728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

For greater privacy, apply Gila 36 in. x 78 in. Privacy Window Film to darken windows that face neighboring properties The film is suitable for garages, bedrooms and home offices. It is safe for dual panes (with outside mount) and installs in minutes.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product51 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(14)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product51 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Review 1 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality Product! Installation Tip Here!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used nearly all of the Gila window films over the years. Some are better than others and it seems to follow the pattern that the darker the film, the higher the quality. This particular film is excellent for increasing privacy and reducing the amount of heat/light entering the subject windows. The material is thick and durable and just feels like a quality product. It is among the easiest film to handle and work with on the consumer market. Some films I have worked with are impossible to detach from itself if accidentally touched by another piece. Some are a "one shot at it" type thing where once you touch the glass, it's there and not coming off unless you scrape it off. This is very forgiving and releases easily when needed but sets in place after a few minutes and won't budge until you're ready to remove it.
The one flaw and the reason why I only gave it 4 stars is that it's not crystal clear. Unfortunately, the product used to create the dark tint of the film makes the view somewhat blurry or hazy. You can still tell what/who you're looking at and make out the smallest of details, it just skews the view a little bit.
I'm a professional auto detailer and window tinter and have worked with many, many types of film over the years. Here's a tip that will save you time, energy (your own), and perhaps even a little bit of sanity. If you try to work with the product without some kind of lubricant, you'll only frustrate yourself.
1. Fill an ordinary spray bottle 2/3 full with clean cool tap water.
2. Add 2-3 drops of dishwashing liquid and shake it up! The sudsier the better. Shake often throughout the installation.
3. Spray the subject window thoroughly - saturate it.
4. Using a good quality squeegee remove all the water from the window and repeat step 3.
5. Lay the film up against the window and press only hard enough that the film stays in place but is still moveable. You want to float the film on top of the sudsy water.
6. Saturate the film with the sudsy water.
7. Gently move the film into place by sliding the film.
8 As you move the film around and as the water evaporates, you may need to spray more water to keep it floating.
Once the film is centered where you want it, use the squeegee to remove the water from under and atop the film. It's important to keep the film very wet at this point (the side of the film facing you.) Use the squeegee to remove all the water from atop and under the film. If you run into a dry spot or you need to remove the film or lift an area and start over, all you have to do is lift the film, re-saturate and remove the water with the squeegee. You'll find your rhythm and discover how much water is just right for your own tastes and needs. As long as you keep it wet through the final swipe of the squeegee, the film will adhere to the glass perfectly without any bubbles, streaks, etc.
TIP:
If you do end up having a few very, very small air bubbles that are driving you nuts, pop each bubble with a needle and the film will lay right down once the air is removed.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: not clear
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No gimicks, does what it is intended to do.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was having issues with my bedroom always being extremely hotter and extremely brighter than the rest of my home. Especially in the winter time. From about 11am-4:30pm it was the worst. This product was very easy to use. Takes some practice but at about the second window you get the hang of it. The kit they give to you is just ok. The cutter worked great on straight aways but I recommend using flat nail clippers to find tune the edges. You can achieve a professional look with patience. The black version dropped the heat in the room immediately about 20% and significantly reduced brightness, and even more with blinds and a curtain. On the downside it is impossible to see through at night if there is no light source outside. During the day things look blurry through it but the benefits definitely outweigh the cons.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Functional, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Yonkers, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black Privacy Film

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked very well to block out the sun on our windows. It did make it darker (as expected) during the day light but it was well worth it to make the room cooler and more comfortable. Very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect product for my nursery windows

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product because my neighbors lights continually woke my triplets at night shining right into their bedroom. It darkens their room enough to even get them napping again in the middle of a bright summer day. Installation is easiest with the additional kit of accessories but can also be done well with a decent razor, some window cleaner, a squeegee, and patience. My 2 nursery windows were the first to be done but I've since used this & other decorative Gila films on 5 other windows installing them by myself with no issues. There is a bit of a learning curve as my nursery windows were not as great of a job as my last windows were but you can easily pull off some of the film, wet the window down with cleaner & reapply.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from West Harrison, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The back of my house gets full sun all after noon. The house being a new build on a cleared lot. I needed something to block the heat of the sun while the newly planted trees matured. This product was the answer.
After I installed the film on the windows I noticed a difference on how much cooler the house was.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

window film

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this film on our older RV windows to try and block out heat and to create some privacy when we opened the blinds. Works great for both. Note: Need to use very sharp blade for a clean cut edge. We used a new blade for each window.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from post falls, idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Darkness where needed

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this privacy window film to make the bedroom windows in my camp trailer darker. It works great, no more extra light in where we do not need it. Really easy to install and goes up in minutes. It sticks great and goes on smooth. I would recommend this product for anyone looking to darken any windows, either in your house of trailer.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Bonners Ferry, ID

