728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

This Ridgid 15 Amp 7-1/4 in. Circ Saw is good for tough, heavy-use jobs. It has magnesium upper and lower blade guards to make it lighter, so there is less user fatigue. It operates at up to 5,800 RPM. The 7-1/4 in., 24-tooth, thin kerf blade provides for smooth crosscuts and rip cuts. The blade is carbide tipped for an extended life.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product61 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product61 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
Review 1 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for a part-timer or Pro!

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this saw 2 nights ago and I couldn't wait to use it. First off, I love the look of it. Rigid has always stayed true to their roots with their look and quality. When I took it out of the box, the first thing I noticed is that it is rather light-weight but feels very sturdy. Changing the blade is simple (once I found the key under the handle) and quick and all the adjustments that can be made on the saw can be done quickly on the fly. When I cut into my first piece of wood I didn't have to do anything except guide it. It cuts through 2- 2x6's screwed together as if I was cutting thru a 1x2. I've used the cheaper Ryobi's with a brand new blade and nothing close to this saw which is very reasonably priced at $99. This is my first Rigid product I've ever owned (used a lot of my dad's and friends' tools tho) and I can't wait to buy more from this company. I would recommend picking up a fine-tooth saw blade as well for a more diverse work load or cutting any laminated material, plywood or veneer but the 24-tooth that comes with it rips right through everything I've had it touch. And to boot, it has the lifetime guarantee that comes along with it if registered within 90 days!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Central Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rigid 32022 Saw

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a review/comparison of the two models of Rigid 7 1/4" circular saws, the Model 32022 and the model 3205. When my 40 year old Black and Decker saw finally quit I began looking for a new saw, focusing on Makita, Milwalki and Dewalt. When I noticed the Rigid Model 32022 and 3205 saws at my local HD for less money than the major brands they caught my eye. They are both good looking saws that have the heft and feel of a good saw and both balance well in my hand. Both saws have a rubber wrap on the handle that is very comfortable and provides a sure grip. But unlike the 32022 the 3205 extends this covering over the top of the handle giving the saw a more finished and maybe more professional look. However there is a little more room for your hand in the 32022 compared to the 3205 and I would have a hard time using the 3205 with gloves on my hands. While both saws feel comfortable to hold there is a different feel and balance to each saw. Even though the specs show these two saws to be about the same weight, the 3205 is noticably heavier than the 32022 and the stalizing knob for the left hand is shaped and positioned differently from one saw to the other. And while the adjustments are made in similar ways the bevel scale for the 3205 is much easier to read and has detent stops for the most used settings. The scale for the 32022 has a smaller scale and offers no detents. The depth adjustments are very similar but the light gray scale on the 3205 is easier to read than the black scale on the 32022. The biggest difference for me is in the shape of the front of the foot on the saws. The front of the 3205 curves up slightly away from the cutting surface whereas the foot on the 32022 remains flat. Both saws have kerf notches for 0 degrees and 45 degrees but those notches on the 32022 are much easier to see because of the flat foot. This is especially significant when cutting a large piece of plywood where you cannot remain directly above and behind the saw. In that situation when standing off to the side of the cut the 32022 is much easier to see and to keep on the cut mark throughout the cut. Both saws are powerful and cut very well and I was surprised at how well the standard 24 tooth carbide tipped blades work on both saws. They provide fast cuts with very smooth surfaces. I was planning to change the standard blade to my 40 tooth carbide tipped blade but right now see no reason to do so. All in all these are both excellent saws well worth $100 and both have Rigid's Lifetime Warranty. I have chosen the model 32022 over the 3205 because of the lighter weight and the easier cutting with its totally flat foot. Both saws are highly recommended.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: bevel adjustment, depth adjustment
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Harvest, AL

Great lightweight saw

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally decided on this saw after extensive research. I borrowed a few friend's saws and took note of features that I liked. The Ridgid has front and rear kerf indicators for both sides of the cut line, clearly marked degrees on the bevel adjustment, a 45° positive stop, blade depth markings, and an excellent line of sight. The 12' cord length is great too - I can cut in my garage without an extension cord.
When I got it out of the box, I installed the stock blade with no problems and made my first cut on a 45° bevel through 1/2" plywood. The blade didn't bind, the saw wasn't too loud, and it cut straight with minimal effort to keep it on track.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Burlington, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good quality product

