728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product113 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(94)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product113 of 118reviews
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to Scotts Turf Builder

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this based on the reviews. Did absolutely nothing for my lawn...I mean nothing. No green, no growth, nothing. I generally use Scott's Turf Builder and always have excellent results. Well, I can say I tried the organic route. My lawn didn't like it. Responds much better to the synthetic fertilizers.
Pros: none
Cons: lawn didn't respond, doesn't green up
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Round Hill Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HUMAN WASTE

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product and applied to my lawn before I noticed in reviews on-line that this product is manufactured out of human waste from the Milwaukee municipal waste system. I would not have applied this product to my lawn if I had realized this was human waste. As far as I am concerned this should be required to be written in bold type on the packaging.
Cons: human waste
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

made from sewage sludge

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Though labeled as organic, this is actually processed sewer sludge - things you flush down the toilet and pour down the drain.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

average product. does not contain sufficient minerals for the price

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product needs improvements and keep a better pricing compare to others
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
-24points
1out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hampton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works like it should!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this for potting tomatoes! So Far So Good! Bag was easy to open even with the gloves on, easy to handle and easy to reseal!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

I have used it for years it works

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Doesn't burn the lawn and turns the grass a deep green.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution increases Weeds

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Application also promotes more weeds in the lawn. Our empire zoysia lawn increased in the amount of weeds one year after application, therefore I would caution everyone when using this product to religiously apply a pre and post emergent weed killer or aggressively hand weed.
Pros: Easy to Install
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Warning

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Milorganite is great for grass and flowers, HOWEVER, it is made from human waste and sewer sludge and should not be used on vegetables. Read the MSDS sheet provided here by HD.
-19points
6out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

low perfomer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this product about a month ago and I have not seen any evidence that it is working..
Cons: low performance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The verdict is still out?

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I fertilize my yard 4 weeks ago with this organic fertilizer. My yard is looking better but it did not green up as much as I thought it would. You cannot go by the manufacturers recommendations on the amount to put on your yard. I purchased 5 sacks to fertilize 10,000 sq feet and I wish I had put more on it. Overall my yard is doing fine but I still have a few yellow spots around my St Augustine grass which for some reason is giving me trouble this year.
Pros: Easy to Install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Works okay

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's inexpensive, but you need to use twice as much. It's still a good value, but doesnt control weeds.
Pros: Multi Use, Durable
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Response to Warning

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is not accurate that Milorganite is made from human waste and sewage sludge. According to the MSDS (material safety data sheet) it made from microbes used to digest sewage sludge ie. active sewage sludge. Active being the key word indications a live organism. It is also labeled for use on vegetables, flowers, trees, shrubs as well as lawns. Do your research. I have used a golf course quality inorganic fertilizer also available at Home Depot for years, however this year I made the switch to milorganite, and have no reservations about using it on my vegetables or around my kids. Most lawn fertilizers are not labeled for use on vegetables Just overseeded, fertilized with milorganite and amended with gypsum. I don't have enough info for a full review at this time but will post when I see the results.
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Pet Friendly

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great if you have a dog that likes the outdoors…. I would recommend this for those with safety concerns.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Commerce, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Organic is the best for lawns!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I've used Milorganite for decades on my fescue lawns and have generally been pleased with the result. It produces thick growth without too much "fast height" (a sure recipe for disease and other problems in lawns). Because it's organic, I don't worry about fungus or destruction of soil structure, which heavy chemicals generate. Other big pluses: it doesn't have to be watered in -- it won't burn, even if you put too much on; and you can give a late autumn feed, as I do here in Ga., and the nutrients won't leach out over the winter -- they'll still be sitting there in Spring ready to feed your lawn whenever it cranks up again -- priceless! Biggest negative: the high cost for the amount of nutrient you get. And ... it contains no potassium, so if you use it season after season as I do, you'll have to apply it occasionally from some other source.
Cons: cost
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made grass healthy!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product did what it said. Made the brown grass turn green and healthy, without promoting wild growth.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Works.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great, natural fertilizer for your lawn. Smells a bit like you know what but that's because it's made with you know what. Goes on easy with a broadcast spreader and was priced well at $12/bag. Greens up the grass in no time.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This works great on greening up your grass. I like the fact that you do not have to water in. Grass is nice and green. I will see how it does as our temperatures near 115 degrees.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

good on plants

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it's been 2 weeks since i applied the product on the front lawn, still waiting to see results, slowly changing from yellow to green, but the lawn was pretty burn already so i guess is also, because is so hot here in california. I applied on my trees also and they are growing fast now, better results on my trees.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from texas

Good deal!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most economical organic fertilizer I've found. Greens nicely. Just need to find a source of potassium maybe once a year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

as advertised

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product greens without burning. Promote healthy lawn
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>