728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

For greater privacy, apply Gila 36 in. x 78 in. Privacy Window Film to darken windows that face neighboring properties The film is suitable for garages, bedrooms and home offices. It is safe for dual panes (with outside mount) and installs in minutes.
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product64 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(20)
3
(9)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product64 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Review 1 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from DFW, TX.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black privacy window film

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The film doesn't completely block out the light but for my garage door application it works exactly like I was hoping. When the lights are off and I am not at home it is pretty close to impossible to see through the windows with the Gila dark film.
First make sure you clean your window (this is extremely important) because once you have applied the film you will not longer be able to clean it, I even went as far as using a razor blade to remove tiny dirt and paint specs. Now you're ready to go.
This stuff is very simple to install, it took me about an hour to do all four of my garage door windows, 17 1/2" X 11 1/2". Don't bother buying any additional items, Ex. squeegee, solution etc. What you will need is an empty (clean) spray bottle that you can fill with distilled water, then squirt 10 or so drops of any dishwashing liquid into the bottle and shake. Make sure that once you have cut the film to size you generously spray the film on both sides with this solution. At this point you should spray your window with the soapy solution as well. Now gently start separating the film from its paper backing spraying the soapy solution on the sticky side of the film as you go. Don't worry about using too much, more is better. Once you have removed the entire piece of film spray it again on both sides and also spray your window again (generously). Apply the film to the window and position it where you want it, at this point it is very easy to move around because of the soapy solution you have applied to the window and the film. Now you will need a credit card, drivers license or anything similar in stiffness to smooth out the bubbles. Start at the top and use the same motion you would use with a squeegee, top to bottom then center to the left and right. Don't worry about the bubbles, if you are having a lot of them just pull back the fill, spray some more soapy water on the sticky side and lay it back on the window continuing to smooth out the bubbles. That's it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Franklin Park, N.J
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The window tint works fantastic. Not only does it cut down on the extremely bright sunlight entering the rooms, but it also adds another level of privacy and security. It was also very easy to install. Can't wait to see how it affects our A/C bill this summer.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality Product! Installation Tip Here!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used nearly all of the Gila window films over the years. Some are better than others and it seems to follow the pattern that the darker the film, the higher the quality. This particular film is excellent for increasing privacy and reducing the amount of heat/light entering the subject windows. The material is thick and durable and just feels like a quality product. It is among the easiest film to handle and work with on the consumer market. Some films I have worked with are impossible to detach from itself if accidentally touched by another piece. Some are a "one shot at it" type thing where once you touch the glass, it's there and not coming off unless you scrape it off. This is very forgiving and releases easily when needed but sets in place after a few minutes and won't budge until you're ready to remove it.
The one flaw and the reason why I only gave it 4 stars is that it's not crystal clear. Unfortunately, the product used to create the dark tint of the film makes the view somewhat blurry or hazy. You can still tell what/who you're looking at and make out the smallest of details, it just skews the view a little bit.
I'm a professional auto detailer and window tinter and have worked with many, many types of film over the years. Here's a tip that will save you time, energy (your own), and perhaps even a little bit of sanity. If you try to work with the product without some kind of lubricant, you'll only frustrate yourself.
1. Fill an ordinary spray bottle 2/3 full with clean cool tap water.
2. Add 2-3 drops of dishwashing liquid and shake it up! The sudsier the better. Shake often throughout the installation.
3. Spray the subject window thoroughly - saturate it.
4. Using a good quality squeegee remove all the water from the window and repeat step 3.
5. Lay the film up against the window and press only hard enough that the film stays in place but is still moveable. You want to float the film on top of the sudsy water.
6. Saturate the film with the sudsy water.
7. Gently move the film into place by sliding the film.
8 As you move the film around and as the water evaporates, you may need to spray more water to keep it floating.
Once the film is centered where you want it, use the squeegee to remove the water from under and atop the film. It's important to keep the film very wet at this point (the side of the film facing you.) Use the squeegee to remove all the water from atop and under the film. If you run into a dry spot or you need to remove the film or lift an area and start over, all you have to do is lift the film, re-saturate and remove the water with the squeegee. You'll find your rhythm and discover how much water is just right for your own tastes and needs. As long as you keep it wet through the final swipe of the squeegee, the film will adhere to the glass perfectly without any bubbles, streaks, etc.
TIP:
If you do end up having a few very, very small air bubbles that are driving you nuts, pop each bubble with a needle and the film will lay right down once the air is removed.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: not clear
+75points
75out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from North Central Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does EXACTLY what I want it to do

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This window film is easy to install and makes a room much, much darker. It looks really cool from the outside, also. I installed some in my bedroom several months ago and have been very pleased with it. This was a repeat purchase of the product for other rooms in my house. I have no doubt that it will decrease my utility bill come summer.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Perfect!!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to put on my son's bedroom windows. It doesn't get a lot of cool air from out unit so I bought this to help & it works! Completely private in the day, super dark, helping the room to stay cooler than usual. I struggle putting it up by myself, but it was my first time. I definitely learned from my mistakes. Would be easier with two people for sure though, if you have help, take it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Del City, Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cover up

