728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range

GE gas and electric ranges feature the maximum in cooking performance and versatility.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
86%of customersrecommend this product12 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
Review 1 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from irving, tx

Great oven/stovetop!

PostedFebruary 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have never had a problem with this range and it is about 9 months old. It heats VERY well in the oven and on the range. Almost too well sometimes! We don't have a problem boiling water at all. Great appliance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from NC

Great Value

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this range on sale in February and got a great deal. This is my first flat top range. I love it. I haven't had any trouble heating anything with any of my pots. I have the expensive pots and the cheap dollar store type too. It heats quickly and bakes evenly. The timer and self cleaner are a must have for everyone. I researched this one well before ordering. The reviews all seemed good. However no product is perfect so if you get one that doesn't work well you may need to call to get a replacement. No problems here with mine though. Be sure if you want your old range hauled away that you add that to your cart. I missed that somewhere when ordering and now have my old range sitting in my yard. If you don't add it to your cart then they won't haul away your old one. So make sure it shows up in your cart with a zero charge for it. Otherwise I am happy with my purchase and will buy another GE in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Pahrump, Nevada

GE Electric Range

PostedMay 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this stove! I wasn't sure if I would like the ceramic cooktop or not, but I have found it to be terrific. It is so easy to clean and always stays looking brand new. The heating elements on the cooktop heat/cook evenly and, unlike other electric stoves I've had in the past, I have never burned anything! Oven cleaning process couldn't be easier, but it is time-consuming and uses a lot of electricity. Fortunately, I don't have to use this feature often. GREAT BUY...I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Maine

Looks nice but can't cook good on it.

PostedJuly 5, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I hate this stove, had to buy all new pots and pans to get anything to heat up on it, takes a long time to heat up or cool down. This is the first and last flat top range I will ever have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Reynoldsburg,Ohio

GE SMOOTH TOP STOVE

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my GE smooth top kitchen stove for over 11 years and it's the best stove I've ever had.The oven bakes everything just right and It's easy to clean the top.It cooks well and has a great looking appearance to it. I'm giving my model I have now to my Granddaughter and buying me the 2009 model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Huntsville, AL

Hard to Boil Water!

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this range for about two weeks. Everything is fine as far as baking and light cooking on the cook top. However, I tried to bring a gallon of water to a boil using a pot I had previously used on my previous coil type range and this range would not bring the water to a rolling boil!
I could not believe that there is that much difference between the heating capability of a coil type range and this smooth top. The smooth top will not get as hot as a coil type range due to the temperature sensor that keeps turning the eye on and off. I talked with a GE rep. on the phone and he told me that you have to use flat bottom pots made of stainless steel, etc. for the range to boil water.
The sales person did not mention any of this. Personally I don't have time or money to search for special pots just so I can get this range to boil water. I can't believe the engineers at GE would design a unit so inadequate. Most likely, I will try to return/exchange this range for a coil type because I want to do more than just light casual cooking.
The look and clean up of a smooth top range is great but what good is that if it won't cook as well as the coil type range. If you decide to get this range, make sure you have smooth bottom pots with relatively thin bottoms and they are made of stainless steel (preferably). I did eventually find a pot that water could be boiled in but it was a thin stock pot with a relatively smooth bottom.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from NJ

Great oven for a great price

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The oven works great. I really like the ceramic cook top. It's easy to clean, the burner heats up real fast and the cook top is aesthetically pleasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Ohio

11 yrs old and still ticking

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
have had this stove for 11 yrs and recently cracked the glass in the oven door ( whoopsss) and the handle is broken so looking for a new one. otherwise, have replaced the element once, no other repairs needed for the life of the stove. imo that is good service.
some comments on the flat top..keep it clean with stove top cleaner you can buy in any grocery store. clean it regularly( ie once a week or when you spill something on it) and it will still look like new in 11 yrs. follow the instructions and don't use soapy water...in other words read the manual before you complain about something.
no pan that is warped works well on any electric stove. If money is an object, spend $50 and buy some revereware or similarly priced set of pans and don't use it on high. heat the pan up on med heat( if it's stainless) till it's hot, add the oil and heat till it shimmers before you add the food then your stainless won't stick. this works for any cheap or expensive pan. again, read the manual.
iir all electric elements cycle on and off to maintain the temp you set them for...otherwise low would become high after a few mins of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range

free standing stove

PostedApril 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
its very nice and looks clean deign
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from North Carolina

Love it

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new stove. Heats evenly, I like the timer, preheat alert and the extra storage room in the drawer. This was a replacement for another ceramic top stove that was damaged during remodeling. I loved it too. For the first time owner of this type stove, I guess it can come as a little bit of a shock that warped pans don't work very well but that's part of the learning curve. There is nothing about this stove that doesn't work as it should and is a good bargain at the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range

Very Happy

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the GE flat top stove. It was a replacement for a Kenmore flat top stove, which I hated and had nothing but problems with. I have only had this stove two weeks, however, thus far it works well in both the oven part and the glass top. It heats water and contents in my pans as well, if not better than my Kenmore. The oven heats very evenly andI am very happy so far. The Kenmore was a nightmare and I finally just got rid of it, and it was almost brand new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from rural Indiana

great stove

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this range. I love the solid surface cooktop. I am wild and crazy about the oven and the visibility of the oven window. The oven temp must be exact, because the timer always goes off exactly when the food is done. I have hardly ever had to reset the timer for the oven. I really feel at 'Home (with) the range'
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Georgia

Happy with our purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with our purchase. We have not had any problems. It was a good price and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 In. Freestanding CleanDesign Electric Range
from Akron, OH

Speckled Top is Awesome Too

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This range is awesome. The food cooks good and it is easy to clean. The smoothtop is beautiful and looks variegated or speckled. It is great if you don't get a chance to clean it right away too. Because the speckles hide it better. We had a white smoothtop and you could see everything and it was hard to clean. I highly recommend this one to everyone. Also, it is priced very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.