728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Tex Texture Sprayer

Power Tex Texture Sprayer

The Wagner power tex texture sprayer features a built-in air turbine that eliminates the need for a separate air compressor, making it easy to tackle a variety of texturing projects. The 1-gal. hopper holds a sizable quantity of material, while the 3 included nozzles allow you to spray aggregated and non-aggregated materials in popcorn, knock-down and orange peel patterns. When it's time to clean up, lock-n-go technology combines with the included cleaning brush to make maintenance a snap.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product62 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product62 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
Review 1 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from southern california
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a house project, worked well with mix, easy to clean and use. I have never used an air pressure hopper and dont think i ever will.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, cake
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Lincoln, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small jobs!

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the texture sprayer to finish the sheetrock in a two-car garage. It isn't powerful enough to use the ready mix texture material out of the container, but when I cut it with about 1/3 water to 2/3 mud it worked very well. The one-gallon hopper is easy to load and works well for walls. I found a full hopper was large enough to cover about 80 square feet with a medium knock-down (yellow tip). It is a bit awkward for ceilings since the hopper cannot be positioned in a truly efficient manner. For small jobs it is way better than the canned texture sprays. The noise level was very reasonable and clean up was easy.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Economical
Cons: difficult for ceilings
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Sale Creek, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super tool for doing texture touch ups and repairs, much easier than lugging around a compressor and texture hopper.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from High desert of NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A surprisingly satisfactory tool for texturing small jobs

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having used many different texture guns and pattern pistols professionally, I can say that this tool is well worth the $80 that HD is asking for it. Shoots a reasonably consistent pattern on walls and ceilings if you keep the hopper more than a third full. Mud I used is the dry bagged texture mud. Mix thoroughly with a drill powered paddle type mixer. Paint mixer will not cut it. Mix the mud to the consistency of crepes batter. Let sit 5 to 15 minutes and remix. This makes a difference! Noise is like a shop vacuum and not as unpleasant as the compressed air type which has a high pitched whistle loud enough to warrant ear protection. If you have not done this before, practice on some scrap drywall or cardboard. Use a steady circular motion. Have fun and get ready to get absolutely filthy....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer

It doesn't work

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money on it doesn't work specially if you try to do ceilings doesn't have enough pressure
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Wagner Spray TechAugust 2, 2014By Wagner Spray TechAugust 2, 2014
Some texturing materials will need to be thinned in order to be sprayed using the Wagner PowerTex. Materials need to have the consistency of something similar to a pancake batter in order to be sprayed properly.WagnerSprayTech
Review 6 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Orange County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved it!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant on buying this and after watching some YouTube videos I decided to go out and get one. My interior walls have a hand made texture I wasn't fond of so I figured to cover that up with some sprayed texture. It sprayed consistant and the walls came out looking alot better. It does come with 3 tips depending on the type of texture you want to go with. I went with the finest which worked great. I'm happy with it and do recommend it. Now I'm getting ready to buy the Wagner paint sprayer Max. Hoping I get the same satisfied results as I did with the Texture sprayer.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed a nice texture and was perfect for my couple of walls. Easy to clean. The key as others have mentioned in is mixing the mud.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Boise, Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice unit for the price

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My air compressor is underrated for most of the pneumatic sprayers on the market so I decided to take a chance on this electric one. After watching several videos about it I was sold. I was trying for the orange peel effect on my first attempt, but ended up with grapes, raisins and string beans.
My second attempt was much better, but the mud needs to be very well mixed to a consistency that's slightly more runny than pancake batter. The thinner the mix the smoother the coating. Once you think the mud is ready whip it for another 3-5 minutes. The manual says to use the medium nozzle, but I recommend the smallest one. Also, to get a more consistent spray only pull the trigger half way.
The arm rest helps during spraying, but you still need to use both hands as it can get a little heavy with a full load in the hopper. Ceilings were no problem for me.
Don't remove the blower once you've started spraying as it can be difficult to reattach. As long as you don't pull the trigger while it's turned off it shouldn't leak back into the blower area. The orientation marks on the blower are a little difficult to see for reinstall. Recommend using a marker to highlight the locking positions and practice taking it on and off a few times before starting.
For small home projects it works well.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: blower awkward to hook up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Twentynine Palms, CA.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great moderate use

