728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.601 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(153 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product139 of 146reviews
Rating Breakdown 153 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(116)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product139 of 146reviews
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Round Hill Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HUMAN WASTE

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product and applied to my lawn before I noticed in reviews on-line that this product is manufactured out of human waste from the Milwaukee municipal waste system. I would not have applied this product to my lawn if I had realized this was human waste. As far as I am concerned this should be required to be written in bold type on the packaging.
Cons: human waste
-21points
5out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to Scotts Turf Builder

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this based on the reviews. Did absolutely nothing for my lawn...I mean nothing. No green, no growth, nothing. I generally use Scott's Turf Builder and always have excellent results. Well, I can say I tried the organic route. My lawn didn't like it. Responds much better to the synthetic fertilizers.
Pros: none
Cons: lawn didn't respond, doesn't green up
-16points
1out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

made from sewage sludge

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Though labeled as organic, this is actually processed sewer sludge - things you flush down the toilet and pour down the drain.
-17points
5out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Powell, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is nothing but Milwaukee sludge. My lawn never greened up and I consider it a waste of money.
-13points
4out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Miogranite

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gross and moldy. Does not breakdown after being in soil for months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

average product. does not contain sufficient minerals for the price

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product needs improvements and keep a better pricing compare to others
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
-29points
2out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The verdict is still out?

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I fertilize my yard 4 weeks ago with this organic fertilizer. My yard is looking better but it did not green up as much as I thought it would. You cannot go by the manufacturers recommendations on the amount to put on your yard. I purchased 5 sacks to fertilize 10,000 sq feet and I wish I had put more on it. Overall my yard is doing fine but I still have a few yellow spots around my St Augustine grass which for some reason is giving me trouble this year.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hampton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works like it should!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this for potting tomatoes! So Far So Good! Bag was easy to open even with the gloves on, easy to handle and easy to reseal!
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution increases Weeds

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Application also promotes more weeds in the lawn. Our empire zoysia lawn increased in the amount of weeds one year after application, therefore I would caution everyone when using this product to religiously apply a pre and post emergent weed killer or aggressively hand weed.
Pros: Easy to Install
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

low perfomer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this product about a month ago and I have not seen any evidence that it is working..
Cons: low performance
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

I have used it for years it works

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Doesn't burn the lawn and turns the grass a deep green.
Pros: Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Warning

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Milorganite is great for grass and flowers, HOWEVER, it is made from human waste and sewer sludge and should not be used on vegetables. Read the MSDS sheet provided here by HD.
-21points
10out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Response to Warning

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is not accurate that Milorganite is made from human waste and sewage sludge. According to the MSDS (material safety data sheet) it made from microbes used to digest sewage sludge ie. active sewage sludge. Active being the key word indications a live organism. It is also labeled for use on vegetables, flowers, trees, shrubs as well as lawns. Do your research. I have used a golf course quality inorganic fertilizer also available at Home Depot for years, however this year I made the switch to milorganite, and have no reservations about using it on my vegetables or around my kids. Most lawn fertilizers are not labeled for use on vegetables Just overseeded, fertilized with milorganite and amended with gypsum. I don't have enough info for a full review at this time but will post when I see the results.
+17points
27out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Works okay

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's inexpensive, but you need to use twice as much. It's still a good value, but doesnt control weeds.
Pros: Multi Use, Durable
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from northern min
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

working well

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was recommended as a fertilizer and a deer repellent. So far it is working for both. The best thing for me is it won't burn your flowers so application in planters and beds is simplified.
Pros: Multi Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from texas

Good deal!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Most economical organic fertilizer I've found. Greens nicely. Just need to find a source of potassium maybe once a year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Cleve. Oh
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get more, than what you pay for, what great value.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This a great buy for a great product. I wpould definitley buy this again.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: great, best pricing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Brookfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helps to green up the lawn and a resonably priced supplemental fertilzer.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A reasonably priced supplement to the "big brands" of fertilizer. I use it early Spring to green up the lawn, then again towards the Fall here in CT. I've read somewhere that the odor also helps to repel deer. Easy to use because of the granular nature of the product. Two 36 pound bags will cover my 12,000 Square Foot lawn plus some of the gardens.
Pros: Great Quality, helps to repel deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good enough

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to spread, no clumping. Not as cheap as ammonium sulfate but a bit more forgiving. The quick green not as quick but more sustainable for long term nitrogen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

good on plants

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
it's been 2 weeks since i applied the product on the front lawn, still waiting to see results, slowly changing from yellow to green, but the lawn was pretty burn already so i guess is also, because is so hot here in california. I applied on my trees also and they are growing fast now, better results on my trees.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>