728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Milorganite 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer is good for promoting healthy growth of lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers. The non burning formula doesn't have to be watered-in. It is fortified with 4% iron to help produce thick, green lawns without excessive growth. It doesn't contain any salts, so it is good for use in drought conditions.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product156 of 165reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(132)
4
(24)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product156 of 165reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Review 1 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to Scotts Turf Builder

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this based on the reviews. Did absolutely nothing for my lawn...I mean nothing. No green, no growth, nothing. I generally use Scott's Turf Builder and always have excellent results. Well, I can say I tried the organic route. My lawn didn't like it. Responds much better to the synthetic fertilizers.
Pros: none
Cons: lawn didn't respond, doesn't green up
-20points
1out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Powell, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is nothing but Milwaukee sludge. My lawn never greened up and I consider it a waste of money.
-16points
5out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Round Hill Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HUMAN WASTE

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product and applied to my lawn before I noticed in reviews on-line that this product is manufactured out of human waste from the Milwaukee municipal waste system. I would not have applied this product to my lawn if I had realized this was human waste. As far as I am concerned this should be required to be written in bold type on the packaging.
Cons: human waste
-30points
5out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

made from sewage sludge

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Though labeled as organic, this is actually processed sewer sludge - things you flush down the toilet and pour down the drain.
-22points
5out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hartsdale, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nothing special

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this product thinking that it would do 2 things:
1. Perk up a lame property
2. Eliminate weeds.
Result: didn't do either. Cheap product, but no results. Basically throwing away money. Thanks
Pros: cheap
Cons: doesn't work at all
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

average product. does not contain sufficient minerals for the price

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product needs improvements and keep a better pricing compare to others
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
-30points
2out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Miogranite

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gross and moldy. Does not breakdown after being in soil for months
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The verdict is still out?

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I fertilize my yard 4 weeks ago with this organic fertilizer. My yard is looking better but it did not green up as much as I thought it would. You cannot go by the manufacturers recommendations on the amount to put on your yard. I purchased 5 sacks to fertilize 10,000 sq feet and I wish I had put more on it. Overall my yard is doing fine but I still have a few yellow spots around my St Augustine grass which for some reason is giving me trouble this year.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

I have used it for years it works

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Doesn't burn the lawn and turns the grass a deep green.
Pros: Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution increases Weeds

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Application also promotes more weeds in the lawn. Our empire zoysia lawn increased in the amount of weeds one year after application, therefore I would caution everyone when using this product to religiously apply a pre and post emergent weed killer or aggressively hand weed.
Pros: Easy to Install
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Warning

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Milorganite is great for grass and flowers, HOWEVER, it is made from human waste and sewer sludge and should not be used on vegetables. Read the MSDS sheet provided here by HD.
-22points
10out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Response to Warning

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is not accurate that Milorganite is made from human waste and sewage sludge. According to the MSDS (material safety data sheet) it made from microbes used to digest sewage sludge ie. active sewage sludge. Active being the key word indications a live organism. It is also labeled for use on vegetables, flowers, trees, shrubs as well as lawns. Do your research. I have used a golf course quality inorganic fertilizer also available at Home Depot for years, however this year I made the switch to milorganite, and have no reservations about using it on my vegetables or around my kids. Most lawn fertilizers are not labeled for use on vegetables Just overseeded, fertilized with milorganite and amended with gypsum. I don't have enough info for a full review at this time but will post when I see the results.
+18points
28out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Hampton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works like it should!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this for potting tomatoes! So Far So Good! Bag was easy to open even with the gloves on, easy to handle and easy to reseal!
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer

Works okay

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's inexpensive, but you need to use twice as much. It's still a good value, but doesnt control weeds.
Pros: Multi Use, Durable
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

low perfomer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this product about a month ago and I have not seen any evidence that it is working..
Cons: low performance
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Did Not Work 100% For Me

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to be frugal and bought this as a fertilizer. Most of the reviews said it would work on fescue grass, but when I applied it to my lawn, nothing really ever took over. I ended up using another product after several months and a couple of uses with this one. I don't know if my soil was just not a good fit for this product or what. Most of the grass just stayed a mild green. It never did get lush or dark....or grow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Commerce, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Organic is the best for lawns!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I've used Milorganite for decades on my fescue lawns and have generally been pleased with the result. It produces thick growth without too much "fast height" (a sure recipe for disease and other problems in lawns). Because it's organic, I don't worry about fungus or destruction of soil structure, which heavy chemicals generate. Other big pluses: it doesn't have to be watered in -- it won't burn, even if you put too much on; and you can give a late autumn feed, as I do here in Ga., and the nutrients won't leach out over the winter -- they'll still be sitting there in Spring ready to feed your lawn whenever it cranks up again -- priceless! Biggest negative: the high cost for the amount of nutrient you get. And ... it contains no potassium, so if you use it season after season as I do, you'll have to apply it occasionally from some other source.
Cons: cost
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well and no need to worry about grass burns please keep in mind this doesn't kill weeds
Pros: Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from Brookfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helps to green up the lawn and a resonably priced supplemental fertilzer.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A reasonably priced supplement to the "big brands" of fertilizer. I use it early Spring to green up the lawn, then again towards the Fall here in CT. I've read somewhere that the odor also helps to repel deer. Easy to use because of the granular nature of the product. Two 36 pound bags will cover my 12,000 Square Foot lawn plus some of the gardens.
Pros: Great Quality, helps to repel deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 lb. Organic Nitrogen Fertilizer
from TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made grass healthy!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product did what it said. Made the brown grass turn green and healthy, without promoting wild growth.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>