728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.614 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(215 reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product197 of 208reviews
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(165)
4
(32)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product197 of 208reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Peoria, Illinoins
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is listed as being for grass, but after doing some research I chose to use this for my vegetable garden, my fruit trees, and my roses. Everything is growing really well and getting huge! The product does smell a bit when spreading, but no more than most outdoor products and the smell does not linger. This was a great buy. One bag was enough for our small garden, all fruit trees, and fourteen rose bushes. Will definitely be buying more of this.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Trumbull, Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very special ingredient to make your lawn awesome!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No fertilizer has ever given my lawn the glow that Milorganite has even though it is only 5% nitrogen. One of the benefits is the 4% water soluble iron that's in Milorganite. Another benefit is that it feeds the earthworms and beneficial soil microbes. In my opinion it does this better and improves the soil more than other organic sources because it is made from bio solids. I love Milorganite and will continue to use it. It is pricier here in Connecticut because it is made in Milwaukee which isn't close. Cities and towns close to Milwaukee do pay less for it or get it on sale more often. Still, I've yet to find a substitute for Milwaukee.
It can also be used as starter fertilizer for new lawns. It feeds the new grass and helps it spread. Here is a photo of a Kentucky Bluegrass lawn I seeded only 50 days ago. I fed it twice with Milorganite and the lawn is establishing faster than any lawn renovation I've done in the past!
Pros: Great Quality, great for the soil, gentle feeding, 4% iron, improves health of lawn
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Long Island NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST LAWN FOOD FOR THE BUCK

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best lawn food you can buy for the buck, it will not burn lawn, nice slow release and all natural. It is a big benefit that it is natural and gets your lawn nice and green , I buy dozens of bags and find myself using it 4 treatments a year. I am a younger guy and my older neighbors ask me all the time how I get my lawn so green, I have the nicest lawn on the block!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Mill Creek, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Fertilizer Ever

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this fertilizer for a little over a year and can't seem to find anything better than this. It makes my lawn healthy and deep green without burning the grass. The great thing about this product is that its 100% natural which lawns love. I have a new born and soon she will be playing all over the yard so I know this is safe for her and my family.
I add this to my lawn during the spring/summer months about every 4-6 weeks just to give the lawn some food. It helps my grass stay deep green and even drought resistant when I go more than 4-5 days without watering it. My neighbors constantly tell me how we have the greenest lawn on the block. And I can't disagree.
I just wish they carried this in the Home Depot stores rather than having to order it online and shipped to store.
But for the price, I usually order 4 bags ($50 bucks) and it lasts me for close to 10 months. LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: not carried in store, must order online
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop looking at other fertilizer

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first house last fall and the lawn was in need of a makeover. My wife has become a "everything organic" kind of person since the birth of our first child 2 years ago. I did countless research on fertilizer (kind of pathetic, ha!) and I kept coming back to this fertilizer after reading reviews from all over the internet and different locations. The area where we bought our house is full of neighbors who have spectacular lawns and landscaping and I see them outside watering, fertilizing, ect on the daily. I applied this fertilizer in early spring (April) and my lawn completely transformed to the best in the neighborhood within a month. My neighbors constantly stop me and ask me what steroids I'm giving my lawn as they have never seen anything so green and lush before.
The best part of this fertilizer is it requires virtually no water. It also doesn't matter if you 'over-fertilize' like it does with other fertilizers. I recently applied my second coat of fertilizer today and I plan on doing one more just before winter in October to strengthen the roots for next year. I found myself in home depot buying this fertilizer and looking at other people buying the 'other stuff' and all I could do was shake my head. I wanted to go over to them and tell them to get a grip and buy this stuff!
Want to know the bad thing about this fertilizer? Your lawn is going to grow so incredibly fast a few weeks after fertilizing that it will require a weekly mow. Sure it's a pain but it's totally worth the deep dark and full lawn that I now have.
Also, be plenty generous with this fertilizer. It doesn't cover as much area as other fertilizers but it's worth the extra $30 out of my pocket 3 times per year.
I don't have enough good things to say about this fertilizer. Go buy some!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, no maintenance required, dark green
Cons: can be expensive for large yard, takes longer than other fertilizers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
50out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Fertilizer

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first home last year. I started using this fertilizer at a friend's recommendation and I need to say I'm completely satisfied. The product is cheap compared to other fertilizers, and it does better work than other fertilizers. I'm a young guy (26 y.o.) and my neighbors constantly compliment my lawn (St. Augustine) and ask me what I'm doing to keep it so nice. (Mind you, I water it and mow it adequately as well). I generally apply it every 2 months and usually 3 days later you begin to see the change in the grass.
I also use this fertilizer with my trees and shrubs as well as my vegetable garden. All my plants are in good health.
The only thing about it is it has a little smell from the organic compound, but its otherwise tolerable.
Bottom line, I like this fertilizer and continue to purchase it. It does its job at keeping my grass healthy and well fed while not putting a big hole in my pocket.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Virginia, USA

Double purpose fertilizer

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent as a fertilizer and better as a deer repellent!
As strange as it might sound deers don't come to my back yard when Milorganite is present.
Very good product!
Pros: Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Secret for dark green lawn...

