728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED

21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED

With Smart Drive technology, the Honda 21 in. GCV160 Gas Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower provides self-propelled operation that is controlled with an ergonomically-designed paddle handle. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blade when you step away, not the engine, saving you time in the yard. The mower's Quadra Cut blades produce a smooth cut and fine clippings for great mulching and bagging. It also features discharge and leaf shredding capabilities.
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(251 reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product202 of 239reviews
Rating Breakdown 251 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(162)
4
(47)
3
(13)
2
(12)
1
(17)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product202 of 239reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer reviews for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
Review 41 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Northern Indiana

Excellent Mower.

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my research and narrowed my choices down to the Toro 20192 with the GCV160 Honda engine and this HRR2166VXA.
I picked the Honda over the Toro for the following reasons:
1) Honda Reliability. Superior to any Toro with the exception of their commercial line with the Kawasaki engine.
2) BBC
3) 9 inch rear wheels with ball bearings.
4) 3 year + 1 additional year warranty if purchased before 5-31-2010
5) $110 less than the Toro because I had a 10% off Home Depot coupon. (I think I still would have bought the Honda even if they were evenly priced)
6) Finally, I compared the two side by side and the Honda is built like a tank. The Toro wheels wobble and the handle shakes like its loose, even though it isn't.
So far the only concerns I have are:
The engine seems to bog down when you engage the blade. It doesn't stall, but it seems like it could. The Smart Drive isn't as ergonomic as it could be, but after adjusting it clockwise, it is much more comfortable.
One last note. I suspect the people who are saying that they would overfill the oil if they put in the entire bottle of supplied oil, aren't checking the oil level properly. When checking the oil level, you aren't supposed to screw the dipstick into the threads. You just drop the dipstick into the hole and pull it out to check the oil. My mower accepted the entire bottle without being overfull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Carmel, Indiana

Great mower

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect mower for those who are perfectionists about the appearance of their lawn. I didn't believe the hype surrounding the Honda brand, but I have changed my mind. Purchased the Honda off of the floor and it runs like a charm. Quadracut system works wonderfully for those who, like myself, perfer to mulch their grass. Plenty of power for my .5 acre lawn, you just have to get used to the drive system- it will run away from you if you let it. I would purchase this mower again and again. Great job Honda and Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana

Great Mower Easy to use I love it

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower about 3 months ago right before it was time to start lawn work. We just bought our home late last year and we didnt own any equiptment for the yardwork so I picked up a Echo trimmer and this Honda mower. I'm glad I did. I opened the box mind you all I had to do was lift up the handle tighten the 2 screws holding the handle upright, add bottle of oil (I used the whole bottle, never came out of the top) and added gasoline and it fired up on the first pull. I was grinning ear to ear that after it fired up on the very first pull I knew I had made the right choice.
I have now mowed my grass at a couple diff heights and I have bagged and mulched. Both is easy. The bagging is pretty easy but with my big yard I seem to only get about 3 passes before it needs emptied out. But thats not the mowers fault. The bag is very easy to remove and put back on afterwards. I love the BBC so i can stop the blade without shutting the mower off while i move the hose or pick something up out of the yard.
As far as everyone stating the cruise control being finicky I personally dont think it is. its basically pushing a gas pedal with your hands. Maybe it comes with cordination but if you can push your fingers down you can make this mower do all the work its really that easy!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Naperville, IL

Poor design

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good engine, started on first pull. However, cut uneven, perhaps due to an unfortunate design flaw. The throttle control lever vibrates down from fast to slow, which compromised the cutting capabilities. Returned to store after two mows.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Paonia, CO

Rocks right out of the box!

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had read a lot of reviews on lawn mowers, this HRR by Honda mostly. Everything I read I have experienced as well. I took this mower out of the box, filled the gas and oil and it started on the first pull! I bought my HRR on 05/13/10 and have mowed 5 times since. It has always started on the first pull. (Ecept for that time I forgot to turn it to chock/start...:-). The BBC is a terrific feature. I can't imagine not having it now. The power of this 160cc is far superior to my old Craftsman 6.5hp Briggs & Stratton. I would strongly encourage anyone to buy this machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Blue Springs, MO

Satisfied customer

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1994 Honda Harmony push mower that is still running great. However, the years are starting to show on it and I wanted to upgrade. Purchased this model yesterday, popped it out of the box, added the oil and gas and it started up on the first pull. It is very quiet, fast and easy to use. In fact, my wife tried it out and now I may never get to use it again. I give this mower 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas

Good Mower

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a Honda for 22 years that had to be replaced. My first choice was a change to a Toro. A mistake. I returned the Toro and purchased this Honda. Easy to start and easy to operate. Drive system is excellent and will easily pull up an incline. BBC works quite well. If you bag frequently, the BBC is a must. This is a good mower that is worth the investment. I don't know how this Honda could disappoint anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Dearborn, MI

Very good mower

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced a 10 year old TORO with this mower. The mower was easy to set up and it started on the first pull.
It produces an excellent even cut and has a lot of power. The variable speed drive is easy to control and use, and the blade brake clutch works flawlessly.
I would have given it 5 stars except for the following:
1. The rear wheel height adjustment bar is low enough to hit the ground over very uneven lawns.
2. Emptying the bag is very messy as compared to the TORO as the HONDA has a completly open bag front. The grass collects against the deck, and there is nothing to hold it into the bag when it is removed.
Overall, a very good mower and easy to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Marietta, GA

Love it!

