728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer

56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer

House Wash cleans vinyl, wood and brick siding with no scrubbing. It effectively removes stains caused by dirt, mold, mildew and algae. The hose end sprayer makes it easy to apply and gives you pressure cleaning right from your garden hose.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product120 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(39)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product120 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Review 1 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Spooky
from Ashville, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product neither killed or removed the mold or etc.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed a small area then waited the ten mins. Rinced and moved on - My house still had the mold & dirt. Ultimately, I got out the ladder and Dawn dish soap & a scrub brush and cleaned by hand. Exactly what I did NOT want to do which is why I bought the promise of ease of use product. Also, twisting that knob, when the water came out it would hit my hand and sprayed the bleach water back onto my person and clothes - what a mess and ruined my shirt & shorts.
Cons: ineffective, Overpowering, twist on & off difficult to twist
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
IowaPark
from Iowa Park, TX

Mildew and Mold Removal

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product in accordance with instructions to remove mildew and mold on the caulking under the eves of my house. I got no noticeable results. Applied it a second time to the same area leaving it on the maximum time recommended. Again got no noticeable result.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Jimmy
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed the directions. Not impressed. Used simple green and telescoping brush.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
PasDeNom
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does NOT work

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the instructions exactly and the product did nothing. The algae on my siding wasn't even that bad. I could rub it off with a finger without applying much pressure. This product did not work at all. Don't waste your money. Just use some bleach diluted with water and save $9.00 and a trip to Home Depot.
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
bill
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am upset..did nothing

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am just shocked after reading all of the good reviews, I tried this product twice today on deck and siding..it did absolutely nothing!!! zero, zilch nada
I am still mad, complete wast of time, money and a lot of water
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Soppingwet
from Rhode Island

check the connection

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just came in from using this product. I spent most of my time kinking the hose to reconnect the hose to the bottle.
Before you leave the store, go to the hose section. Attach the bottle and wiggle it a few times.
Not really seeing a clean clean.
I plan to go back get a regular bug sprayer type canister and go back to using the bleach I use for laundry.
Mixed correctly I have had better luck with that in the past.
I am sorry I tried this new fancy smancy product.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Kcspears
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product to remove some mildew on the back of our house. Was surprised at the outcome. It didn't remove anything and the mildew looked the same. Home Depot gractiously took it back. We used another product (wish I could mention it) last year and will repurchase that brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Taco
from Sunrise Beach, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DID NOT WORK!!!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied as directed on RV to be cleaned...DID NOT WORK!!...waste of my time and money!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
rick
from Kennebunk, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mold armour a wasted purchase

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i purchased the mold armour for outside with a garden house hookup. I complete waste of time and money. it did not remove any mold on the house and the desk wash and mold cleaner did nothing but waste my time. DO NOT purchase this product
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
disappointeduser22

does nothing

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this as instructed twice and it did absolutely nothing to the mold/mildew on the north facing of my vinyl sided home. A total waste of time. I am going to return the 1 gallon jug that I bought in-store to refill the hose end sprayer since it is no better than water. Use a power washer instead of this stuff.
Pros: none
Cons: does nothing
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Jeff
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does lighten mold but not fast acting

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2000 sqft One story, Roof had a 40 degree slope and was barrel tile. To be honest with you, even with myself increasing ratio of bleach to 20 to 1. It had very little affect. I find you need an increased ratio of bleach,foam application, and some kind of surfactant.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Easy to Use
Cons: ineffective, not strong enough, not fast acting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Brad

Didn't work at all

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a professional and have used many products. Applied it twice to some grey fence panels to lighten them up. No real difference after two applications. Waste of money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
restathome
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

