728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw

18 in. Gas Chain Saw

An excellent power-to-weight ratio defines the New Homelite 42 cc, 18 In., 2-cycle gas chain saw. Featuring 3-point vibration isolation, this Anti-Vibe advantage helps to reduce operator fatigue. Deluxe Carry Case is standard. All Homelite Chain Saws feature a 2-year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
2.227 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product7 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Quality 
1.3 out of 5.0
1.3 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product7 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Review 1 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Pick
from Mufreesboro, TN

How the mighty have fallen...

PostedAugust 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so disappointed with my purchase of this Homelite chainsaw. Back when, Homelite was a great saw. Not so anymore.
The overall feel was very cheap, and like other posters, this saw was virtually impossible to start when warm or hot, which is extremely annoying given how many times you do that in the course of a day cutting wood.
In addition, after cutting 3 or 4 logs in a row with a diameter of 12" to 13", the plastic on the front near the muffler started to melt.
I realize this is a "consumer" type saw, but even a low end saw should start and run with minimal effort. Anyway, back to the store it went for a refund. Guess I'll pony up for a Husky or a Stihl.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
FLGMTECH1
from Lithia FL

plastic junk

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this last night got home read the instructions filled up both tanks and it cranked right up! THEN... the chain brake broke off and would not stay on, and the thing quit working 5 minutes into the first use!! Would restart and immediately stall. I returned it today and then asked the guy in tools what the deal was! Homelite used to be the best when I was growing up in the 60's, He said they sold out to John deere who also owned Poulan Pro and Ryobi, and that answered why the chain saw is cheap and lasts as long as a snowman in July. Save your money and spend more money for a Better quality one. Remeber you get what you pay for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Dean3

HomeLite Chain Saw

PostedNovember 8, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don’t usually right reviews unless I feel very strongly about a product and I am sorry to say this saw is absolutely awful. My primary complaint is that it wont start easily. Out of the box I would estimate it took 15 minutes to get it running and once it’s hot, and you stop it, it just wont run again.
It’s too bad because I have other Homelite saws that have started and ran great. In any event this saw is going back and I will try another brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Geezer
from Fort Worth Texas

Homelite Chainsaw model 10517

PostedApril 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Years ago I had an old Homelite chainsaw and used it for around 10 years cutting about 8 cord a season. I sold that saw to a friend, and regretted selling it. I finally decided to purchase another one and checked all the different models and brands. Two things stood out with the Homelite saw. It had a two year warranty, a storage case, and bar scabbard. Right out of the box filled with fuel mix and bar oi it worked like a champ. Easy start, hot and cold, no fiddling with idle or throttle adjustments. I was impressed. With Home Depot's price match, I viewed it as an exceptional value. Within an hour of using it, I laughed when I thought of how close I had come to buying a smaller, cheaper saw. This one will take care of nearly anything a homeowner may require. Plenty of power and no smoking exhaust. It's a well made unit, & not too heavy. When I finished, I drained the gas back out of the tank to store it. I was surprised at how little fuel had been used. Even though I had operated it for a combined time of at least 30 minutes, I had at least 2/3 of a tank left.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
JfryL
from Chatham, MA

Plastic Parts

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used for home use; I'm into my second year with it. The pull start is plastic on the inside; I discovered this because I guess I pulled it too aggressively in my attempts to start and snapped off a tooth of the plastic starter. So I bought a new starter assembly ($25). I was much more careful with this one, but this time the teeth of plastic became rounded and wouldn't grab. This is so frustrating. Okay, so now I find out that it's still under warranty, so I bring it to Home Depot and they ship it out for repair. New starter assembly (as I knew) and a new flywheel assembly. Get it home, it starts (yay), but then after 15 minutes I go to start it again and I can feel that the starter assembly is broken again. I'm so sick of this thing. I don't have the money, but clearly it's $140 bucks down the drain because I'll have to buy a replacement. ... Pitiful, absolutely pitiful.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
mowerGreg
from Oregon

wouldn't restart

PostedNovember 11, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought one and it wouldn't start at all, took it back the same day and traded it in for the exact same model (18" bar) worked that day just fine (little things) then took it up to the mountain to cut some firewood and I couldn't get it to restart after turning it off. It would work great when it ran, but I couldn't get it to run again after it was warm. You get what you pay for it's a piece of garbage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
brid121

bad saw

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
used this saw for 1 season, and beginning of this year second season. Blade wears down way too fast. Would not start after using it for a month. basically 3 days of use, I'm a homeowner. finally got it started worked for a little while would not start. This season it started ran rough. changed sparkplug, air filter started, tried to cut up a stump chain fell off, then would not start again. took it to small engine place they got it started ran one. then I tried to start and something is broken or engine seized pullcord won't pull. broken. still under warranty took it to same small engine place to trade in figured if repaired under warranty would still be same saw bought husqvarna today good saw.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
TwoScoops
from Texas