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sprayer was purchased with the intention of using it for small repairs initially. During a ceiling repair I was impressed with the coat of acoustic ceiling texture it sprayed and used it to spray an entire ceiling during a remodeling and then used it on the walls as well. Keep the tip roughly eight inches away from the wall/ceiling and you will have a consistent texture finish.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value product

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Don't fill hopper too full or it gets heavy during ceiling application. Also, make sure you use the longer set-time mix too or it'll set-up in the gun before you get done!! Cleans up easy (when it doesn't harden in the gun). I used it to match some existing and it came out perfect, can't even tell which is which.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Yucaipa Ca.

Works good clean tip often or remove completely

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
sprays popcorn or acoustic like a dream nice and thick. I have also used for blown on stucco patches with great results. Only drawback is when spraying fine textures on drywall the tip builds up quite fast, so by accident I discovered it works great without a tip.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Carlsbad CA

Great for small jobs

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to open up some walls for electrical work. Never had any luck with the canned texture stuff, just never looks right. Bought this and a batch of pre-mixed drywall mud after looking into other alternatives. Iit took about 10 minutes to do the job and the same to clean up.
Great tool. Simple to use and clean. Turbine is noisy so wear earplugs :)
Trick 1 is to thin the drywall mud enough, you want slightly runny pancake batter. You'll need to experiment tho, it needs to be stiff enough to stick to the wall and not sag, but soft enough to blow withthe tool, same as any other texture gun.
Trick 2 is to PRACTICE. I spent probably 20 minutes trying different trigger squeezes, patterns, distances. Use cardboard boxes, poster board, whatever. You'll get it down pretty quickly, and you can just toss them when done.
I think if I had to do walls & ceiling in a large room, I might rent a texture rig, but for 95% of my needs remodels, repairs, etc, this is the bees knees :)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worth the money

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a Handyman and really needed something more functional than the spray can alternative. I have a small, 2 gal. compressor so the air hopper was a possibility but was unsure if it would be adequate. This Wagner seemed to fit the bill for ease of use, clean-up and compactness. It worked like a charm. I covered both sides of a wall I built dividing one room into two, in about fifteen minutes - which included re-filling the hopper a couple of times. I used the medium sized spray, with a runny texture mixture first, making sure I got fairly even coverage. I could have left it at that, which was a very good orange peel texture. However, the next day I used the large spray with a much heavier mix (just runny enough to glob off the mixing spatula - actually I used an old egg-beater whisk which worked great) and then knocked it down with a 12" knife. The result was a very acceptable and professional finish.
Pro: Compact, versatile. Great for the occasional need. Easy clean-up. Reasonably priced.
Con: A little heavy if the hopper is full, until the mix is used (which doesn't take long - recommend not filling hopper to capacity). Ceilings might be a challenge. The spray pattern tends to be a little light and uniform even with the large nozzle ring, which makes achieving a 'heavy' knockdown pattern somewhat difficult. Perhaps with a little more use and experimentation that could be overcome.
Overall a very good tool and significantly better than the spraycan alternative, especially if have a need on an intermittent basis. One bag (30lbs?) of dry powder mix is about half price of a large spray can and coverage is 100 x greater with this tool. I did not experience any problems with using the tool but I certainly recommend sheeting everything and/or removing everything from the room if tackling a ceiling. Also get a 2'x2' sheet of plywood to stand the tool on while filling, if the area being sprayed has carpet on the floor - otherwise it can be a little unstable.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product worked great for the job we needed it for!
Takes some getting used to, and it is a bit heavy, but all and all, it did a great job!
Very messy job spraying your ceiling - so be sure to wear a hat and obviously clothes you don't mind getting dirty!! :)
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I LOVE this thing!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
"I love this thing" I kept telling myself....It is so easy to use with great results. I'm an experienced DIY'er, but always hated/ hesitant to do texture...not anymore!
I was doing a light orange peel on the ceiling in 4 bedrooms. As another reviewer noted, go THIN. I bought a pre-mix solution form Home Depot which was TOO THICK even after some thinning. I thinned it down to a consistency similar to the "melting milkshake" and the nozzle stopped clogging, and the texture evened out. I would just by the poweder and mix that way next time. Agreed, it is quite messy, but anything related to drywall and texturing is messy. I just covered the walls and floors. When done, I stripped the plastic sheeting down to a ball..easy cleanup
The only downsides (which wouldn't prevent me form buying this again): A bit noisy, so I wear ear muffs. Clean-up is a bit of a pain (would be nice if the inner seal was removable for cleaning), the odor of the mixture setting up gets a bit strong after awhile (doing a 10' x 12' room the odor hit me during the last 1/4 of the room).
BUY this!! you won't regret it!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from Germantown, WI

