728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Add illumination to your ceiling fan with this Hampton Bay Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit. This kit features a textured white glass globe and is compatible with most light-kit adaptable ceiling fans. Includes both brushed-nickel and oil-rubbed bronze hardware to coordinate with your fan and interior decor. Uses two 14-watt medium-base CFL bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
3.486 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product51 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(28)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product51 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
Review 1 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Integrates well with Altura fan

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really prefer the cleaner look of this fan WITHOUT the added light kit, but we needed an integrated ceiling light in the room where we installed this fan, and I think this light worked out as best as possible. We're planning to replace several other worn-out fans throughout our house with the Altura fan, and will add this light kit again as we like the look, it's easy to operate, and our electrician said it was easy to install.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, easy to operate with fan's remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for the price

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for something a little more contemporary. There were very few lights to select for the fan we purchased. It plugs right into the provided fan socket and it's ready to go. Since it operates off the remote along with the fan, we pushed the pull-chain up inside the light and fastened the two cosmetic covers (one on the other) to hide the chain opening and it looks fine. Another good thing is that it comes with two fluorescent bulbs which can be swapped out for 60-watt incandescent bulbs that can be dimmed with the remote. It all worked the first time. We're pleased with the light fixture - just wished we had a better selection for this specific fan.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made
Cons: need to have a more contemporary light fixture
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Cincinnati, OH

Easy to install and looks good but...

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice light but bulbs that were included can't be dimmed without flickering. Works great on full power. Looks great with the Altura fan.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

There's nothing else...

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's not a great light kit but it works. There's nothing special about it. It pretty dim with the bulbs supplied. I replaced them with some bigger CFL bulbs and it's better but still not great. Wish I could have had kit with 3 bulbs. One of the problem is that the globe is white glass and it doesn't let all the light through.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: not very bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Rowlett, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light kit options revealed

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just found out that ANY UNIVERSAL light kit can be used with the Hampton Bay Altura fans. I spoke with Hampton bay personally to verify this. Also, if anyone is interested, the 56 and 68 inch fans DO HAVE THE SAME COLOR BLADES. Pictures are not accurate. Hope this helps some of you.
Cons: Appearance
+66points
67out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from St. Paul, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very nice

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
installation took about 25 minutes. has an extension included so that the glass sits away from the fan blades, love that there's an option to bring the fan cord through as well as the light cord, or to not have it come through. Looks amazing in comparison to the light we had from the 70's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from inmate1138

Light Fixture on Altura Fan

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light kit is listed as specifically for the Altura fan, but when it arrived the package is clearly labeled as a generic light fixture for multiple fan models. There wo light bulbs included. Fan remote control contains a button labeled "light/dimmer" which seems to turn the light off, but the light is actually dimmed to almost off. The pull chain is the way to really turn off the light.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Pasadena, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very pleased with the appearance of two of these fixtures. Updated my pullman kitchen lighting.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Electrician had no difficulties. Light is bright enough for the kitchen. Have dimmer switch for softer light when needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Lago Vista, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the price.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Expensive for the product. The glass is heavily frosted type. Light is dimmed moderately. I would not recommend if your wanting a lot of light to shine through. Otherwise, it was nicer than many light fixtures that were available. I bought this for the fan with the same name.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Loganville, GA 30052, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to install. Could not figure out how to connect the light to a seperate switch the way the original was wired.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: single power source
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from St. Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Average product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan light works best with fans where the light will sit flush against the fan. The light is open at the top and has a rough finish at the top. We installed it in a fan where it isn't flush. It looks alright. Most people won't notice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA

Looks terrible with the Altura fan

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As earlier posts suggested, this lighting kit does not compliment the design of the Altura fan. In fact, after installation, I was convinced we must have accidentally purchased the incorrect light kit and came back online to find the correct light. However, I was amazed of find that it truly is a match according to Home Depot/Hampton Bay. Aesthetically it is not a flattering combination. We did remove a spacer which made the light kit look better, but we will be returning as soon as we find a better solution.
Cons: Appearance
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Marietta, GA

Easy to install

PostedApril 10, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just purchased 2 of these light kits from my local Home Depot store to go with the Hampton Bay Altura Fans recently purchased.
Pros: The two finish options (oil rubbed bronze & brushed nickel) for the hardware were included in each kit which was nice. Installation was quick (about 10 minutes per light).
Cons: The bulbs are two 14V CF bulbs - not the three candelbra bulbs as indicated in the online description. The CF bulbs slightly flicker every so often. When turning the light off using the remote control, the bulbs go out but flicker as if the power was not completely disabled by the remote. I have to completely turn off the light by the pull chain.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Undynamic Lighting Solution

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a standard solution as a Light Kit, but it is
aesthetically incompatible with the Hampton Bay Altura line.
This light disk is too undynamic for the Altura Line fan, it hides the great work of the fan as it is in complete
conflict with the fan's design.
(This product had to be returned due to its poor look. I urge Home Depot and Hampton Bay to provide a more dynamic lighting option for this Altura line.)
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Central CA coast

Easy install, works good, but not pretty.

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love my 68" Altura fan. The solid wood blades, dark bronze finish, everything about it. But when I added the light kit I felt that the fan went down a notch in style. It installed easily, works great, but I'm not sure if I'm gonna keep it or take it back.
Bottom line: HD could have designed a more attractive light kit specifically for their nice Altura fan.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Sachse, TX

Misleading

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The online description of the Hampton Bay light kit says it uses 3 40W candelabra bulbs but the same item in the store (with the same SKU # 568978) forces you to use 2 14W CFL bulbs - it actually says on the bulb recepticles that you cannot use anything else but a 14W CFL bulb! There are several reasons why this is bad - (1) the CFL bulbs continuously flicker when they are not on, (2) the CFL bulbs make an annoying buzzing sounds when on, (3) the light output from the CFL bulbs make you look like a zombie, (4) the CFL bulbs take more than 60 seconds to come to full brightness, (5) the majority of CFL bulbs won't work with dimmer switches and touch lamps, (6) the CFL bulbs can interfere with certain IR signals from remote controls, (7) CFL bulbs contain mercury which is bad for the environment, (8) Several other reasons - just read about it on the web.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Hilton Head Island SC

Excellent light

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this light kit to finish off the fan and add light to the room. Both were accomplished in around ten minutes. Looks fantastic. Tip: use regular 60watt fan bulbs they work perfect no flicker or humming. The 14V CF bulbs are not made to be dimmed, not sure why they are included.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton Bay Altura Ceiling Fan Lamp Kit

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product was defective in the factory creation of the bowl. The excess material was not properly trimmed off and would not fit properly. Once I trimmed the excess material off I was able to secure the lamp in place. The rest of the assembly was easy to install.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor factory quality control on bowl
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit

Attractive but dim

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The kit was easy to install and has an attractive appearance - until the lights go on. You get 2 non-dimmable 14W CFLs (each should be 60W equivalent). The Altura Fan has a remote that includes dimming so that seems inconsistent. However, the lighting is so dim from the 2 CFLs that you would not want to dim them. You also are limited by the light kit control to a max of 28 watts. Plan to return and buy a different kit with better lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor lighting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Altura Ceiling Fan Light Kit
from Ogden, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I purchased this fan because the light fixture has a nice bowl shape, and also because it can be flush mounted.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very picky about little details, and it took me a while to find this fan with just the right bowl shape on the light fixture that came with the fan. The fan is just about perfect. It isn't too low because of its flush mount option, and it doesn't stand out noticeably. It just does the job.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>