House wash? Maybe....Fence wash? No.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought we'd found a new option for fence washing...but no. Our 3-rail equestrian fence is vinyl and needs periodic cleaning; mostly mold on north-side and dirt on south-side. The liquid itself seems to be somewhat effective, but the hose-end sprayer leaves much to be desired. It's not adjustable, except to turn on-and-off (which is difficult when the hose is pressured up) and, if you have the hose on strong enough to rinse properly, this over-applies and wastes much of the bleach-based product between slats. The application stream is far too strong and narrow. When you're 150 feet from a hose-bib, you certainly don't want to keep running back-and-forth to adjust the water. We ended up putting the liquid in a pump-up sprayer, applying it in a lighter spray to minimize waste, allowing to soak about 5 minutes, scrubbing lightly with a sponge-end floor mop, and rinsing with the hose. Maybe a second application could have reduced the need to scrub but we didn't want to stop and run to the store for another bottle. Warning: don't rinse the surface before applying and don't let product dry before rinsing. The instructions say to work from the bottom-up...not very intuitive... but it's probably meant to avoid getting the surface wet before applying or keeping the product from being diluted by water running from the top down. I think we'd have done just as well to mix up some household bleach with warm water and a bit of blue Dawn (degreaser and surfactant). I'm not sure either mixture is safe for animals or growing foliage. It sounds good. The truth for us? It's over-packaged, inefficient, and not very versatile.
Pros: liquid is effective
Cons: Overpowering, poor nozzle design, applicator is wasteful, too much landfill waste
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
MikeinMichigan
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really didn't accomplish much

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to remove mold from my stucco house and concrete walkway, and it didn't work as well as some other products I've purchased.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
lotechguy
from Arkansas

Mold Armor did not meet expectations

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used two 56 oz. containers on about 750 sq. ft. of mildewed and molded cedar siding. The results were not what I expected. It removed about half of the mildew and left the siding with vertical streaks. I washed it again a few days later and removed just a little more mildew but still had streaks and a lot of mildew left on the siding. I wont use the product again. This may be a great product for some applications but didn't work for me on cedar siding.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
tnlobo420

Works OK - that's stretching it

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used 1/2 of a bottle and was very disappointed. Mixed 2 cups of bleach with 1 gallon of water - works MUCH better than mod-armor...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
chesapeakejet
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overrated, prepare to be disappointed

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this on advice from a neighbor to remove the mold from the vinyl siding on my house. I followed the instructions on the bottle, including a reapplication, but it did NOT remove the darker, greener stains. It did remove the lighter stains though, that's the only reason I gave it as high as a 2. Save your money and just use a power washer. Heck you could probably use a bleach/water solution and do just as well if not better.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: ineffective, price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
Richard
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not Great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I used this on the side of my brick house where light colored brick had become black from the moisture put off by the air conditioning units. It worked OK but it took 8 applications and the brick is still not back to close to its original color. I even had to scrub the brick a few times when it was wet with the solution and that helped a bit. I plan to try it on our shed which is painted wood in the hopes that it will work better on something that does not have as much mold on it.
Cons: ineffective, required many applications still not great result
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
jonanthony
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DECENT - BUT LIMITATIONS

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I clean my north end algae growth every year, so not talking about a lot of buildup, mostly on the underneath laps of my vinyl siding. Having said that, this product did a serviceable job on getting the heaviest layers off. Much as I anticipated, followup with telescopic brush was absolutely necessary in removing heaviest buildup, or adjacent to shutters, window trim, and edges. The spray does indeed reach 20' height, but the pressure itself just isn't going to remove the stubborn stains like a pressure washer would. Also, the 'dry time' is very quick before product / algae drip staining appears, then fresh wet application and scrub is needed to remove the 'drip marks'.
The spray on applicator is clearly a better alternative than my prior attempts - plastic bucket with a homemade bleach solution, which must be re-applied to the brush frequently - awkward when brush fully extended or on ladders.
Probably about the best a product like this will do using the directed application instructions.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use
Cons: marginally effective on stubborn stains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 56-oz. House Wash Hose End Sprayer
senilecitizen

Hard to use

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this because I needed to reach trim that is 12-14 ft height. When I had to tilt the bottle the cleaner would not flow out. The label claims it reaches a second floor height but you probably need to stand on a ladder so the bottle remains level. I cut the bottle open and sure enough the tube is positioned so that the last third of the bottle wont flow if it is tipped 45 degrees or more.
Pros: Cost Effective
Cons: Inconvenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>