but the rest was easy and only took about 10 minutes per window pane.
we cut the pieces to size with a small overlap, peeled the clear backing off.
sprayed a soapy solution on the window and sticky side of the material, and placed it on the window.
we sprayed again on the outside so the squeegee would slide easy and worked from the middle out.
the tricky part was trimming the edge. it is well worth getting a ruler or straight edge for this.
more importantly, leave a 1/16 gap between the edge of the window frame and the material so the excess water solution can escape.
like i said it was easy after the first try.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Ada, Oklahoma

This window film really does reduce heat and glare

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's easy to install and beautiful to look at. The reduction in heat is all it's cracked up to be. We're going to apply it to all our windows! Oklahoma summers are pretty brutal, and I can't believe we didn't discover Gila products before now.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Northeastern Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a relief from the sun!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a difference it was as soon as the Gila film was applied. It wasn't hard to put up at all; just be sure to read everyone's comments, the directions in the roll of film, and watch the video showing how it's done. Now that I realize how much more comfortable the house can be, I'm planning to order more for other windows. While the inside of the window appears silvery reflective at night (making it hard to see outside), people can easily see into your house when your lights are on.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

OK under right circumstances

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Watched the instructional video, YouTubers, and read the comments from the good folk here. And, yes, it was still a pain in the you know where. At least when done by one.
Applied this to my backdoor window going to the patio. It already had plastic blinds but I wanted more solar protection since it was facing south. The dimensions of the window are 20"X60". I was unable to peel the backing off without the sticky side of the film coming in contact with itself, despite copious spraying. Once you do that you will see a small thin line after application. If you limit yourself to about 12 sq ft in a square-like form you should be OK. That's a manageable size. Problem with my size was that it was long. I pulled the film backing off from a table. I think if you were to tape this to a door or mirror it could be easier (on a vertical surface).
I had the most problems with the bottom. Water runs down and over-saturates the bottom and it found it hard to keep it from curling up. Make sure all film is off the edges and squeegee well. When you are done with the squeegee be sure to VIEW THE WINDOW FROM THE OUTSIDE! Yes I put that in caps because you will see bubbles that you will not see from the inside. Particularly those at the very top and bottom. Don't worry about getting all the bubbles out but clusters of bubbles with lead to bad adhesion. And it can be easy to miss from the inside.
Overall appearance is not real impressive to be honest. I have this on a door window with blinds that stay closed so it is of little consequence to me. You get a very light looking milky view to the outside. You can see through it fine, it is just not very classy looking. Outside the look is very similar to what you see inside. I would not put this on featured windows in your house. You will not impress the neighbors with it. That's just my humble opinion. For my purpose it worked out just fine. I'm just glad I won't be looking out of it much.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged, Poor looking, Difficult to Install, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Cypress, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this film to cover upper living room windows. It worked so great that I bought more to complete my upper bedroom windows. Still allows plenty of light, but cuts annoying glares to nothing.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Terrible!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product ever. Wasted an entire roll trying to do one window. Air bubbles everywhere, cracks everywhere. Complete waste. It's like putting a giant screen protector on a phone. Came out looking absolutely terrible and looked even worse from the outside. Save yourself the money. I wish I did.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Beacon, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unsatisfactory

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been unable to separate the liner from the film pursuant to the instructions.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Yuba City, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be patient and it will be worth it!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something that will help reduce cost to the summer air conditioning bill. So far it has helped lots. The only thing that I noticed was I had to double up on the bathroom window since the morning sun shines directly on it, making the bathroom still warm but not hot like it used to be. I am not sure if you can do that or not but its my house. I love the extra privacy on the window. It was challenging at first then it became a bit easier. You don't need the application solution. I used a mixture of cap full of baby shampoo and water. Overall I would recommend this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

Simple Installation. Does what it says.

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Absolutely a two person project. Watch the video, follow the instructions. My wife and I completed 10 windows in about 4 hours. Use the solution liberally on both the film and window. The only hiccup was due to an uneven seal, at the top of one window, that did not allow a proper squeegee and seal. The fix was to leave a tiny gap at the top - which was barely noticeable. The Baby Shampoo and distilled water solution works fine.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Beech Grove,In

Stops direct heat Cold.

