728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat

7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat

The RiteTemp 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat has a large, vertical touch-screen for easy programming and includes override and hold functions for maximum flexibility when you change schedules. It offers a range of handy features including program review, copy function, filter replacement reminders, calibration and override modes. It is compatible with systems including 1- and 2-stage heat and cooling, heat pumps with or without auxiliary heat, zoned baffle systems and 2- and 3-wire hot-water heaters.
Overall rating:
2.731 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product10 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
1.2 out of 5.0
1.2 out of 5
Value 
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product10 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
Review 1 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from phoenix, az
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst thermostat EVER!!!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Landlord had installed this, programmable for 7 days, 24 hours. The unit room temperature is lower than the targeted display! Had to reset, blah, blah, blah. I had to go though every day & hour to rest then it went back to the same screen again and again and this is doing everything required with the directions, override and all, yes I can read. i live in Arizona, it gets friggin hot here, this thing is useless!!! Ready to put in a Honeywell basic round non-programmable unit because I don't need a complex unit that needs constant programming, it's useless. We spent 4 hours trying to get the stupid thing to cool, it's 100 degrees out and i'm ready to yank it off the wall!! Hello honeywell, goodbye ritetemp.
Do not buy this, you are wasting your money.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, a big mess too much fiddling!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Portland, ME, USA

Stay away! Pretty but not dependable!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is nice looking product but of very poor quality. We have unfortunately three of those and three large holes in the walls. Sections of screen are not responding to touch after two years of usage . No longer we are able to adjust temperature. Didn't help resetting the unit or replacing the batteries. Two out of three are no longer usable.
Don't buy it it! It is just a matter of time before they fail.
I am angry, that i have to give them a star - they deserve nothing!
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from California

RiteTemp 6063

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased 3 of the RiteTemp Model 6063 programmable temp controllers about 2 years ago. Two of the three are still working great. The third controller I can no longer use the touch screen to lower the temp. The touch screen sensitivity appears to be damaged when trying to adjust the temperature to a lower set temp. Would like to know if this is a "common" issue and can anything be done to correct the issue or does the controller have to be replaced??
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat

Touchscreen stops working, worthless!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Can't buy it anymore anyway, but it's terrible. Touchscreen stopped working on both of them, now I have holes in my wall that I can't replace with anything else, can't buy a replacement, and can't use it. alksdjfalskdjfalksdjf
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is a waste of Money

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have 7 neighbors on my block who spent to much money on this touch screen junk and I'm number 8. The touch screen stops taking touch commands every 3-6 months and we have to hard reset the unit. The way to do this to set the unit to OFF, removed the batteries, disconnect the wiring (remember where they go so take a pic), and push in the reset button for 60 secs (try less if ya like) but we do it for 60 cause we are paranoid. Put the wiring back, then the batteries and turn on ( warm or cool).
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, need better touch screen technology
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is Junk!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thermostat is Junk! Only after having it for two years, it's already giving us problems. Won't stay programmed, won't turn on when it's suppose to, won't stay on. Don't waste your money on this product.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Maintenance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Pittsburgh, PA

Excellent Product!

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband just installed this a couple of weeks ago and I love it! It looks very sleek with the mounting in the wall, rather than the traditional thermostats. It also has a "copy" feature so you can program one day and copy the same settings for the rest of the week, or any other numbers of days. This is a great feature and saves from programming the same settings over and over. You can program different temperatures for the morning, afternoon, evening & night. I also love the fact that it is touch screen. Great price & great product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Bossier City, LA

Touchscreen is completely useless.

PostedApril 2, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thermostat because it was a much cheaper alternative to the competition. Unfortunately, You get what you pay for.
Installation was a snap. Setup was easy. All in all, I thought I would be pleasantly surprised with this purchase. That changed when I decided to try and change the temperature. The touch screen has completely stopped working for the manual temperature overide. This meant I had to change my schedule ranges everytime I wanted to change the temperature. The next thing that died was the touchscreen over the days and times of days. So now I can change the temperature range for Sundays at 5:00am only. So today being Good Friday, I have to leave the temperature at 62 degrees because I can't override the schedule, which was set for me being at work. This is after having the thermostat for approximately 2 months.
Worst off, since this is a flush mount thermostat that requires cutting a cutout in your wall, I can't replace this with another brand without fixing the cutout in the wall first. I've learned my lesson. I'll never buy another Ritetemp product again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

touch screen has a mind of it's own

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these junk t-stats because they looked like a well made unit. BOY WAS i EVER WRONG !!!!! The touch screen is so erratic that 80% of the time they won't even respond. I've been dealing with this for 3 years and finally decided to throw the lot of them in the recycle bin. It's a shame because they look so nice with their flush mount design but I'm tired of having my wife constantly complaining about them not responding. Don't be fooled by their looks. You can put lipstick on a pig but in the end it's still a pig .
Cons: Inconsistent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat

