728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Grow a beautiful, thick lawn that thrives in shady areas. Premium, pure-bred Pennington Smart Seed is guaranteed to grow thick and healthy grass. Smart Seed grass seed is drought tolerant, saving you up to 30% more water year after year versus ordinary grass seed. It contains Myco Advantage technology which creates a dense root system for improved water retention protecting your grass against drought and tough summer heat. Pennington’s Penkoted technology protects the seed from deadly fungus by enabling the seed to establish faster during the early growth period when grass is most susceptible to disease.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product25 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product25 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
Review 1 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from North Dallas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grass grows in Dense Shade

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let me start off by saying I have lived in my home for 14 1/2 years and I have had virtually no grass that grows on the north side of my home. I wish I had a before picture to show you, but trust me there was no grass. I finally found the Smart Seed and it said Dense Shade, so I decided to give it a try, I put down several bags of new top soil as erosion was washing away all the dirt next to the house.
I watered every day as it recommended and on about day 8 or 9 I saw grass growing where it had never grown before. The pictures are from 5/7/2015 I planted this around the middle of March 2015.
This grass grows very dense and is a fine blade grass. You will need to mow it is multiple directions to get it to cut properly as the grass lays down, it does not stand straight up like a Bermuda grass, but it does grow in shade and that is what is most important to me.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIrst timer & it worked out great!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having heard that growing grass from seed was very difficult, my expectations were not high. Now I'm kicking myself for not doing this sooner.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grows pretty well in heavily shaded back yard

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product grows pretty well in my heavily shaded backyard. Its price is competitive with other products on the market. I have used it both as a fill-in for bare spots and for over seeding.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty surprising!

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I planted this in June in the Atlanta area, under a big tree. I really had no expectations of success because of the late date, and the amount of shade. But 5 days after seeding, this came up beautifully.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Results

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would never have believed we could get grass to grow in our yard. We get very little sunlight and soil conditions are poor with all the evergreen trees shedding. The grass came in dense and soft with no prep on firm soil. Looks beautiful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

So far so good

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 10 days I have several patches of new, green grass in the shady areas where I used this product. I will be curious to see how it continues to spread over the next few months, but so far it has done well. I would recommend giving it a try if you have dense, shady areas where grass doesn't want to grow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from houston
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works but not cheap

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just planted this stuff so a little early to tell BUT....my only complaint is that the coverage area is not 10x12 like the bag states. You really need to completely cover the desired area with the seed. And being a 3lb bag at $16 bucks, it's going to cost a pretty penny if you have a large area to cover. It would actually be cheaper to buy sod but in my case, the sod would eventually die out b/c of heavy shade. So, testing an area in my back yard that's about 95% shade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Fast growing in very shaded area

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Living in an extremely shaded area, I was skeptical that anything would grow there. I was astonished when after about THREE DAYS I was seeing growth. I definitely recommend this product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from The Colony, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to apply to yard. Filled in the bald spots really well.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Dallas, TX

Pennington deep shade fescue grass seed

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the deep shade fescue to try in my front yard which has two large shady trees and is sloped. I was concerned that using grass seed might introduce weeds or nut grass or crabgrass (my past experience with grass seed). This product says 99.9% weed free. I have tried for several years to get some kind of grass or ground cover to grow there. This was an inexpensive option to try instead of putting down expensive sod. I used a hand spreader to plant the seed and fertilizer, then raked it in a little bit, used a couple of bags of sod over some of the tree roots. Then I used a couple of the netting rolls to cover it. I watered it every day for about 10 minutes and in about 6-10 days it started growing up through the netting. I have a nice covering of grass after three weeks that looks much better than the bare ground I had before. And there are no weeds introduced by the seed. I am very pleased and would recommend this product.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

Worked for me

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Live in Dallas area and have some very large native trees in the back. St Augustine wasn't getting enough light back there and new sod just rotted away. Tried this seed after lightly removing dead grass and was amazed at how quickly it came up. I was pretty liberal with the seed and added some Scotts new lawn fertilizer in a spray bottle about a week into the process. Grass looks great and is still filling in nicely.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from San Antonio Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart grass seed

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never used grass seed before and didn’t know what to expect. I was totally surprised at the way the grass came in and how fast it grew. It was not difficult to plant and it has a nice green color. The test will come this summer when the weather gets hot. I plan on planting more after winter.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

low germination rate

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has a very low germination rate, less than 40% based on the area the seeds were broadcasted. I just bought 2 pallets of grass and have somebody planted it in my backyard instead. I'll probably just gonna feed the remaining seeds to the birds, at least they will be happy with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent but there are better products for my area

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased several different types of grass seed for my lawn. I have dense shade in red clay. I know, not the best conditions for grass. I planted This seed as well as rebel and landscapers mix, all shade mixes. I planted them beside each other in rows to evaluate how they performed. I found that the Rebel did much better and grew in faster and denser. The pennignton is still growing in now and it might catch up, but I will be planting the rest in rebel. The landscapers mix did great in some spots and not in others. Pennignton will work but may not best mix for my particular yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Growing grass in heavy shaded area under a large tree

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a large area in my front yard that is shielded from the sun by a large tree. It was just dirt and I did not think any grass would grow. I threw these seeds on the naked spots last Monday, watered once a few days and by Friday grass was growing! Needless to say I was thrilled. I didn't water a lot because our, ever so accurate, meteorologist called for rain every day last week and we barely got any. I lightly raked before I literally threw the seeds down with my hand, then raked again to mix it in and watered...didn't cover with hay, peat moss or anything. I'm really impressed. I have other spots in my yard that were burned by a local yard service from their weed & feed and I'm hoping Pennington's 1-Step for Bermudagrass will help...fingers crossed.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Aurora, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pennington Dense Shade grass seed does the job!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this seed in a very shaded area in my yard - came in quickly and very full - great product!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed

We have a densely shade back yard and this is the only seed that would grow for us

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our back yard has always been a problem to get any grass to grow. This Smart seed worked for us an we are happy with the results.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from grapevine, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great selection for heavy shade in North Texas

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Impressed, came right up during hot days and growing well in heavily shaded yard.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from ligonier pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GRASS AT ITS BEST

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grass was very green when it started to grow. Although watering was required to get the seed started. This was followed by a dry period after which the grass turned from green to light brown. Although this may have been the expected result from low water conditions, it did turn green again after it started raining. I did use a starter fertilizer that I believe helped the grass begin to grow. Good stuff.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Good Shape
Cons: turned brown after no rain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smart Seed 3 lb. Dense Shade Grass Seed
from Brick, New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Seed for a Fair Price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This seed was 100% seed without the so called "coating" that helps the seed germinate. The coating type seeds are 50% coating by weight and NOT seed! This seed germinated without the coating! Worked great!
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>