728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.732 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product77 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(7)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product77 of 78reviews
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
homerepairnut
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quite pleased

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, I used it a couple weeks ago on the lawn and now my neighbor asked me what I did to it. It really greened the lawn (a lush green) and seems to work great. I also really like how "fine" the particles are so it is easier to spread and be absorbed vs. the large particle fertilizers I have tried. I had a "never seen spot" in the back yard so I put a crazy amount on it-just to see if it burned....nope, no burning.....just greened it and it is thicker grass now. I also re-seeded a spot of grass, then applied this and it is growing in beautifully now. It's organic, the price is excellent, and it truly works-I am sold!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Bruce
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Natural Fertilizer product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using it for about 2 years now instead of the traditional 4 step chemical fertilizer. Keeps the lawn green and healthy and it's safe for our dog. The one downside is that the lawn has an organic smell for a few days after application,
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Southworthy
from Plainfield, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product That Comes With No Worries; Remember to Price Match!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, remember that Home Depot price matches the competition! Milorganite is ~$4 cheaper per bag at Farm and Fleet. Print off the price and bring it to the counter when you check out to save some money.
I have been using Milorganite on my lawn and garden for the past three years. The grass always stays a lush green, and looks healthier than my neighbors' lawn during a drought. I enjoy watching all the videos and recommendations on the company's website, I highly encourage you to check them out.
The best part of this plant food is its organic nature. I do not have to worry about the dogs playing in the yard after I treat the lawn. Also I do not have to worry that I over fed the lawn, there's no such thing as too much! Typically after my lawn application I have some extra Milorganite that I walk around and sprinkle around shrubs/flowers/garden. Being organic alleviates the worry of what my vegetables may absorb from other fertilizers.
The product does smell up to three days after application (you know what this is made of...) I have recently started using that smell to my advantage to deter rabbits from eating my perennials. I think it is working!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
madmaxdepot

Good product

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. The lawn turns a crazy dark green. Worth the extra money. I used to use another popular fertilizer, but never had good results. See the comparison photo of a neighbor who uses a lawn service and my lawn with milorganite.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
33out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Mike
from nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have used this in my garden with good results

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This organic nitrogen is very good. I was using manure but loading it up then driving home then shoveling got to be to much. Now lout this in my garden before planting & till it in. Along with all the shreded leaves I had tilled in in last fall. Works great plus using carbon (leaves) gives good carbon nitrogen ratio.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, easy to use. won't burn
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
RockridgeYardGuy
from The Woodlands, TX, USA

Great Product

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the same property for 30 years north of Houston, TX and have become a "lawn expert" through many trials. Milorganite does not have the active microbic ingredients of the more expensive organic lawn fertilizers (they were eliminated in the 1000°+ sterilization process) but it does feed the existing microbes with carbon to improve the soil and more importantly does not have the damaging salts of the synthetic chemical fertilizers. This is extremely important during our dry periods as salts from synthetic fertilizers and even in our city-water work against soil tilth. Very inexpensive by comparison to organic products containing active microbial life yet provides similar results. The 4% iron is extremely bio-available and it also contains necessary trace elements such as Boron, Manganese, Zinc, Copper, etc. By mulching and occasionally adding a product that is bio-active (compost, i.e.) the lawn looks lush and full during drought, heat, cold, flood, etc. For St. Augustine, my 9 monthly applications of Milorganite (Mar-Nov) equal a total annual rate of about 4lbs of Nitrogen per 1,000sqf of grass. Each bag contains 1.8 lbs of Nitrogen. (36lbs X 5%) Milorganite does not contain Potassium, however, so before August and before December I apply potassium in some form to negate the affects of drought and winter. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Great Quality, relatively inexpensive
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Dave
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product on my lawn for two years now. It does a remarkable job of keeping my lawn dark green and healthy looking. I particularly like the fact that it does not burn your lawn. I have a rather bumpy yard due to some tree roots that cause my drop spreader to over-apply fertilizer when the wheels bounce off the roots. With ordinary fertilizers, this over-application results in burn marks on my lawn. Milorganite is a slow-release fertilizer so it doesn't result in burn marks if over-applied. I have also used it on flowers to repel rabbits and it has worked exceedingly well. Great product overall.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Apply
Cons: slight odor that quickly fades
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
JimC
from North Billerica, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great products if you keep kids or animals

