728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw

12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Offering bevel cuts in both directions, this RIDGID 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Mitre Saw is a versatile mitre tool that helps you maximize your productivity. The saw has a 0- to 61-degree miter range that accommodates a wide variety of cuts with crown moulding. The saw's miter detent release and bypass thumb wheel provide quick engagement and release of miter detent stops. Its 2-1/2 in. dust port and the included collection bag help keep cleanup to a minimum.
Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product93 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(9)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product93 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Review 1 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice saw, very big footprint

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let me start by saying that this saw is Big! Not kinda big, but big! The reason I mention this so adamantly is because in the end the size was an issue for me in my shop and the portability.
I bought this a few months back on a sale price which made it a great deal. I was deciding between the Dewalt DWS780 and this saw but the lower price gave it the lead. I was in a position to compare the two saws side by side, so I can tell you some of the good and the not so good.
Let me be clear about one thing. The Ridgid lifetime warranty was not a factor for me. Why? Because there are no repair facilities convenient to me at all. So I judged both saws on their usefulness alone.
The good:
• The saw is built well
• Larger work table than DWS780
• Smooth slides, also the slides are larger than the competitor
• The table locks are very easy to use and I liked the smoothness of the table
• The bevel adjustment lever is much easier to use, loosen and lock versus the DWS780
• Dust collection is no worse than other saws
• Very good quality stock blade.
• Has a writable surface top help make rough repeatable cuts
• Hold down clamp is better quality than a lot of companies offer with their stock set up
• Required no adjustments out of the box, was square and ready to go
• The folding stand ridged offers makes this saw somewhat portable
• Greater bevel adjustment both right and left. 50 degrees both ways
• Reasonably quiet operation
The not so good
• This saw weighs a ton, approx. 85 lbs. If you need to move this saw regularly, you will have a bear of a time doing it. As a point of reference, Dewalt is only 66 lbs.
• The laser is useless- I know others have had good experiences; I did not, so to me Dewalt’s DWS780 is superior in this space.
• The saw is large, depending on how you plan to use the saw; this could be good or bad. But Dewalt has a smaller table and a greater cut capacity. The larger table isn’t really necessary, but if space is not an issue, bigger is better.
• Mobile stand is really a must if you plan to move this saw around with any kind of frequency. I am a pretty strong guy and carrying this monster up the basement stairs to the outdoors was very tough.
Overall this is a very nicely built saw, but honestly so is the DWS780. That being said, you will get years of solid use out of this saw. If I did not have to move this saw outdoors or upstairs, than it would be a 10 all around. This saw was built heavy duty with contractor use in mind. I can’t say that for some of the other saws out now, but ridgid definitely was smart to keep this in their lineup. I would recommend this saw to anyone looking for a rock solid well-built saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Northport NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AMAZING!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely Accurate, Very smooth running motor. If you are wondering which one in the lineup at home depot to buy, look no further... i have owned all of them and this is the best of them all. The depth adjustment makes it possible to make cuts that you would have never been able to make with a compound miter. I use this saw to make cabinets on the side in my basement shop. the blade that comes with it is very good for rough cuts (still leaves a nice edge) i use a diablo blade for cabinet cuts. Also bought the ridged rolling stand with support roller extensions attached. Very nice setup. Hope this helps.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Powder Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Miter Saw I've Ever Owned

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put off buying a new miter saw for years and finally made the decision when my local Home Depot had this one on sale. I consider myself a smart shopper and getting what I viewed as a substantial discount was the deal maker for me.
Anyway I love this saw for multiple reasons.
1. Power
I've yet to bog this saw down in "normal" cutting tasks.
2. Features
The various adjustments speak for themselves
3. Table size
Its grand having a cutting surface that will support your work.
4. Warranty
Lifetime warranty, come on guys whats not to love about that!
I know there was another post about the blade guard and some sticking; all I can say about that is any tool needs maintenance that includes cleaning and oiling with the proper lubricant....basic common sense guys.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Aberdeen, MD, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saw is a beast

