728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent

Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent

Recommended for application around the perimeter of areas, the Dr. T's Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent is designed to deter snakes to help keep spaces free of pests. This time-release, granular repellent works by interfering with snakes' sensory reception systems to turn them away without causing them harm.
Overall rating:
4.208 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
Review 1 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Gilbert, AZ

Snake Away

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had trouble with Southwestern Blackhead Snakes in and around my Gilbert home. The last one came up through the kitchen sink drain. I am on my way to get more of this great stuff. I used it earlier in the summer (lasts about 3 mos.) and plan to reapply around the perimeter, flower beds, shed area, pool area, etc. It smells like moth balls but beats having tiny snakes crawl into your house through the cracks! I hate snakes and this stuff seems to be a great deterrent since I haven't noticed any for months until just recently again. Time to reapply. The odor does diminish after a few days but remains active for several months.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from St. James City, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very effective.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to apply. I live half the year in Florida, and while no one is there for 6 months, snakes move into the flower beds and under the porches and sometimes deliver their young. We try to be sure all of them are scared out before spreading the product. We didn't get one out from under the porch this year before spreading the product. We found it still alive, but starved almost to death. It would not cross the repellant to leave the area.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Hoschton Ga 30548

SNAKE-A-WAY

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product that did everything it was suppose to do. Easy to apply. Gave me the security I was looking for and relieved me of my fear. After the initial application I did not see another snake for the rest of the season.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Gainesville GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
haven't seen any snakes since I put it out. Anything that smells that bad has to work.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Zephyrhills, Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Good

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the instructions and did exactly what I read, two days later and in the same area as I put it down, I nearly stepped on a snake close to my home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from orlando, fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we have used the product for 4 years, we spread it out back to keep the snakes at bay
we have not had any problems with them in our yard
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't seen any snake around any more

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the product twice. Four months of difference between every use.
So far we haven't seen any snake any more.
Pros: Durable
Cons: a little bit stinky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Amber Cove Way, Flowery Branch, GA 30542, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I use this product yearly and will continue

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for a few years now. I really like it I can tell when I put it out and when It needs to be used again. And best of all I haven't seen any snakes around!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product. I used this product while living in the south. Thak goodness Home Depot had it!
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent

The product really works...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great for all kind of snakes. Used all around the home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No snakes!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy application and we've not had any snakes since
Pros: repels snakes
Cons: odor of mothballs
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Did not work attracted & love bugs

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate to write this however I couldn't wait to sprinkle the pellets in my flower beds as I live in central Florida and I have a few almost daily recurring black racers. After the lawn was mowed and the sprinklers ran this morning I was out sprinkling all the flower beds and around the doors of my lanai where they come around. I even threw out some extra moth balls to add to the aroma. Well about 2 hours later I am now swarming with love bugs and the black racer is out there having a blast watching the bugs. And it is unfazed by the powder or the moth balls. Slithered right over them. Huge disappointment and obviously I would not recommend this for anyone.
Cons: Not Durable, attracted other problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We moved into a very populated neighborhood and heard from our neighbors that there was an issue with rattlesnakes in the area and I just couldn't imagine there would be with all the commotion of a busy neighborhood. Well, that came true when our neighbor caught a rattler curled up next our AC unit about 1 month after we moved in! I also work with the school that is about 3 blocks from my home and came face to face with one! We bought this and used it around our whole house and yard and even spread some at each neighbor's. I also spread some at the school I work at. This stuff seems to be very effective as I've not seen any more since using it. The smell is quite off putting but totally worth it and it will go away in about a week or two.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Sun City Center, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't seen a snake since!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to sprinkle around the building. No muss, no fuss.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from McKinney, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

snake-a-way works

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had seen several snakes around the house and yard. We have a 6yr. old granddaughter so I felt something needed to be done. After putting out the snake-a-way we have not seen any snakes around the house. We have a pond across the street that is home to all kinds of critters, snakes are not welcome at our house.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome Product!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Amazing product!! Worked great and lasted even through many rainy days!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Snake-a-Way product does a great job discouraging snakes from hanging around the house. We use it every year and though we see snakes in the neighbor's yard, we don't get them in our shrubbery or trying to come into the house.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from The Villages Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product and have no further problem with the snakes so far. It was a sufficient amount to cover my area and some left for backup. I was pleased with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from Lawrenceville, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought this to repel frogs - works for that too!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My wife and I have a garden pond right outside our bedroom window that recently became a popular hang out for tons of frogs. After some research we purchased the snake-a-way and I put some out as soon as I got home. It was as if I had flipped a switch! Great product, yes it's naphthalene so it smells like mothballs, but I welcome that smell to be able to sleep at night!
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snake-A-Way 4 lb. Snake Repellent
from COFFEE COUNTY,TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BEST SNAKE REPELLENT ON THE MARKET - WORKS GREAT

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
EASY TO APPLY AND EASY STORAGE OF THE CONTAINER OR CONTAINERS.
Pros: Durable, weather friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>