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have two very active dogs that tend to roll around the grass. I use Milorganite on my lawn to keep it green and critter friendly. It is more expensive and you can expect to use 2 1/2 bags to one large bag of Scotts. On the other hand, it is cheaper than a vet bill for skin rashes. Just don't be skimpy with it and open up your spreader at least 3/4 of max. for 20K sq feet, I use 6 bags. It does work well and there is a reason you will find nearly every golf course use it.
Pros: pet friendly, very effective, long lasting
Cons: need to use alot, more expensive
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
milliepat
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution increases Weeds

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Application also promotes more weeds in the lawn. Our empire zoysia lawn increased in the amount of weeds one year after application, therefore I would caution everyone when using this product to religiously apply a pre and post emergent weed killer or aggressively hand weed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Gardenguru5
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST FERTILIZER EVER...........

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was recommended to me by a friend.
Last summer we applied this fertilizer and spots that were bare filled in quickly with thick lush grass. Recently we had a sprinkler system installed which took it's toll on our yard.
It has only been 3 weeks and our lawn already looks fantastic after 2 applications.
I am very confident that our search for the perfect fertilizer for lawn and everything that grows grows and blooms (our hibiscus were 7 ft tall last summer) is over.
Please try it. The results are phenomenal !
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: the smell is pretty strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Melissa
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My Go-To Fertilizer

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a lawn that I have been revitalizing for years now since the soil condition is terrible and large dogs trampled it years ago. I put down Milorganite each spring and fall and steadily the lawn is recovering. I would recommend wearing a mask when applying.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
cdealva
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This works great on greening up your grass. I like the fact that you do not have to water in. Grass is nice and green. I will see how it does as our temperatures near 115 degrees.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Digger
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Garden

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product can be used with confidence that it will not harm your plants and is so easy to apply. I always toss a partial handful into holes dug for new plants. During the year, just sprinkle around the base of all plants, especially heavy feeders.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
reachsanto
from Charlotte
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Organic and value for money

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
MILORGANITE is Organic and what more do you need. Its the best value buy and have trusted my lawns with MILORGANITE.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
AzLawnGuy

Golf Green quality fertilizer

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Phoenix area. This fertilizer has the greening power of ironite, but doesn't stain sidewalks. It does not burn the lawn, even when applied in temperatures over 110 degrees and doesn't require watering in. The product is very consistent and does not clog any spreaders.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Lipps
from Cincinnati, Ohio

Milorganite

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is really great fertilizer. Doesn't burn, promotes a healthy lawn. Lasts longer then ordinary lawn fertilizer.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
PawPaw

The Fertilizer is all it states to be and more !

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 6 bags and very impressed with the results. Especially, the non-burning effect. I have ruined and burnt a lot of grass and plants in the past. Will use the Fertilizer again in the future and diffidently recommend it. Please be informed; that it has a little of smell to it until several rains, but worth it.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
hebgbs00
from Rollinsford, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have spent years trying to get grass to grow consistently in my yard. Many brands and "gimmicks" were used. I was tired of spending a ton of money on stuff that doesn't work so my husband convinced me to try this. My lawn is gorgeous...I cannot thank the company enough...I have recommended it to many people and they have had very similar results!!
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Flojo
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No burning

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Slight odor, however, this is overcome the performance of the product. I would recommend to others. In I purchased a bag for a friend and she loves it..
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
wiffball
from Lombard, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mr

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this stuff is like crack for your lawn. green green green, get ready to mow and mow often. grass is thick and green. you can almost watch it grow. get it. its great
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>