728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote

The ZW6500R 6,500 BTU electronic room air conditioner with remote is the perfect size for small - medium sized rooms. The digital timer will allow you to set the temperature you desire and the amount of time you wish to have it on. If your looking to stay cool in the summer heat then look no further.
Overall rating:
3.603 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product41 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(10)
71%of customersrecommend this product41 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
Review 1 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Ohio

Vibrating is easily fixed.....

PostedJune 10, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The vibrating the other reviewer is speaking about is just the built up water in the bottom that the fan hits. Mine was doing the same so I installed the included drain pipe into the back of the unit and now it works like a charm!!!! Excellent!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Astoria, NY

Chilly & Loud

PostedSeptember 7, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit can really cool a small-medium room. But it's loud. Really loud. Comically loud. I bought the unit so I didn't have to keep my windows open because I live one block from train tracks. It's way louder than the train, as well as my neighbors' dogs. But since it's a constant noise rather than occasional, I can tune it out. Still, it's silly loud. I have to turn it off to use the phone. It's not as loud on the fan setting, but I bought it for the cooling factor. It has an energy-saver setting, but that just turns it on and off, so I have to keep it running constantly through the night, because if it kicks in from a period of silence, it wakes me up. And I'm not a light sleeper. It's kinda like having my own pet airplane.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Jersey City, NJ

This airconditioner is noisy

PostedJune 7, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this and took it back the next day. All the front parts vibrate and it is very noisy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from North East

Good AC some black specs on bottom

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The AC works fine. It provides good cool air flow and has an energy efficieny option that works great. The AC isn 't energy star though. It uses a high amount of watts for a small AC. Make sure it is more than enoguh BTU's for the room or it could get expensive running it.
When I went to install it there were little black specs on the bottom of the AC that I simply blew out. Not sure what they were from. It seems to work great though.
It has a "dry" feature that could be very helpful and save energy. It is like a dehumidifier option that can run without any cooling. Most ACs in this class don't have this option seperate. Good product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Boston, Massachusetts

Good Appliance for the Money

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Zenith in two years. I purposely searched for the same model I bought last year because I liked the model. I ordered it for home delivery because every time I went to the store (and I went to several), it was one of the first models sold out.
I really like the well written instructions and the ease in installing it in the window. The energy saver is the best, allowing me to raise the temperature when I leave the house and still have a relatively cool room when I return. I am very happy with this model and its price tag. It does very well with a 12X12 room.
If your air conditioner makes a lot of noise, chances are, the installation may be a little off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Philadelphia

Good Basic Air Conditioner

PostedJune 10, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This air conditioner was in perfect condition out of the box and it installed with no trouble at all. All the fuctions seem to operate correctly and the unit cools my 11x11 open office (no actual door) effectively, even on this 98 degree day.
If you like LG products, this Zenith unit is made by LG and seems to have the LG quality. The warranty is 1yr parts & labor with a 5yr compressor warranty.
I wish the air conditioner displayed the current indoor temperature instead of the set temp like some other a/c units do, but that is a minor point.
I've only owned this for a few days, but so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Texas

Good so far

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this thing for about two weeks and so far I have been very pleased with it. Although it's branded Zenith it is made by LG. I have a 12000BTU/hr LG AC that I got from Home Depot about three years ago that is still working. Hopefully this unit will have a long life as well.
It's also not any louder than any other window unit. At first it was quite loud and I was afraid most of these other reviews were right but it wasn't the air conditioner that was loud, it was the window vibrating too much.
Hopefully two years from now it's still running as well as it has been in the last two weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Long Island, NY

Good A/C at Reasonable Price

PostedJune 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this unit for a little over a week, installed in a window in my bedroom, and so far, so good. The air is cool everywhere in the bedroom and is getting quite a bit of use. I don't know the exact size of the bedroom, but it appears a 6500 BTU machine is at least big enough for it, if not slightly bigger than needed.
The machine can be a little loud, but I've only noticed that while awake. I can't say I've ever been awakened by the noise while in bed, so I doubt this machine is all that much louder than any other.
Overall, I think it's a good buy for use in an average size bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Lomita, Ca

Perfect for a small room.

PostedJune 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this about a month ago for my bedroom - about 18x18, and it works just fine.
Some people are concerned with the noise, and yes, it can rumble a bit.
However, with the fan on low the unit is no louder really than the floor fan I used last summer. It cools things quickly and is perfect for me as I work nights and have to sleep during the blazing daytime.
A great buy for the money.
PRO: good value and efficient.
CON: designed for horizontal closing windows, not vertical closing. HAd to make a small fram for the thing to sit in the window (basically an 'H' out of 2x2's).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from New Mexico

Much Better Than I expected

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good A/C for the money. It is identical to the two hundred dollar LG window A/C I bought several months ago (and HATE due to the noise!) I believe this is also an LG product, as the box said Zenith/LG on it. The A/C was easy to install, runs like a champ, not noisy at all (it is less than two feet from my bed) and blows like crazy on the second fan speed. The remote is handy when I don't wish to get up and change the A/C settings manually. This particular air conditioner is one I would recommend to a friend, both for the price and its performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Warren, NJ