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked this up at Home Depot a couple days ago. I had bought a 12 in Hitachi a month ago but I didnt like the way it cut so I took it back and went shopping for another one. I saw the price online for $569 and that was out of my budget but when I went to one of the stores in Delaware I paid less than $400.
Right out of the box the cuts I made with it were smooth and awesome. Its on the heavy side but to me that just means its more sturdy. I'd definitely consider getting this saw if you're in the market for one.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good saw for a home renovation job or a pro

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We decided to repair our deck a couple of years ago and since then we've rebuilt an old school redwood hot tub, resided the entire house with 7,000 linear feet of 2 x 8 cedar log siding, re-roofed the house with a thermal 'dual air gap' roof and installed interior wood paneling and an engineered wood floor. During all these projects this saw hasn't missed a beat and I've yet to find a job that it couldn't handle from 4 x 6 pressure treated deck framing to 10" wide interior pine paneling.
We decided to splash out and get the compound, double bevel version with the laser and the double bevel certainly makes it very useful when cutting window frame trim etc.
This saw is very heavy and bulky and I can recommend the wheeled mitre saw stand accessory which we bought at the same time as the saw. This has helped us move the saw between the house and the garage, including up and down stairs. It fits through doors and the utility vehicle has extendable supports that make working with 20' pieces or siding much easier.
My only complaints are that the tabs that hold the power cable neatly in place became brittle and broker after a while (in yellow circles in the attached pic). The dust bag doesn't really capture much sawdust and the laser doesn't line up with the edge you plan to cut to, so we just switched the laser off and use a square and pencil to line up the precision cuts. With extended use the finer saw dust tends to clog the felt seals that the front to back sliding mechanism uses and this makes pushing the blade through the job harder. I found that a blast of compressed air on these felt seals and some spray on silicon grease on the chrome slider tubes freed it back up.
While I'm by no means an expert, I'm not scared to give anything a try and this saw was the difference between trying these pricey jobs ourselves and calling in the pros. It has more than paid for itself.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
Cons: Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Ormond Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

5 stars

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a cabinet manufactureing shop in FL, I have owned a few different compound saws. This saw is without a doubt the best one in a 12 inch that i have owned. i have two of these, one set up for the right and one set up for the left on big crown molding jobs. the table is large enough for any type cutting. I never really used the lasers, and I can say you will not be sorry that you bought this piece of equipment.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty awesome saw

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the largest miter saw I have ever owned and it will crosscut very wide boards. It has a lot of power. Dust collection is very poor (which is why I gave it less than 5 stars). I know that dust collection is not the greatest on any miter saw, but I have others that do a better job. I have it hooked up to one of those wall-mounted Rockler units which is pretty good, but stuff goes flying all over the place with this saw. I even tried just using the bag that came with and it was even worse! But, the saw does cut wood. I like the infinite setting for angles and the bevel setup is easy to use. It seems the laser doesn't stay in adjustment, but I never rely on those anyway.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Sunrise Beach, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value, heavy duty and accurate

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I spent almost a six months evaluating the various 12 inch Sliding Compound Miter Saws, as my previous saw had seen its better days. I had used most of the major competitor’s saws in the past but not the RIGID. The more I investigated the more I was impressed by this saw. I finally purchased the saw and respective stand and after about three months of use I am more than pleased with all aspects of the RIGID 12 inch compound miter saw. In particular I find the working surface size to be very helpful for cutting larger beams used in deck structures. It is a heavy saw but once set up the weight is helpful in stabilizing the saw. All in all I am extremely pleased with my purchase. It is easy to use, accurate and powerful. The bag attachment is only useful for knocking down the saw dust, anything collected in the bag is totally luck, this is true for all the compound miters I have used in the past but I was hoping for better. I would highly recommend this saw for those who use a saw daily and those who use one often and want just one very good saw that can handle almost any job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Value
Cons: Heavy
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Fishkill, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent saw, must buy!!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this same model building custom closets years ago, and finally pulled the trigger and bought it for myself. I forgot how great this saw is! great for crown molding, or any other job you need done. Cutting through 10-inch 1x6 ply is easier than trying to set up a cutting guide for a circular saw. Worth every penny.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Littleton Colorado

