728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED

Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED

The Handy Home Products Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed provides plenty of stand-tall storage and extra-wide double door for easy access for riding mowers, lawn equipment and other gardening and yard tools. A storage loft gives you even more storage space for your items. This shed features a gable window, providing both light and ventilation and a complete floor, giving it a finished look and promoting a drier environment for your equipment. It can be easily assembled with a hammer, screwdriver, tape measure, level and stepladder.
Overall rating:
3.552 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego

Very satisfied

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much due diligence we decided to go with this product. We held our reservations based on previous reviews. Our skill level is probably above intermediate and we found the assembly process very fluid. If you are a do-it-yourselfer we would definately recommend this product. For the cost and the final end product we couldn't be happier.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from florida

Montana Shed

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After much aggravation, confusion and delay, the product arrived in a battered plastic wrapping on two dilapidated pallets stacked precariously on top of each other. The original carrier loaded the package on their truck via a loading dock and fork lift but had no provisions for getting it off the truck. Three days later a second carrier delivered the package to my driveway as promised. The pieces were not too hard to carry to the backyard but they were very poorly labeled. It did come with plenty of screws and nails, we did not run out of either. Take the time to lay out all of the components and relabel them clearly to avoid confusion later. The instructions were quite vague as they are picture instructions only with NO written guidelines to back up the drawings. Read, read and re-read them until you are certain you and your helpers understand them quite well before you begin. All of the siding pieces were different thicknesses making it difficult to get a smooth exterior finish. The instructions for installation on a concrete pad were not at all accurate and I ended up having to improvise quite a bit. It is up and sturdy and will hopefully give many years of service, but the additional materials (shingles, tar paper, roofing nails, drip edge and paint) came to over $250.00 and make me wish I had gone with an installed shed verses a DIY kit.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Marshall, MI

Product actually looks close to the picture..

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shed came on a pallet that was 4 ft by 8ft. Instructions were a little vague but with care taken in the details the shed can be put together and still have it look nice. Wish the studs were closer together than the designed 24 inches apart, but the floor, side walls and roof seem strong. The front and back walls have little support but when tied together with side walls they seem strong. GREAT care must be given to making sure everything says square while building. 8x10 is smaller than it sounds. Converting this shed into a chicken coop. Must provide your own shingles, paint, and caulk (to seal up the seams and cracks) Good over all. Just wish wood was not so expensive.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED

Really nice shed for the price!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While there were a few things I would have changed (back wall horizontal supports anchored to side walls, studs in corners, option to replace nails with screws at a reduced price) I was able to make those modifications myself and built a very sturdy shed. The instructions were easy to follow and I only scratched my head a couple times, which is unusual. I did add studs to the floor for added support and perpendicular supports for the loft since the OSB is rather flimsy. Overall, I'm very happy with the end result!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Southern California

Great spot for my lapidary equipment

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good thing I was home when the delivery guy came, there's no way he could have gotten the heavy pallet of stuff off his truck by himself, I don't know what the folks who say they'll deliver are thinking when they say "You don't have to be home." Delivery aside, this took me about 40 hours to finish, by myself. It's really not overly hard, there's just a lot of shed. I went with this because I wanted the option of adding windows and a skylight later, the plastic sheds are more limited that way. I added extra 2x4s in the floor, as delivered they're only saying one every two feet. Well, I now have one every foot and the base is very sturdy. Same for the loft. Oh, I also put in more screws than they gave, just for good measure, screws are cheap enough. I had a concrete pad where I used to have a jacuzzi and this was built on top of the pad. The hardest part was getting the framing for the roof straight, there were still gaps in the corners no matter what I did. Getting the floor base straight is important too, but when you put the sides up, the floor kind of straightens itself out. Put tar paper and white shingles on the top, one coat of white primer, finished with Behr "Red Hawk" paint. Then loaded it with my rock grinding/polishing tools. It looks great out in the back yard and even after a wetter winter than normal (2010), it hasn't leaked. Bought this in 2008.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Satisfied

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only am I impressed with this product, but also neighbors, the mailman, and the meter reader. Easy to follow instructions, was able to assemble shed in about eight hours. Bought some barn red paint and it looks great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Georgia

