728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

Create and transport your own movie theater with the Gemmy 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen. The screen self-inflates in minutes to create a full-size, widescreen movie screen that shows your favorite movies, TV shows, video presentations and more. Tethers, yard stakes, a fan and a bag are included for easy setup and storage.
Overall rating:
4.443 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product94 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product94 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
Review 1 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Katy, TX

Way cool!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humongous, blow up screen is really great! Set up and take down are embarrassingly easy. The only hitch we had is that the left side fan unplugged at one point.
There is a fan set into each leg. The two fans are connected together with a power cord that runs from one side to the other inside the bottom of the whole screen. You have to rearrange a lot of fabric to find the cord and plug it into the other fan. When the screen starts to blow up, if the cord isn't quite connected right it will unplug. The screen will still inflate a good bit from the other side, but you'll have to work through the unplugged fan leg to get it fixed. It wasn't difficult; just listen to be sure both fans are going and you'll be set.
To deflate you just unplug the fan cord and within seconds it comes down. Do some folding and rolling and put it back in the nice, handled bag that it comes with. I suggest you do all this before you go to bed. I left mine deflated in the yard until morning then had to blow it back up to let the dew dry before I bagged it.
The projected picture is great and the screen really is huge. You'll have to keep in mind the throw distance of your projector. We put our projector on the other side of the pool (width) and the picture was about 4 feet larger than the screen - not that the kids cared or noticed! We've had to rethink location.
I would definitely recommend this screen. Shipping from HD was also pretty speedy and the price was great even with shipping.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Waldron, AR

AWESOME FUN for the Entire Family!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This screen is absolutely amazing! It took less than 2 minutes to inflate the frame, and after clipping on the screen, we stood it up and watched a movie under the stars! Although there was no wind, we secured it with a couple of the tie downs, which was more than enough to keep it from moving during the show. Colors show up wonderfully well, and once the sun goes down, trust me, you do not see any fold marks on the screen. Take-down time is also minimal, and if you unzip the zippers around the fans and roll this from the top edge down, all the air comes out quickly and it will fit right back into the storage bag. Our screen is actually missing some of the clips to hold it to the frame, but on a calm night, that did not cause a problem for us. I'm hoping that Gemmy will send the missing clips quickly, which will make this perfect!
(I would have definitely given this 5 stars if it weren't for the missing clips and a tear in the carry bag upon receipt.)
A super-fun item at a great price! Our family of 4 really enjoyed this, and I know this will be a hit at birthday parties, BBQ's, family reunions and church functions!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Nebraska

Lots of fun for movie night

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered this on sale through HD ($98). Worth every penny. We have had a couple movie nights on the deck already and looking forward to college football tonight with a couple dozen people.
The screen does come with folds in it. We still need to get those ironed out. It sets up in about 10 minutes. It comes with tie downs and stakes for when it gets windy. We haven't had any problems with setting it up and moving it around.
The fans run all the time to keep it inflated. You can hear them during quiet times of the movie, but it's just a humming sound that doesn't really bother you. It's much quieter than the cicadas here in Nebraska.
We haven't had any issues getting it rolled back up and into the duffle bag. We actually keep extension cords and cables in the duffle with it. We are still trying to figure out how to store and transport the screen. I don't want to fold it, so we have been rolling it up. Looking for a tube that is 7 ft long to put it in.
One other thing to note. It is HUGE. It's about 12+ ft wide and 10+ ft tall. I had to cut some branches down that hang over the deck. And the blow up "feet" on each side mean that you can't push it all the way back against the railing. From the back of the feet to the front of the feet is about 6 ft. We set our projector about 18-20 ft from the railing behind the screen. It's a good thing I built a 27 ft deck. Make sure you have enough room for this before you get it.
Overall, we love this screen. Movie night every friday night and football on Saturdays. What else could a guy ask for.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Riverside, Alabama

Great party toy!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kids absolutely love this. Very nice quality screen. Although it is simple to setup, it takes a while. Expect at least 30 min for setup. You'll have problems with stability at winds over 10 mph; but at dusk to midnight, it is rarely windy (a natural phenomena).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from United States

Great product at a good price

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only had a chance to use it 2 times so far but it works great. Sets up and take down in no time and I can get back in the storage bag that come with it. Missed out on the half price from last year $98.00 my was about $170.00 with shipping and tax but I think it worth.... so far lots of fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Dallas

Backyard Movie

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great Screen. I did struggle a little with inflte the screen. Make sure you close the zippers around the fans.
It work well once inflated. I was able to disassemble in less than 10 minutes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Atlanta, GA