My new Dream Saw

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently I became faced with the task of having to do a complete bathroom remodel, including lots of framing, building a neo angle shower and setting over 14,000.00 worth of cabinets and crown molding. It wasn't by choice. I couldn't afford the labor costs involved and so I decided I would do the majority of the work by myself.
Having no experience in this realm was a handicap. So many things to learn and do and the materials cost was frightening to say the least.
I struggled for a while with my original 10” chop saw (which gave me nothing but grief) for a bit of the framing. Then I decided to “bite the bullet” and purchase a serious chop saw for doing the cabinetry crown and finish work. It didn't make sense to cut a $250.00 piece of wood with a $120.00 saw.
I looked at all of the saws available and spent a lot of time on the net researching products. Then I went to Home Depot for a hands on look see to find something I could work with. Not being a carpenter I soon found myself befuddled and confused by all the “bells and whistles” “knobs and settings” on the majority of the products. Most of them were too complicated for me.
I was about to give up when the Home Depot salesman came over to help me. I told him my project requirements and he suggested that I take a look at the Ridgid. I did.
I took a real hard look. It was different from all the rest of the saws. The controls were simple to use and easy to access. The cutting table was the largest. The degree markings were the easiest to read. The machining was excellent. Everything moved smoothly. When I set the locking levers, nothing moved or bounced. It is was rock solid. It just felt good. One of the big draws for me was it's capacity for cutting wide stock and the laser system. Compared to other saws it gave me the impression it was designed for fine finish work rather than being a contractors saw.
Once home, I bolted it up to my universal stand and began playing with it. I was amazed. Accurate to the max right out of the box. I adjusted the angle of the fence to a true 90 because saws are rarely set perfect from the factory or loose a bit of alignment from shipping. This process took about 5 minutes with a hex wrench, I learned how to do it from the Home Depot sales person who had worked with me when picking out the saw. It tracks perfectly out to 16”. Much better than my table saw!
I installed the laser tracking system and at the same time changed to a 94 tooth finishing blade to be used for cutting crown and trim. I read a lot about people who say the laser is useless. I think that is because they simply don't take the time or have the knowledge to set it up and adjust it. Mine works perfectly and wherever the red line is the saw tracks it to the nth degree. It's an absolute no brainer for me to use.
Yes, it's heavy. About 70 pounds. That's a good thing. It doesn't bounce around and it's capable of holding some very heavy wood securely. The quick clamp system is great. The fence is well designed and doesn't have to be removed to make bevel cuts as with many other saws.
With my old saw I used to have to flip a 2x6 to make a 45.. This machine cuts sizes I could never even consider with absolutely no effort. I can lay it over and cut a 3x4 inch thick 15 inch panel at 45 degrees at a true 90 with a razor sharp edge. I can't do that on my table saw.
Complex compound angles are no problem. Whatever my degree finder tells me to set the saw at works! It's a lot like having a radial arm saw only smaller and easier to use.
For a machine of it's size it is very quiet. It does draw 15 amps so it is necessary to have a heavy 10 amp drop cord to run it.
When I stop to consider how much work I would have avoided if I had only bought this saw a few months earlier I kick myself. This is one fine tool.
I see that dust is an issue for many. I don't think any saw will catch dust in a bag. I do know my Ridgid vacuum cleaner rocks too and as soon as I get it attached the saw the dust issues will be resolved.
I have shown it to several friends who tell me it will be their next saw.
If you would rather be cutting wood than making countless adjustments this is one saw that you should seriously consider.
Steve
"Thanks to Ridgid and Home Depot for making my life easier."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Saw

