728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Add illumination to your ceiling fan with this Hampton Bay Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit. This kit features a textured white glass globe and is compatible with most light-kit adaptable ceiling fans. Includes both brushed-nickel and oil-rubbed bronze hardware to coordinate with your fan and interior decor. Uses two 14-Watt medium-base CFL bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product59 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(29)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product59 of 80reviews
Customer reviews for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
Review 1 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Integrates well with Altura fan

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really prefer the cleaner look of this fan WITHOUT the added light kit, but we needed an integrated ceiling light in the room where we installed this fan, and I think this light worked out as best as possible. We're planning to replace several other worn-out fans throughout our house with the Altura fan, and will add this light kit again as we like the look, it's easy to operate, and our electrician said it was easy to install.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, easy to operate with fan's remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Lufkin, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looking for this light kit!

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We got the Altura 68" fan and light kit just three years ago, we have now expanded the space we have the fan in. We can find the fan but the light kit is now out of stock or discontinued. We need the light kit and don't want to waste more money to change out a good fan to have a match set. Can anyone help?
Pros: Looks Great, we love it
Cons: out of stock
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from inmate1138

Light Fixture on Altura Fan

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Light kit is listed as specifically for the Altura fan, but when it arrived the package is clearly labeled as a generic light fixture for multiple fan models. There wo light bulbs included. Fan remote control contains a button labeled "light/dimmer" which seems to turn the light off, but the light is actually dimmed to almost off. The pull chain is the way to really turn off the light.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Cincinnati, OH

Easy to install and looks good but...

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice light but bulbs that were included can't be dimmed without flickering. Works great on full power. Looks great with the Altura fan.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Room Fan is Great!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan was easy to install, is quiet and operates efficiently.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from San Jose, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst fan ever

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This absolutely moves no air. The wing shaped blades cut right through the air without creating any wind. And yes, it is going in the right direction, in fact it works better going in reverse!
Cons: poor performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Rowlett, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light kit options revealed

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just found out that ANY UNIVERSAL light kit can be used with the Hampton Bay Altura fans. I spoke with Hampton bay personally to verify this. Also, if anyone is interested, the 56 and 68 inch fans DO HAVE THE SAME COLOR BLADES. Pictures are not accurate. Hope this helps some of you.
Cons: Appearance
+76points
80out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Stafford, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what was needed

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My friend's ceiling fan glass globe broke and she was unable to find a match. This was a perfect match and ended months of searching. We used the glass globe to replace hers and the parts to replace some that needed replacing. It was a good price that met the need.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from port orange FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect match for the great fan i got from the store

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the instructions were very easy to understand and within minutes I attached the light to the underside of the fan I purchased from the home depot store. WOW!!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Marietta, GA

Easy to install

PostedApril 10, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I just purchased 2 of these light kits from my local Home Depot store to go with the Hampton Bay Altura Fans recently purchased.
Pros: The two finish options (oil rubbed bronze & brushed nickel) for the hardware were included in each kit which was nice. Installation was quick (about 10 minutes per light).
Cons: The bulbs are two 14V CF bulbs - not the three candelbra bulbs as indicated in the online description. The CF bulbs slightly flicker every so often. When turning the light off using the remote control, the bulbs go out but flicker as if the power was not completely disabled by the remote. I have to completely turn off the light by the pull chain.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great ceiling fan purchase!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Online ordering process went extremely smoothly. Purchase was delivered on time and in good shape. Unpack and install went as expected. Overall a great product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: really heavy a bit cumbersome to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Sacramento CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not enough light for a large room.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light was installed by a contractor. It was installed in a very large master bedroom "dressing area". Unfortunately, I never felt it provided enough light for our particular room. I used it for 2 years and decided to change out the light kit for a brighter light kit with 3 bulbs and glass shades. If you are installing in a small baby room or a guest room, it should be fine, but not for a poorly lit, over sized room that is used on a daily basis.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: not enough light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Sachse, TX

Misleading

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The online description of the Hampton Bay light kit says it uses 3 40W candelabra bulbs but the same item in the store (with the same SKU # 568978) forces you to use 2 14W CFL bulbs - it actually says on the bulb recepticles that you cannot use anything else but a 14W CFL bulb! There are several reasons why this is bad - (1) the CFL bulbs continuously flicker when they are not on, (2) the CFL bulbs make an annoying buzzing sounds when on, (3) the light output from the CFL bulbs make you look like a zombie, (4) the CFL bulbs take more than 60 seconds to come to full brightness, (5) the majority of CFL bulbs won't work with dimmer switches and touch lamps, (6) the CFL bulbs can interfere with certain IR signals from remote controls, (7) CFL bulbs contain mercury which is bad for the environment, (8) Several other reasons - just read about it on the web.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA

Looks terrible with the Altura fan

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As earlier posts suggested, this lighting kit does not compliment the design of the Altura fan. In fact, after installation, I was convinced we must have accidentally purchased the incorrect light kit and came back online to find the correct light. However, I was amazed of find that it truly is a match according to Home Depot/Hampton Bay. Aesthetically it is not a flattering combination. We did remove a spacer which made the light kit look better, but we will be returning as soon as we find a better solution.
Cons: Appearance
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Central CA coast

Easy install, works good, but not pretty.

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love my 68" Altura fan. The solid wood blades, dark bronze finish, everything about it. But when I added the light kit I felt that the fan went down a notch in style. It installed easily, works great, but I'm not sure if I'm gonna keep it or take it back.
Bottom line: HD could have designed a more attractive light kit specifically for their nice Altura fan.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Undynamic Lighting Solution

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a standard solution as a Light Kit, but it is
aesthetically incompatible with the Hampton Bay Altura line.
This light disk is too undynamic for the Altura Line fan, it hides the great work of the fan as it is in complete
conflict with the fan's design.
(This product had to be returned due to its poor look. I urge Home Depot and Hampton Bay to provide a more dynamic lighting option for this Altura line.)
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Hilton Head Island SC

Excellent light

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this light kit to finish off the fan and add light to the room. Both were accomplished in around ten minutes. Looks fantastic. Tip: use regular 60watt fan bulbs they work perfect no flicker or humming. The 14V CF bulbs are not made to be dimmed, not sure why they are included.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Loganville, GA 30052, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pretty easy to install. Could not figure out how to connect the light to a seperate switch the way the original was wired.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: single power source
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attractive fan light

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Added this to our fan in a room we use for our computer and books. It came with good instructions and extra fittings to lower the diffuser should it interfere with the fan blades (it didn't). We like the clean simple design of the diffuser which does an excellent job of dispersing the light evenly.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Lago Vista, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the price.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Expensive for the product. The glass is heavily frosted type. Light is dimmed moderately. I would not recommend if your wanting a lot of light to shine through. Otherwise, it was nicer than many light fixtures that were available. I bought this for the fan with the same name.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>