As loud as an idling Mack truck 4/27/09

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit, as one consumer described it, is "comically loud". I read the reviews before purchase and decided some of the other people writing them may not be used to the sound of a window unit and exaggerated the noise level. After the first night of use I found out the hard way they were absolutely right. I awoke at 4:13 this morning to the sound of what sounded like a garbage truck; which or course was really the AC.
I followed the simple instructions and installed the unit with ease; including the drain pipe. When the compressor cycles on it makes a loud, pulsing, vibrating racket. To top it all off it does not keep a steady cool throughout the room (approx 10x15). Do not be lured by the price, EER rating, and BTU output. DO NOT BUY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Washington, DC

Good little A/C, low noise

PostedJuly 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago for my apt because the A/C was small and cheap. I am very pleased with it. I put it in my living room, the central room in my apt. The apt. is open to the kitchen on the left and the bedroom and bathroom on the right. That said, it still adequately cools the living room, even though I can't close the space off. It also cools off the kitchen and the bedroom (so long as the windows are closed). I think it's a great value for the price.
As for the noise: the unit is NOT noisy. I repeat, NOT NOISY. It's no louder than a standard electric fan. The high speed fan setting (F2) can be noisy and doesn't provide much cooling, but there's no good reason to use that setting anyway. Perfectly functional for the price. I would buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Albany, GA

Spent another $50 and upgrade.

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is horrible. The only good side to it, is that it isnt as loud as most ac units, but still quite noisy.
Ive had it for a week so far in a room that is only 140sq ft. No matter what I put the thermostat at, the temp in the room as NOT gone below 75. That was the first day, since then it hasnt gone below 78. Most of the days up until today have only been in the mid 80s, so the heat outside hasnt been the problem.
I would definitely recommend spending an extra $50 and upgrading to the next best unit HomeDepot has.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Delaware

Very satisfied with A/C

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only paid $130 after coupon. Bought this in early June. Installation was very easy in my bedroom window and took about 40 min.
I had to get a 1"X20" wood strip to sit in the window so the metal tabs on the bottom of the A/C wouldn't damage my vinyl window frame.
It cools my 15'x15' room very well and it's not any louder than most A/C's despite what others complain about.
I really don't have any complaints about it and it's saved me about $80 so far on my elect. bill since I don't have to run the central air system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Austin, Texas

Great A/C for $150

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the better small units I have ever bought. I think this is about my 5th one of different brands. It is nice and quiet and cools down a 10 x 15 room quickly. The room can get quite chilly with 95+ degree temps here in central Texas. No leaks here as long as you make it sit at a slight tilt with the front higher than the back. Then simply remove the plug on the back and any water that accumulates will drain out the back and outside. Great price and I would recommend it to my Mom! It's that good!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from mobile, alabama

freight train

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i purchased this window unit because my central ac went out. had this unit installed in a den just to make through the rest of the summer. installation was easy, except there were a few screws missing. once unit installed turned it on and bam, it did sound like a freight train. my friend discovered that it was the cover over the fan blade. he took the front off the unit and place pop scicle stick in between the top and the bottom and whamo no more freight train. would have taken it back because it WAS to LOUD, but after the stick we decided to keep it. by the way it is wonderful for the price and the size and yes i would recommend with just a few adjustments. manufacturer need to consider a smaller fan cover and that will solve the problem. i have had it now for about three weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from New York, NY

Zenith Air Conditioner

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received my Zenith 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote. It was easy to install, and throws enough cool air to easily reduce the temperature in my bedroom so I can have a comfortable night's sleep. I like the timer function because I can set it before I go out in the evening and my room is already cool when I come home. And, it shuts itself off! Nice features. It's an energy saver and I'll be checking my utility bill to see the results. Overall, an excellent choice. I'm pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Virginia

Expected alot, but all I got was hot air

PostedJune 8, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this a/c home right out of the box it had bent fins in the back. Installed it and it is noisy and no cooling. The compressor squeals when it comes on and sounds like a jet landing when it shuts back off.
It will try to cool for about 1 minute when the compressor comes on but then the compressor kicks back off and the fan runs for about 10 minutes before the compressor kicks back on again.
I've had quite a few small a/c units before but this one is definitely the worst.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from Dallas, TX

It's Great!

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got through getting my unit installed. It's very quiet...cools my room very nicely, even when the energy saver is on. Has a nice, sleek look...the remote control is very convenient and easy to understand. The price was quite reasonable, I thought. If there was any "downside" to anything, it would be that the screws weren't quite long enough (or so my dad said so) so he used longer screws. Other than that, I think it was a great little buy for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6,500 BTU Electronic Room Air Conditioner with Remote
from West Deptford, NJ

great bedroom ac

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was bought to replace a much older unit in my bedroom. I was able to sleep without any problems that I encountered with my old unit being noisy. This quietly cooled my room with no problems I love the different features on this unit and would recommend it to anyone who has a small room to cool. Great ac for the price. Love the remote. Love the fact that it will cost alot less to run than the noisy unit it replaced. LOVE IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>