728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product144 of 151reviews
Rating Breakdown 158 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(120)
4
(24)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product144 of 151reviews
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Trumbull, Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very special ingredient to make your lawn awesome!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No fertilizer has ever given my lawn the glow that Milorganite has even though it is only 5% nitrogen. One of the benefits is the 4% water soluble iron that's in Milorganite. Another benefit is that it feeds the earthworms and beneficial soil microbes. In my opinion it does this better and improves the soil more than other organic sources because it is made from bio solids. I love Milorganite and will continue to use it. It is pricier here in Connecticut because it is made in Milwaukee which isn't close. Cities and towns close to Milwaukee do pay less for it or get it on sale more often. Still, I've yet to find a substitute for Milwaukee.
It can also be used as starter fertilizer for new lawns. It feeds the new grass and helps it spread. Here is a photo of a Kentucky Bluegrass lawn I seeded only 50 days ago. I fed it twice with Milorganite and the lawn is establishing faster than any lawn renovation I've done in the past!
Pros: Great Quality, great for the soil, gentle feeding, 4% iron, improves health of lawn
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Long Island NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST LAWN FOOD FOR THE BUCK

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best lawn food you can buy for the buck, it will not burn lawn, nice slow release and all natural. It is a big benefit that it is natural and gets your lawn nice and green , I buy dozens of bags and find myself using it 4 treatments a year. I am a younger guy and my older neighbors ask me all the time how I get my lawn so green, I have the nicest lawn on the block!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop looking at other fertilizer

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first house last fall and the lawn was in need of a makeover. My wife has become a "everything organic" kind of person since the birth of our first child 2 years ago. I did countless research on fertilizer (kind of pathetic, ha!) and I kept coming back to this fertilizer after reading reviews from all over the internet and different locations. The area where we bought our house is full of neighbors who have spectacular lawns and landscaping and I see them outside watering, fertilizing, ect on the daily. I applied this fertilizer in early spring (April) and my lawn completely transformed to the best in the neighborhood within a month. My neighbors constantly stop me and ask me what steroids I'm giving my lawn as they have never seen anything so green and lush before.
The best part of this fertilizer is it requires virtually no water. It also doesn't matter if you 'over-fertilize' like it does with other fertilizers. I recently applied my second coat of fertilizer today and I plan on doing one more just before winter in October to strengthen the roots for next year. I found myself in home depot buying this fertilizer and looking at other people buying the 'other stuff' and all I could do was shake my head. I wanted to go over to them and tell them to get a grip and buy this stuff!
Want to know the bad thing about this fertilizer? Your lawn is going to grow so incredibly fast a few weeks after fertilizing that it will require a weekly mow. Sure it's a pain but it's totally worth the deep dark and full lawn that I now have.
Also, be plenty generous with this fertilizer. It doesn't cover as much area as other fertilizers but it's worth the extra $30 out of my pocket 3 times per year.
I don't have enough good things to say about this fertilizer. Go buy some!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, no maintenance required, dark green
Cons: can be expensive for large yard, takes longer than other fertilizers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
36out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Fertilizer

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first home last year. I started using this fertilizer at a friend's recommendation and I need to say I'm completely satisfied. The product is cheap compared to other fertilizers, and it does better work than other fertilizers. I'm a young guy (26 y.o.) and my neighbors constantly compliment my lawn (St. Augustine) and ask me what I'm doing to keep it so nice. (Mind you, I water it and mow it adequately as well). I generally apply it every 2 months and usually 3 days later you begin to see the change in the grass.
I also use this fertilizer with my trees and shrubs as well as my vegetable garden. All my plants are in good health.
The only thing about it is it has a little smell from the organic compound, but its otherwise tolerable.
Bottom line, I like this fertilizer and continue to purchase it. It does its job at keeping my grass healthy and well fed while not putting a big hole in my pocket.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Secret for dark green lawn...

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used it for the first time and Im sold! DARK green and thicker within a few days, supposed to feed longer as well...though I wont wait long to apply again to reach maximum effectiveness. Pretty dramatic for me and much quicker than I anticipated and Ive used other iron products.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, doesnt cause as much overgrowth as normal fert.
Cons: does smell worse in bag than on lawn for 1-2 days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Good product

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. The lawn turns a crazy dark green. Worth the extra money. I used to use another popular fertilizer, but never had good results. See the comparison photo of a neighbor who uses a lawn service and my lawn with milorganite.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
47out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Corona , ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Flower Bed Rocks

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprinkled some of this stuff on the top of the soil around the flowers in my flower bed and in like three weeks they can not stop blooming. They looks so healthy and fresh
Pros: Multi Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Fertilizer

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Milorganite for many years with great success on my KBG and Fescue mix. The iron content helps keep the grass green and with an organic product you will not have excessive top growth similiar to synthetic fertilizer. I apply four times a year following the holiday schedule and will continue only using Milorganite. You know it is quality product when they have been in production over 80 years.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First time user. Great results! Have been complimented by neighbors. My dog found it irresistible and paid for it with lethargy and dark stool for a few days. Will water in next time and discourage 4-legged traffic as much as possible for a day or so following application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Won't "Wow" You, But You'll See Inprovement

