728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

The Handy Home Products Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor is made from wood for lasting durability with a 2 x 3 design for a sturdy feel that can withstand the elements. The shed features a 436 cu. ft. storage capacity with 6 ft. high side walls and an 8 ft. peak to provide plenty of room to store lawnmowers and other large items. The 4 ft. wide by 6 ft. high double doors offer plenty of room for entry, and full-length hinges allow for easy operation of the doors. A swivel hasp provides additional security.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A most useful addition to our home.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, the quality of the wood was soft. They used 2x3s instead of the standard 2x4s that are routinely used for framing. We also reinforced the floor and walls every 12 inches instead of every 24 inches per the instructions for greater stability. The floor and roof were made of particle-board and we would have preferred standard ply board. The instructions were a bit hard to follow but the earlier images of the shed back, sides, and front were most helpful during construction. We used architectural shingles rather than standard ones to match the shingles on our home. After construction, roofing, and panting, the 8x8 ft. Kingston shed looks great and is very stable and subsequently useful to us after placement on an existing 9x9 ft. cement slab. A second person is helpful to complete this construction project when holding sections in place prior to nailing or adding screws as the shed is built.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Wallingford PA

MFR. and Home Depot Sould Supply More Info

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My wife and I built this shed over the weekend. Let me start with I think of myself as a pretty handy guy and my abilities are higher than most. With that said, I did not care for the building instructions for this shed when I started. By the time I finished I realized that I needed to read ever part of the instructions word by word to build this shed as designed. I started out doing things as I would if I was building a shed and it was wrong for this shed. I strongly suggest reading the directions thoughly from start to finish before starting this project. For example the floor foot prinf for this 8X8 shed is not 8X8, read the instructions.
Next, the kit did not have any floor Joyces for the supplied floor. I would suggest buying this shed with no floor and doing that part separate. The quality of the floor is poor. Also the instructions for building the floor with Joyce’s had them at 24 inch centers. For the cost of one more 2X4 you could go to 16 inch centers and have a much strong end product. I added the extra 2X4.
I also added 2 more 2X4 where the doors connet to the front of the shed. It seemed weak and a poor design to me. The instructions have you attaching the doors to just the T-111 siding with no backing for support.
The Kit does not have any roofing material you need to purchase these on your own. When looking at this shed on line it did not mention there was no roofing material. It adds another $120.00 to the shed if you do it right.
There is no ventiltin for the shed.
I bought coated screws and used them over the nails they supplied, again a stronger built shed.
I am satisfied with the end product and like the shed. I am not satisfied with the information supplied on how to build the shed. There should be a materials list of items you will still need to buy to build the shed as seen.
Good Luck hope this helps you out.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina

Great Value, Easy Install

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shed delivered on time, all parts clearly labeled and pre-cut correctly, step-by-step instructions were clear with tips for the novice to ensure building would complete level / square / vertical. I added the optional window and roof vent, provides light and keeps cool during hot days. Construction needs 2 people from start to finish. Built over a weekend, took us total of 14 hrs. Would recommend buying extra 2x4's to space 12" on foundation, and renting a framing nail gun to speed up install. Also, you'll need a hook blade on utility knife to cut back overhanging shingles.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Sparks, Nevada

overall a good and simple shed.

PostedJune 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After purchasing this shed, I was a bit worried how easy it would be to assemble, and after the pallet was delivered, my worry grew. However, after I started to put it together,I was amazed at how easy it was especially after looking over the instructions first. Now I have a solid great product. I was even able to make it square and there are no gaps in any of the walls or roof.
I am very happy with this product, as it was a replacememnt for a previous cheap temporary shed.
I would definatly sugest purchasing this one, just review the instructions first and set out all the pieces so they are easy to find. Everything is precut, so there is no hassel. I only wish that some of the drawings in the instructions were a little better. But that is why I suggest looking at them first, and looking ahead a few steps from where you are in the process to make sure you hva e the pieces in the right spot.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Ocala, Florida

Floor not 8 X 8

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed was supposed to be 8 X 8, so my husband built an 8 X 8 foundation for the shed out of treated lumber before the shed arrived. Well, the floor of the shed was 8 X 7'8 5/8". He couldn't change the foundation because he had concreted the corner posts into the ground. He made adjustments to make it work, but ran into problems each step of the way because of the floor not being 8 X 8. It's a good thing my husband does this kind of work all the time, because an amateur would have had HUGE problems making it work. It is a beautiful shed now that it is done, and we have had a lot of compliments on it, but this discrepancy gave my husband a lot of extra work. Customers should be told that the floor is NOT 8 X 8 before they buy it.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut

Sturdy and Easy to Install

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was overwhelmed after reading reviews for this product, but found it very easy to build. It probably took around 8 hours total with a little help from some friends. Make sure you place this shed in an area where you can hammer from the outside. I originally planned to put it in a space surrounded by a fence, a tree, and a wall, but realized later that I would need to build the shed from the inside AND the outside.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Firestone, Colorado