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as advertised and has a good look to it as well. Room is darkened which was what I was looking for.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect product for my nursery windows

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product because my neighbors lights continually woke my triplets at night shining right into their bedroom. It darkens their room enough to even get them napping again in the middle of a bright summer day. Installation is easiest with the additional kit of accessories but can also be done well with a decent razor, some window cleaner, a squeegee, and patience. My 2 nursery windows were the first to be done but I've since used this & other decorative Gila films on 5 other windows installing them by myself with no issues. There is a bit of a learning curve as my nursery windows were not as great of a job as my last windows were but you can easily pull off some of the film, wet the window down with cleaner & reapply.
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Bonners Ferry, ID

SO SIMPLE TO APPLY!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed something to put on my window that looks out on my porch right at my door, and is next to my wood stove so now that it's getting colder I had to remove the curtain or have the house burn down! I saw this online and rushed to the nearest Homedepot 45miles away for some. Also got a roll of the bronze glare control since it was on clearence. I don't know how ANYONE could have a problem putting this stuff up! It definately doesn't require any skill the hardest part was cutting the corners and there is a tool included to do this. I even added a 2nd layer for even more privacy(tired of everyone who walks up to knock staring at me through my window first! CREEPY!) This product is as simple as sticking up on of the kids' cute window decoration clings!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No gimicks, does what it is intended to do.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was having issues with my bedroom always being extremely hotter and extremely brighter than the rest of my home. Especially in the winter time. From about 11am-4:30pm it was the worst. This product was very easy to use. Takes some practice but at about the second window you get the hang of it. The kit they give to you is just ok. The cutter worked great on straight aways but I recommend using flat nail clippers to find tune the edges. You can achieve a professional look with patience. The black version dropped the heat in the room immediately about 20% and significantly reduced brightness, and even more with blinds and a curtain. On the downside it is impossible to see through at night if there is no light source outside. During the day things look blurry through it but the benefits definitely outweigh the cons.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Functional, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from West Harrison, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The back of my house gets full sun all after noon. The house being a new build on a cleared lot. I needed something to block the heat of the sun while the newly planted trees matured. This product was the answer.
After I installed the film on the windows I noticed a difference on how much cooler the house was.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chicago, IL

Works great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Black Primacy Film is less expensive than the flimsy mirrored film. Easier to work with and dark enough so no one can really see inside during the day and at night even with lights on - it is not so clear to see inside.
You don't have to purchase the solution kit - you can make your own solution and buy a squeegee. Solution is make with 1 teaspoon of baby shampoo mixed with a quart of distilled water per manufacturers of Gila Film.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Yonkers, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black Privacy Film

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked very well to block out the sun on our windows. It did make it darker (as expected) during the day light but it was well worth it to make the room cooler and more comfortable. Very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Black Privacy Window Film

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent privacy window film. Works as described. During the day, you cannot see in the house. Limited visibility in the house at night.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says it does.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this for our sliding doors which get all the sun in the afternoon and to try to keep some privacy at least in early evening which it does. But as everyone else has said it doesn't work at night, which it says on the box for daytime privacy so it does that. It was easy to put up took about 15 minutes this was way easy and I didn't buy the kit which I didn't need as I used the soap solution that everyone talked about all in all this product was great and is still holding up well after several weeks. Loved it so much I put some on the windows upstairs although not black, smoke color keeps rooms nice and cool. Again if you want it for night don't get it as it causes a mirror effect which you can't see out but they can see in. I ordered this on line and picked up in store so convient thanks a bunch.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Works well

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works like it supposed to but needs to have a larger box and a smaller box of this product would be nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Kenai, AK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This window film is so easy to use and it really does block out a lot of the light. We use it on our windows during the long and very bright Alaska summers and I also use it to make window clings with my Cricut Explore.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIY Tint your sliding glass door windows

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought because of the price and description of how easy it is to apply, and hoped for the best. I wasn't disappointed! It is an excellent product, easy to apply (though I would suggest, as they do, to have 2 people putting this up on large windows such as sliding glass doors). I did this myself and it took far less time than I thought it would, and it looks terrific. Blocks out a lot of sunlight, provides privacy, etc. I will likely buy more for other projects.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Simpson,PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product - did the job

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, and worked great for privacy needs for this area.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Sacramento, CA

Great product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is perfect for lowering the temperature in a home really fast when combined with the Gila Black Privacy Window Film. I used the bronze film on the outside of the windows and the blackout film on the inside and lowered the inside temperature an easy 20 degrees in my house. The product is so easy to use that you can install it with up to two people. And just a friendly reminder the instructions are about half way down the roll of film so open it up a ways and read the instructions for a better installation.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

CAN YOU SEE OUT BUT NOT IN

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You can see out it looks as if its gray muggy day. You cannnot see in during the day but at night if you have lights on inside its a bit easier to see in but it still does the job which is why I gave a 4 vice a 5
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>