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw has plenty of power and is built very well. The saw is rugged and does not bog down when cutting thick wood.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

PostedJune 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work full time for habitat for humanity in mississippi and we have had several of these saws for a few years. They get used everyday, and abused everyday and they are still the best circular saws in our tool trailers. We have destroyed Makita and Dewalt saws but the ridgids hold up. We have dropped them from roofs and scaffolding too many times to remember, run them for days with a completely dull blade and they still work like new.
The saw is extremely durable and very easy to use. We spend a lot of time in a week teaching unskilled volunteers to use them with excellent results. The guide is easy to use and the cut visibilty is exellent. i would highly reccommend them over some of the big named more expensive competition. I bought a ridgid myself a few months ago.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Corvallis, OR

If you want an edge guide...

PostedApril 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can have your local Home Depot special order one from Rigid for you. If you look online or even call Rigid, it is only a $2-3 part, but with shipping winds up being $10 or more. I checked with my local store and they were able to get one ordered for me direct to the store. $2.40 my cost. Too bad there is no lengthwise slot on the saw to store it in like my old Skil had... If you want the guide it is Rigid part # 690119003. It wasn't in the Rigid catalog, so the customer service at my store called Rigid for it.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well Built and Reliable

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I would purchase Craftsman tools. In the last 10 years, I began to buy quality named products because Craftsman is now slightly a hair above Harbor Freight. I bought the Rigid circular saw after buying a Rigid table saw. I am very impressed with the quality, performance, and accuracy. It is sturdy (not cheap stamped sheet metal), with no play. It is obvious that Rigid cares about its customers. For example, the cord is longer that your typical saw. I am now purchasing Rigid over the other high quality, high end power tools and recently purchased the Rigid hammer drill.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, well designed and well built
Cons: none!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Locust Grove, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to assemble and use. Fast response and light weight.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use with a lot of power. For anyone that has those to do list around the house that involves cutting this product would be for you. I myself built a wood shed in one day thanks to this product. A bit loud but let's face it that's the way power tools are.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Torrance

Excellent Saw - Lifetime Warrantee

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Originally I bought the Milwaukee 6391 left bladed saw (the 6390's twin). Wanted the left handed blade for easier line of sight. HD sent email saying it was back ordered for 2 months. I had 13 new interior doors waiting to be put in and needed to cut most of them. I went and bought the Ridgid and next day the Milwaukee showed up on my door step. Did real world demo side by side. Both saws functioned almost identical. Actually I like the RIDGID a little better. The Ridgid feels a little more solid in your hand. Both cut like a hot knife thru butter and very straight(used the same blade on both). Ridgid did a really great job engineering this saw. The line of sight is excellent and it blows the saw dust away from the cut line but not back at you. The Ridgid cuts just as good as a worm drive but without the weight and noise. Very quiet for such a high torque motor. I cut 2x4's, 5/8" plywood and 13 solid core doors. This is one tough motor, nothing slowed it down and I was using a 60 tooth blade on everything.
1 tip, let the saw do the work, just guide it along. Do this and it makes straight cuts every time.
If you are thinking of buying one of those cheapie $40-50, don't do it. The $50 extra dollars for this saw is well worth every penny. Borrowed my neighbors $50 Ryobi a few months back. Couldn't cut straight even with a guide and was so loud.
My only negative on the saw. WHY no rip fence (edge guide)? Come on Ridgid charge an extra $5.00 and include it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

Overall great saw

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've really enjoyed using this saw for the past few months. I'm a very do-it-myself homeowner in the middle of a several-phase home renovation. I've used it to cut everything from 1x4s to 2x6s, plywood and OSB, even Hardie siding. Saw has good balance, good grip, strong solid construction. It's VERY fast, which is good for cutting dense material or for long cuts like a whole sheet of plywood. But it takes a strong grip to hold it steady and make a good straight cut since spinning so fast can make it wander. You just have to be aware of it and watch your line, but I do that anyway.
I like the bump-stop for 45 deg bevel cuts, makes the adjustment super fast, and the ability to cut >45deg if need-be. Easy to change the blade, good storage spot for the allen wrench under the handle. Only negative is the adjustment knob for the depth/base plate tends to get knocked open and let the plate open or close more than previously set, but that hasn't been too big of a problem for me so far.
Good, affordable, strong, well-made circular saw.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

can't buy a rip guide and thumb screw for the guide

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
OK, to keep the price down, don't include a rip guide with it, but at least have one which is sold separately so if you need one you can get one.
other than that, it's a good saw. We've wasted sooooo much time trying to get the guide.
Cons: can't buy rigid rip guide
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good power. I like the price and the value of the saw. Its a good bargain for your money
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Illinois

