728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Bells or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons

Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons

The SL-6167 wireless chime features an 8-note Westminster melody or a 2-note melody for the front entrance with adjustable volume control to suit varying sound needs. The wireless door chime kit includes one plug-in receiver and one battery operated push button (push button battery included) with up to 100 ft transmission range between the chime receiver and push button.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product9 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product9 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
Review 1 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Savannah, GA.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Depends on the Entrance

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When I first got this product, it worked great for both inside and out, however after a few weeks the outside button would not work no matter how hard you pressed. It has been over a year and the inside button is still going like a champ. It would be great if there is an outdoor brand that is compatible to this unit to replace the outdoor button only so I wouldn't have to purchase and replace the complete set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: not made for outside conditions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

disappointed device

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this couple months ago for our vacation home and it did work for the first couple of weeks. Tired it this week and neither door bell worked. Replaced both batteries thinking that was the issue and again neither one worked. Threw the entire thing out! Buying anything electronic from Home Depot is a mistake while the price is okay the quality is extremely poor.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Carrollton, Tx

Had This Product Since 2007

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm now 77 years old. Installed product in minutes about three years ago.I am about to get another and install it at my church chapel. Nice soft ringing will replace rattling the doors, which we keep locked during Euchristic Adoration Services.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Get ready for a guest?

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product workded well for two years. Then all of a sudden, it rang randomly during the daytime. Changed the batteries and it still rang randomly. Wasn't really thrilled when it started rang randomly at 2 am and 4 am.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: random chimes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Germantown, Md.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it. So easy to install....

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it. The old when I had took tons of batteries. This is one in the button. Than you plug in the sound.
I have told all my single gal pals to get one.
thanks,
Barbara
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from West Hurley, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it should

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works as described. Was easy to install except having to punch out screw holes on button units. But otherwise was a cinch to complete. Works great. Like the fact the volume can be adjusted.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: screw holes need to be punched out
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Range

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put one button 40 feet away and it had to travel through one solid wood door and it wouldn't work. At about 30 feet it would. If the door was open sometimes it would work. The other button was about 10 feet away through a metal door and it would not work. I guess it has some major limitations to it's range through any obstacle. The only way this thing could have a 100 foot range is if there is no walls between it. It's going back today.
Pros: Loud, Compact, Easy Installation
Cons: very limited range
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Jackson, KY

Good system

PostedNovember 4, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Volume is good. The only complaint is that there is a little lag between pushing the button and the bell ringing.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from new jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It will do.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
its better than nothing, which is what we had in our new house. the hardwired bell looks to have long since given up. issue with this one is you only get a single tone for the second button which could easily go unheard. second issue is there is a substantial delay from the time you push the button until the bell actually rings. only seems to be an issue with the second transmitter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: 2nd button
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons

Great Product

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit worried after reading a review about how their door bell went off from signals from other sources, but I have not had that problem at all! It is a great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Tracy, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The chime goes off all by itself. Went off 4 times in one day with no one pushing the button.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Shipping was fine and easy. The actual product is the problem with it going off whenever.
Cons: too touchy
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Pennsylvania

Door bell

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This wireless door bell was easy to set up the different chimes you would like. Everything you needed to set up the chimes was included in the package. It has aloud volume so you can hear it from a distance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons

Wireless White Plugin Doorbell Chime

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with my purchase. I am a widow 79 years young and wasn't certain I could install it myself! Read and followed the instructions.
It was so easy, just a breeze. Now I know when I have company.
Thank You
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
good quality and I am very pleased with the product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons

Great for the price!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works well. It is loud and clear. The only draw back is that the lag time from when the door bell is rung to when it chimes in the office is extensive. However, the price is worth the lag time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: long lag time for the chime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Oak Park, Mi.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth the money....

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the start, the buttons worked only some of the time. Until they just quit working all together. There only like 30' from the receiver too. I've only had them for about a month, but I'm going to try new batteries. I wouldn't buy this one again.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Chicagoland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product doesn't work. Not with fresh batteries, not brand new out of the package, it plain doen't work. I mounted it, and then tested it...oops. I only got it to ring twice, and that was when I was holding the button directly on the chime part of the device, and even then it was sporatic in it performance.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless White Plug-In Door Chime Kit With 2 Push Buttons
from Michigan

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this wireless set about a month ago, It was simple enough to figure out...but the problem is that the doorbell buttons dont stay where their supposed to. One of them just fell right off. Now I understand that you have to have a VERY clean dry area and a decent temperature outside for them to adhere, with that being said...I did everything right and it still fell off. Something got broken when it fell, and now the battery wont fit in the button properly. Ive decided to just hard wire a quality bell instead of trying to save the money. You get what you pay for with this system. Garbage!
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.