728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Grow a beautiful, thick lawn that thrives in shady areas. Premium, pure-bred Pennington Smart Seed is guaranteed to grow thick and healthy grass. Smart Seed grass seed is drought tolerant, saving you up to 30% more water year after year versus ordinary grass seed. It contains Myco Advantage technology which creates a dense root system for improved water retention protecting your grass against drought and tough summer heat. Pennington’s Penkoted technology protects the seed from deadly fungus by enabling the seed to establish faster during the early growth period when grass is most susceptible to disease.
Overall rating:
3.704 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
Review 1 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIrst timer & it worked out great!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having heard that growing grass from seed was very difficult, my expectations were not high. Now I'm kicking myself for not doing this sooner.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grows pretty well in heavily shaded back yard

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product grows pretty well in my heavily shaded backyard. Its price is competitive with other products on the market. I have used it both as a fill-in for bare spots and for over seeding.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Dallas, TX

Pennington deep shade fescue grass seed

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the deep shade fescue to try in my front yard which has two large shady trees and is sloped. I was concerned that using grass seed might introduce weeds or nut grass or crabgrass (my past experience with grass seed). This product says 99.9% weed free. I have tried for several years to get some kind of grass or ground cover to grow there. This was an inexpensive option to try instead of putting down expensive sod. I used a hand spreader to plant the seed and fertilizer, then raked it in a little bit, used a couple of bags of sod over some of the tree roots. Then I used a couple of the netting rolls to cover it. I watered it every day for about 10 minutes and in about 6-10 days it started growing up through the netting. I have a nice covering of grass after three weeks that looks much better than the bare ground I had before. And there are no weeds introduced by the seed. I am very pleased and would recommend this product.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from grapevine, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great selection for heavy shade in North Texas

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Impressed, came right up during hot days and growing well in heavily shaded yard.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Growing grass in heavy shaded area under a large tree

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a large area in my front yard that is shielded from the sun by a large tree. It was just dirt and I did not think any grass would grow. I threw these seeds on the naked spots last Monday, watered once a few days and by Friday grass was growing! Needless to say I was thrilled. I didn't water a lot because our, ever so accurate, meteorologist called for rain every day last week and we barely got any. I lightly raked before I literally threw the seeds down with my hand, then raked again to mix it in and watered...didn't cover with hay, peat moss or anything. I'm really impressed. I have other spots in my yard that were burned by a local yard service from their weed & feed and I'm hoping Pennington's 1-Step for Bermudagrass will help...fingers crossed.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Worked for me

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Live in Dallas area and have some very large native trees in the back. St Augustine wasn't getting enough light back there and new sod just rotted away. Tried this seed after lightly removing dead grass and was amazed at how quickly it came up. I was pretty liberal with the seed and added some Scotts new lawn fertilizer in a spray bottle about a week into the process. Grass looks great and is still filling in nicely.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from ligonier pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GRASS AT ITS BEST

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The grass was very green when it started to grow. Although watering was required to get the seed started. This was followed by a dry period after which the grass turned from green to light brown. Although this may have been the expected result from low water conditions, it did turn green again after it started raining. I did use a starter fertilizer that I believe helped the grass begin to grow. Good stuff.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Good Shape
Cons: turned brown after no rain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Dallas TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless bag of "seeds" that don't grow.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't really say this bag of grass seed did nothing. It did take up space in my garage for a week before I spread it on the dirt patch that is half of my front yard.
I read the instructions and felt really positive and hopeful about the soon to be lush, vibrant, baby grass shoots that would soon be sprouting in my front yard dirt patch.
This stuff did NOTHING - except stick in the dirt then disappear after a week.
July 2014 had to have been the absolutely best month of weather Dallas TX has had for a July in my lifetime. We had cool temps and plenty of rain. I spread this worthless bag of "grass seeds" in my front yard dirt patch at the absolute perfect time to grow grass. But this stuff is a waste of money.
I suppose I could have saved the bag and used it to pick up after the dog on her morning walk...
Cons: fail, did not grow grass
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Grows but.....

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure it really grows in shady environments. Expensive and from my comparison no better than cheaper sun and shade
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Excellent Grass Seed - Great Results

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dense shade grass seed comes up and is thick and hardy.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent but there are better products for my area

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased several different types of grass seed for my lawn. I have dense shade in red clay. I know, not the best conditions for grass. I planted This seed as well as rebel and landscapers mix, all shade mixes. I planted them beside each other in rows to evaluate how they performed. I found that the Rebel did much better and grew in faster and denser. The pennignton is still growing in now and it might catch up, but I will be planting the rest in rebel. The landscapers mix did great in some spots and not in others. Pennignton will work but may not best mix for my particular yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Silver Spring, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm Not Impressed

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My lawn gets maybe 4 hrs of sun/day (lots of trees). Tried "Dense Shade" for three years. Not impressed. Takes 3 weeks for seed to sprout; constant watering is pain. When some of the seed sprouts the grass blades are like angel hair...lay flat. Much of the seed doesn't sprout even with constant watering. Very expensive..I decided to install artificial turf in at least backyard.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Saint Paul, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this grass seed. Had grass growing under my pine trees in four days.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had problems growing grass under my tall pine trees. This grass seed started growing in four days. It's been 8 days and the grass is coming in very nicely. Hope it continues to grown.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Aurora, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pennington Dense Shade grass seed does the job!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this seed in a very shaded area in my yard - came in quickly and very full - great product!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

pretty impressed

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We seeded our yard after a deep raking. We literally had like 4 spots of tiny carpet grass but nothing else. Watered it every day for a week and then we lightly raked it again. Luckily we had good rain storms and got 5 inches during this time . The grass came in about 60% of our yard very strong and then the rest was small patches. We have mowed lightly raked and reseeded all the spots it took too only lightly. I'm hopeful. What did take off is green and hardy. I'm hoping now we can fill in the spots and the yard will look great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this seed under several trees where the grass had not grown for years. It grew in nice and full and I am well pleased. I will buy Pennington seed again.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

We have a densely shade back yard and this is the only seed that would grow for us

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our back yard has always been a problem to get any grass to grow. This Smart seed worked for us an we are happy with the results.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and thorough germination..

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a good rain so that helped, I am sure but this seed germinated pretty quickly and I am already seeing a lot of green where it was bare earth before. Good job Pennington!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Brick, New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Seed for a Fair Price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seed was 100% seed without the so called "coating" that helps the seed germinate. The coating type seeds are 50% coating by weight and NOT seed! This seed germinated without the coating! Worked great!
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Rockaway Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Springs right up in 7-9 days!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seed springs right up in 7-9 days! It's still growing strong!
Pros: as described
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>