728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product113 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(94)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product113 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Long Island NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST LAWN FOOD FOR THE BUCK

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best lawn food you can buy for the buck, it will not burn lawn, nice slow release and all natural. It is a big benefit that it is natural and gets your lawn nice and green , I buy dozens of bags and find myself using it 4 treatments a year. I am a younger guy and my older neighbors ask me all the time how I get my lawn so green, I have the nicest lawn on the block!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop looking at other fertilizer

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first house last fall and the lawn was in need of a makeover. My wife has become a "everything organic" kind of person since the birth of our first child 2 years ago. I did countless research on fertilizer (kind of pathetic, ha!) and I kept coming back to this fertilizer after reading reviews from all over the internet and different locations. The area where we bought our house is full of neighbors who have spectacular lawns and landscaping and I see them outside watering, fertilizing, ect on the daily. I applied this fertilizer in early spring (April) and my lawn completely transformed to the best in the neighborhood within a month. My neighbors constantly stop me and ask me what steroids I'm giving my lawn as they have never seen anything so green and lush before.
The best part of this fertilizer is it requires virtually no water. It also doesn't matter if you 'over-fertilize' like it does with other fertilizers. I recently applied my second coat of fertilizer today and I plan on doing one more just before winter in October to strengthen the roots for next year. I found myself in home depot buying this fertilizer and looking at other people buying the 'other stuff' and all I could do was shake my head. I wanted to go over to them and tell them to get a grip and buy this stuff!
Want to know the bad thing about this fertilizer? Your lawn is going to grow so incredibly fast a few weeks after fertilizing that it will require a weekly mow. Sure it's a pain but it's totally worth the deep dark and full lawn that I now have.
Also, be plenty generous with this fertilizer. It doesn't cover as much area as other fertilizers but it's worth the extra $30 out of my pocket 3 times per year.
I don't have enough good things to say about this fertilizer. Go buy some!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, no maintenance required, dark green
Cons: can be expensive for large yard, takes longer than other fertilizers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Secret for dark green lawn...

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just used it for the first time and Im sold! DARK green and thicker within a few days, supposed to feed longer as well...though I wont wait long to apply again to reach maximum effectiveness. Pretty dramatic for me and much quicker than I anticipated and Ive used other iron products.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, doesnt cause as much overgrowth as normal fert.
Cons: does smell worse in bag than on lawn for 1-2 days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quite pleased

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, I used it a couple weeks ago on the lawn and now my neighbor asked me what I did to it. It really greened the lawn (a lush green) and seems to work great. I also really like how "fine" the particles are so it is easier to spread and be absorbed vs. the large particle fertilizers I have tried. I had a "never seen spot" in the back yard so I put a crazy amount on it-just to see if it burned....nope, no burning.....just greened it and it is thicker grass now. I also re-seeded a spot of grass, then applied this and it is growing in beautifully now. It's organic, the price is excellent, and it truly works-I am sold!
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Good product

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. The lawn turns a crazy dark green. Worth the extra money. I used to use another popular fertilizer, but never had good results. See the comparison photo of a neighbor who uses a lawn service and my lawn with milorganite.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
43out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from New York

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Milorganite for 3 years now & it works great. It is great for the lawn, leaves it with a rich color of a darker green & last for a considerable time, best thing.....it does not burn the lawn. I follow the application & feeding instructions on the package (when to feed & how much) & so far the results have been great. I was using Scott's products for many many years prior to using Milorganite & the results were not as good. The big plus is that it is good for the environment because of the natural elements.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from The Woodlands, TX, USA