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Troy-Bilt mower died after just 4 years. So instead of spending $200 for a new transmission I decided it was time for a new mower. Since my old Honda mower is still running after 12 years (used at a rental property now) and has never needed service I decided to go back to Honda.
I paid the extra $100 and went with this model because of two features. First you don't have to stop the mower to empty the bag and second the rear wheels are adjusted by a single lever. You still have to adjust the front separately but it's easy to do. If these two features aren't important to you you could probaly go with the $399 model and be perfectly happy.
The new design for attaching the bag works so much better. The older model gets clogged with grass and dirt. If you didn't spend time cleaning them out then the bag would not attach ssecurely.
This unit has ball bearing wheels and it is easy to push.
It contains 4 blades (looks like two blades laid on top of each other) but it really seems to help. I didn't have to stop nearly as often to empty the bag. The smaller pieces must fill the bag more efficiently.
I was concerned about the smaller engine (compared to the $599 model) but this one seems to provide plenty of power. My grass had not been mowed in over two weeks and was very long. This mower cut through it and bagged it without getting bogged down. With my old Troy-Built I would have had to mow twice. Once without the bag at a higher level and then a second time to pickup the clippings and to cut at the proper level.
This thing is FAST. If you press the speed control all the way down you are walking at a fast pace to keep up with it. It normally takes me 2 1/2 to 3 hours to mow, edge and blow my yard. I did the whole thing today an hour and a half. I have some pretty good hills in my yard and this mower handles them without an issue.
This mower also has good suction. It picked up the clippings and did not leave any on the ground. The only place I notice clippings on the ground is when I left the grass and went up onto the concrete.
If this mower lasts like my other Honda it is well worth the price. Only time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from northern WI

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a Honda fan and this is the 2nd Honda mower I have owned, the previous was excellent so I figured another to be as well. Overall, the mower runs excellent as I figured. After delivery I added the oil and filled the gas tank, on FIRST PULL it was running! The mulching feature is less than stellar however... the double blade seems to cut the grass very fine but there is a significant amount of 'blow-by' at the left rear wheel. Not sure if this can be corrected or I just have to live with it. The variable speed is terrific... matches my walking pace but with heavy grass leaves a trail of 'chopped grass' in the wheel track. I have yet to use the bagger but expect it to function properly this fall when the leaves are bagged for mulching our garden. I should not have been surprised that Honda added a $100 'option' of the BBC system, it was 'standard' with my last one!. And Home Depot's FREE DELIVERY is what I utilized as well! EXCELLENT option!! The ONLY 'serious' issue I have observed is if the mower is not warmed up it will stall when engaging the blade. Too little HP? Runs VERY QUIETLY!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Youngstown, OH

AMAZING!!

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most amazing mower ever. I've had it for a month now and its a masterpiece. The variable speed is very nice. The pull start is so easy my 90 year old great grandfather could start it. The quadra cut is what sets this mower apart from others I have used in the past. Just a perfect machine!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from St Petersburg, FL

Only one flaw...

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this mower because of the Honda name and the quality associated with it. The mower does an excellent job of mowing/mulching my very thick (and long) Floritam grass. It cuts evenly and leaves the clippings small enough to easily fall so they're unseen. The mower is fairly quiet, and the motor is plenty strong. The BBC feature is extremely handy for maneuvering around obsicles or letting the mower run safely while running the carb dry (as recommended by mfgr by shutting off the fuel supply). My only complaint is that the variable speed self-propell feature is not very user friendly. It's activated by rotating your grip down around the handle. There are lots of bumps in my yard and everytime I hit one the mower changes speed. I've used it 3-4 times and still haven't got used to it. I think 3 fixed speeds would be a much better solution. Otherwise, this is a very quality product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Grand Rapids mi.

