728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product156 of 165reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(132)
4
(24)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product156 of 165reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Trumbull, Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very special ingredient to make your lawn awesome!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No fertilizer has ever given my lawn the glow that Milorganite has even though it is only 5% nitrogen. One of the benefits is the 4% water soluble iron that's in Milorganite. Another benefit is that it feeds the earthworms and beneficial soil microbes. In my opinion it does this better and improves the soil more than other organic sources because it is made from bio solids. I love Milorganite and will continue to use it. It is pricier here in Connecticut because it is made in Milwaukee which isn't close. Cities and towns close to Milwaukee do pay less for it or get it on sale more often. Still, I've yet to find a substitute for Milwaukee.
It can also be used as starter fertilizer for new lawns. It feeds the new grass and helps it spread. Here is a photo of a Kentucky Bluegrass lawn I seeded only 50 days ago. I fed it twice with Milorganite and the lawn is establishing faster than any lawn renovation I've done in the past!
Pros: Great Quality, great for the soil, gentle feeding, 4% iron, improves health of lawn
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Long Island NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST LAWN FOOD FOR THE BUCK

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best lawn food you can buy for the buck, it will not burn lawn, nice slow release and all natural. It is a big benefit that it is natural and gets your lawn nice and green , I buy dozens of bags and find myself using it 4 treatments a year. I am a younger guy and my older neighbors ask me all the time how I get my lawn so green, I have the nicest lawn on the block!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop looking at other fertilizer

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first house last fall and the lawn was in need of a makeover. My wife has become a "everything organic" kind of person since the birth of our first child 2 years ago. I did countless research on fertilizer (kind of pathetic, ha!) and I kept coming back to this fertilizer after reading reviews from all over the internet and different locations. The area where we bought our house is full of neighbors who have spectacular lawns and landscaping and I see them outside watering, fertilizing, ect on the daily. I applied this fertilizer in early spring (April) and my lawn completely transformed to the best in the neighborhood within a month. My neighbors constantly stop me and ask me what steroids I'm giving my lawn as they have never seen anything so green and lush before.
The best part of this fertilizer is it requires virtually no water. It also doesn't matter if you 'over-fertilize' like it does with other fertilizers. I recently applied my second coat of fertilizer today and I plan on doing one more just before winter in October to strengthen the roots for next year. I found myself in home depot buying this fertilizer and looking at other people buying the 'other stuff' and all I could do was shake my head. I wanted to go over to them and tell them to get a grip and buy this stuff!
Want to know the bad thing about this fertilizer? Your lawn is going to grow so incredibly fast a few weeks after fertilizing that it will require a weekly mow. Sure it's a pain but it's totally worth the deep dark and full lawn that I now have.
Also, be plenty generous with this fertilizer. It doesn't cover as much area as other fertilizers but it's worth the extra $30 out of my pocket 3 times per year.
I don't have enough good things to say about this fertilizer. Go buy some!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, no maintenance required, dark green
Cons: can be expensive for large yard, takes longer than other fertilizers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
40out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Fertilizer

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I bought our first home last year. I started using this fertilizer at a friend's recommendation and I need to say I'm completely satisfied. The product is cheap compared to other fertilizers, and it does better work than other fertilizers. I'm a young guy (26 y.o.) and my neighbors constantly compliment my lawn (St. Augustine) and ask me what I'm doing to keep it so nice. (Mind you, I water it and mow it adequately as well). I generally apply it every 2 months and usually 3 days later you begin to see the change in the grass.
I also use this fertilizer with my trees and shrubs as well as my vegetable garden. All my plants are in good health.
The only thing about it is it has a little smell from the organic compound, but its otherwise tolerable.
Bottom line, I like this fertilizer and continue to purchase it. It does its job at keeping my grass healthy and well fed while not putting a big hole in my pocket.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Corona , ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Flower Bed Rocks

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprinkled some of this stuff on the top of the soil around the flowers in my flower bed and in like three weeks they can not stop blooming. They looks so healthy and fresh
Pros: Multi Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Secret for dark green lawn...

