728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

This 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend is an all-purpose soil amendment for vegetable gardens, flower beds, lawns and landscapes. Add this blend of steer manure and organic compost to the soil to promote healthy plant growth.
Overall rating:
3.522 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product15 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product15 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
Review 1 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

good value

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this stuff for years and have never found anything more than a trivial amount of thicker wood pieces or stones in it. Since it’s composted by piling it on the ground, some stones will always be scraped up and finding a few in a bag shouldn’t mean your life has been ruined, especially over a product that costs about one dollar. Make a half inch screen sifter and use it.
One big steer manure problem that you don’t have with horse or dairy manure is salt, and this product claims to be over 50% steer manure. Steer manure comes from feed lots and a well managed feed lot adds roughly half a percent of salt to the steer feed to encourage lots of urination to prevent the high-grain-percentage feed from clogging urethras, a common mechanical problem with steers castrated at birth. Cattle are serious salt freaks: they even add salt blocks to keep the cattle from licking the salty manure and urine.
The compost’s texture seems mature. If you use this in any heavy amount, be sure to soak the compost and soil to death in order to leach the salts down. You’ll also be leaching down the colloids, but they’re far bigger than salt ions and won’t wash out as easily.
Pros: Great Quality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Broomfield, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Oily substance in the blend, flies magnet

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought many bags of steer manure blend this year for tomato planting. It is mixed equally with garden soil and peat moss. I find that the water runoff from the bottom of the buckets has a film of oily material (looks similar to gasoline on water). I am not sure if it is a contamination but I have stopped using it. On top of that, this manure blend attracts lots of flies to the extent that it is disturbing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from pueblo, co
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than MG

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works better than MG, I have used this for two years and it works good,
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Great deal, fairly low in manure

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I really like this stuff as a soil amendment. I mix it with the sifted existing soil, and plant into it, or put some garden soil over it and grow the veggies. there may be weeds in it, but I don't care - there are already weeds in the dirt I'm belnding it with.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Seattle, Washington

steer manure/compost blend

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great value product! I have used it for several years now. It works! Plants grow well with it. The soil consistency is maintained or improved. The price is competitive with large quantity, bulk delivered compost. I can just handle the 1 cubic foot package size. Any more would be too much for me alone. I can take up to four bags in the trunk of my car. As a 72 year old avid gardening woman, I find that's perfect for one or two big gardening sessions without having any leftover to store. In short, the product works, the price is right, and the packaging is right.
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

good result

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the smell is a given. results are good, plants grow better and flowers / vege pops out more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Decent Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this expecting decaying wood which I've gotten from the number one lawn product producer but Depot's product is quite good. It may be light on manure but it is fully decomposed compost and ready to mix into the ground. I'm quite pleased with the price/value relationship and smokes last two years purchases from number one lawn product producer.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed finer material

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was planting Rye Grass. I wanted my top coat to be smooth and level. I always sift my Steer Manure through a 1/2" hardware cloth sifter. There is a lot of product in these bags that can not be broken down to that small. I poured a third of the bag into my sifter at a time, then shook the heck out of it as I spread it on my lawn area. After sifting, I would have about 35% of the product that would not break up into small enough pieces to pass through the sifter. The pieces that would not pass were about 1 inch, sometimes much more. No matter how hard I tried to smash up the pieces that were too large, they would not break apart. The mix contained perhaps 5% total of: Rocks, Wood, Other junk. If none of the above described would bother your use, then this is your product. Otherwise you may want to find something else.
In summary, for me, I had to dispose of 35% of the bag. I gave the big clumps to someone else that did not mind the large pieces.
Cons: not pre sifted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Let it sit....

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great specially if you let it sit for a few months. Best compost for the $$. The key is to let it sit so it finish composting with a light watering every other day. When done it wont harm plants plus it don't smell like manure.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Grass Valley, CA

Can't Beat The Price

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I drive 30 minutes just to buy this product from Home Depot. The price is unbeatable. This is a great "filler". Steer manure doesn't have the same amount of nutrients as other soils so I highly recommend using other soils with this, but this is still a great product, just don't use too much of it or you will have compacted soil.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Central Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff, Good Value, Has Sticks/Stones/Weeds

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff stinks. Literally, but is manure after all. Included in each bag will be largish pieces of wood and stones ranging from tiny to fist sized.
I buy 45+ bags for my yard every fall. Last year's batch had a much lower stick/stone content than 2011, and it was lower in weeds. I spray for weeds anyway, so the weeds growing through are of no consequence.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Best value

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best for filling as it's really cheap (often 0.97/cf, on sale at 0.85/cf), it dries out very quickly so you might want to mix it with other materials (peat moss, or the more expensive soil). Don't use in large quantity alone (w/o mixing) as it can smell pretty bad
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

compost mix

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product before to enrich my composting efforts and it has worked great
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Aurora, CO

Steer Manure

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this instead of top soil to fill in the holes in my back yard because there seems to be less twigs and mulch. I will use this product again this year for the same reason. I
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Arizona

Heavy Stuff!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed 50 bags for a raised garden. Each bag weighs 37lbs and would have been 1850lbs which is almost twice the load capacity for my F-150! But The product is excellent. Made two trips.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Regular STEER MANURE

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use at your own discretion - Procuct NOT fully composted. Expect Fungal Strands, (Mycelium), to be present in bag. pH measurements: CHEMICAL: rapitest Soil Test Kit #1601, pH 6 to 7; rapitest 1815 Mini pH TESTER, pH 6.8; rapitest 1818 mini 4 in 1 Tester, pH 7
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Seattle, WA, USA

A excellent value!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought steer manure is a bag of stinking cow stool. But it actually doesn't have heavy odor. It is soil alike, with compost, looks very good. I even see a few pieces plant food in this manure.
I don't think is very fertility, but given the price is so low, I will buy a lot of them to fill my rocky sandy back yard.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Mariposa, CA 95338, USA

no no no

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not as good as they use to make...they have change the contents....i use to live by this but not anymore..they use to make . .05.05.05 cow manure now that was awesome...this is not good at all
Cons: need to go back to the cow manure they had before
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Bellevue, WA

I like it...

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got some for my backyard... it has that strange odor but it really mixes well with the soil and looks nice.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would use this just for amendment to the soil and not as THE soil you intend on using in the garden or flower box
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>