Absolute piece of junk

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As with a lot of the other reviewers, I've had major issues with the touchscreen. I've had it for about 3 years. Worked OK at first, but the majority of the time the touchscreen doesn't work. Since there are really no hard keys as back-up, you can't do anything with the unit. DON'T BUY THIS. I am contacting the manufacturer for a refund.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

looks good...but not reliable, no longevity

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like the other reviewers, I bought this thermostat because it was flush mounted and looked fantastic. It's actually worked fantastic and reliabily for 4 years, but now it's winter and the screen is not working so it can't be programmed. At first I thought it was because of the batteries dying, as the battery was flashing, but when I replaced them, it didn't fix the problem. I still couldn't access half of the features, so I couldn't program it. I came online to see if there was anything, but all I've found is common complaints so it's safe to say I'm going to replace it, which is ludicrous after only a few years.
Pros: looks good
Cons: Difficult to Use, dies in a few short years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Philadelphia, PA

Great Product!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. Since the thermostat mounts flush with the wall, it is necessary to cut into the wall to accomplish this. I was skeptical about this at first, however, the product comes with a convenient template to make this practical and simple. The end result is visually appealing and there is nothing protruding from the wall like with a conventional thermostat.
The product is simple to program (instructions are barely necessary to figure it out).
I have an electric heat pump with auxiliary back up heat and air conditioning. The product works with this HVAC system. During installation it was necessary to really study the wiring instructions to be sure the wires where correctly placed.
I used the product for 1 month and saw a savings over last year's electrical usage and the average daily temperature was 5 degrees colder this year than last year!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Columbus, Ohio

DO NOT BUY FOR HEAT PUMPS!!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited by this model and the fact that it was for heat pumps, the touchscreen and all looked very cool along with being flush mount. Cut the hole, rerouted the wires with little effort. Got it all installed very easily. The only thing is that I have a heat pump and need to switch it from the heat pump to AUX heat. This entails popping the unit and moving a jumper. Really? A Jumper? No switch? Seems like heat pump installation was an afterthought in the whole process. Ok, dealt with that for a while until the repeated removal of the unit caused the wires to start breaking. So, now I've had to re-wire it several times. This may be a great unit for a standard furnace, but it IS NOT recommended for heat pumps. And if I want to switch, now I have a nice hole in my wall to repair first.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from washington pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a piece of junk

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If it would only work as good as it looks. Had trouble after first heating season, cleaned screen with alcohol, got by for awhile. Can't program it, touch screen now in the second season has stopped work totally. Rite temp won't answer phone or e-mails. what do I now do with a 3x5 hole in the wall, and who will pay for a heating guy to install? It's no wonder Home Depot doesn't carry this in our local store.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk, no support
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Houston, TX

Don't waste your money! Poor design

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a rite-temp before buying this one. It was annoyingly inaccurate, so I thought I would give the company a second change a get this flush mount unit. I shouldn't have done that. First and foremost, you have to cut a hole in the wall for the unit to fit into. This is how it becomes "flush". This would be fine if the unit was reliable and accurate, which it is not. You will just end up having to fill up this whole once you throw this thing out. The second problem is air temperature accuracy. The temp sensing unit is recessed into the face of the thermostat. This allows for poor air circulation over the temp sensor and leads to woefully inaccurate air temps. At the price range this and other Rite-Temps are at, skip them completely and get a Honeywell. This is what I ended up doing and I am much happier. They Honeywell's electronics and design are far superior and at the same price!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from wingo, ky

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy install, easy to operate and keeps the house at temp requested more accurately. highly reccomend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Chicago, IL

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased many touch screen thermostats over the years and I have to say this model is my favorite. I can't overemphasize how flush this thermostat fits in the wall. It looks very expensive and high tech. The quality of the unit is top notch and more durable than other units I have purchased. Very easy to program and the back lighting is very easy on the eyes..I actually like the lighting better than the blue lighting the other manufacturer's use. I also like how you attach the wires..no wire stripping, just insert into post and tighten screw...One purchase you won't be sorry about!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
from Brandywine, MD

Excellent & Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was really dreading this thermostat replacement, as I had tried to replace our old one months ago, but was really confused by all the different types and whether or not the one I picked would be compatable. But this turned out to be a very plesent project. Before cutting a hole in the wall, I did test this unit with my heat/AC system, just in case. But to my supprise, following the directions, It worked just fine the first time around. The lables they provide for your existing wires makes it a no brainer. I would recommend you have a stud finder to give you an idea whats behind. In my case there was a stud right behind the old thermostat, so I did have to locate this flush mount one over and down a bit for it to fit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat

Rite Temp

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Loved this tstat 3 yrs ago when I purchased it, very sleek look and mounts flush to the wall.A lot of people have asked if the thermostat came with the house. However as of right now my Rite temp tstat is out of calibration, its registering wrong temp readings forcing my AC to run without cutting off and does not turn on when its suppossed to. I have played around with the built in calibration feature to correct it but to no avail.I'm looking into getting a honeywell wifi controlled thermostat. I'm pretty sure that my little ones contributed to the down fall of the Rite Temp.
Cons: Too Big
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7-Day Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks good, but touch screen stops working. Just s others, the temp down stops working.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>