Great Product

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the same property for 30 years north of Houston, TX and have become a "lawn expert" through many trials. Milorganite does not have the active microbic ingredients of the more expensive organic lawn fertilizers (they were eliminated in the 1000°+ sterilization process) but it does feed the existing microbes with carbon to improve the soil and more importantly does not have the damaging salts of the synthetic chemical fertilizers. This is extremely important during our dry periods as salts from synthetic fertilizers and even in our city-water work against soil tilth. Very inexpensive by comparison to organic products containing active microbial life yet provides similar results. The 4% iron is extremely bio-available and it also contains necessary trace elements such as Boron, Manganese, Zinc, Copper, etc. By mulching and occasionally adding a product that is bio-active (compost, i.e.) the lawn looks lush and full during drought, heat, cold, flood, etc. For St. Augustine, my 9 monthly applications of Milorganite (Mar-Nov) equal a total annual rate of about 4lbs of Nitrogen per 1,000sqf of grass. Each bag contains 1.8 lbs of Nitrogen. (36lbs X 5%) Milorganite does not contain Potassium, however, so before August and before December I apply potassium in some form to negate the affects of drought and winter. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Great Quality, relatively inexpensive
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Natural Fertilizer product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using it for about 2 years now instead of the traditional 4 step chemical fertilizer. Keeps the lawn green and healthy and it's safe for our dog. The one downside is that the lawn has an organic smell for a few days after application,
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product on my lawn for two years now. It does a remarkable job of keeping my lawn dark green and healthy looking. I particularly like the fact that it does not burn your lawn. I have a rather bumpy yard due to some tree roots that cause my drop spreader to over-apply fertilizer when the wheels bounce off the roots. With ordinary fertilizers, this over-application results in burn marks on my lawn. Milorganite is a slow-release fertilizer so it doesn't result in burn marks if over-applied. I have also used it on flowers to repel rabbits and it has worked exceedingly well. Great product overall.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Apply
Cons: slight odor that quickly fades
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Fredericksburg VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love that it's an all natural alternative to the other synthetic products available. Safe for my family and pets. The slow natural release of the product is great as it doesn't cause my grass to shoot up crazy high in a couple days and drain the natural balance of my soil away. I apply every 8-10 weeks as the product states and my yard is healthy as ever. I've told my neighbors about this product as it's safe for the environment and that's a huge plus as I don't feel guilty spreading it around on my landscape. Does have a slight smell to it, but I can certainly live with that versus using a synthetic fertilizer that's harsh to the soil and environment alike. Totally recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Seattle, WA

It works.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had difficulties in applying other fertilizer - it was either too much where the lawn gets burned or too little and there's no noticeable effect. However, after just one application of this, I've started seeing a major difference in one area of the lawn. I'm on the 2nd application and so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Tucson, Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best available

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent organic fertilizer. I use it on all my plants around the house and even on my lawn. Acts as a slow release fertilizer and will not burn. Does have a slight odor that fades quickly. Can't go wrong with this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great product for a do it you're self kind of person.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks ot be working.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just put this product down about a month ago and so far it seems to be working well but I believe it is too early to tell yet. My grass is growing in where there was none before but as for creating a lush new yard as others have claimed here I can not honestly comment on that yet. I will apply another application of the product in a few months and within a year I should be able to come back with a more informative report.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hamden, CT

Great all-purpose fertilizer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the fact that this is organic but can do without the odor. A landscaper told me about this product some time ago for deer prevention.. while I can't say that it always works it is still a good product for everything else. Would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Cleve. Oh
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get more, than what you pay for, what great value.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a great buy for a great product. I wpould definitley buy this again.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: great, best pricing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Organic Safe Lawn Care

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used Milorganite for years. It won't burn your lawn, even in dry conditions. Don't expect the instant shock results of chemical fertilizers. Milorganite conditions the soil and provide a slow continuous nitrogen release. Go to the manufacturers website to learn about the benefits and application of the product.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

great stuff

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
People who are surprised that this is fecal byproduct should learn to read or research what they use. The whole point of milorganite is that it is organic, not chemicals dumped into the earth! Works great, put it on heavy for a deeper green that lasts longer. I've used it 2x this yr and it looks great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have used this in my garden with good results

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This organic nitrogen is very good. I was using manure but loading it up then driving home then shoveling got to be to much. Now lout this in my garden before planting & till it in. Along with all the shreded leaves I had tilled in in last fall. Works great plus using carbon (leaves) gives good carbon nitrogen ratio.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, easy to use. won't burn
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

good on plants

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it's been 2 weeks since i applied the product on the front lawn, still waiting to see results, slowly changing from yellow to green, but the lawn was pretty burn already so i guess is also, because is so hot here in california. I applied on my trees also and they are growing fast now, better results on my trees.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>