728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Forming Products or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

M S International Santa Barbara Gold Meshed Natural Stone Flagstone is the perfect choice from large to small applications for patios, walkways and vertical applications. The versatility of flagstone enables design freedom from dramatic geometric effects to natural color effects. With selected pieces of slate adhered to mesh matting, this product is designed for easier random installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities. Size and weight are approximate.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
Review 1 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Long Beach, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product. Easy to lay, once you get the pattern worked out.

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We really enjoy the Santa Barbara meshed flagstone pavers.
Everyday we go out to our beautiful patio and take in the beauty of what we accomplished on our own. It took my wife and I almost four years to figure out what we wanted to do with our nasty front patio. Once we saw the Meshed Flagstone we knew exactly what to do.
We laid out all the pavers where we wanted them to go, rented a tile cutter for one day and did all the cutting in less than four hours. Then started laying mortar 1/4 inch thick, let it set overnight then added the sand grout.Three days later we applied a wet look sealant, Everyone has said that it looks like a professional job! It came out so beautiful and we are very proud of it. What a great product!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks awesome, cuts well, but a little hard to stick on a vertical surface.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The end product turned out nice, but it was a LOT of cutting, holding, propping, and creative use of spacers to get it to work. Because of the weight of the product, it definitely wants to slide down a bit when placed on a vertical surface. One suggestion is to find the lighter pieces in the pallet since they do a lot less sliding.
Also, I'm not sure what the best solution for grouting is, but because the gaps are over 1/2" I went with more mortar. That was a pain to clean (TONS of wet sponging) but in the end worked out.
I'm not sure I would go with them again for this application given the amount of work it took, but it was by far the cheapest option to get a legit stone look.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like some other reviewers I used this to build a "hearth" for my new Pellet Stove. The slate comes on a mesh backing but is only attached by dabs of adhesive. The gobs of glue make it difficult to get the slate level even using a 1/2" notched trowel. I would also suggest better packaging because my slate came damaged. If MSI took the time to pay attention to detail (packaging, etc) 5 stars for sure.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

Great look and durability when installed correctly!!

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The key to making this flagstone solid is setting it in a bed of mortar. I installed this over an existing concrete base (walkway). I used a 1 inch trowel (notched) to spread the mortar and I layed the flagstone in the mortar tapping it in place with a rubber mallet. You can also use the mortar for your grout and complete both steps at one time. I layed out one section at a time, cut any pieces necessary to get the correct fit and then mixed just enough mortar for that section. I then worked my way down the walkway. I wouldnt recommend this flagstone unless you are cementing (mortar) it in place. I believe this is just intended for use with mortar which is the reason it has the mesh on it because it is only roughly 1/2 inch thick. p.s. Make sure you are using the right mortar mix otherwise you could be doing all this for nothing!! And dont forget to seal it when your done after it has cured and cleaned!!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Ft Lauderdale

Flagstone

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I did our front walkway using the meshed flagstone product. It took us 2 full days and went down very easy. I did a patio a few years ago with loose flagstone and what a pain. Very little waste with this product just lay it all out first. I found it was better to use a very thin cement mixture the poured it between the the stones. That way it went under the stones to fill and gaps and made the clean up easy. You do not want cement to dry on the flagstone its difficult to get off. It was a fun project.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had installers do it so I don't have a personal experience if it is easy or hard to install. All I know is that the finished product looks fantastic, I put a sealer on it and the colors pop right out. It looks great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not recommended!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Four of the ten paver meshes contained broken or loose pavers when delivered. Loose pavers are to thin and light to stay secure when installed. Pavers look nice but i worry about people tripping on loose pavers.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

excellent product

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these to cover my front porch made of concrete. These are easy to layout and I cut them with a hand grinder. Based on my experience if you follow the instructions and use them in the proper setting you will be very pleased.
For example, some complain that these crack when you walk on them but they are using them on a path that is not on a solid surface. Or they use the wrong trowel, you must use a 1/2 inch notched trowel not a 1/4 inch trowel for the thinset or mortar bed.
Moral of the story is if you use them properly and follow the instructions, you will be pleased!
FYI - these are not calibrated so they are not designed to be used as tile in a home but for a surface like a patio when you want the natural stone look and feel.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Tucson, Az

very nice and an easy application

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are very nice mesh tiles. the color, hues and texture are perfect for an outdoor project. I have only one small dissatisfaction in that there were eight broken pieces at the outside edge of the mesh, which really is not a problem since they can be used where cuts would be made anyway. overall I am very pleased with these for the price. They are excellent. would reccomend these for anybody that is interested in making there outdoor space a more appealing place to be.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Walker, LA

Satisfactory product but can break easily

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These smallish, thin stones (1/2" thick and about 6 to 8" long) are much more affordable than the large, thick flagstones, but because they are only 1/2" thick they break easily. If they are not level and/or have even small gaps under part of the stone, they will break when you step on them. I solved this by putting down a thin layer of sand (about 1/2-3/4") and raking it more or less level; then I pulled the stones off the mesh and placed them in the sand. As I placed them, I twisted them around a bit to work them into the sand. Once all the stones were placed, I put small-sized gravel inbetween the flagstones. Doing it this way allowed me to make my own arrangement with the stones and work around tree roots; to space the stones out more and make them go further; and to settle them into a firm base so they don't break. (They pull off the mesh easily.) If you want, you can place small rectangular pavers along the edges of the walk for a more finished look. The small size and the weight of the flagstones make them easy to work with and the project goes fast, but it really would be better if they were a little thicker and therefore stronger.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Bellevue, WA

Looks great... came back to buy more

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased couple of them just for a small decoration in my backyard. They look so nice - I came back for more!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These stones were so easy to use. We used the stones to cover concrete board for behind and under our new wood burning stove. It looks beautiful and ensures our walls are safe :)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

very nice looking product

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easier to take each rock off and place where you want it.using this for a platform and back for woodburning stove. Tip, use sealer before installing, way easier to clean off the grout!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from North Carolina

Flagstone walkway

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The golden flagstone material makes for a beautiful walkway. It is not as difficult to lay as it seems it would be. It is quite heavy to work with but very much worth the effort for a gorgeous walkway.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from Richmond, Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Poor product

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased these pavers for the backyard around the deck. These are very thin pavers and within several days, they had detached from the netting and were cracked and broken into many pieces...What a mess! Just walking on them causes cracks and breakage! Will not purchase this product again.
Cons: cracks with normal usage
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile
from utah

great look

PostedJune 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this paver was very easy to set and looks great i am very pleased with the style look and texture of the stone look and easy instalment
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Santa Barbara 2.75 Sq. ft. Natural Slate Meshed Flagstone Paver Tile

EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR PATIO

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased these pavers to recover a large patio after we removed the old and deteriorated chatahoochee. The finished patio looks great and it was easy to install this product. We didn't calculate the correct number of pieces correctly and had to purchase 35% more but it was worth it.
We highly recommend using these pavers to finish a patio.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.