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this product because it is safe for dogs. It does not provide instant results, but if you follow the fertilization schedule that the manufacturer recommends, you will see a difference in your yard. After using the product for a season, my grass is significantly fuller and greener than my neighbors'.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quite pleased

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok, I used it a couple weeks ago on the lawn and now my neighbor asked me what I did to it. It really greened the lawn (a lush green) and seems to work great. I also really like how "fine" the particles are so it is easier to spread and be absorbed vs. the large particle fertilizers I have tried. I had a "never seen spot" in the back yard so I put a crazy amount on it-just to see if it burned....nope, no burning.....just greened it and it is thicker grass now. I also re-seeded a spot of grass, then applied this and it is growing in beautifully now. It's organic, the price is excellent, and it truly works-I am sold!
+26points
36out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Chesapeake, Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent non-burning fertilizer. Perfect for new sod or grass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Morrison, Co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Milorganite Fertilizer

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product previously with great results. Takes about 30 days to begin noticing the difference. The grass turns green with no burning even in the dead of summer. Seems to really thicken the grass. Does not kill weeds. I just walk a grid with a week killer spray to eliminate any weeks. Will continue to order this product from Home Depot as needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Organic works best

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
all way use organics for bests resolts. Slow relise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Germantown, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow to Act, but lasts long. Repells voles quite well.

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I use this product specifically for my late fall fertilizer at my WI home. We had considerable problems with voles cutting their tunnels under snow during the winters, making a mess of our turf. I ended that with a fall application. My two next door neighbors use other products and still have their vole issues.
I experimented with the Milorganite and with a second product of chemical type, applying Milorganite in our rear yard where the vole infestation was the worst. I applied the chemical product in our side and front yards. In the spring that followed, we noticed no vole damage in our rear yard, but the side and front yards were vole-damaged. I also noticed that our rear yard greened up faster in the early spring during that trial comparison. I do two fertilizer applications per year, one in late May and the second in late October. The Milorganite product is a bit expensive compared to chemical fertilizers, but worth the extra to us to limit damage by voles.
Pros: repels voles
Cons: a bit expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from New York

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Milorganite for 3 years now & it works great. It is great for the lawn, leaves it with a rich color of a darker green & last for a considerable time, best thing.....it does not burn the lawn. I follow the application & feeding instructions on the package (when to feed & how much) & so far the results have been great. I was using Scott's products for many many years prior to using Milorganite & the results were not as good. The big plus is that it is good for the environment because of the natural elements.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Simi Valley, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greened up the grass

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grass is definitely greener and is growing rapidly. The down side is that I have to cut it more frequently. I think that the rabbits are avoiding it too.
Pros: it works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product on my lawn for two years now. It does a remarkable job of keeping my lawn dark green and healthy looking. I particularly like the fact that it does not burn your lawn. I have a rather bumpy yard due to some tree roots that cause my drop spreader to over-apply fertilizer when the wheels bounce off the roots. With ordinary fertilizers, this over-application results in burn marks on my lawn. Milorganite is a slow-release fertilizer so it doesn't result in burn marks if over-applied. I have also used it on flowers to repel rabbits and it has worked exceedingly well. Great product overall.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Apply
Cons: slight odor that quickly fades
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from The Woodlands, TX, USA

Great Product

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the same property for 30 years north of Houston, TX and have become a "lawn expert" through many trials. Milorganite does not have the active microbic ingredients of the more expensive organic lawn fertilizers (they were eliminated in the 1000°+ sterilization process) but it does feed the existing microbes with carbon to improve the soil and more importantly does not have the damaging salts of the synthetic chemical fertilizers. This is extremely important during our dry periods as salts from synthetic fertilizers and even in our city-water work against soil tilth. Very inexpensive by comparison to organic products containing active microbial life yet provides similar results. The 4% iron is extremely bio-available and it also contains necessary trace elements such as Boron, Manganese, Zinc, Copper, etc. By mulching and occasionally adding a product that is bio-active (compost, i.e.) the lawn looks lush and full during drought, heat, cold, flood, etc. For St. Augustine, my 9 monthly applications of Milorganite (Mar-Nov) equal a total annual rate of about 4lbs of Nitrogen per 1,000sqf of grass. Each bag contains 1.8 lbs of Nitrogen. (36lbs X 5%) Milorganite does not contain Potassium, however, so before August and before December I apply potassium in some form to negate the affects of drought and winter. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Great Quality, relatively inexpensive
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Murrayville, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My lawn is very dark green, which appears to be extremely healthy. The fertilizer doesn't have any weed killer or prevention, so EVERYTHING grows. I expected that when I purchased it to get a jump on a healthy lawn in the Spring. I'm very pleased with the product and the lower cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, excellent value
Cons: no weed prevention
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>