728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

This 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend is an all-purpose soil amendment for vegetable gardens, flower beds, lawns and landscapes. Add this blend of steer manure and organic compost to the soil to promote healthy plant growth.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product23 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product23 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
Review 1 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Emmett, ID
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for mixing with.......

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for the price. I mix this with compost, different bagged soil ammendments, peat moss, etc, for composting, topdressing, making my own potting soil mix, and ammending the soil for new plants. But here is the most important thing to know about buying any bagged "soil". Even though you will find the same brand in different states and store locations, depending on your location, the quality WILL be different. They always make it(even the expensive brands) out of "local" materials. Shipping high grade manure from a feed lot in Kansas to say Nevada, does not work. Most times they "compost" it right next to the feed lots and dairies. So if you have a lot of beef or dairy in your state you may have a good batch of steer manure at your local store. AND NEVER buy a large amount(10 bags or more) without testing it first. Buy one bag and take it home and see what you got. Or bring a plastic tote with you and pour it into it in the parking lot and see what you got. Quality WILL change. Just because you got a great product this year at your local store does not mean you will get the same next year. Or next month. Also doing a little self study on soil and what kind of soil conditions you need for your particular plants or veggies will save you a lot of frustration, money, time, and sweat.
Pros: Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from WA

Worst compost I have ever bought.

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are looking for a bag of sticks, large rocks, pieces of plastic bags, fruit stickers and glass shards this product is for you. Absolutely horrible product.
Should have returned them after opening the first bag.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from RIALTO, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth A Dime!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THIS PRODUCT WILL NOT GIVE YOU GOOD RESULTS. In fact; it won't give you ANY results ! It is worthless and breaks down in a couple of days, adds nothing to the soil for the plants; as if I hadn't added anything at all! It doesn't even smell like steer manure!
If you buy this manure-blend product; you will WASTE your money. Here in Rialto, CA we need REAL COW MANURE (but The HD no longer will carry it) !!
I've used real steer manure in my garden and on the lawn since 1985; and it ALWAYS showed in the green and vigor of the plants as they responded to it.
THIS BLEND PRODUCT ISN'T IT!!!
HD needs to STOCK the REAL stuff!!! - APR, 2015
Cons: Not Durable, useless, worthless, does nothing
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

good value

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this stuff for years and have never found anything more than a trivial amount of thicker wood pieces or stones in it. Since it’s composted by piling it on the ground, some stones will always be scraped up and finding a few in a bag shouldn’t mean your life has been ruined, especially over a product that costs about one dollar. Make a half inch screen sifter and use it.
One big steer manure problem that you don’t have with horse or dairy manure is salt, and this product claims to be over 50% steer manure. Steer manure comes from feed lots and a well managed feed lot adds roughly half a percent of salt to the steer feed to encourage lots of urination to prevent the high-grain-percentage feed from clogging urethras, a common mechanical problem with steers castrated at birth. Cattle are serious salt freaks: they even add salt blocks to keep the cattle from licking the salty manure and urine.
The compost’s texture seems mature. If you use this in any heavy amount, be sure to soak the compost and soil to death in order to leach the salts down. You’ll also be leaching down the colloids, but they’re far bigger than salt ions and won’t wash out as easily.
Pros: Great Quality
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Seattle, Washington

steer manure/compost blend

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great value product! I have used it for several years now. It works! Plants grow well with it. The soil consistency is maintained or improved. The price is competitive with large quantity, bulk delivered compost. I can just handle the 1 cubic foot package size. Any more would be too much for me alone. I can take up to four bags in the trunk of my car. As a 72 year old avid gardening woman, I find that's perfect for one or two big gardening sessions without having any leftover to store. In short, the product works, the price is right, and the packaging is right.
+53points
56out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from seattle,wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Full of sticks and stone and plastic bits

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible , not sure how it can even be called a steer manure blend. Has no smell of manure at all and in one bag I got out about 2 pounds of sticks, rocks and plastic bits. I have never gotten any of that in a bag of manure or compost before.Will never buy again. A waste of money.
Cons: full of things i do not want to add to my garden.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from los angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good stuff

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
here in southern cal i've had good luck with this steer manure by earthgro. my dad told me to
open up the bags and let the methane gas dissipate for a couple of days, only then mix 1:1 with
compost given out free by the municipal once a week here where i live. the lawn seems to love
this mixture and so do the flower beds. as long as you don't use the manure by itself and allow
the smelly methane gas to dissipate it should be fine. it has for me so far. hope this helps.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Albuquerque
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Where's the manure?