Excellent value

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw has a good base, easy blade change, and grip that provides excellent control. Nice features include full-length (front and rear) kerf guide, lighted plug (tells you when it is plugged in, which is usually pretty obvious, but what is more useful is that this identifies which plug goes to this saw, which is handy when you have many tools plugged in or are constantly plugging and unplugging tools), blade lock, and storage for the Allen wrench for blade changes. One oddity, the base plate is not quite 5 inches wide which is an annoyance when clamping a guide in place - an even 5 inches would have been so much easier (not a reason to not buy this saw though). Finally, it is quieter than other circular saws I have used.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Seattle

Ridgid is Awesome!

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this circular saw. It is lightweight and easy to handle. It has a long enough cord to be used by itself without an extra extension. Some other power tools only have a 6 foot cord which might be good on a bench next to the wall. Anyway the allen wrench is under the handle in its own little pocket and can be lost easily seems like. I dropped the saw onto concrete from about 48 inches, no damage at all. But the allen tool to remove the blade flew out across the floor. Minor detail to its operation unless you are changing blades every minute. Remember to wear safety glasses and ear protection.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

Lifetime warranty !

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Basically I had narrowed my choices down to either the Ridgid or the Makita.
Makita is a quality product and has never let me down, but i chose the Ridgid because of the affordable price and the lifetime warranty they offered. Any company willing to stand behind their product like that deserves consideration.
Pros: Affordability, Reputation for quality, Comparatively Lite, Good power.
Cons: Takes some setting up to get the blade lined up with the guide. Orange color prone to fading into a sort of vomit color. (keep it out of the sun and away from floresent lighting LOL)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, lifetime warranty
Cons: fading color, requires some setup.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Alpharetta, GA

Sawing to my heart's content

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love it!
* The cord has a small light to show that its plugged in, or show if the breaker has tripped. Either way, at a glance I can tell if it has power applied or not without cutting my dog in half.
* POWERFUL to slice through 4X4's (must roll it over to finish the cut) and tomatoes!!
* Rubberized grips for ease of handling if its hot outside or in the basement
* Very easy to manage levers and alignment tools with gloves on
Drawback?
11 lbs. Simply gets heavy if there is lots of sawing to be done. HD sells a smaller 6 1/2" saw but I would hate to find I need more power and not have it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

Awesome tool for the price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very well setup comfortable ergonomic feel. Nice blade guide. I love the ridged products. They have not let me down and they are built for the everyday user but priced for the occasional home project. Love their warrantee as well. All around great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw

Quality Product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product. Quality contruction, guide is dead on with helpful markings, good blade view window. Easy to adjust and set bevel cuts. Blade comes with carbide tips and was very sharp. I've used it for cutting all types of lumbar and finishes and cuts clean and guide doesn't marr surface. I would highly reccomend.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Roseville Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

didnt mind the $100 price tag after using this all summer

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have used this saw all summer long, i use it in the wood shop, it cuts ply wood, pine,maple, oak, etc with ease, if your shop runs on a fuse box make sure you plug it into an out let that runs on a 20 amp fuse, you may even have to run an extension cord like i do, that can be kind of a hassle but to me it is worth it so i can use this saw. the blade is ok to start but for best results put in a freud blade.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15-Amp 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw
from Osceola, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great replacement saw!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I honestly don't think you could go wrong with choosing RIDGID brand tools, this saw or any of their other power tools. You cannot go wrong with their lifetime warranty. I use my heavily on the job and have had one that got a little to abused. I brought it to my local HD and they let me switch it right out for a new one. This say performs excellent and haven't found a job yet that it doesn't hold up to. BTW I've been using RIDGID ever since my other brand saw died.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, warranty
Cons: no case
+11points
20out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>