SO SIMPLE TO APPLY!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed something to put on my window that looks out on my porch right at my door, and is next to my wood stove so now that it's getting colder I had to remove the curtain or have the house burn down! I saw this online and rushed to the nearest Homedepot 45miles away for some. Also got a roll of the bronze glare control since it was on clearence. I don't know how ANYONE could have a problem putting this stuff up! It definately doesn't require any skill the hardest part was cutting the corners and there is a tool included to do this. I even added a 2nd layer for even more privacy(tired of everyone who walks up to knock staring at me through my window first! CREEPY!) This product is as simple as sticking up on of the kids' cute window decoration clings!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIY Tint your sliding glass door windows

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought because of the price and description of how easy it is to apply, and hoped for the best. I wasn't disappointed! It is an excellent product, easy to apply (though I would suggest, as they do, to have 2 people putting this up on large windows such as sliding glass doors). I did this myself and it took far less time than I thought it would, and it looks terrific. Blocks out a lot of sunlight, provides privacy, etc. I will likely buy more for other projects.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chicago, IL

Works great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Black Primacy Film is less expensive than the flimsy mirrored film. Easier to work with and dark enough so no one can really see inside during the day and at night even with lights on - it is not so clear to see inside.
You don't have to purchase the solution kit - you can make your own solution and buy a squeegee. Solution is make with 1 teaspoon of baby shampoo mixed with a quart of distilled water per manufacturers of Gila Film.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says it does.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for our sliding doors which get all the sun in the afternoon and to try to keep some privacy at least in early evening which it does. But as everyone else has said it doesn't work at night, which it says on the box for daytime privacy so it does that. It was easy to put up took about 15 minutes this was way easy and I didn't buy the kit which I didn't need as I used the soap solution that everyone talked about all in all this product was great and is still holding up well after several weeks. Loved it so much I put some on the windows upstairs although not black, smoke color keeps rooms nice and cool. Again if you want it for night don't get it as it causes a mirror effect which you can't see out but they can see in. I ordered this on line and picked up in store so convient thanks a bunch.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Gainesville, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not much privacy

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is merely dark tint, even double-layered this product does not prevent someone from seeing into your home.
It works great to reduce glare though.
Pros: Functional
Cons: see through
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and cost was great for product. No need to purchase the solution which is an extra $14.00, household dishwashing soap works just fine just purchase a squeegee.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Moore, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tint

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time for me to use tint material. My Home Office gets too much sunlight and heats up. Also, kids playing outside can see me working in my P Js. Tint is just right for daytime use. Of course at night, with inside light on, you can see in, if you are close enough. Plan on using this color, black, on lower part if my dining room windows.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Sacramento, CA

Great product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for lowering the temperature in a home really fast when combined with the Gila Black Privacy Window Film. I used the bronze film on the outside of the windows and the blackout film on the inside and lowered the inside temperature an easy 20 degrees in my house. The product is so easy to use that you can install it with up to two people. And just a friendly reminder the instructions are about half way down the roll of film so open it up a ways and read the instructions for a better installation.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Great

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes my room darker but I don't know if it really affected the heat much. Glare is reduced a lot
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Venice, florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Window film

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How do you get the window film off the window my daughter bought a house and they have it on the patio door. Stuck on good unless it is scrapped with a razor and window gets scratched
Pros: other
Cons: Poor looking
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Highly recomended and high quality

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used Gila window tint in two vans and a car but didn't think about using it in the home till I started night shift. I like Gila tint because it is easy to work with and somewhat forgiving for the novice installer. I made a mistake on a front door and had to reposition the film, a few sprays of the application spray behind the tint and it moved as needed.
A previous post from JaiM from Las Vegas made me want to mention that this is dark tint and works as it should. It shades the darker side from the brighter side so when it is dark outside it makes it harder to see inside,it's just tinted. If you don't want anyone to see inside night or day I would try the frosted tint. Never used it myself but it looks more like JaiM from Las Vegas is looking for and there are a few to choose from.
My bedroom is done with two coverings done two weeks apart. The second covering made the tint very dark but I added black mini blinds on the inside so I can open the window a bit for air and still block the light. Black blinds also do a great job providing privacy.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

black film

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This film can be used over and over again without having to purchase more than one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Room Darkening = AWESOME

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Added this privacy film to help reduce the discoloration of our master bedroom white faux wood blinds. Direct south sunlight in the desert Southwest caused discoloration and melted the last set of blinds. Added the film and LOVED the amount of darkness in the bedroom, helps us sleep better and longer. Easy to install, especially with an extra set of hands.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>