Disappointing

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a disappointment! Anyone with no construction experience is in for a nightmare, as the instructions are practically useless, and you absolutely cannot depend on pieces being cut correctly. Trim pieces for the front roofline were different lengths (we sawed & corrected the long ones), the front wall and back wall were different widths by over an inch so the building won't be square, and the framing for the back wall is totally insufficient. Just about to put the roof on, so I can only shudder as to what we'll run into there.......but it will look nice!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from British Columbia Canada

Looks & feels better than the models at the stores

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We picked up the shed at the store. It fits perfectly in the box of our Toyata Tacoma (small sized box). Once home we noticed minor damage to the flooring particle-board that occurred from a fork lift somewhere along the way.
We had our friend/contractor help us put it together - thank goodness! - otherwise we would have had to include marriage councelling in the price. Having someone around who is handy will make assembly so much easier. Even our contractor was cussing when he had to undo and redo at a couple of stages.
Definitely, if possible, try to get at least one coat of paint on the parts before they are assembeled. It was much easier to do the second coat and cut around trim pieces while knowing all sufaces got at least one coat.
We reinforced the floor too. The shed looks and feels a lot sturdier than the model ones in the parking lot of the store.
We used exactly one gallon of paint on the exterior plus the trim paint. And we painted the inside for extra weather proofing. Four packages of asphault shingles, drip and floor reinforcement totalled about $300+.
We've had many complements from neighbors.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from St Augustine FL

Montana 8x10 Shed

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was one of the worst purchases I have ever made from Home Depot. Other purchases were corrected to my satisfaction. This purchase was not and probably could not because They used the cheapest and worst wood for this shed. I had to purchase lumber and rip it to 3" to replace the warped studs.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED

Better to buy separate materials

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of setup 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This shed was not built to withstand the load as they show in the additional views (the one with small riding tractors). The base only uses 2x4's and it should use at 2x6's. I built this shed with its base on a 6x6 treated lumber structure. Also, I reinforced the base with addtional 2x4's as they recommended and it still has the feeling as if it would crack under a storage load. Some of the 2x4's were warped and I had to purchase replacements. I think you could purchase all materials separately that were of better quality for roughly the same price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Murfreesboro, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Wood 10 x 8 shed

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The materials I received for this shed is not sturdy enough for this product. With one hard wind blow, this shed will be blown in the field. I received a total of 8 2x4's for the side walls, when 2x4's supposed to be 16in apart instead of 36in. I actually went to a home depot store to count the materials that were in a 8x10 shed that was on site. The shed that was on site had the correct amount of materials needed to build a sturdy shed. I am very disappointed!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Fresno, Ca

Sherry67

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The look of the Barn is great. However for someone who is not used to building things we wish the diagrams in some areas be a little more explanatory. Due to the pictures not being a little more close up we made some mistakes but were able to be inventive and fix them. Everyone likes the look of the shed. Like always Home Depot is our favorite place to shop in person or on the internet. Thank You
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Hard to assemble

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am pretty handy and even reviewed a few instructional videos before assembling this shed but I had quite a bit of difficulty assembling the shed. I had to make some alterations to make the construction sturdier. I would buy a preassembled shed next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

good value at $999

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
am constructing now and the instructions are a little hazy but overall will be a good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento CA

Some Assembly Required?

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sounds like a contractor needs-be present. What about strength? Can a woman do this, even wonder woman- light? Think we'll order it, but concerned if they'll come pick it up if we cannot put it together. Some assembly required, yet, in reading the other reviews, we must paint everything. The photo appears to have shingles on the roof and red paint, etc. According to the other reviews, we have to add all of this. So, is this not a bit of 'false advertising?' I've put together many things but never a garaging unit. Large lawnmower would fit inside, so it probably qualifies for being considered a garage. One reviewer said they painted the inside also for weathering and that they recommend paiinting at least one coat before assembling this. Paint plus the shingles for the roof cost them around $300. This should be clearly included in the offering info for the sale price of this building. That's a pretty penny to add to the $1000 purchase price.
Thank you for accepting this review as the possible winner of the $1000 gift card. I would use it to pay for this nice item, though 'Some Assembly is Required'
Sincerely,
HisBride2B
-49points
4out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
from New York

delivered incomplete

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to send this shed back. it was delivered with only 1 part of the shed. the picture online shows 3 parts.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Montana 10 ft. x 8 ft. Wood Storage Shed-DISCONTINUED
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
3 out of 5 recommend this product