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used it for the first time and Im sold! DARK green and thicker within a few days, supposed to feed longer as well...though I wont wait long to apply again to reach maximum effectiveness. Pretty dramatic for me and much quicker than I anticipated and Ive used other iron products.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, doesnt cause as much overgrowth as normal fert.
Cons: does smell worse in bag than on lawn for 1-2 days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Germantown, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for vole control

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a product of City of Milwaukee sewage treatment, a natural fertilizer with low, slow release nitrogen and some iron. I use it primarily for the fall application of fertilizer, having the very greenest spring lawn in our neighborhood. I live in WI where this product is relatively inexpensive due to lower transportation costs than many other parts of the country. As it stands, it costs a bit more to apply this than the chemical fertilizer as respects cost per pound of nitrogen. I find it very effective to repel voles, they having done significant tunneling during winters under snow cover. This past winter, neighboring lawns had a lot of vole damage, but mine had none due to use of this product. It has a slight odor as it is treated sewage sludge.
Pros: effective vole repellent, natural product
Cons: slight odor of sewage sludge
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Warren MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We finally found something that helps

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we started using this couple years ago because of our dog. What a difference it has made in the health of the grass, coming in thicker and much greener
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Fertilizer

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Milorganite for many years with great success on my KBG and Fescue mix. The iron content helps keep the grass green and with an organic product you will not have excessive top growth similiar to synthetic fertilizer. I apply four times a year following the holiday schedule and will continue only using Milorganite. You know it is quality product when they have been in production over 80 years.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Good product

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. The lawn turns a crazy dark green. Worth the extra money. I used to use another popular fertilizer, but never had good results. See the comparison photo of a neighbor who uses a lawn service and my lawn with milorganite.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
48out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Eco Friendly Fertilizer! If you want GREEN grass, BUY THIS!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started using Milorganite last spring on my southeastern Michigan lawn. I try to stay away from chemicals as much as I can and this is a nice alternative. I purchased 10 bags this year and spread it liberally on my 1/2 acre lot. My grass has never been more green than it's been this year and I'm thrilled at the outcome. It's growing thicker and greener than it has in the 3 years I've owned the place. This stuff is impossible to misuse or overuse. It doesn't burn, and it spreads nicely. I plan on treating my lawn two more times this year. Once within the next month and another time before winter sets in. Now if only I could find an eco frienyly dandelion killer to go along with this, I'd be all set!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Putnam Valley, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Milorganite keeps deer away and fertilizes your plants!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I buy milorganite every year and start applying it to plants early in spring that deer eat before they start coming to eat. It deters them and they seek other paths for food during the spring, summer and fall. Applications should be repeated after heavy rains.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Douglasville, Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this product after reading the reviews, overall i think the item worked well
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Boston, Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable Organic Nitrogen Fertiliser

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Milorganite for several years with very positive results!
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hartsdale, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nothing special

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this product thinking that it would do 2 things:
1. Perk up a lame property
2. Eliminate weeds.
Result: didn't do either. Cheap product, but no results. Basically throwing away money. Thanks
Pros: cheap
Cons: doesn't work at all
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Excellent

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been struggling to get our lawn turned around since moving into our house. After using this, the lawn greened up and growing faster than I can keep up at times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Did Not Work 100% For Me

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to be frugal and bought this as a fertilizer. Most of the reviews said it would work on fescue grass, but when I applied it to my lawn, nothing really ever took over. I ended up using another product after several months and a couple of uses with this one. I don't know if my soil was just not a good fit for this product or what. Most of the grass just stayed a mild green. It never did get lush or dark....or grow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quite pleased

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok, I used it a couple weeks ago on the lawn and now my neighbor asked me what I did to it. It really greened the lawn (a lush green) and seems to work great. I also really like how "fine" the particles are so it is easier to spread and be absorbed vs. the large particle fertilizers I have tried. I had a "never seen spot" in the back yard so I put a crazy amount on it-just to see if it burned....nope, no burning.....just greened it and it is thicker grass now. I also re-seeded a spot of grass, then applied this and it is growing in beautifully now. It's organic, the price is excellent, and it truly works-I am sold!
+26points
36out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Halethorpe, Md.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchasse

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product was easy to apply and was absent of harsh chemicals.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Rossford, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Beautiful Green without the guilt of hurting our waterways.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>