PowerTex a brother-in-law

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The PowerTex worked great. I redid my basement walls and ceiling. The medium aggregate material on the ceiling went very well. The knockdown on the walls look beautiful and I have received many compliments. The only thing I recommend is that the material must be a smooth liquid consistency, like pancake batter, instead of thick and heavy for the machine to spray well. Have a brother-in-law help and it's a great time when they end up getting accidentally sprayed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer

Its great for complete coverage jobs, not so great for repairs

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing is great if you need to spray the entire room or walls or all of the ceiling so that it all matches. But for repairs, when having to re-tape and re-texture all the joint seams from foundation movement for example, I couldnt get it to match the existing smaller density orange peel or knockdown texture no mater what orfice or thickness of the texture . All 3 orfices provided are just too big! This thing uses high air flow and big orfices which puts on lots of texture product, as compared to a compressed air hopper that uses higher air pressure, lower flow and smaller orfices and air pressure can be adjusted for many texture patterns or densities. The texture on the Power Tex come out in bigger clumps in my opinion and too much. Even with the smaller white orfice. I ended up having to re-texture the whole room so that the texture would all match. If you do the entire room, then i works great. It can really cover alot in a small time. I could do a whole wall in a minute almost it seemed. It really puts it on fast. I was constantly re-filling the hopper. Also, when using the smaller white orfice, it semed like the high air flow from this thing would have a tendency to dry the texture in the hopper too much as a result, would clog or slow down the discharge. I also had a hard time matching the popcorn ceiling texture, as it too had a density that I couldnt quite match. I was able to do so by using the Grayco Air Hopper Gun I normally use. I like it and will definitely try to use it first for the bigger coverage jobs in the future. Good idea, wish it could be more adjustable. So much easier to use and setup compared to my Air Hopper Gun.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: discharges too much, discharge not adjustable enough
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Gun...

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this as an 'experiment' thinking that it might not matter and that we would have to either rent something larger or??
I'm very pleased with the outcome on this though. I was able to do a light texture/orange peel and it looks fantastic. For only having watched a couple of Youtube videos, I'm quite satisfied with it. In a new construction project, this was a 10x11 room and it really does look great. I think that the only downfall is that it's pretty tough to remove the hopper portion from the rest of it for cleaning. I am actually now considering that I might do the rest of the building which is 48 x 52 - minus this first room.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from austin texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product, Pleasantly Surprised

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was hesitant at first but I thought that I would try it. I have a regular hopper that works with a compressor. It does a good job but the issue is you have to have a powerful compressor that can put out a lot of air and recover quickly. those kinds of compressors are heavy and large and a pain in the patoot. I decided to give this electric texture sprayer a try. I did not need a compressor and no pesky compressor hoses in the way. I textured a garage ceiling and walls. I experimented with the consistency of the sheetrock mud and the three apertures that it came with and the force on the trigger. I was able to get an excellent orange peel with pretty heavily watered down mud about like pudding before it sets up and the middle sized aperture and pushing down the trigger half way. It is very ergonomically designed with a rest on the wrist so even though you have a heavy hopper full of mud it was not totally exhausting to lift it over your head to do a ceiling. The hopper has 2 locations, one is forward to do ceilings and the other for walls. the hopper also has a good lip on it so you are not spilling mud everywhere. in fact i was able to texture with minimal masking as it was easy to control. The cleanup was a breeze. The motor that pushes the air comes right off from the rest of the unit. you can then just use a hose to clean up the rest of the sprayer. This is a well designed product that will surprise you. Kudos to Wagner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Tex Texture Sprayer
from North Dakota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Texture sprayer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to use like the fact that you don't need to have a noise compressor running good on walls and ceilings easy to clean up
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>