Great Product - Works Perfectly

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Decided to take a chance and order this screen on sale after reading the great reviews on it. Couldn't be happier with the performance of the product. The screen is very large and sits at the perfect height from the ground. The inflate/deflate time is unbelieveably fast. The two fans run continously while the screen is up but they are very quiet and don't interfere with the movie at all. Setup and take-down each take about 10 minutes max. The screen clips/unclips easily from the main inflated base unit. It stretches tightly across the sides, top, and bottom so any small fold lines are pulled flat and do not interfere with the picture. Fabric on both the base and the screen is strong but very lightweight when deflated. Even if you were to get a hole in the fabric, it can be easily sewn or taped without affecting performance of the screen since the fans always create a positive air pressure inside the inflatable portions. The screen's base is well designed so that it stands fully upright while in use. On a calm night, we don't even need to use the tie lines to hold it in place. However, if the tie lines are used, it will stay firmly in place, even on a relatively windy night. The kit includes all stakes, tie lines, clips, and a nice duffle bag that holds everything, You will be amazed at how the entire screen stuffs back into the duffle bag after each use. If used with a decent projector, the picture quality is absolutely outstanding -- much better than I would have ever expected from an outdoor screen. The picture is so large, it can be clearly viewed from a significant distance away - easily over 100 feet. I recommend a projector with at least 720P native resolution and blue ray discs for a picture clarity that is amazing -- even on the approximately 140" diagonal screen. Works great with standard DVDs too. The kids (and adults alike) love this screen for watching movies under the stars. Don't forget that you will need a DVD player (or other quality video source), a decent projector, and some speakers/audio to make the experience complete. This is one of the rare purchases that actually exceeded my expectations. Great product at a reasonable price!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Euless, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly as advertised and a great value.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have already had hours of quality family fun with the screen and will enjoy many more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Orange County, CA

Awesome product almost too big

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You cannot beat the price on this inflatable screen!
You do need room for the size and it doesn't do well with the wind, because of it's size.
Do your homework on the projector. Get HD, high lumens and the ability to project 12 ft width.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

An incredible buy. Great for outdoor parties

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is easy to set up and is very durable. The wrinkles on the screen are barely noticeable once the movie begins. A great deal at 149.99
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Right Stuff

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This screen is perfect when paired with a high definition projector. The only complaint I have is that the included tie down stakes are flimsy. I purchased some 11 in. Orange Ground Stakes for about 2 bucks a piece. Screen stays stable even in winds of up to 20 mph if staked correctly. Be sure to zip up the fans when inflating and unzip when deflating. I've read reviews where people had a problem getting the screen to stand up and I bet it was because they didn't check the fan zippers. Back to ooohs and ahhhhs from friends and neighbors flocking to my house to watch football games.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

Unbelievable, great value for the money!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this 12 ft screen not knowing what to expect.
It far exceeded our expectations. Had 18 friends over for the Alabama Arkansas game. I think the picture was better on this screen than my indoor setup. It is easy to set up, plug in and you are good to go. I don't know how a more expensive screen could be any better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

Great Screen But No Replacement Parts

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the screen for two years and it has been a hit. I use it for parties and sometimes have movie nights. An earlier review mentioned the flmsey stakes and, I too, purchased stronger ones.
Now the down side. When i was setting the screen up for Halloween, I discovered that one of the plastic fan mounts had broken. While it was still able to inflate the screen, it has become tricky. I tracked down a Gemmy Q&A and they said that the do not do replacement parts. They suggested looking on ebay for broken units and fix it that way. What is the old saying; "You never stop paying for cheap"?
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Beverly, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Screen for Back Yard Theaters

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased our digital projector at the end of the summer and wanted something other than an old sheet to watch movies on in our yard. This screen fills the bill. As with most Gemmy items it's fantastic. A great size, easy to set up and easy to take down. My breakdown of it, now that I've gotten used to it, takes no more than 15 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

Nice product

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really enjoy this product, easy to setup but bag it comes with ripped the first day and unless you are trained on how to fold the screen it doesn't fit. Would like a new and stronger bag.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA

FAMILY FUN

PostedMay 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WE BOUHT A PROJECTOR FOR THE POOL ROOM TO PLAY PS3 & MOVIES AND I JUST WANTED TO GO BIGGER NOW WE PLAY MOVIES ANG VIEDO GAMES IN THE YARD WITH FRIEND AND FAMILY ALL THE TIME THIS IS THE BEST MONEY I SPENT WORLTH EVERY PENNY AND I EVEN PAID FOR OVER NITE SHIPPING I HIGHLEY RECOMMEND TO ALL (CALL OF DUTY ON PS3 ON A 12 FT SCREEN, DOSENT GET ANY BETTER)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Carlton, French Creek, PA 16311, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product is asset to my business

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
product is durable, easy storage, and great asset to my business
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Enon, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very neat and unique item..

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
VERY LARGE SCREEN.. Just opened and used this past weekend with a Christmas Laser light show. Great visibility and seems to be well-made. It's larger than you will expect..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen
from Chicago
Gender:Female

The screen is perfect!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only used the screen indoor at this point, but we are very happy with the quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 ft. Inflatable Diagonal Widescreen Airblown Deluxe Movie Screen

Amazing

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This really is a cool product. I thought they cost a lot more than this. We show movies in the park in our neighborhood and this makes it so much better. It is really easy to set up and take down. The fans are really quiet. If you set the ropes/stakes up properly, it can withstand pretty decent winds. It is really worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>