728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

For greater privacy, apply Gila 36 in. x 78 in. Privacy Window Film to darken windows that face neighboring properties The film is suitable for garages, bedrooms and home offices. It is safe for dual panes (with outside mount) and installs in minutes.
Overall rating:
4.217 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product48 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(12)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product48 of 57reviews
Customer reviews for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Review 1 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality Product! Installation Tip Here!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used nearly all of the Gila window films over the years. Some are better than others and it seems to follow the pattern that the darker the film, the higher the quality. This particular film is excellent for increasing privacy and reducing the amount of heat/light entering the subject windows. The material is thick and durable and just feels like a quality product. It is among the easiest film to handle and work with on the consumer market. Some films I have worked with are impossible to detach from itself if accidentally touched by another piece. Some are a "one shot at it" type thing where once you touch the glass, it's there and not coming off unless you scrape it off. This is very forgiving and releases easily when needed but sets in place after a few minutes and won't budge until you're ready to remove it.
The one flaw and the reason why I only gave it 4 stars is that it's not crystal clear. Unfortunately, the product used to create the dark tint of the film makes the view somewhat blurry or hazy. You can still tell what/who you're looking at and make out the smallest of details, it just skews the view a little bit.
I'm a professional auto detailer and window tinter and have worked with many, many types of film over the years. Here's a tip that will save you time, energy (your own), and perhaps even a little bit of sanity. If you try to work with the product without some kind of lubricant, you'll only frustrate yourself.
1. Fill an ordinary spray bottle 2/3 full with clean cool tap water.
2. Add 2-3 drops of dishwashing liquid and shake it up! The sudsier the better. Shake often throughout the installation.
3. Spray the subject window thoroughly - saturate it.
4. Using a good quality squeegee remove all the water from the window and repeat step 3.
5. Lay the film up against the window and press only hard enough that the film stays in place but is still moveable. You want to float the film on top of the sudsy water.
6. Saturate the film with the sudsy water.
7. Gently move the film into place by sliding the film.
8 As you move the film around and as the water evaporates, you may need to spray more water to keep it floating.
Once the film is centered where you want it, use the squeegee to remove the water from under and atop the film. It's important to keep the film very wet at this point (the side of the film facing you.) Use the squeegee to remove all the water from atop and under the film. If you run into a dry spot or you need to remove the film or lift an area and start over, all you have to do is lift the film, re-saturate and remove the water with the squeegee. You'll find your rhythm and discover how much water is just right for your own tastes and needs. As long as you keep it wet through the final swipe of the squeegee, the film will adhere to the glass perfectly without any bubbles, streaks, etc.
TIP:
If you do end up having a few very, very small air bubbles that are driving you nuts, pop each bubble with a needle and the film will lay right down once the air is removed.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: not clear
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Yonkers, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Black Privacy Film

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked very well to block out the sun on our windows. It did make it darker (as expected) during the day light but it was well worth it to make the room cooler and more comfortable. Very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No gimicks, does what it is intended to do.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was having issues with my bedroom always being extremely hotter and extremely brighter than the rest of my home. Especially in the winter time. From about 11am-4:30pm it was the worst. This product was very easy to use. Takes some practice but at about the second window you get the hang of it. The kit they give to you is just ok. The cutter worked great on straight aways but I recommend using flat nail clippers to find tune the edges. You can achieve a professional look with patience. The black version dropped the heat in the room immediately about 20% and significantly reduced brightness, and even more with blinds and a curtain. On the downside it is impossible to see through at night if there is no light source outside. During the day things look blurry through it but the benefits definitely outweigh the cons.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Functional, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from post falls, idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Darkness where needed

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this privacy window film to make the bedroom windows in my camp trailer darker. It works great, no more extra light in where we do not need it. Really easy to install and goes up in minutes. It sticks great and goes on smooth. I would recommend this product for anyone looking to darken any windows, either in your house of trailer.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from West Harrison, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The back of my house gets full sun all after noon. The house being a new build on a cleared lot. I needed something to block the heat of the sun while the newly planted trees matured. This product was the answer.
After I installed the film on the windows I noticed a difference on how much cooler the house was.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect product for my nursery windows

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product because my neighbors lights continually woke my triplets at night shining right into their bedroom. It darkens their room enough to even get them napping again in the middle of a bright summer day. Installation is easiest with the additional kit of accessories but can also be done well with a decent razor, some window cleaner, a squeegee, and patience. My 2 nursery windows were the first to be done but I've since used this & other decorative Gila films on 5 other windows installing them by myself with no issues. There is a bit of a learning curve as my nursery windows were not as great of a job as my last windows were but you can easily pull off some of the film, wet the window down with cleaner & reapply.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Venice, florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Window film

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How do you get the window film off the window my daughter bought a house and they have it on the patio door. Stuck on good unless it is scrapped with a razor and window gets scratched
Pros: other
Cons: Poor looking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