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used it for the first time and Im sold! DARK green and thicker within a few days, supposed to feed longer as well...though I wont wait long to apply again to reach maximum effectiveness. Pretty dramatic for me and much quicker than I anticipated and Ive used other iron products.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, doesnt cause as much overgrowth as normal fert.
Cons: does smell worse in bag than on lawn for 1-2 days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Good product

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. The lawn turns a crazy dark green. Worth the extra money. I used to use another popular fertilizer, but never had good results. See the comparison photo of a neighbor who uses a lawn service and my lawn with milorganite.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
48out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have used Milorganite successfully for a few years now

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's cheap, consistently loose (doesn't clump), the bags are stronger so nowadays don't easily develop holes that leak fertilizer. Only drawback is a slight smell for a day which probably is true for most fertilizers--certainly nothing like the old steer manure odor we used in the old days. Oh, and the bags are a little on the heavy side, since you are adding organic matter, too.
My spreader distributes it well over the lawn and the fertilizer seems to work well for a few weeks, producing nice green growth. I'm all for recycling the sewer sludge it's made from, although you'd never know it from it's small gray sand-like appearance.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Germantown, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for vole control

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a product of City of Milwaukee sewage treatment, a natural fertilizer with low, slow release nitrogen and some iron. I use it primarily for the fall application of fertilizer, having the very greenest spring lawn in our neighborhood. I live in WI where this product is relatively inexpensive due to lower transportation costs than many other parts of the country. As it stands, it costs a bit more to apply this than the chemical fertilizer as respects cost per pound of nitrogen. I find it very effective to repel voles, they having done significant tunneling during winters under snow cover. This past winter, neighboring lawns had a lot of vole damage, but mine had none due to use of this product. It has a slight odor as it is treated sewage sludge.
Pros: effective vole repellent, natural product
Cons: slight odor of sewage sludge
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Corona , ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Flower Bed Rocks

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprinkled some of this stuff on the top of the soil around the flowers in my flower bed and in like three weeks they can not stop blooming. They looks so healthy and fresh
Pros: Multi Use
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

PURE GARBAGE

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I could, I would give this 0 stars. Does not cover anywhere near the stated 2500 sq. ft. per bag. I put down 3 full bags on a lawn less then 4000 sq. ft. 6 weeks ago and watered it morning and evening everyday (even though it states no water necessary), and have not seen any results what so ever. I even called the company and all they did was give me a load of smack. I've been fertilizing my lawns for over 30 years and this is the worse product I have ever used with no results at all. My lawn actually looks worse after using this worthless product. This product is exactly what it is...RECYCLED SEWER SLUDGE!! Save your money and purchase something that actually works!! I will be going back to Scotts because with their products, you get results.
Cons: waste of time and money, did absolutely nothing for my lawn
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product puchased, EVER

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For anyoune seeking to have a green lush yard, then this is the product you SHOULD buy. No I'm not a paid spokeperson or anything of the sort, but I will tell you that the neighborhood that we live in, just about every neighbor has asked what is the secert? and the answer is simply MILORGNITE
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Eco Friendly Fertilizer! If you want GREEN grass, BUY THIS!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started using Milorganite last spring on my southeastern Michigan lawn. I try to stay away from chemicals as much as I can and this is a nice alternative. I purchased 10 bags this year and spread it liberally on my 1/2 acre lot. My grass has never been more green than it's been this year and I'm thrilled at the outcome. It's growing thicker and greener than it has in the 3 years I've owned the place. This stuff is impossible to misuse or overuse. It doesn't burn, and it spreads nicely. I plan on treating my lawn two more times this year. Once within the next month and another time before winter sets in. Now if only I could find an eco frienyly dandelion killer to go along with this, I'd be all set!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Best fertilizer

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
my lawn (Bermuda grass )was terrible even after using expensive brand fertilizer. I decided to use Milorganite after reading the reviews. After the first application, it took a month to recover but my grass started looking healthy and green.now I feel I have the best lawn on the neighborhood. I stopped watering lawn as it rains every one in a week.
For low price, I got the best results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Organic

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We spread this organic fertilizer on our lawn 2 weeks ago and the grass seems to be filling in nicely. Hopefully, it is strong enough to squeeze out the weeds; although, as my husband says, "WHO SAID these are weeds?" Nice to know we are not contaminating the ground water:)
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boise Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great product for your lawn

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
delivery is always quick and service very good. If you want a green heathly lawn this is the stuff to use. Very happy customer
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Trumbull CT
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Milorganite36lb. Organic Nitrogen FertilizerOrganic Nitrogen Fertilizer, scent seems to keep dear out of my yard

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A good friend told me put this Milorganite36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer down around your property and it helps keep the deer out. Since I have been using this product it seems as though the smell the deer get from it does keep them out of my yard . I now put it around my perimeter of the yard Works very good and does not burn the lawn.
Try it ! Ed J.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product on my lawn for two years now. It does a remarkable job of keeping my lawn dark green and healthy looking. I particularly like the fact that it does not burn your lawn. I have a rather bumpy yard due to some tree roots that cause my drop spreader to over-apply fertilizer when the wheels bounce off the roots. With ordinary fertilizers, this over-application results in burn marks on my lawn. Milorganite is a slow-release fertilizer so it doesn't result in burn marks if over-applied. I have also used it on flowers to repel rabbits and it has worked exceedingly well. Great product overall.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Apply
Cons: slight odor that quickly fades
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>