728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer

3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer

The RIDGID 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer is compatible with 4d - 16d common bulk nails 1-1/2 - 3-1/2 in. long and has a magnetic guide for accurate positioning. It is ideal where space prevents hammer swings or the use of bulkier tools. It operates at 50 - 120 psi pressure and has enough power to drive a 3-1/2 nail into solid wood. This tool features a compact aluminum body with a zinc top and comfortable, adjustable hand strap.
Overall rating:
4.864 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product41 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product41 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
Review 1 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Macomb, MI

Framing Hammer???

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Retire your framing hammer! This nailer is more than they specify. I rebuilt my deck recently and bought the RIDIG nailer for some tight spots on the deck. The specs stated a maximum 16d x 3.5" nails. WRONG! I drove 5 lbs of 20d x 3.75" coated sinkers at 55 psi with no problem. The adjustable depth setting works flawlessly. Air consumption is much less than I would have expected. The tool also worked great on smaller nails down to 8d x 1.25" (I didn't try any others). This tool is a must have for any nail driving project. It also works real well with the portable CO2 air packs because of its low air consumption. Beware of smaller, lighter units if you are driving large nails. This is the BMW of drivers.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing will just make you smile

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This summer I flew my brother up from Atlanta to help me build a 16x21 deck onto the back of my house. We had a long weekend (3 days) before he had to get back to work. I bought this at the recommendation of the guy at the Home Depot Pro desk who helped me spec & order materials for my deck. The palm nailer was used almost continuously & easily cut our 'nailing' time in half. Even though I'm a firm believer in using screws on a deck, there are a lot of places that nails satisfy the need. DEFINITELY use ear protection & the only muscles that got sore were in my face from smiling as this thing allowed us to fly through the project. I love this thing.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Talk about a time saver...

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year my brother & I built a 23x16' deck in just three days with this. Everything that was nailed (joist hangers, hurricane ties, etc) was done in a fraction of the time than us swinging hammers. This past winter, I built a deck for (with) my uncle - you'd better believe this was with me. This thing NEVER missed a beat & made quick work of everything thrown at it. I wish I had one of these 10 yrs ago. Everyone I know who has seen it in action ended up running right out & bought one for themselves. What's your time worth? It's already paid for itself a few times over with just a couple projects under it's belt - and it still looks brand new. Great product & built well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: it cannot be be powered by pixie dust & unicorns
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ahd to repair the girder in my basement by adding a 2x8 to each side of the girder and attaching the joists to the girder using joist hangers. I had approx 50 joist hangers each requiring about 14 hanger nails. I also had to use 3-1/2" 12d nails to attach the 2x8's to the girder. I tried driving the 3-1/2" nails using a hammer and every one either bent or wore my arm out so bad that I had to take a break in between each one. I went and bought this palm nailer and I cannot believe how great this tool is. It allows you to drive nails in extremely tight spaces. It has a magnetic head to you can place nails with pinpoint accuracy (like through the eyelets of a joist hanger). It accepts all different heads and lengths of regular bulk nails to there is no changing magazines or heads or parts. You just put the nail in and go. The energy required is almost none ( my six year old drove nail after nail because it was "fun"). It drove 3-1/2" 12d nails into 2x8 pressure treated wood literally in under three seconds. it frees up one hand to hold your work because the nail is held in place using the magnetic head. It did not jam once. It has a lifetime warranty. It is without a doubt the best tool purchase I have ever made. And for the price it really just can't be beat. EXTREMELY HAPPY...it is extremely reliable and I wouldnot hesitate to buy another if I lost this one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Philadelphia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my needs

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool was a project saver. It was able to drive 3" 10d and 16d nails through floor joists. I had to have it perfectly lined up with the 16d nails or they'd bend, but after practice, I was able to drive them all in tight areas that a framing nailer would not have fit. I'm not the strongest of women and i found this tool easy to use/control.
I took one star away on quality because after trying 2 nails, it jammed and wouldn't hold pressure. I searched the Rigid forum and was advised to disconnect it, knock it into some wood to free up the trigger. After two attempts, it worked and has been working like a charm since. I highly recommend this tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Eldred, NY

This is a no-brainer

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been putting off the idea of adding one of these to the tool box for months. Just did a job where we had to open up a door way of a supporting wall and build a new header. So.....I picked one up. All I can say is if you ever have a need for one, for $70 go and get one. Drives nails perfectly, no more pliers and a framer in tight places. Uses very little air, no lost nails flying around, bent nails and with the depth setting, it's impossible to not love this unit. It's priced well and will pay for itself in very little time. I've added three more of them into the trailer since every time I needed it, someone was using it, with a smirk on their face.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from New Orleans, Louisiana