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My home faces the south and the direct heat through my storm door window was so Hot it was melting the foam insulation around the entry door window and had started to run down the door making a gooey mess. The door was so hot you couldn't touch with a bare hand,But Gila heat control film has taken care of that problem. The door now only gets a little warm and all that heat does'nt hit you when open it. money well spent.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from West Valley, Utah

This stuff is great!

PostedMay 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I almost did not purchase this due to the reviews.
It works great! We noticed a big difference after putting it up.
True it is not simple to install.
But it is easy to install.
Good preparation and realistic expectations are a must.
If you want the window to look like it was done by a pro, then you will need to hire one.
Window film is unforgiving to mishandling, every mistake will be viable close up.
Tips:
Read the instructions located inside a few layers in the film.
Read them again.
Purchase the full installation kit.
Be prepared mess one up.
Use a large flat surface to cut the film. We used a rotary cutter with a rotary cutting mat on the dining room table.
Clean the windows well, do it again.
Have the spray, and squeegee within easy reach.
It requires 4 hands, plan appropriately.
Allow plenty of time to complete the task. A window with 2 panes of glass took us about 90 minutes.
Use plenty of spray, keep everything wet including your hands.
Keep the film close to the window when removing the backing.
Use the squeegee to "stick" the film to the window as you remove the backing.
Once The film is on the window, lift up on the film slightly and wet down the glass again.
Position the film.
Slowly and patiently squeegee the film starting at the top. Keep an eye on the film to make sure it does not move. If it does lift the film and re-wet and start over.
Work to the bottom.
Trim the film.
Blot dry the edges of the film/window thoroughly.
Work with cool windows and without the sun on the windows.
Patience, patience, patience.
We actually used the Platinum Heat control as it also keeps in the heat during winter. We have hot sunny summers and snow in the winter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from Tempe, Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oh, what a difference!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's definitely a great product. Just saturate the heck out of it with the spray solution, have a good squeegee, and make sure the windows are clean, clean, clean! Also, turn off your ceiling fans, floor fans, vacuum your carpet, and keep the animals out until you're done. The film is very forgiving, so apply it carefully, and don't panic. If it starts to wrinkle and fold on you, just get it flat to the glass before you really worry about it. And, don't buy the kit. Spend your money on a good breakaway Olfa blade. It'll stay sharp, and you can get refills for later. Mix a spray solution in a cheap spray bottle filled with water, and a 1/4 cup dish soap. Lastly, use a credit card to trim the window. Run it SLOWLY from top to bottom along the window edge with the blade next to it at the same speed. That's the thickness you need to make a clean edge. The card can also be used to push liquid bubbles out to the edge, though I still prefer a clean, plastic, card scraper. Once again, saturate the heck out of it. Liquid bubbles will easily be moveable to the edges of the film once applied. Air bubbles will not.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film
from TN

works good and actually pretty easy to put on

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works very well for reducing heat but was a bit darker then i thought it would be although not a big deal as it was on my sons windows. it only took me about 10mins per window to apply and went on very easy. I would recommend that if you are doing a regular size or large size window to have someone there to help you remove the film from the backing and spray it as they pull it off. other then that the rest i did by myself.
Definitely use a sharp razor blade otherwise you get jagged cuts or sections that did not cut all the way through. I only did 3 windows at this point but it was easy enough that i plan on doing a bunch in our living room next.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 3 ft. x 15 ft. Titanium Heat Control Window Film

I love this window film!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a top-floor condo and we need all the help we can get it when it comes to reducing our summer cooling costs, so when I saw this film I decided to try it out. We only bought a roll to start and as soon as my husband went to install it we could tell the difference. The light is obviously diffused and cooler with the film. I also love the silvery, reflective look of our windows with the film on. It gives our whole home an updated and modern look from the outside. And it makes it hard for other people to see in during daylight hours which gives me an added sense of privacy. With the addition of two more rolls to cover the rest of our windows I definitely think we're having an easier time keeping the temperatures regulated in our home now. Hopefully our next bill will reflect the changes. I think over time this film ends up paying for itself in the savings from the energy bill and I would recommend it to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>