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great saw, solidly built with a lot of features. Dust collector is of little use and will quickly fill. Use vaccum if dust is a concern. Laser is mounted on left side of saw blade, is adjustable but should be used as reference point only, not exact cuts. Weighs about 70 lbs so you'll need some muscle to move. Put on a good stand for best use. Slide is easy to push/pull, large miter/bevel angle gauges for setting angles. As with any new equipment, check cuts for square. Has easy adjustments for setting. Good warranty and support.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Chesterfield VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Opt for the Hitachi or Mikita

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Throw the blade away. The dust collection doesn't. Doesn't feel safe and/or accurate until securely mounted [that's four bolts] to a 26" deep x 36" wide platform ... and then it still feels like a bowl of marbles. The throat plate is 1/8" below the deck and can't be shimmed easily ... I'll replace mine with a "zero clearance" [for which I'll have to nearly dismantle the thing].
I buy Ridgid for one thing, and one thing only ... the "lifetime warranty". Seeing that they've back-tracked on these 'lifetime' warranties on some of my earlier purchases [only discovered when registering this product], I'm quite sure this will be my last Ridgid product.
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all around saw

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ridgid Sliding miter saw has to be one of the nicest, accurate tools I have ever used. I know this is a key tool for professionals but as a homeowner it has to be one of the best tools I've purchased for my home. Bolting to a permanent table is the best and safer route in my opinion. If you are looking into miter saws I strongly recommend one that has a sliding feature. You're able to cut a lot more (up to 12-14" depending upon thickness) at once. Buy this tool and you will not be disappointed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cut everything but wire and pipes for my house over 5 year project.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
crown molding, brazilian cherry flooring, all types of trim. treated decking and siding. worked great for 5 years. then the base got so stiff could not rotate. lock mechanism fine. believe deck swivel is failing. used this saw a lot but lifetime warranty is useless for normal wear. deck design will fail if used enough over time, no bearings. rest of this saw bulletproof.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw last year to equip a wood shop that I'm setting up in my house. I am also renovating a farm house that was built in 1888 which means replacing a lot of wood and beams that have seen a lot of wear and tear over the years not to mention contractor "shortcuts". I have cut a lot of wood and other than having to fiddle with the laser, I have not had a bit of trouble with this saw. it is dead on accurate and It has plenty of power to cut through typical lumber. I used it to make centerpieces for my daughters wedding using large branches from a tree that I had to cut down over the summer. The stock blade has no trouble tearing through anything that I put under it. Along with the free stand that came with the saw, I would definitely recommend this saw to anyone looking for something with the muscle to go from weekend warrior woodworking to contractor grade use.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Cuts Through 7in wide 16/4 poplar like butter!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was sick of flipping heavy boards to complete a cut through. I need a sliding, 12 inch miter to complete the task. This saw has the monster power to cut through thick hardwoods. It is also dead accurate. Happy!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG & NASTEY

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
got the saw nov. 17th this replaced my old dewalt 12 inch
of twelve years
.
Right out of the box it setup was easy and it fit on my old miterstand. Cut a bunch of boards and angles and everthing was deadnuts on. Great saw and price..
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is not much you can't do with this saw. A little heavy, but that helps keep it stable. If you are looking for a durable saw that is great for fine work as well as just rough carpentry, this is it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Delaware, OH 43015, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome tool and investment

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the saw and the mobile stand for building my new deck and I can not say enough about this saw. Right out of the box it was a breeze to set up, i knew i was going to be heavy to lug around so I purchased the mobile stand to go along with it and wow how nice. I would recommend this to anyone that is serious about their work wheither they are a Do It Selfer or professional.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Madison, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best performance ever.

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great investment, I would recommend this saw above any saw. Easy set up with mobil stand. The perfect cut for trim and and crown molding. The best I have ever used. Great performance.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>