728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Snake-It Power Drum Auger

Snake-It Power Drum Auger

Designed for small and medium household drains, the BrassCraft Snake-It Power-Drum Auger is a free-standing auger designed to connect to a power drill. The outside drum remains stationary with the drum-within-a-drum design and the cable is permanently attached.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product6 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product6 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
Review 1 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
surfwhenever
from San Diego, CA

Only for VERY simple projects

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cable on this thing is so flimsy it will twist back on itself and kink unless the path to the clog is very simple and no more than 3 or 4 feet away. There is no wingnut to fix the cable while you twist to keep it from going back and forth in and out of the drum. So as you feed it, as soon as you let go to grip farther back, it zips back into the drum. If your drill has any strength at all it will bind and kink this cable in a nanosecond. Plus you cannot feel when you reach the clog.
When buying snakes I have learned most of the time I will only need the hand operated snakes - much more control. And buy stiff cable, stiffer the better.
I gave it two stars instead of the lowest possible score imaginable because I hold myself partly to blame for being stupid enough to buy it in the first place.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
disappointed

Terrible

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would give this minus stars if possible. This contraption has a tough time finding its way around pipes. It tangles easily using a drill. It is truly one of the most useless, poorly designed, ineffective products I have ever used. Do not buy this unless you are looking for headache and a mess.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
morningstar60
from Albuquerque, NM

Did NOT clear the clog

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This pipe snake auger is very thin and flexes so easily that is was useless against a plug in our sewer line. It just flexes and bends around rather than breaking up the clog.
After a couple of gross hours of fighting with this useless thing we gave up and called a plumber. The plumber only charged about twice the cost of this auger but was finished in half an hour and gave us a warranty on the job.
The auger was definitely a waste of my time and money
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
jwm2201
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Worth the Money

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for small jobs, cable broke the third time I used it,
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
Gregster
from Akron Ohio

An Exellent, Affordable, Product

PostedApril 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on the top floor of a duplex. The bathtub and sink drains both clogged solid. I messed around with liquid acid ,plungers, and a pressure hose for 2 days trying to get them to flow with zero results.
I was going to rent a snake but bought this product for much less. It solved my woes in less than 15 minutes, was easy to use and plenty long enough as the clog was on the lower floor.
It fed back into the canister smoothly in seconds and saved me tons of cash hiring an outside contractor.
If you are reading this review JUST BUY IT !!! For what it costs you won't be sorry!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
tplumbing
from indiana

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
bot a bad product. I purchased this in a emergency situation. I had a customer call and had their kitchen sink overflowing. I was way away from the shop and didn't want to run the extra 20+ miles there, when the customer was only down the street from home depot.
This is a great product. It works extremly well. I would recommend buying this to every one
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
DOOM

What work does the drill do?

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd love to know what work the drill did for me, since I had to manually extract the snake, and it won't wind back onto the spool.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
DirecTV
from Denver, CO

Snake works GREAT!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kitchen drain was clogged & NONE of the gels, liquids, foams that claim to unclog anything would work. In less than 5 minutes my kitchen drain was unclogged & draining water with NO issues. Easy to use & quick. No second thoughts.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
Skjulestad

worked like a champ

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had one bump when I didn't read the instructions and almost shot it across the room. When I used it per instructions it clear the problem fast and for the price it couldn't be beat. Don't expect professional grade, but for handyman use I rate it great.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
heightsduplex
from cleveland ohio

This is a professional plumber's worst nightmare.

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a duplex, and once a year I have to hire a plumber to clear a clogged drain. I got sick of paying $150 each visit, and decided to look into a power unit for myself (i had a manual auger - junk). After reading the reviews, i ran out and bought this unit. It took me 5 minutes to clear the drain. Super easy. I'm feeling pretty happy with $130 saved!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
HoustonBelly
from Houston, TX

Easy to use

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a clog in my AC drain pipe. I instantly called the plumber to have this taken care of. He promptly quoted me that it would cost me $300 and some change to have the pipe snaked. Originally I had said yes because I had no clue what he meant, but when he told me that he didn't have the equipment on him and that he would have to come back some other day, I promptly told him to don't worry about it because I needed the pipe unclogged that same day.
After he had left, browsed youtube to see what he meant by "snaking" the drain. And to my amazement, it was ridiculously SIMPLE!
So, Off I went to the Home Depot and bought this power auger. I took it home and I stuck the cable down the drain and attached the auger to my power drill. Less than 2 minutes later, my clog was clear and I saved myself some $280!!!!!
Lesson to be learned here is:
- ALWAYS get more than one quote because obviously the plumber that quoted me $300 was about to rip me off.
- Do your research online, because some of the problems you have might be very easy to fix.
I would definitely recommend everybody to buy this product to fix clogged drains.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snake-It Power Drum Auger
SailorDon
from Yakima Wa

Plumbing Snake

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product solely on the strength of the reviews and they were right on. I had my plugged sink draining within minutes.
Great product!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.