Good for the Money

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After two uses, I still like it. I did some homework like others; & for me it was between the Toro, $399 & the Honda, for $499. If it lasts as long as my craftsman; 15 years, I think it will be only about $6.50 a season more & that might be made up for in gas mileage etc., I don’t know.
Because of my mower dying is was 4 weeks, & 15 inch grass I needed to cut. The mulching feature disintegrated it, seeming effortlessly.
I got use to cornering, hill climbing, & the rapid change in speed somewhat, as some have commented on, and made some adjustments.
I guess the greatest concern for me was the smart drive system with the thumbs. When I cut it the first time it was quite difficult to use my thumbs, & I’m surprised that no ones mentioned that an option is to use the base of your hands, or just one hand. Because there’s a vast adjustment on that feature, I tried using the base of my hand, (fingers still curled around the bar), to control the lever. I found this quite a bit more comfortable for me; that way I could steer, & control more with my free right hand. Also if that gets old a bit, you can switch etc.. I think that just the thumbs would be okay if you were on a smooth level surface, but bouncing around and twisting & turning, made it unpleasant for me with small hands.
I would love to try the Toro drive system, but I don’t think I’m going to.
Other than that, I believe you’ll cut your lawn in less time, and the many things I haven’t mentioned work well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas Texas area

Good Self Propelled Mower

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This mower has worked good so far. Starts easily, and mulches good. Handle height adjustment is useful. Self propel mechanism works well.
Some concerns I have: (1) The engine seems to bog down and almost stall when you re-engage the blades after having them stopped. Maybe the more expensive one with the 190cc engine would be more capable. (2) At this high price point, it should have an automatic choke and throttle so you don't have to mess with any of that stuff, and you could just start it and go. (3) It's pretty heavy at 100 lbs, and can be a little difficult to maneuver around obstacles when not using the self-propel feature. (4) The tread on the wheels is not that deep, and the self propelled wheel may grip better if it had more tread on it.
As a side note... It would be nice if it came without the bag and was twenty dollars cheaper or something since I don't bag and only mulch. That way people who want to bag could buy the bag, and those of us who don't bag don't have to pay for the bagging system just to throw it out. On the same note, I'm not thrilled with having a plastic mulch plug that may get damaged, and seems to collect grass around the edges of it.
Overall though, I would recommend this mower so far. The things I noted above are relatively minor issues, and there may not be a "perfect" mower out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Northern Indiana

HRR2166VXA Clicking Noise When Pushing The Mower.

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am still very happy with this mower after a couple months of use, but have one concern. Maybe the mower has been doing this since it was new, and I never noticed, but it makes a clicking sound when I roll the mower forward when it is not running. Has anyone else noticed this?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Spring Hill, Florida

Thanks

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It mows like a dream... the best mower I ever had!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Jesup, GA

Honda Push Lawnmower (Model #HRR216VXA)

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have really enjoyed our new lawnmower. It is so easy to use. Our lawn looks wonderful and my dad loves the way that it cuts his yard. We have not had any problems and I would highly recommend this lawnmower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Chino, California

Online Price is Higher than store

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't beat a Honda engine for durability and reliability, but you can beat this price by $100.00 if you drive down to the local Home Depot. "Free shipping" is hidden in the price. In store it is $399.00 and the store is just around the corner.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, Texas

A wonderfu mower

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did lots of research, read all the reviews. Although there are a few one or two stars, I persuade myself that every product can have some percentage of bad things occurred. Sometimes it's just a matter of luck. Honda HR 2166 VXA has received highest scores. Besides, there are 30 days you can try it as many times as you like. Now my item is to pass 30 days return period in two days, I have tried it 5 times. I decide to keep it.
Things I love: 1) easy start, always one pull unless occasionally I forgot set to choke. So you don't even idle the engine when you stop to do something else. I just stop the engine and restart it by one pull. No fails; 2) BBC, I have no problem with it. As some mentioned you can always use you palm instead of thumb. 3) easy to operate it around.
Things I have concern: 1) the one handle rear wheel adjuster doesn't look like strong enough to last long; 2) Engine does die when it cut thick grass and you use mulch function; 3)engine seems weak, as others noticed that it almost dies when you engage the blades. Actually it died twice in my hand when I found there was pile of grass underneath. Because I found the reason of this problem, I didn't return the mower. It didn't happen any more later on when I always bag the grass.
So a warning to you: don't use it cut very thick grass unless you bag it. When you use bag, it can cut grass as thick as one foot without any problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 21 in. Steel Deck Blade Stop System Smart Drive Gas Mower GCV160-DISCONTINUED

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to put down my 20 year old John Deere walk-behind and after doing a ton of research, settled on Honda and this steel deck mower. Could not see the value in the Nexite deck for another $200, they scratch easy, and used ones seem to not hold any value. This mower is nice, very easy to use. Not quite as quiet as my old John Deere, but not bad.
Pros: Easy start, variable speed works great, turns easy, handle folds in for storage, and pulls backwards really easy!
Cons: Got the mower to mulch without getting grass on the drive and sidewalk, but a lot of grass gets blow out the sides. Wish it came with a rear discharge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>