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are actually looking for steer manure, this is not it. Once upon a time, this product had more manure than compost. Now its just the opposite. It doesn't even have a hint of manure smell. My dogs couldn't even tell there was manure in the bags -- which those of you with dogs know what I mean. Poured out side by side next to a bag of pure compost and you can't even tell the difference in appearance, consistency, texture or smell. The only redeeming grace is that it costs much less than the pure compost. Will definitely have to go elsewhere!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from cornelius oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

back to using this after buying bulk compost

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have about an acre in garden beds (6 islands, 4 perimeters on the far sides plus around the home)....10-15 years ago this is what i used over my garden bed soil to keep down weeds....i then tried spraying in bark which was contaminated with grass seed and it took me 5 years to get on top of it....then for 5 seasons i've used 3 different companies for bulk mulch....the standards for bulk compost have been loosened grately so people are dropping off garbage mixed with composting materials to the recyclers...i've spent the last two seasons picking pieces of plastic and glass from my garden beds...not good it you have dogs!....so, i'm back to these bags of steer manure to keep weeds down....i love it and will stay with the steer manure ~ i've only found 2 pieces of plastic in the last 200 bags...also, it's much easier to use than shoveling (i'm 59 year old woman and have no gardening help)....
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use With caution And It Is Awesome

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use this product with care! If you sparingly spread this on flower beds and lawns, it will create fertilized soil conducive for growth. It does not have anything in it other than manure. It will not grow anything by itself, just create soil that is good for growing plant life. If you do need to grow plants or grass/seed, use that in conjunction with this product. if you for whatever reason, you make a mistake and over fertilize with this product, rake it out quickly and dilute it with as much water as possible -- or it will burn your soil. It is pretty powerful stuff.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Decent Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this expecting decaying wood which I've gotten from the number one lawn product producer but Depot's product is quite good. It may be light on manure but it is fully decomposed compost and ready to mix into the ground. I'm quite pleased with the price/value relationship and smokes last two years purchases from number one lawn product producer.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Grass Valley, CA

Can't Beat The Price

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I drive 30 minutes just to buy this product from Home Depot. The price is unbeatable. This is a great "filler". Steer manure doesn't have the same amount of nutrients as other soils so I highly recommend using other soils with this, but this is still a great product, just don't use too much of it or you will have compacted soil.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Let it sit....

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great specially if you let it sit for a few months. Best compost for the $$. The key is to let it sit so it finish composting with a light watering every other day. When done it wont harm plants plus it don't smell like manure.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I needed finer material

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was planting Rye Grass. I wanted my top coat to be smooth and level. I always sift my Steer Manure through a 1/2" hardware cloth sifter. There is a lot of product in these bags that can not be broken down to that small. I poured a third of the bag into my sifter at a time, then shook the heck out of it as I spread it on my lawn area. After sifting, I would have about 35% of the product that would not break up into small enough pieces to pass through the sifter. The pieces that would not pass were about 1 inch, sometimes much more. No matter how hard I tried to smash up the pieces that were too large, they would not break apart. The mix contained perhaps 5% total of: Rocks, Wood, Other junk. If none of the above described would bother your use, then this is your product. Otherwise you may want to find something else.
In summary, for me, I had to dispose of 35% of the bag. I gave the big clumps to someone else that did not mind the large pieces.
Cons: not pre sifted
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Best value

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best for filling as it's really cheap (often 0.97/cf, on sale at 0.85/cf), it dries out very quickly so you might want to mix it with other materials (peat moss, or the more expensive soil). Don't use in large quantity alone (w/o mixing) as it can smell pretty bad
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Aurora, CO

Steer Manure

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this instead of top soil to fill in the holes in my back yard because there seems to be less twigs and mulch. I will use this product again this year for the same reason. I
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend

Great deal, fairly low in manure

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I really like this stuff as a soil amendment. I mix it with the sifted existing soil, and plant into it, or put some garden soil over it and grow the veggies. there may be weeds in it, but I don't care - there are already weeds in the dirt I'm belnding it with.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this every year, a blend of compost and manure is perfect for my heavy feeding melons, corn, and tomatoes...I have to use bone meal and sul po mag to keep the balance of nutrients. But what a great value for an organic gardener
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Santa Maria, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works wonders for plans

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I mix this with my potting soil and it really gets them off to a great start.
Pros: great soil amendment
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 cu. ft. Steer Manure Blend
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality for the price

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value, I sparingly spread this on my garden and flower beds and tilled the mixture. Plants and flowers are loving it.. Contents was what I expected and could smell the manure as I opened the bag.
for those that use manure for grass need to do better research on how to apply. Too much of a good thing can burn..
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>