Great little tool

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm building a small wood shed in the backyard, and although I have a pancake compressor and some small brad/finishing nailers, I didn't have anything for framing and didn't want to spend the $ to buy or rent one for this size project. Then I saw someone using a palm nailer on HGTV, and picked this up Home Depot.
It's a GREAT tool. I was surprise at how effortlessly it drove a 3.5" nail into the joists. It takes a little getting use to, especially to drive a nail straight, but I nailed together an 8x6' frame and hung 10 joist hangers in just a few minutes.
Have only used it for a little while so can't attest to durability, but highly recommend nonetheless.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Northern VA

Great Tool - Close to Best Ever!

PostedApril 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this tool so that my wife could help me build our porch. It drives nails very easily and works like silk! My wife easily drove 16D nails all day long. She enjoyed using it. When I used it I thought it was very easy to use. Much less energy than using a framing hamer, which whipped me out quickly. Best tool I've bought in years!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Waldorf, MD

Where has this tool been?!

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local Home Depot. I was driving nails just 5 minutes out of the box. It's very simple to use and works great! I drove some 2 1/2 inch deck nails with no problem.. Being left handed, I especially like how the strap can be converted. The included case is an especially nice touch.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Oakland California

A Must For Every Garage

PostedJuly 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of those tools that you don't know what you are missing till you use it. I bought it because I didn't have enough room to swing a hammer or use my framing nailer when building a retaining wall. This palm nailer just zips in the nails, very easy to use, very controlable. Don't leave home with out it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from New York

Great Addition to your air nailers

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great in tight spaces where you can't swing a hammer or are unable to get in with a larger air nailer. Nails are quickly driven in without the studs moving out of place. Has a depth guage so the nails can be driven in to different depths.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer

palm nailer

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this product as a gift. I love this palm nailer I used many through the years and this one out performed them all! I just built a 12x 24 foot deck and this tool made it a breeze it did in the half the time! I can go on and on but I will end it now by saying wow!!!!!!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Missouri

Fantastic Nailer

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the palm nailer so I could drive a nail faster and easier. This palm nailer is definetely as advertised. I can now put in a 3" nail quicker than my husband, that's a first.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Platte City, MO 64079
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what a time, elbow and wrist saver!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this as a gift so I could/would put the siding and trim up. 16 days of 10 hour days and it never failed to keep going. I love this nailer! My only little complaint is that even when adjusted for flush nailing and max allowable air pressure it only nailed about two out of three nails flush. On those it didn't one quick swing of the hammer and they were done. And I am halfway certain that it was because I didn't drive the nail straight in.Thank you to my wife for the gift and RIGID for an excellent nailer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use for most projects

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great for larger nails 8 penny and above, smaller headed nails will jam in head, worked great for several projects. Not quite as efficient as larger nail guns.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: limited to nail size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Andover, MA

My new most favorite tool

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used all summer to build decks, sheds, roofs (cedar wood shingles). Slams in a 12p nail in a micro-second. No fatigue. Contantly amazing. Use any size nail you want. Safe. Cheap. Didn't bend one nail or hit one thumb. Hooked to a pancake compressor, you could rebuild the world. Sell your hammer and buy this palm nailer. I'll never be without it again. Can't understand why this isn't the #1 most popular tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, much better then anticipated.

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very skeptical about these tools. Bought it only because I could not get the right nails for my nail gun.
But it works like charm , put a nail in, push against the wood and in it goes. For small home projects this tool is great.
Would be nice it if would hold roofing nails.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great nailer

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great nailer. Worked flawlessly. Worth the few extra dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Daytona Beach, Florida

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this nailer today and immediately set out to use it. This nailer has a great feel and grip to it especialy if you have large hands. This nailer easily drives 3 1/2 nails into pressure treated wood with no problems what so ever, I would highly recommend this palm nailer to anyone who is looking for one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3-1/2 in. Palm Nailer
from Indiana

My Palm Nailer

PostedJune 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Superb! Made the deck I was building go so much faster and used the Palm Nailer with ease! I would recommend this nailer to other women who aren't afraid to use this product! It fits so nicely in your hand... It is not bulky like the bigger ones. I would buy one again and again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>