DO NOT BUY this saw

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a joke. The design of this saw is flawed. The "spring loaded" handle is supposed to make life easier: it does not. The springy handle actually bends your bar as you cut; thus, creating an angled cut (GREAT for splitting by hand, huh). Now let's move on to the engine: 42cc. Perhaps this may seem like a big engine for 2-cycle, but Homelite is not cranking out 42 cc of power. Maybe it would work if you are only cutting pine or other soft woods. May the force be with you if you put this saw up against oak or other hard woods. I'm going to see what Homelite will do; however, I'm afraid I'm stuck with junk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
jagware
from Adamstown, MD

only works for a couple of hours

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have a homelite from Home Depot (for many years), so thought nothing of buying another one. However, within hours, it would no longer idle properly. So I returned it and exchanged it for the same model. The new one did the same thing. It would not idle and within a couple of hours more, it would no longer even start. I think there is a flaw in the production run for this model. I have 10 years experience with chainsaws and would not recommend a homelite at all. I switched to a different brand, which works as expected. I do not recommend homelite. Too 'lite' for the task.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Rickster

Worst chain saw I've ever owned

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk. After running 1 tank of gas through it, it wouldn't start again. Took it to the shop and the carburetor was rebuilt. Ran great for 2 tanks of gas-enough to cut up a few small trees and limbs knocked down by a storm, then engine wouldn't idle, had to have carburetor rebuilt again...got it back today, ran for about 5 minutes and engine froze...I have had the saw only for a month and haven't even used half a gallon of gas in it... don't waste your money on a homelite saw.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
mmmBrian
from Spokane WA

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My saw leaked bar oil, solution= tighten the cap. At first it had to be pretty tight, once the seal was broke in, it just takes a normal tightening.
My saw was hard to start when hot, solution= adjust the carburetor a bit richer. Its leaned out so much because of EPA. Its real easy to adjust, just take the cover off and use some needle-nose plyers to grab the adjusting screws.
Most will say you shouldn't have these problems with a new saw, well at the price for this saw it was well worth the 10 minutes it took to make this a great saw.
Sawed about 4 cord of wood with it so far.
I don't really like the spring loaded handles, but my hands didn't go numb either.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Bill
from Lenoir City, TN, USA

Not worth the money

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought the model UT10518/18, 46cc version 3.5 years ago. I only used it occacionally. It quit while using it to trim some trees this year. It was going to cost more than it was worth to repair. I brought a Stihl. Should have done that in the first place. Friends I know have had problems with these saws also.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
dejr
from Chapel Hill NC

Would not start hot

PostedOctober 2, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this saw for about two hours and decided to return it to the store. It would not start hot. I tried every suggestion in the manual with no luck. If I turned the idle up far enough I could get the saw to start but then the chain would never stop - not safe. On top of this, the saw just felt cheap. I was certain that the choke handle would eventually break.
But on the upside, once running the saw was very powerful and I was happy with the performance.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
brulecamp

Homelite Saws

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two of them and at first they always started easy. I don`t do alot of cutting but my pet peve with any saw is that they won`t start and you feel like your arm is going to fall off. I will do some maint and change plugs and clean every thing but if I still have trouble, I`m going to spend more and buy a husqvarna or stiel
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Jimbobway
from Lake Nebagamon, WI & Laingsburg, MI

Smooth Running Saw

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did alot of on-line research and figured out that if you don't want to pay $300 to $400 on a chainsaw, you will need to give up some options. I am an occasional saw user, but know what to expect for general use. I used this saw to clean up a large tree on my property last week. I followed the directions and the saw started with normal effort. I stopped the saw at least 4 times while I cleaned brush/ tree away, and it restarted each time on the 1st pull. Special note: keep an eye on the chain oil! I almost ran it dry after an hour of use. I used the saw for over two hours and still had a cup full of gas left in the tank. So far, so good. JS
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
unsatisfied
from Layton, Ut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst product I have ever seen

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product after a windstorm to cut up some trees, it looked like an excellent product in the box. To my surprise that is all it had going for it, because it would not start. I took the product back to the store and the girl tried to tell me that I mixed the gas wrong. I asked her what she meant and she said that when you mix it correctly the gas turns yellow in the priming bulb. First time that I have ever heard that one, have yet to see that one as well. I will never buy another homelite product again. Went and bought a polan pro and it works great. Buy something other than homelite or you will be sorry!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
jjjensen
from Newark Texas

chains

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
took the saw out of the box and startes fine. cut couple of 4x4s an seemed to be working fine so I started on some downed tree limbs,before I could get thru a single 10 in log the chain jumped off the bar and messed up the guide teeth. I put on the extra chain that came with the saw and not 2 cuts later it jumped again and again messed up the guide teeth, luckly I purchaced an extra chain not a homelite brand and the saw is working great.no more messed up guide teeth I could see one orignal chain messing up but two. Homelight must be using cheap metal in their chains. I recomend you throw out the chains that come with the saw and purchace new chains right off the bat.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Bruceinatl
from Atlanta Ga

Twice is not enough

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked for about 3 hours in Aug when I bought it. Today I put in fresh gas, it ran for 15 min, now it is dead. Changed plug, no help. Upon closer look it seems to be not getting gas
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
rgdem
from Federal Way, WA

Great saw for homeowner

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just replaced a Homelite Super 2 saw that I used for over 30 years with no trouble at all. I have used this new, larger and more powerful saw several times without any problems. Good power and cutting speed and the anti-vibration system is fantastic! I think most problems people encounter with chainsaws (All brands) is the result of not reading the operators manual and letting basic maintenance go and not using good,clean, fresh fuel. For the money this saw is great!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. Gas Chain Saw
Corry
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The chain saw worked well enough for about an hour then the muffler fell off and hit the chain. I replaced the muffler and tightened the mounting screws. The muffler quickly worked loose. Other than parts falling off this is an okay chain saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>