Great

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes my room darker but I don't know if it really affected the heat much. Glare is reduced a lot
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIY Tint your sliding glass door windows

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought because of the price and description of how easy it is to apply, and hoped for the best. I wasn't disappointed! It is an excellent product, easy to apply (though I would suggest, as they do, to have 2 people putting this up on large windows such as sliding glass doors). I did this myself and it took far less time than I thought it would, and it looks terrific. Blocks out a lot of sunlight, provides privacy, etc. I will likely buy more for other projects.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film

black film

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This film can be used over and over again without having to purchase more than one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Bonners Ferry, ID

SO SIMPLE TO APPLY!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed something to put on my window that looks out on my porch right at my door, and is next to my wood stove so now that it's getting colder I had to remove the curtain or have the house burn down! I saw this online and rushed to the nearest Homedepot 45miles away for some. Also got a roll of the bronze glare control since it was on clearence. I don't know how ANYONE could have a problem putting this stuff up! It definately doesn't require any skill the hardest part was cutting the corners and there is a tool included to do this. I even added a 2nd layer for even more privacy(tired of everyone who walks up to knock staring at me through my window first! CREEPY!) This product is as simple as sticking up on of the kids' cute window decoration clings!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Benicia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It ok, but could be better

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So i put up the Black privacy window film today and it does keep the light out, i think as much as it easy to put up you should have at least extra help. I was looking for something that i could do my self with little hassle. When i was applying it the film would start coming off at the top as i was securing the bottom. I'm not really good at "do it yourself" items, which is the reason i pay extra to have someone else put anything i normally buy in.
Though it doesn't look pretty at least it does keep the light out, if i had an extra pair of hands it may have gone better. The spray application really doesn't work to well either, and drys kinda fast and was running down the window. In turn, this was just something temporary till i got new blinds. I think i rather just get windows with the tinting in the glass.
So final thoughts if your good at installing things and have extra help and are looking for a cheap easy way to block the light with your blinds up, or curtains open, this will work for you. Otherwise I'd look for something else that will look better even if it cost a little more.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Poor looking, Unaligned, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Chicago, IL

Works great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Black Primacy Film is less expensive than the flimsy mirrored film. Easier to work with and dark enough so no one can really see inside during the day and at night even with lights on - it is not so clear to see inside.
You don't have to purchase the solution kit - you can make your own solution and buy a squeegee. Solution is make with 1 teaspoon of baby shampoo mixed with a quart of distilled water per manufacturers of Gila Film.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase Ever

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Black Privacy Window Film was the best purchase I have made. It does exactly what it says as far as keeping the rooms cool and sunlight rays low. It was extremely easy to install. I have one window remaining to cover and project will be complete.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says it does.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for our sliding doors which get all the sun in the afternoon and to try to keep some privacy at least in early evening which it does. But as everyone else has said it doesn't work at night, which it says on the box for daytime privacy so it does that. It was easy to put up took about 15 minutes this was way easy and I didn't buy the kit which I didn't need as I used the soap solution that everyone talked about all in all this product was great and is still holding up well after several weeks. Loved it so much I put some on the windows upstairs although not black, smoke color keeps rooms nice and cool. Again if you want it for night don't get it as it causes a mirror effect which you can't see out but they can see in. I ordered this on line and picked up in store so convient thanks a bunch.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Room Darkening = AWESOME

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Added this privacy film to help reduce the discoloration of our master bedroom white faux wood blinds. Direct south sunlight in the desert Southwest caused discoloration and melted the last set of blinds. Added the film and LOVED the amount of darkness in the bedroom, helps us sleep better and longer. Easy to install, especially with an extra set of hands.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Moore, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tint

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time for me to use tint material. My Home Office gets too much sunlight and heats up. Also, kids playing outside can see me working in my P Js. Tint is just right for daytime use. Of course at night, with inside light on, you can see in, if you are close enough. Plan on using this color, black, on lower part if my dining room windows.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IT'S OK

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Don't be fooled by the title of black privacy window. It's actually a grey type of film and is not totally hiding much just a light covering tint. The film gets the job done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: not dark enough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Preston, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazed!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was amazed at how much of a difference this window tint made.
I have two triangular windows at the peak of an A frame.
No curtains would work at blocking out the sun. Got the tint and
it made a huge difference. Not the best to install. I didn't get the
adhesive required so made my own with stencil spray.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. x 6.5 ft. Black Privacy Window Film
from Sacramento, CA

Great product

PostedJune 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for lowering the temperature in a home really fast when combined with the Gila Black Privacy Window Film. I used the bronze film on the outside of the windows and the blackout film on the inside and lowered the inside temperature an easy 20 degrees in my house. The product is so easy to use that you can install it with up to two people. And just a friendly reminder the instructions are about half way down the roll of film so open it up a ways and read the instructions for a better installation.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>