Read and follow the instructions

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got the product delivered in about ten days. Carrier called ahead and put the palette in our driveway. Package was clean, all items and instructions were included. Note: do not throw away any small bits of wood as they may be need later in construction.
My wife and I put together the shed in about four/five days working in the mornings only. (Hot weather) We are retired, somewhat handy and everything seemed to come together pretty well. Be sure to read and follow instructions and start with a relatively square floor and you will be o.k. We added the small window, shingles. roofing felt, a few extra screws and tornado clips for extra comfort. We painted it to match our house and the product came out very nice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA

Not bad, not great

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took me about 10 hours to assemble on my own. Much particleboard and some 2x3's basically... if I could do it over again I'd purchase all materials separately and build my own from real plywood and 2x4's. Some pieces did not have the notches cut out as stated and had to make some of my own rough cuts in order to accomplish this assembly. Arrived in two large flats. Remember you must purchase your own roofing felt paper and shingles, which will add about $100 to the total cost. Recommend if don't have time to buy materials and assemble your own.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Baileys Harbor, WI

Easy to ID parts & assemble

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We modified the floor kit from 24" OC to 16" OC to improve rigidity. Believed the 2 x 4's were not substantial to support our application @ 24" OC. Did not place it on slab, but over treated 4 x 4's leveled on cement blocks and laid at 90 degrees to the direction of 4x4. This also provided good ventalation and moisture evacuation under the floor frames.
Some of the framing lumber was badly warped. I replaced it with better lumber from a local yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

8 x 8 shed with floor

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed was exactly as described. Easy to follow instructions and all the pieces were there. Took 8 hours by myself including building the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

Missing / Incorrect Pieces

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of setup 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product had 1 board missing, floor had 2 different thicknesses so I had to return to store anyway. Not all of the boards were labeled with their part #, which made assembly harder. The shed itself calls for lots of nails, rather than screws increasing assembly time and there weren't enough 2" or 3" screws to handle what the manual called for. It is however, a nice shed when assembled. Customer service of the shed manufacturer never returned any calls about missing board / screws.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Buffalo, NY

Kingston shed 8x8

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just wanted to say that my shed was delivered quite quickly, and with a few family members (who have construction backgrounds) this shed went up without a hitch! My fiance and I built the floor (squared and level in one hour)-we've never done this before and I have to say it was not difficult at all. The rest of the shed came together a wall at a time with no problems and when all the walls were together they were raised and attached one at a time and finally the roof and doors went on. Total time of 8 hours with a good four man team with previous construction knowledge! If you follow the instructions and don't try to cheat it will work well. And it's a very nice shed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Coastal South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

All around a good deal.

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Attractive and good for storage. The price was excellent when compared to other sheds of this type.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from WEYMOUTH ,MA 02190

KINGSTON SHED 8X8

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
JUST BIG ENOUGH FOR ALL THAT GARDEN AND LAWN STUFF GREST SHED FOR THE MONEY BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK STURDY AND THE DOORS ARE PERFECT THE FIVE FOOT OPENING IS AWESOME. THE QUALITY OF THE SHED WILL STAND UP FOR YEARS TO COME. CERTAINLY ONE OF THE PREMERE WOOD SHEDS AROUND PERFECT FOR THE ALL THE HOME OWNERS NEEDS THE HOME AWAY FROM HOME OF STORAGE.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX

Kingston Shed 8 by 8 with floor

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent instructions that are easy to follow. Took 2 days to fully assemble with all materials provided except paint, roof shingles and roof nails. All wood panels were primered so it was easy to paint. The floor frame for the outer front and back was spliced so it created a weak point. The outer sides and floor joists were one solid peice which is sturdier. Had to pay attention to 2 by 3 studs used on the outside because there was usually a good and not so good side. Otherwise it was straight forward and actually fun to assemble. Once comleted the shed functions looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally satisfied with shed.

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shed materials were acceptable and all listed were included. Instructions were complete and easy to follow.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

Nice shed once it is out up!

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shed was easy to assemble, but it needed additional materials.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from Honeoye Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Not Labeled Correctly and Wrong Sizes

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately not a single board was labeled in a manner consistent with the directions. Furthermore, all six of the side wall studs were cit 1-2 inches short of the dimension listed in the dorections, requiring modififcations to bring the rafters in line with the ends. These issues added at least three hours to the project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED
from upstate NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Shed

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Found it difficult to track when it would be delivered.Had someone build it-they found instructions tough to follow. Also possibly some missing pieces.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kingston 8 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Shed with Floor-DISCONTINUED

It was OK.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The instructions were very bland. The instructions could have been written better. Some items came damaged. It was worth the price paid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>